Dublin GAA thread

As I said.. you dont get over a game like that in such a short space of time

Even with home advantage

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 22/06/2024 21:30:41    2553786

I have to admit that I was in fear of another thrashing yesterday. It looked headed that way for the first half and a Cork goal might have opened the floodgates.

They didn't get a goal and the backs and midfield did really well all things considered against a very dangerous Cork attack. Our shooting and shot selection and even freetaking was appalling at times. Left 6/7/8 reasonably easy chances go astray.

Last 20 including the extra time was as good a performance as all year, even with the misses continuing, and a goal might have pushed them to the limit but for most of the game Cork had been playing as though they might have had a second gear.

Truth be told, Dublin are still a bit off the top 4/5 and not the worst way to end the year. Backs - apart from the head wobble against the stripey men - are becoming potentially one of best in country. Daire made big difference when coming in and Conor D and Paddy Doyle have been outstanding mostly as novices.

Need to step up again and hopefully become more efficient and ruthless in front of the posts but best year for quite a time all told.

Best of luck to Cork. Still fancy them as team most likely to beat Limerick and next game should be cracker if they cut loose and get goals.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2952 - 23/06/2024 08:45:00    2553906

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I have to admit that I was in fear of another thrashing yesterday. It looked headed that way for the first half and a Cork goal might have opened the floodgates.

They didn't get a goal and the backs and midfield did really well all things considered against a very dangerous Cork attack. Our shooting and shot selection and even freetaking was appalling at times. Left 6/7/8 reasonably easy chances go astray.

Last 20 including the extra time was as good a performance as all year, even with the misses continuing, and a goal might have pushed them to the limit but for most of the game Cork had been playing as though they might have had a second gear.

Truth be told, Dublin are still a bit off the top 4/5 and not the worst way to end the year. Backs - apart from the head wobble against the stripey men - are becoming potentially one of best in country. Daire made big difference when coming in and Conor D and Paddy Doyle have been outstanding mostly as novices.

Need to step up again and hopefully become more efficient and ruthless in front of the posts but best year for quite a time all told.

Best of luck to Cork. Still fancy them as team most likely to beat Limerick and next game should be cracker if they cut loose and get goals."
Agree Barney.I feared for Dublin in yesterdays game but they fought gallantly and put the pride back in Dublin hurling.If Donal Burke was on his usual radar in first half who knows.On Burke his scoring ratio is absolutely superb and better than both TJ Reid and Pat Horgan.I backed Cork for the hurling All Ireland just before they played Limerick (when they looked like going out)and while its only a tiny bet I got them at 50/1 in P.P.I also backed them on the day v Limerick in a single bet.Forget what price but think 4/1.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3839 - 23/06/2024 09:15:08    2553920

Galway it is

Should be a good

Think the Mayo game will benefit Dublin

Dubs by 4

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 24/06/2024 19:45:56    2554538

Bye bye Dublin

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 29/06/2024 19:59:09    2555678

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye Dublin"
the Galwegians, gracious in victory as always...

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 75 - 29/06/2024 20:24:03    2555697

Lads we're well and truly back in the pack now.
It'll be just like old times, but with the odd Sam now and then. Well done to an excellent Galway side, awful shame if Walsh is gone.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8667 - 29/06/2024 20:29:22    2555703

Hard luck lads. Ye looked like champions in that first half but I think father time caught up with a few of your players by the end. The joy over on the Galway page speaks to the esteem ye're held in.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 29/06/2024 20:34:16    2555710

By the sounds of things 4-5 of the old guard could be hanging up the boots. It has been a pleasure to watch these great players grace our game. Unlucky today- was a number of aspects of the game in the second half that just fell flat for Dublin. It has opened the Championship up now something fierce.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 206 - 29/06/2024 20:39:11    2555714

Well done to Dublin, always play attacking enjoyable football. If more teams played like them there would be no need for rule changes. Not that we have seen it many time but they are always gracious in defeat

nails (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 29/06/2024 20:53:03    2555721

Hard luck Dublin, some real legends of the game playing for you today. Easy to be wise in hindsight but you would wonder if Dessie had held back a few of the big guns(McCarthy etc) for the closing stretch might things have been different.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 392 - 29/06/2024 20:55:28    2555722

Bye bye Dublin

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 29/06/2024 21:07:13    2555727

Replying To jimbodub:  "Galway it is

Should be a good

Think the Mayo game will benefit Dublin

Dubs by 4"
That didn't turn out well..ya

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 29/06/2024 21:08:37    2555729

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye Dublin"
Stay classy

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 29/06/2024 21:24:46    2555738

Very gracious Katser. However judging by the lack of engagement on this thread it shows Dubs no longer covet Sam as much. It's all been too easy for too ling.

For the good of the game, plenty of retirements please and a big spell in the doldrums would be the best thing all round.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 29/06/2024 21:29:05    2555742

Replying To ModernMaharaja:  "the Galwegians, gracious in victory as always..."
He sounds like a lad that's just done the entrance exam and his father has just confused him that it works like boxing!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 29/06/2024 21:33:02    2555746

5 points by us in 2nd half was shocking tbh.

Not sure taking off Scully was a great idea.

Easy free missed, Collie losing the ball in injury time and Con had a super chance with last kick to force extra time.

As a few said to me on the way off the Hill - that is probably the last we see of 4 of that starting team - Clucko, Mick, James, and Dr. Jack

Well earned rest now for those lads...

But fair play to Galway - 3 games in 3 weeks - looked like it was us who had that schedule in the 2nd half...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/06/2024 22:08:45    2555767

Also, I think Dublin may have gone to the well one too many times - looked very leggy in that 2nd half and Galway exploited it to best effect. Certain p[layers looked like there is nothing left in the tank at this stage unfortunately.

Felt this would be the case and have been saying it all year.

But wow - great while it lasted. Wow.. Super memories.
End of an era for sure.
So many legends - thank you guys...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/06/2024 23:30:33    2555805

Real classy post from Galway poster..why can't people appreciate the dubs for how they've played football in last 10 years..they have been fabulous footballers and I've loved watching them..think today we might have seen the last of a number of these players and they owe Dublin nothing,they have been brilliant..if some decide to step away,thanks for making football for me anyway enjoyable to watch again..I think ye have brought other counties up to another level..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2329 - 30/06/2024 00:13:03    2555814

Replying To Fionn:  "5 points by us in 2nd half was shocking tbh.

Not sure taking off Scully was a great idea.

Easy free missed, Collie losing the ball in injury time and Con had a super chance with last kick to force extra time.

As a few said to me on the way off the Hill - that is probably the last we see of 4 of that starting team - Clucko, Mick, James, and Dr. Jack

Well earned rest now for those lads...

But fair play to Galway - 3 games in 3 weeks - looked like it was us who had that schedule in the 2nd half..."
Few questions to be asked of management for sure. The Jack and Mannion withdrawals were strange given that they are both dangerous players and not replacing Mannion with Paddy effectively lost us the game as Costello was left with a right footed free on the right wing ideal for a left footed kicker and missed. Having said that, the only intensity we showed in the whole game was when we were two points down in injury time and turned the ball over in Galway's half. Had we had that attitude much earlier we would have won the game. Complacency killed us. Well done to the lads though as they got us to a last eight. A changing of the guard is almost certain now with a lot of lads carrying a lot of miles on their legs. We'll be back to fight another day.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4734 - 30/06/2024 00:53:13    2555823