Monaghan GAA thread

The next match is in Clones. Regards to yesterday, I've spoken before on how I love going to matches in Inniskeen, They do have great parking and facilities, but it is how they staff the ground which is the best. There is an abundance of people there to help. Everything is done with a smile and nothing is too much bother. If you have someone with a mobility problem, they are there to help as soon as you park, helping them over to their stand making sure they are comfortable, just generally caring.. I saw the opposite last year in Clones when the Ulster stewards are on duty, arguing with people over standing in the walkway too long (an hour before the match). Giving out to children, not knowing the facilities and generally just being mean and pushy.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 811 - 23/02/2025 14:55:24    2592604

Mohan being back will help the midfield. Think mcphilips has great potential and is worth his place for the year. McCarville and McBennett good back ups. Bobby McCaul huge potential also likewise. Agree on forwards new rules suit them albeit it is div 2. Garland is a live wire. Mccarron was a good presence in first half yesterday has the experience team needs and great penalty. Jones will improve the talent is there needs a run in the side.Its a pity players like aaron mulligan are no longer involved as new rules would suit him. Finally the biggest positive is having Beggan back 100% this year huge influence and presence on the side.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1859 - 23/02/2025 14:59:05    2592605

Replying To seanie08:  "Mohan being back will help the midfield. Think mcphilips has great potential and is worth his place for the year. McCarville and McBennett good back ups. Bobby McCaul huge potential also likewise. Agree on forwards new rules suit them albeit it is div 2. Garland is a live wire. Mccarron was a good presence in first half yesterday has the experience team needs and great penalty. Jones will improve the talent is there needs a run in the side.Its a pity players like aaron mulligan are no longer involved as new rules would suit him. Finally the biggest positive is having Beggan back 100% this year huge influence and presence on the side."
Can't argue with that. The loss of Michael Hamill is devastating, both for him and the team. Not all will agree, but another year in Div. 2 to give these lads lots of winning and game time and also to blood some more young fellows would be best for this team. We could be back dining at the top table in 2 to 3 years and possibly break through the glass ceiling that we would all like to see and appear in Croke Park on the last Sunday in July. The talent is coming through and in no small way that is thanks to the work of Paul O'Connor and others around him.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 420 - 23/02/2025 15:44:48    2592615

Replying To mick2007:  "In fairness to the blues they've the begging bowl out, literally running the country every Saturday to help raise money to bring their outdated facilities up to current standards…."
You should take a trip down to our training facilities some day. Sure look… like many times previously said on here. You have a hatred for Scotstown. No need to week on week play like a broken record

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 711 - 23/02/2025 16:30:10    2592634

Replying To mick2007:  "In fairness to the blues they've the begging bowl out, literally running the country every Saturday to help raise money to bring their outdated facilities up to current standards…."
In fairness to the blues they make up the majority of County players take the Scotstoun players out of the county team like kilcoo a few years ago and what have you ? So get over

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 3 - 23/02/2025 16:56:14    2592639

Replying To veterngaa:  "You should take a trip down to our training facilities some day. Sure look… like many times previously said on here. You have a hatred for Scotstown. No need to week on week play like a broken record"
Yet again Uve a problem dealing with facts… on a wet day there's nowhere worse to watch a big game than scotstown.. as an earlier poster above said wheelchair access etc is also diabolical…but all this this would hardly effect you sitting on a high stool in moynas…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 23/02/2025 18:17:04    2592678

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Can't argue with that. The loss of Michael Hamill is devastating, both for him and the team. Not all will agree, but another year in Div. 2 to give these lads lots of winning and game time and also to blood some more young fellows would be best for this team. We could be back dining at the top table in 2 to 3 years and possibly break through the glass ceiling that we would all like to see and appear in Croke Park on the last Sunday in July. The talent is coming through and in no small way that is thanks to the work of Paul O'Connor and others around him."
Yeah I know what you are saying but momentum is massive in sport. The team will have gotten a lot of confidence from three wins so far and will want to continue that form and promotion would mean guaranteed Sam Maguire for next two summers . Next year's div 2 could have derry Tyrone or mayo in it. League table shaping up well all teams in contention for something so be nothing easy. Louth next in drogheda v tough away game.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1859 - 23/02/2025 19:05:09    2592705

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "We don't have a county ground."
Stop splitting hairs. If we play all our home championship matches at Clones, then it's our county ground !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 376 - 23/02/2025 19:51:24    2592722