Dublin GAA thread

Replying To Joxer:  "It's the inevitable will he won't he conversation each year. I think this may have been the last roll of the dice for those on 9. Looking at the other quarter finals, the lads will be kicking themselves for that second half display as Sam was there for the taking.
I guess the following lads will be thinking about claiming back their social lives…

Jack (30) - he has another 5 or 6 years in him. Such a talent and would love him to stay but he has a demanding job. I hope he stays on for the good of the game. Half backs of his quality appear almost once in a generation.

James (34) - will likely go but has a couple of years in him if he wants it. A legend in every respect. We'll miss his athleticism, versatility, leadership, no nonsense tackling and dedication to the jersey. Don't listen to Deano, James, stay on board.

Clucko (42) - who knows? Anything could happen here. He's a machine. Will go down as the greatest of all time. He may stay, it's in his blood and he has the athleticism to continue in that position. It's a lot to ask given the many years that he has given.

Mannion (31). Still only a nipper. What a player and the sweetest of left foots. Great balance, great poise, great work rate and what an eye for the posts. He didn't have his greatest game on Sat but it was a mistake to take such a threat off and especially not to replace him with Paddy. Cost us a vital free and arguably the game. Paul owes us nothing. I hope he stays on but if he goes then he goes with a belly full of success.

Fitzy (36) - unsung hero of this team. One of the great man markers. Quietly goes about his business, huge work rate. Almost irreplaceable in the FB line. Battling with career pressures like Jack. If he hangs up his boots, he goes out as another legend.

Small (31) - has to stay. He's a rock. We badly lack steel and the bit that we have comes from John. Alright he has that mad streak in him but you need that bit of Philly, bit of Ger Brennan, bit of Keith and Eamon in your team. I hope to Jayz that he stays on. He's a no nonsense player and we need to keep him as the foundation of that HB line if James and Jack jump.

Fento (31) - I don't even want to think about it. Best midfielder of his generation, amazing athlete, has time on his side, next captain of Dublin if Clucko and James go.

I can't see any of Costello, Con, Ciaran, Scully going as they're still young and have several more years in them so I hope they all stay on as the foundation of the forward lines.

For any lads who decide to jump, what memories they made for us all. They will go down in history as part of the greatest panel of players to have ever played the game, a golden generation. We still have enough youth in the squad and lads breaking in to give it another rattle next year."
We will probably lose 4 Joxer.

And in a couple of years there will be another 3 or 4 gone I reckon.

Need to accelerate the re-build next year.

Last years victory took a lot out of them.

But what a win it was - it meant so much to players and fans alike.
That victory in particular, will live long in the memory.

Still smile thinking about it.

Scenes of unbridled joy - remember it like yesterday.
Probably meant more than the 6 in a Row tbh.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 01/07/2024 16:17:59    2556317

Just realised this is the 1st year Dublin not in a semi since 09, that's some going! The semi final line up just doesn't look right ;>)

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 01/07/2024 17:38:06    2556335

Replying To Fionn:  "We will probably lose 4 Joxer.

Probably meant more than the 6 in a Row tbh."
Absolutely a sweet win but you're right, we need quality players coming through. I'm not seeing any huge stand outs at underage or minor level at the moment but I'm sure that the selectors will have the net flung far and wide. As long as we can prevent a mass exodus this year we should remain competitive. Dessie has a year to go so will probably give it one more crack.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4734 - 01/07/2024 18:48:12    2556360

Proper end of an era feeling walking out on Saturday. Much more so than in 2021 or 2022 I feel.

We're still a good team, in the midst of maybe 4 or 5 other good teams.

Last year we got over the line, this year we didn't. Beaten by the better team on the day, not much more you can ask for really.

A rebuild is necessary now, in the way that it wasn't previously imo.

There's not much between the four that are left for me. I haven't subscribed to the idea that Dublin and Kerry were miles ahead of the pack this year, and Galway lowering our colours proves that more. I'd make Kerry very slight favourites but I'll enjoy the last 3 games a lot am looking forward to the first semi-finals without the Dubs since 2009!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13775 - 01/07/2024 19:22:45    2556366

Replying To ahsure.:  "Don't mind the Galway poster above.

I was around a good few of your supporters yesterday and it really struck me how gracious in defeat ye were both inside and coming out of the stadium. Not a bad word said and wished us the best of luck, top class."
as a galway man I want to echoe the same thing. all the Dublin crowd beside us were very gracious in defeat and plain sound.
Unfortunately there are always a number of " fans" our own included that talk rubbish online.

If Con had equalised, things could have gone against us in extra time. hopefully we go all the way now, it's been a long time..

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 01/07/2024 21:30:04    2556390

Replying To Joxer:  "

Absolutely a sweet win but you're right, we need quality players coming through. I'm not seeing any huge stand outs at underage or minor level at the moment but I'm sure that the selectors will have the net flung far and wide. As long as we can prevent a mass exodus this year we should remain competitive. Dessie has a year to go so will probably give it one more crack."
Wasn't there some prodigy from a few years back that was meant to be something else altogether but haven't heard from him since.
He had a double or triple barrelled name that when mentioned here was shortened to PACB, or something like that.
Any news on him?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 06/07/2024 09:31:01    2557154

Replying To Joxer:  "

Absolutely a sweet win but you're right, we need quality players coming through. I'm not seeing any huge stand outs at underage or minor level at the moment but I'm sure that the selectors will have the net flung far and wide. As long as we can prevent a mass exodus this year we should remain competitive. Dessie has a year to go so will probably give it one more crack."
Watching the Hurling today just got me thinking, just how difficult it is to do 5 in a Row.....
Massive effort and a bit of luck required.

Makes you appreciate just what the Dub players achieved tbh. Phenomenal.

On to the Club Championships now.....

I see Plunkett's got promoted back to Div 1 today. Fair play to them.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 08/07/2024 00:38:00    2557584

Replying To MesAmis:  "Proper end of an era feeling walking out on Saturday. Much more so than in 2021 or 2022 I feel.

We're still a good team, in the midst of maybe 4 or 5 other good teams.

Last year we got over the line, this year we didn't. Beaten by the better team on the day, not much more you can ask for really.

A rebuild is necessary now, in the way that it wasn't previously imo.

There's not much between the four that are left for me. I haven't subscribed to the idea that Dublin and Kerry were miles ahead of the pack this year, and Galway lowering our colours proves that more. I'd make Kerry very slight favourites but I'll enjoy the last 3 games a lot am looking forward to the first semi-finals without the Dubs since 2009!"
Same sentiment here, it was going to end sometime! Not sure the current management can do 'rebuild' though.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4932 - 08/07/2024 19:29:44    2557821

Senior hurling championship starts on Saturday with four group games. Early stages of course but Cuala v Crokes be the most interesting. Wonder will Con tog for Cuala? Footballers early exit might benefit them if he's back training.

Need to play him properly unlike the last two seasons where he was left adrift as sole full forward marked by three backs and the goalman!

Na Fianna with Donal Burke back have to be favourites to retain title.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2952 - 09/07/2024 08:04:26    2557919

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Senior hurling championship starts on Saturday with four group games. Early stages of course but Cuala v Crokes be the most interesting. Wonder will Con tog for Cuala? Footballers early exit might benefit them if he's back training.

Need to play him properly unlike the last two seasons where he was left adrift as sole full forward marked by three backs and the goalman!

Na Fianna with Donal Burke back have to be favourites to retain title."
How do you see Whitehall vs Craobh Ciaran going ?

Redzer99 (Waterford) - Posts: 71 - 09/07/2024 13:45:19    2558023

Replying To Redzer99:  "How do you see Whitehall vs Craobh Ciaran going ?"
Lee Gannon not there for,Whitehall so big loss but probably better and improving team than Craobh. Big game for both as little chance of qualifying if they lose this one.

Whitehall on balance.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2952 - 10/07/2024 06:00:24    2558144

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Lee Gannon not there for,Whitehall so big loss but probably better and improving team than Craobh. Big game for both as little chance of qualifying if they lose this one.

Whitehall on balance."
Loser almost certain to be in relegation play off from day one, so be proper flaking in the Park :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2952 - 10/07/2024 11:47:29    2558183

Whitehall backed in to evens from 6/4. About right..

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2952 - 12/07/2024 20:14:34    2558624

Lee Gannon down to play for Whitehall. Footballers will be rueing that he did not win fitness/recovery battle in time for county.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2952 - 13/07/2024 12:29:32    2558674

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Lee Gannon down to play for Whitehall. Footballers will be rueing that he did not win fitness/recovery battle in time for county."
Barney did you hear the story within the Dublin camp in the lead up to and day of the Galway game.
Heard it from close quarters last week, and got to verified yesterday by someone else.
Explains a lot tbh.

My lips are sealed though.

Those in the know - know. ;o|

Great to hear Lee has recovered.
A couple of weeks too late for the Dubs but great news for Whitehall.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 13/07/2024 15:51:43    2558698

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 13/07/2024 19:50:38    2558744

Dublin and Kerry both gone by mid July

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3138 - 13/07/2024 20:04:54    2558762

Didn't hear anything.

Nice few bob taken on Whitehall today. Craobh showed good heart to bring back to 4 at one stage but over at half time.

Other games went predictably. No Con for Cuala..

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2952 - 13/07/2024 20:08:22    2558765

Replying To Jack L:  "Dublin and Kerry both gone by mid July"
No bloody harm.. Dubs were deservedly beaten

Kerry the same today..

Armagh will take stopping

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 13/07/2024 20:27:01    2558786

Replying To jimbodub:  "No bloody harm.. Dubs were deservedly beaten

Kerry the same today..

Armagh will take stopping"
Yep - I think after this game Armagh will take some stopping alright.
There is something about them recently.

Have to say, but this defeat wont sit well down in Kerry at all, at all....
Can't see Jack being in charge after this.
Kerry with only 1 All Ireland in 10 years.
Wont be accepted or tolerated imo.
O'Se's face in the studio said it all tbh.

Could be changes with the Dubs next year also in fairness. Only 1 AI win in 4 years.
And we are clearly on the wane.
But the defeat to Galway is somewhat easier to take now, knowing that someone new will win Sam this year.

As you say, both Galway and Armagh were fully deserving winners over the Dubs and kerry respectively.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 13/07/2024 21:17:01    2558813