Westmeath Football thread

Replying To Bluelake:  "While I agree with you the vast majority of your point, the downs are an outlier. They should never have ended up in section B in the first place but agree that structures shouldn't change. I don't think anybody has won the senior from section B if I'm correct ?"
That would be correct. The structures are great but they do favour the clubs with the strongest squads as the championships progress. Lomans, Kinnegad and Mullingar were all beaten at least twice and still make up three out of the four semi finals places. They got stronger as the championship wore on. Lomans, Kinnegad and Mullingar will have two teams in top two divisions of league next year.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 326 - 11/10/2025 13:36:07    2639312

Disgraceful scenes at end of Intermediate semi/final.

Iarmhisamhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 28 - 11/10/2025 15:30:03    2639326

More drama than netflix series at the end of game.

What's is the point of the stewards is another question?
Best team won but 15 lost the head fot milltownpass but clearly some of stuff from some supporters wouldn't have helped.

I thought it didn't look great anyway

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1031 - 11/10/2025 15:31:56    2639327

Replying To Bluelake:  "While I agree with you the vast majority of your point, the downs are an outlier. They should never have ended up in section B in the first place but agree that structures shouldn't change. I don't think anybody has won the senior from section B if I'm correct ?"
But they did end up there from having a very poor championship the year before losing all of their games if I remember rightly. I stand corrected on that though. The thing with them is, they were on the back of a brilliant year the year before, winning a championship and getting to a Leinster Final. The joy of Section A was that their punishment for a bad year was to get demoted to Section B which was deserved and gave them the chance to bounce back the following year if they were good enough which they surely were. If some of the ideas floated about here were in play, they would have been relegated or play a playoff with Garrycastle (who finished bottom of Section B that year) to be relegated. It just doesn't make sense and I think the Downs predicament is case on point of why it is fair and works so well.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 278 - 11/10/2025 15:37:30    2639328

You're incorrect. Shamrocks won it in 2018 from section B.

jamsie (Westmeath) - Posts: 493 - 11/10/2025 15:52:26    2639330

Great win by Coralstown Kinnegad. Some solid play right across the field. Cooney, Gahon, Woods, Leech were immense, Fleming after coming on. The loss of Sam McCartan didnt help St. Lomans but they were on the back foot from about the 25th min.

Maroon Heaven (Westmeath) - Posts: 49 - 11/10/2025 17:21:01    2639337

Replying To Maroon Heaven:  "Great win by Coralstown Kinnegad. Some solid play right across the field. Cooney, Gahon, Woods, Leech were immense, Fleming after coming on. The loss of Sam McCartan didnt help St. Lomans but they were on the back foot from about the 25th min."
Agreed. Congrats to Corlastown Kinnegad better team won. Fair play to cooneys men who've turned their year around

Bluelake (Westmeath) - Posts: 322 - 11/10/2025 18:03:40    2639343

Anyone know when final is lads?

Iarmhisamhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 28 - 11/10/2025 18:04:55    2639344

Replying To Iarmhisamhi:  "Anyone know when final is lads?"
Presume 2 weeks from tomorrow hurling next week football the following week

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1031 - 11/10/2025 18:49:38    2639351

Who does people fancy in intermediate game tomorrow should be closer than todays

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1031 - 11/10/2025 18:50:17    2639352

Replying To Iarmhisamhi:  "Anyone know when final is lads?"
25th I was told

Augustine (Westmeath) - Posts: 13 - 11/10/2025 18:51:11    2639354

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "More drama than netflix series at the end of game.

Best team won but 15 lost the head fot milltownpass but clearly some of stuff from some supporters wouldn't have helped.

I thought it didn't look great anyway"
What happened ?

Gaawestmeath (Westmeath) - Posts: 113 - 11/10/2025 20:14:10    2639369

Replying To Augustine:  "25th I was told"
26th, my bad!

Augustine (Westmeath) - Posts: 13 - 11/10/2025 20:14:15    2639370

Replying To Bruno@1:  "Brandon Kelly and Liam Brennan to win it for Milltownpass and likewise Daire Hynes to do the same for Milltown.
Senior semis are non avents-Downs and St.Lomans into the final -handy enough."
You got that spot on today .

Undertheroad (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 11/10/2025 20:51:38    2639376

Kinnegad were better team. But Lomans will be kicking themselves for not building on the 5 point lead halfway through first half. Having seen this Lomans team this year a few times, it was evident they were a shadow of themselves all year while Kinnegad were building serious momentum after the comeback against Athlone. They had all the hallmarks of a team that were just awaiting final execution after a golden era.
Kinnegad have finally arrived at their best team perhaps by accident in some cases, and were strong all over. They will give tomorrow's winners plenty of it in the final. Gahan best player on pitch assisted by Cooney, who will eventually become a centre back not a forward as the club had first thought. Woods- massive at fullback and actually looked county material, though probably that ship has passed, Ger Leech, who pulls strings and is unerring and Giles brothers whose contributions were crucial.
For Lomans, Heslin still scored a great goal but had little support and doesn't have the gas anymore to come out to midfield. His decline means he can't rescue Lomans by his own brilliance anymore and today he had little support. Sam going off was a huge lift for the opposition and you knew from then on for Lomans, it was going to be an uphill climb. Looking forward to tomorrow's game but The Downs should win well.

Iarmhisamhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 28 - 11/10/2025 20:59:46    2639378

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "More drama than netflix series at the end of game.

I thought it didn't look great anyway"
Blaming stewards or finding fault with them is just mind boggling stuff. Any steward in today's society is very wary of involvement in today's scenes, if they lay a finger on someone they'd regret it. What could anyone do when players and supporters decide to act in that manner?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2389 - 11/10/2025 21:12:41    2639381

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Blaming stewards or finding fault with them is just mind boggling stuff. Any steward in today's society is very wary of involvement in today's scenes, if they lay a finger on someone they'd regret it. What could anyone do when players and supporters decide to act in that manner?"
Stewards did their best in what was an extremely difficult situation

Iarmhisamhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 28 - 11/10/2025 21:41:40    2639387

Replying To Iarmhisamhi:  "Stewards did their best in what was an extremely difficult situation"
I didn't mean blame I was just saying as point not their fault for people's behaviour I only saw it on tv.
Apologies if came across

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1031 - 11/10/2025 22:42:28    2639396

Replying To Iarmhisamhi:  "Stewards did their best in what was an extremely difficult situation"
On reflection if came across then apologies

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1031 - 11/10/2025 22:43:09    2639397

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "On reflection if came across then apologies"
Not at all. You're grand. Wonder what the consequences will be for player and club

Iarmhisamhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 28 - 12/10/2025 14:55:35    2639471