Bloody hell - hard luck lads and lassies. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4304 - 15/06/2025 19:24:22 2617819 Link 0 |
Shooting fir the equaliser with 10 seconds left on the clock was criminal. Had to play down the hooter and make sure the last chance was Mayo's. BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 317 - 15/06/2025 19:43:01 2617840 Link 2 |
Really sorry for the players and managers but it has to be said the game was lost in the first half, played with a strong enough wind, had an extra man foe 10 minutes and just did not go for it. The ref in fairness did us no harm either. Aidan was a lion today and did heroics to make the leveling score for Boland. Hard to see him going at it again. One point from play from Ryan was not enough. The new manager will have to transition the team away from the running game to more of a traditional kicking game which may not be easy. martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 558 - 15/06/2025 20:02:48 2617857 Link 0 |
That's nonsense. Boland was their best option, he was in position with 8-9 seconds left, scored.
Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2206 - 15/06/2025 20:13:41 2617864 Link 1 |
Emotion beats Mayo again. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1228 - 15/06/2025 20:28:28 2617872 Link 3 |
Tis de curse, tis de curse...I'm telling ya.. Mayooooooo for Sam 2096!! ffarrell (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 15/06/2025 20:34:23 2617876 Link 1 |
Tis de damn curse so it tis....Up Mayooooooo!! Mayoooooo wouldn't bayte a bowl of cream!!! ffarrell (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 15/06/2025 20:39:00 2617878 Link 1 |
Copy and paste for 2026, 27, 28
Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2025 20:45:31 2617881 Link 4 |
Haven't watched it back yet but fairly sure from memory the kickout was contested strongly. Holding off til the hooter probably a better option but no guarantee we'd as good an opening. Any well done to Donegal, deserved to win today.
Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 47 - 15/06/2025 20:57:57 2617889 Link 2 |
Very harsh. I am actually gutted for Mayo tbh. Didnt deserve to lose today. But game management at the end, cost them dearly... Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4304 - 15/06/2025 21:09:20 2617893 Link 2 |
As it did last year.
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 15/06/2025 21:31:44 2617905 Link 2 |
Not a new thing. But continuously ignored and treated as sure we were 'unlucky', we 'deserved' to win, sure we were the 'better' team. So year after year after year, amongst other things to find out what went wrong before we can fix it, is an inability to close out big games. 2001 Connacht Final, in The Hyde. And some say the chaos game suits us, until we lose. We need to control games better at certain points. We lost because the opposition scored more than us. That makes them the better team 100% of the time. We need to learn from defeats, not ignore them.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8085 - 15/06/2025 21:46:37 2617911 Link 1 |
They did deserve it
Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2025 21:48:00 2617912 Link 1 |
Anyone saying that ye should have held on for the hooter hasn't played football at any level. It was a serious kick by Boland. Donegal marginally deserved to win it. It could be worse. Ye could be us at the moment. Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 540 - 15/06/2025 21:54:18 2617917 Link 0 |
We deserved to lose based on the fact we lost to Cavan. Jim McGuinness moaning about the venue after though after the game was cheap..grow up. Donegal won't be winning any all Ireland based on today's display against the worst Mayo team in 20 years. Our neighbours Galway would eat them alive in my opinion. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11645 - 15/06/2025 21:54:20 2617918 Link 1 |
Clare, Clare, Clare where are you? GDL (Galway) - Posts: 835 - 15/06/2025 21:59:34 2617923 Link 1 |
Fergal Boland, who had just kicked the equaliser from in front of the goals ended up being the one trying to contest the kickouts a few seconds later 50 or 60 meters away. How did that happen!
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 15/06/2025 22:05:33 2617925 Link 0 |
I wouldn't say it was contested strongly. They switched off and our full back managed to get a bit of space, it was knocked on and the rest is history now. Rinse and repeat from the Dublin that cost you a QF last year. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1228 - 15/06/2025 22:06:06 2617926 Link 0 |
I get you're sore but that's a poor enough comment. What Mayo team was miles better in the last 20 years than this current one? Because the brutal truth is there was no outstanding team at any point in that 20 years, no All Ireland winner to compare with. All Mayo teams in that time have battled hard and shown excellent displays but this team have come up short the same as many a team that went before them. Galway won't eat us alive, if we lose to anyone it'll be narrowly.
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1442 - 15/06/2025 22:23:53 2617936 Link 4 |
If they held on for 10 seconds, Boland doesn't find himself in that space. In my opinion there was only 2 or 3 players Mayo wanted on the end of it to take the shot..Boland, ROD..Mayo's biggest problem the last few years has been a lack of scorers, too many not willing or wanting to back themselves to score
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 15/06/2025 22:29:53 2617941 Link 0 |