Monaghan GAA thread

Vinny has stepped down

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 34 - 12/08/2024 23:56:45    2564857

I'm sorry to see Vinny go and disappointed that he hasn't stayed to bring the team back up to Division 1 next year. He was unlucky with withdrawals and injuries this year and this is a team who reached the All Ireland semi final last year. There is plenty of good footballers there. Please God that it's not the third coming of Banty!

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 802 - 13/08/2024 00:10:08    2564858

Vinny gone..... a bad day for Monaghan.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 13/08/2024 01:13:28    2564859

Vinnie Corey is gone! Bit of a surprise? Fair play to him for a doing a difficult job to the best of his ability. Coming in through the circumstances he did was not easy. Monaghan in a better place for his tenure.

Get the popcorn out lads! Door now ajar, who will push it open?

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 13/08/2024 07:42:01    2564863

Shock news to wake up to this morning Corey gone. Who now? Sounding like Rory Gallagher. Would be an excellent appointment possibly along with Seamus McEnaney by the sounds of it

Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 16 - 13/08/2024 07:47:30    2564865

Shocked to hear the news that Vinny has stepped down as manager. Was expecting him to go at least one more year with them. Unsure what the reasoning is for this move but the very best of luck to him.

Took us when no one else really wanted us. Got us within a kick of an all ireland final last year in his first year. This year he had a team riddled with injury and got beaten by all ireland finalists when it really could of went either way so maybe we aren't in that bad of a place.

Now the search begins again. Not sure who will be jumping at this job. Talk of Banty and Gallagher but I can't see that happening. Can see there being a real clear out now. McManus, O Connell, Hughes, Duffy could all be on the verge of leaving along with Vinny.

Again, Thanks Vinny and Team and best of luck.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 279 - 13/08/2024 07:50:27    2564866

Replying To Jimsam12:  "Shock news to wake up to this morning Corey gone. Who now? Sounding like Rory Gallagher. Would be an excellent appointment possibly along with Seamus McEnaney by the sounds of it"
Go on back to your own forum with that kind of chat

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 528 - 13/08/2024 08:00:01    2564867

Replying To Jimsam12:  "Shock news to wake up to this morning Corey gone. Who now? Sounding like Rory Gallagher. Would be an excellent appointment possibly along with Seamus McEnaney by the sounds of it"
County board need to snap this up right away before they decide to go elsewhere what they have done at club level has been nothing short of brilliant with limited resources Monaghan football would be in a better spot with these lads at the wheel especially a Monaghan man through and through who would run through brick walls for his players

Bantysbabes123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 26 - 13/08/2024 08:10:59    2564869

This probably won't go down well but I will say it anyway as it is just my opinion - I am not sorry to see Vinny go. To put my comments into perspective - yes he brought us to a All-Ireland Semi Final but that team was always in the mist of doing that....really from Malachy's time. Under Vinny I found their play really uncreative. He could of stayed on while the team are transitioning but lets be honest a fresh approach is needed. From messages above I really hope Banty is not involved in anyway - I am not against the appointment of Rory Gallagher (personal objections aside) but wouldn't want Banty having any influence over this.

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 654 - 13/08/2024 08:25:14    2564873

Sobering morning with the news coming in that vinny is gone. He was a true and true monaghan man and his passion will be missed. Would like to see an appointment inside the county with a passionate monaghan man at the helm. If any of the rumours of the ex derry/Tyrone man or the fermanagh man were to come true it would be a travesty for our proud county.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 393 - 13/08/2024 08:26:41    2564874

Probably a safe move from vinnie, the monaghan job is a tough gig currently and another poor year would have probably hurt his legacy to an extent. Great servant, great player and a real monaghan man. Rumours have been flying since June about the managment ticket banty has in place. Ain't much more out there that we can go after. To far for Andy moran. Mickey Harte?

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 13/08/2024 08:59:41    2564876

Think Rory +/- Banty will go to Derry.

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 13/08/2024 09:14:55    2564880

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Sobering morning with the news coming in that vinny is gone. He was a true and true monaghan man and his passion will be missed. Would like to see an appointment inside the county with a passionate monaghan man at the helm. If any of the rumours of the ex derry/Tyrone man or the fermanagh man were to come true it would be a travesty for our proud county."
I would also prefer a Monaghan man at the helm but who have we got within the county of this Cailbre.. ? surely that was Vinny and are there any other Vinny's in the County ? No. We haven't got a Geezer in Monaghan who walked the walk 20 years ago and so commands the respect of all the players.
What we do need is a very good man manager.. a county like Monaghan can't afford for key players to take a year out or walk away from the panel, which seemed to have happend with Vinny. The likes of Ger Brennan is an excellent man manager and look how improved Louth are under him.
There are no obvious options here... if Malachy doesn't get the Derry job, can we have him back please ?? he's got his All Ireland with Glen so is ready to return to Inter County.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 13/08/2024 09:28:12    2564883

Replying To Bantysbabes123:  "County board need to snap this up right away before they decide to go elsewhere what they have done at club level has been nothing short of brilliant with limited resources Monaghan football would be in a better spot with these lads at the wheel especially a Monaghan man through and through who would run through brick walls for his players"
Anyone advocating for the Fermanagh man to have any involvement needs to take a long hard look at themselves.

Sport is trivial and not important in the grand scheme of things. Anyone with a wife, daughter, mother, etc should ask them how they'd feel seeing their county being managed by a man like that.

We live on a very small island and word gets about - what he done has been well vetted and established as being fact and as such I personally would cut all ties with Monaghan GAA if they went down this avenue.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 161 - 13/08/2024 09:43:47    2564885

Replying To KingdomOfBriefne:  "Vinny gone lads….. strange timing? New mans missed from round of champ?"
Going by last time, by the time the new man is appointed he will have missed the County Final!!! Let's face it, Vinny was 4th choice the last time.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 13/08/2024 09:44:39    2564888

Replying To eirekeeper:  "Think Rory +/- Banty will go to Derry."
Rory won't go to Derry. After Mickey Harte, Derry County Board will want a controversy free appointment. Conleith Gilligan is surely the favourite.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 13/08/2024 09:47:39    2564890

Unlikely due to the finances involved but Micky Harte?

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 13/08/2024 09:51:57    2564891

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "I would also prefer a Monaghan man at the helm but who have we got within the county of this Cailbre.. ? surely that was Vinny and are there any other Vinny's in the County ? No. We haven't got a Geezer in Monaghan who walked the walk 20 years ago and so commands the respect of all the players.
What we do need is a very good man manager.. a county like Monaghan can't afford for key players to take a year out or walk away from the panel, which seemed to have happend with Vinny. The likes of Ger Brennan is an excellent man manager and look how improved Louth are under him.
There are no obvious options here... if Malachy doesn't get the Derry job, can we have him back please ?? he's got his All Ireland with Glen so is ready to return to Inter County."
Eoin Lennon a serous candidate ?

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 393 - 13/08/2024 10:37:36    2564908

To think that the same 2 men that have taken corduffs reputation to the gutter and senior club football to the dregs could now be taking over our county team is a sobbering thought….

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 480 - 13/08/2024 10:41:58    2564911

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Anyone advocating for the Fermanagh man to have any involvement needs to take a long hard look at themselves.

Sport is trivial and not important in the grand scheme of things. Anyone with a wife, daughter, mother, etc should ask them how they'd feel seeing their county being managed by a man like that.

We live on a very small island and word gets about - what he done has been well vetted and established as being fact and as such I personally would cut all ties with Monaghan GAA if they went down this avenue."
When was the trial? Know all.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 13/08/2024 10:49:10    2564914