Monaghan GAA thread

Well done to the minors today, fantastic victory. As I mentioned a few months ago Declan Brennan would have this team ticking. Good luck to our under 20s also later today in the all Ireland semi final. Exciting times for our underage squads

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 210 - 11/05/2025 13:11:33    2608406

Replying To MalsBalls:  "its a reasonable point on a forum for creating debate...i have faith we are in a positive place right now. the down and donegal games did negate our attacking prowess but to be fair we finished strong - for me the trick is to just finish strong quicker!

it wasnt our strongest 15 starting against down and vrs donegal there were some poor snap shots in the first half. that can be tidied up"
Part of the issue with a running focused game is, it's more effective against a tired defence. Both Donegal and Down (but particularly Down) really bottled up our runners at the start of the game with energetic defence but then were much more open later in the game when they tired.

I don't know that this is an issue we can solve given the lack of big physical full-forwards. Instead we have to get better at doing what we're doing... higher-percentage shots at the start, don't give the opposition the ball too cheaply. A large part of the poor start to the Donegal game was bad decision making rather than Donegal defensive dominance. We were lashing at shots rather than getting into position and putting them over. The good news is Croke Park will really suit our game if we can get that far.

MunnionOfMunnionHill (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 11/05/2025 13:14:30    2608407

Woo-hoo! All over in Moorefield GAA Club and Monaghan edge it to book a spot in the Dalata Hotel Group U20 All-Ireland Final!

Huge congratulations to the team, Manager Paul & his backroom team !

All-Ireland here we come!!

Muineachán Abú!

As posted on Monaghan Facebook. Great day for the Oriel County. Well done to the 19 players and management. Go get that Celtic cross

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 210 - 11/05/2025 16:44:50    2608460

Looking ahead to the group stages louth and down matches are must win matches otherwise we will end up playing a galway armagh tyrone or derry and could be a short year the importance of going straight to a quarter final is massive just get into croker and see where it takes us we can make hard work been favourites so it's high time monaghan got a more ruthless streak into them we have been in div 1 for 10 years and it's time to push on and start showing it and stop bol#oxi#ng about and coming up short against div 2 and 3 teams monaghan needs to go to another level and get to where we haven't before anyone any idea where louth match will be

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 63 - 11/05/2025 19:20:26    2608533

Louth will have to be drogheda as they will hardly use inniskeen as their home venue v us. That louth side will be hard beaten as possess some serious quality and just as important game management. We'd beat them 7 days a week on their first half display today but they played like a top tier side in second half. Tommy Durnin is some footballer but monaghan lads will know him well from the club championship last few years. Mulroy needs to be man marked he makes louth tick both on the scoreboard and out the field. Hopefully we have lavelle back for that task.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1884 - 11/05/2025 20:23:08    2608560

Replying To seanie08:  "Louth will have to be drogheda as they will hardly use inniskeen as their home venue v us. That louth side will be hard beaten as possess some serious quality and just as important game management. We'd beat them 7 days a week on their first half display today but they played like a top tier side in second half. Tommy Durnin is some footballer but monaghan lads will know him well from the club championship last few years. Mulroy needs to be man marked he makes louth tick both on the scoreboard and out the field. Hopefully we have lavelle back for that task."
They will but the party will be massive like us in 2013 so we should be putting div 2 3 to the sword and show we mean business Jan Feb march is great to be winning but we need serious performances from sat week onwards we are good enough to get to an all ireland in my opinion we are not pushing on and achieving in June July it's in us to do so but we need to be more ruthless and clinical and get there as we have a serious squad with no baggage the only thing stopping us is ourselves I believe this team can achieve

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 63 - 11/05/2025 21:33:38    2608593

It's hotting up for championship right now. Great to get promoted but championship is where it's at. Louth up in round 1, I really feel this game is 50 50 at best. We drew last year and the league game we did enough but louth had alot missing. Midfield battle will be interesting louth are strong there and use it as a good platform. Will bannigan go with mooney from here on in? Donegal really did well on our key players shutting them out, we looked a bit rudderless apart from a few two pointers. Big few weeks coming up.

222 (UK) - Posts: 848 - 11/05/2025 22:28:24    2608615

Replying To farneygael3:  "Woo-hoo! All over in Moorefield GAA Club and Monaghan edge it to book a spot in the Dalata Hotel Group U20 All-Ireland Final!

Huge congratulations to the team, Manager Paul & his backroom team !

All-Ireland here we come!!

Muineachán Abú!

As posted on Monaghan Facebook. Great day for the Oriel County. Well done to the 19 players and management. Go get that Celtic cross"
You're a one man supporter of this competition & the management that got us into it. We should have an Ulster Title under our belts with these talented players. Imagine we could be playing Leitrim in the final !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 409 - 11/05/2025 23:08:36    2608627

Ye l feel were a bit obsessed with league football in monaghan celebrating staying in div 1 over the years and getting bet in ulster first round almost every year since we have benn in div 1 so what is the value of div 1 we need to start concentrating on championship football and turn in top performances in June July rather than flying in Feb March also we have never had an all ireland intercounty winner in our dressing room since colm coyle in 2003 and Paul Grimley in 2010 look at armagh louth and there backroom team is full of winners ,a winner in a dressing room come quarter final or semi is huge as they bring the small but massive things to the table ie the siege mentality, handling the media, the mind games the been there before mentality etc so why are we not surrouding our good players with all ireland winners and don't get me wrong I think g bannigan is doing a fantastic job there's a positivity about the senior team in general and they are in a good place

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 63 - 11/05/2025 23:18:49    2608631

Replying To Farneyblueandwhite:  "They will but the party will be massive like us in 2013 so we should be putting div 2 3 to the sword and show we mean business Jan Feb march is great to be winning but we need serious performances from sat week onwards we are good enough to get to an all ireland in my opinion we are not pushing on and achieving in June July it's in us to do so but we need to be more ruthless and clinical and get there as we have a serious squad with no baggage the only thing stopping us is ourselves I believe this team can achieve"
What nonsense. We are a team in transition and there will be ups and downs. It is at least a 3 year job to try to get to the very top. Oh and the Louth game will be in Navan.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 500 - 12/05/2025 04:58:52    2608648

Replying To 222:  "It's hotting up for championship right now. Great to get promoted but championship is where it's at. Louth up in round 1, I really feel this game is 50 50 at best. We drew last year and the league game we did enough but louth had alot missing. Midfield battle will be interesting louth are strong there and use it as a good platform. Will bannigan go with mooney from here on in? Donegal really did well on our key players shutting them out, we looked a bit rudderless apart from a few two pointers. Big few weeks coming up."
Louth are a good side but they are not Donegal. Kildare should have beaten them and meath should been out of sight at half time. Any proper team at that level doesnt concede those goals two of which were louths only scores from play in furst half. We have a far better defence than Meath. Louth were excellent in second half through and there wouldnt be much between that louth side and ourselves on our day. Durnin is their key man. Our biggest problem is inactivity and its not our fault. We have had one match v one of the championship favourites which we lost by 2 pts then nothing for 5 weeks. Louth have had two good competitive games in that time. It cost us v donegal as well where we were v slow to get to the pitch of the game.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1884 - 12/05/2025 07:51:09    2608658

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "You're a one man supporter of this competition & the management that got us into it. We should have an Ulster Title under our belts with these talented players. Imagine we could be playing Leitrim in the final !"
Ha.. I was thinking the exact same.
Seems it was a near complete collapse in 2nd half too, 3-10 to to 07 up at half time and Limerick then outscored Monaghan by 17 points to 7 in second half.
To be playing in a tier 2 competition was seems like a step back for this group of players.

Good result though for minors against Armagh. Tyrone will be very hard beat in the semi-final but that is the standard you want to be playing against.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 157 - 12/05/2025 09:40:59    2608688

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "You're a one man supporter of this competition & the management that got us into it. We should have an Ulster Title under our belts with these talented players. Imagine we could be playing Leitrim in the final !"
I am a supporter of my county and player development.
Roll on the final, as you say possibly against Leitrim and here's hoping the lads have their ALL IRELAND medal at the dinner dance later in the year when seniors will be getting their medals also. Monaghan abu

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 210 - 12/05/2025 10:07:47    2608698