Replying To HB245: "This won't be a popular post. Firstly, that was a 10/10 refereeing display from Diarmuid Boylan on Sunday. He didn't crumble under the pressure of having the two most high profile referees in Ulster on the sideline for Corduff. First time in a long time I've went home from a game thinking the ref was terrific. Yes the stamp was an act of thuggery (as a previous poster said, the one against Latton on Owen Duffy was actually worse in my opinion). If you take the stamp out of the game, there was nothing in that game from Corduff that I thought was 'dirty' to the point were Scotstown players were in danger. A bit of pulling off the ball, getting in lads faces after turning them over, pushing and shoving… squirting McCarron with water… All harmless stuff in my eyes (unless there was anything below the belt said in the verbals)… and it made for the most enjoyable game I've watched in the Monaghan SFC all year. The exact same people on this forum that told us Corduff would get hammered in every senior game this year are now the ones saying that nobody will remember them topping their group and reaching the first SFC semi final in their history. The parish of Corduff has approximately 1,000 people. Taking just the parish of Tydavnet, one of the four parishes that Scotstown pick from (excluding Currin), has approximately 3,800 people… That's the kind of David V Goliath task that was at hand. They had a huge goal chance in the 63rd minute, and only for a great Beggan save, it would have been a one point game. They stuck with one of the best teams in Ulster until the bitter end. As for people giving out about the money.. Wouldn't we all love to have a man with money like that, who is as passionate about his club as Banty is?" It's fantastic that we have a referee of such high standards in our county like Diarmuid Boylan only 26 and already refereed the county final. Definitely in the makings of another Pat McEneaney
Edd,South(EU) (Monaghan) - Posts: 60 - 11/10/2023 15:48:38
Replying To Monaghanlad: "When is the medals for semi finals handed out??as for Scotstown being one of the best teams in ulster total rubbish,they aren't anywhere near it as there record this last 10 or 11 years will tell you.." Serious achievement for a small club to get to a S/F of the championship - most other clubs that size are in Junior. Big towns like Blayney ,Carrick & Monaghan are a division below.
patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 11/10/2023 17:25:23
Replying To HB245: "Why on earth are we judging Corduff's season based on whether they won a championship or not? Everyone had them written off before the season started, wondering if they'd even win a game. They had an unbelievable season. Scotstown are undeniably one of the best teams in Ulster. Laughable if you think otherwise. Glen, Errigal Ciaran and Kilcoo are the only teams I'd have definitely have ahead of them. They have 7 players that got gametime in an All Ireland semi final this season. The bookies seem to agree with me that they are one of the best in Ulster also." So they are the fourth best team in ulster,what have them 7 boys won them outside monaghan?
Monaghanlad (Monaghan) - Posts: 30 - 11/10/2023 18:25:29
Replying To SouthMonMan: "Being from South Monaghan, not Corduff :) and being in attendance for both games on Sunday, it pains me to say it but I would have to agree with your post. Apart from the stamp, which was terrible and should be serverely punished, the rest was all handbags. There was a bigger melee in the Clontibret v Inniskeen game up against the wire on the Gerry Arthur stand. The biggest cheer I heard from the Scotstown fans all day was when Keenan got sent off for a second yellow, which a number of different people have said to me, which says a lot. Anyway, I would fancy Inniskeen against Scotstown based on Sundays displays, they are a very slick outfit who play good attacking football at pace." This post really annoys me. Not talking about one individual match, it includes Corduff performances in ulster intermediate last year where they tried to bully every team and also in the group stage of this year's championship. I saw a Corduff stamp on a Latton player which was I think worse than Mc Carrons stamp. The boxes in the back of the heads and knees to head along with the verbals. I feel for Corduff because when Banty decides to move on,the club could fall to junior. Banty should concentrate on the development of youth in club.
Desman (Monaghan) - Posts: 36 - 11/10/2023 22:21:48
Replying To patmouse: "Serious achievement for a small club to get to a S/F of the championship - most other clubs that size are in Junior. Big towns like Blayney ,Carrick & Monaghan are a division below." An achievement that will never be recognised and rightly so because of the thuggery involved in getting there. Most clubs in the county could do the same with that money and those tactics. A disgrace to their families team and community. All to scratch one bufoon's itch.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 482 - 12/10/2023 10:41:17
Replying To patmouse: "Serious achievement for a small club to get to a S/F of the championship - most other clubs that size are in Junior. Big towns like Blayney ,Carrick & Monaghan are a division below." Amazing a parade around corduff now next week
Monaghanlad (Monaghan) - Posts: 30 - 12/10/2023 10:44:09
Replying To patmouse: "Serious achievement for a small club to get to a S/F of the championship - most other clubs that size are in Junior. Big towns like Blayney ,Carrick & Monaghan are a division below." Like a drug dealer becoming a millionaire, nothing to be proud of. Only for the luck of the draw Aughnamullan would have achieved the same feat and they'd have done it the right way. Those boys can hold their heads high.
Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 12/10/2023 11:52:54
Replying To Jjoniel79: "Like a drug dealer becoming a millionaire, nothing to be proud of. Only for the luck of the draw Aughnamullan would have achieved the same feat and they'd have done it the right way. Those boys can hold their heads high." What have they done apart from dirty play that means they weren't deserving of a semi final place? Not having a go just genuinely intrigued.
Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 326 - 12/10/2023 12:39:26
Replying To Jjoniel79: "Like a drug dealer becoming a millionaire, nothing to be proud of. Only for the luck of the draw Aughnamullan would have achieved the same feat and they'd have done it the right way. Those boys can hold their heads high." But Aughnamullan could be relegated to Intermediate football Saturday week ? I don't think that is down to bad luck. They had Corduff beat at half time in their championship game and with an extra man in second half, didn't have the fighting spirit to put them away. I don't think they'll be holding their head up high if relegated. Playing on the Edge, verbals, cynical play... Corduff are beginning to sound like the Tryone team of the 00's and 10's lol .. Regardless of Corduff's unsavory tactics, you cannot question the dedication of their players this year, they were proabably the fittest of all the clubs. If only players had the same dedication in the likes of Donaghmoyne and Magheracloone, it would have been a better league and championship. Magheracloone were very disappointing this year as they looked like a better outfit then Corduff in Intermediate last year and were unlucky to lose both finals.
SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 155 - 12/10/2023 14:20:55
Replying To SouthMonMan: "But Aughnamullan could be relegated to Intermediate football Saturday week ? I don't think that is down to bad luck. They had Corduff beat at half time in their championship game and with an extra man in second half, didn't have the fighting spirit to put them away. I don't think they'll be holding their head up high if relegated. Playing on the Edge, verbals, cynical play... Corduff are beginning to sound like the Tryone team of the 00's and 10's lol .. Regardless of Corduff's unsavory tactics, you cannot question the dedication of their players this year, they were proabably the fittest of all the clubs. If only players had the same dedication in the likes of Donaghmoyne and Magheracloone, it would have been a better league and championship. Magheracloone were very disappointing this year as they looked like a better outfit then Corduff in Intermediate last year and were unlucky to lose both finals." Magheracloone at least remain respected as men in GAA circles.
Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 12/10/2023 15:01:36
Replying To Leitrimforliam: "What have they done apart from dirty play that means they weren't deserving of a semi final place? Not having a go just genuinely intrigued." Rory Gallagher…..
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 748 - 12/10/2023 15:22:37
Two very tough Intermediate semis to call on Sunday.
Carrick and Cremartin is tough to call. On paper these should be the two best teams left so you would think this will be the final. Considering Cremartin have only one forward and 14 other bogmen on their team, I fancy Carrick to win this one. Carrick are a young team but probably have more talent around the park and the O'Hanlons should do damage against the sluggish Cremartin full back line. But knowing Carrick like I do they are always prone to a bottle job when the going gets tough. Can they avoid doing a Blayney on it and crippling when it comes to knock out football? I think this is Carrick's intermediate to lose and they should come out on top here. Carrick to win the bottle job derby by 3.
I fancy Harps to win the opener. They are probably the most improved team in Monaghan in the last few months and have a good mix of young and old. This Killanny team think they have the championship won after beating a mediocre Blayney team and I don't feel they can back it up on Sunday. Harps by 2.
Looking forward to two games with plenty of mistakes to decide who will be getting relegated from Senior in 2024.
Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 13/10/2023 11:45:19
Replying To Monaghansclown: "Two very tough Intermediate semis to call on Sunday.
Carrick and Cremartin is tough to call. On paper these should be the two best teams left so you would think this will be the final. Considering Cremartin have only one forward and 14 other bogmen on their team, I fancy Carrick to win this one. Carrick are a young team but probably have more talent around the park and the O'Hanlons should do damage against the sluggish Cremartin full back line. But knowing Carrick like I do they are always prone to a bottle job when the going gets tough. Can they avoid doing a Blayney on it and crippling when it comes to knock out football? I think this is Carrick's intermediate to lose and they should come out on top here. Carrick to win the bottle job derby by 3.
I fancy Harps to win the opener. They are probably the most improved team in Monaghan in the last few months and have a good mix of young and old. This Killanny team think they have the championship won after beating a mediocre Blayney team and I don't feel they can back it up on Sunday. Harps by 2.
Looking forward to two games with plenty of mistakes to decide who will be getting relegated from Senior in 2024." Ah jaysus.....
Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 13/10/2023 12:36:34
Truagh have been the worst performing team in senior football this year, can't see them getting past magheracloone either
Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 199 - 13/10/2023 12:40:01
Replying To Monaghansclown: "Two very tough Intermediate semis to call on Sunday.
Looking forward to two games with plenty of mistakes to decide who will be getting relegated from Senior in 2024." What's your club?
Monaghanlad (Monaghan) - Posts: 30 - 13/10/2023 17:55:53
It's hard to know what way the Senior Championship Final will go. I've since heard how Inniskeen are setting up and it's making me rethink my initial prediction. Rest assured they won't be taking the Corduff approach. It's being nicknamed "North Korea v South Korea". Great to see a final being contested outside of Clontibret and Ballybay. I would imagine Scotstown will focus to be defensive because that's where Inniskeen are strong.
MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 660 - 13/10/2023 19:23:56
Looking forward to two games with plenty of mistakes to decide who will be getting relegated from Senior in 2024." You certainly live up to your name.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 482 - 13/10/2023 23:11:48
Looking forward to two games with plenty of mistakes to decide who will be getting relegated from Senior in 2024." Sounds to me like a man very bitter towards Carrick and Killanny… there is only one man this could be
Swingit (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 14/10/2023 09:16:48
Looking forward to two games with plenty of mistakes to decide who will be getting relegated from Senior in 2024." Hmmmm i wonder did this poster manage 2 of the teams in the intermediate semi-finals in the past!!!!!!!!
cmxu (Monaghan) - Posts: 28 - 14/10/2023 15:08:09
What's the predictions for the Intermediate semi finals tomorrow.
Monaghan harps v Killanny
Carrick v Cremartin
MonGaa123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 22 - 14/10/2023 17:42:43