Dublin GAA thread

Dubs deadball

With Rock not getting many minutes, I'd be concerned about our deadball options. Especially for crucial 45s etc

You have Con, Costello and maybe Cluxton over them

But it's a bit of a worry moving into the business end of things

Rock was a specialised player, think of the vital scores over the years, he's Dublin's most prolific scorer of all time, and without that specific talent, compared to the last several years there's a void there, given how close things are this year, it's these areas where the difference could be.

We were spoiled with him, the best dead ball Dub of all time.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20614 - 16/06/2023 12:53:43    2486850

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dubs deadball

With Rock not getting many minutes, I'd be concerned about our deadball options. Especially for crucial 45s etc

You have Con, Costello and maybe Cluxton over them

But it's a bit of a worry moving into the business end of things

Rock was a specialised player, think of the vital scores over the years, he's Dublin's most prolific scorer of all time, and without that specific talent, compared to the last several years there's a void there, given how close things are this year, it's these areas where the difference could be.

We were spoiled with him, the best dead ball Dub of all time."
Yeh serious contributor and you're right, could be an issue!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8611 - 16/06/2023 14:00:34    2486887

The Dublin drop off

I remember back in 05/06 on this site

When the Dubs were in the doldrums.. the bleak bad times.

The amount of Dub supporters on here, all trying valiantly to give as good as we got, but the ABDs had so much ammo, year after year of Dublin being found out, even embarrassed at times. We were dragged through the muck backwards, but the support never deminished. We stuck our chests out and gave it a go.. but there was some right gits that knew how to twist the knife.. boot you when you were down.

Although many of them (if not all) vanished quick enough when the going wasn't so easy..

It's gas seeing it now, we are all bloated with success, we are ravaged by rich living and All Ireland gout.

Witnessed history being made in layers, multiple records stacked and packed in Sky Blue.

We conquered it all, we drank it up and fed until we couldn't touch another bite.

The drop off in support is obvious now, I have to admit it myself, I'll personally be satisfied as a supporter for the rest of my days,.

But yeah it obvious, look at this thread. You have other county threads up in the thousands, even though we are losing again, even the desire to twist the knife isn't there, they know well that we couldn't give a bollix.

You need a quest, you need hardship and the knife in the guts.. that's why 2011 meant so much, the release at the final whistle was something unforgettable.

It just not the same, the next generation of Dub support might have that build up of disappointment and frustration, but for us, we had our great moment as supporters.

I'll die a satisfied Dub supporter, we were there to witness it all.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20614 - 17/06/2023 13:58:32    2487050

Great game in Carlow on Saturday
Dubln given a rattle but superior skills and fitness won out after 62 Mins
Really pleased with Carlow effort and Dublin played sublime hurling when allowed towards last 10min.
What was disappointing was lack of Dublin support in a crowd of around 7000.
Probably no more that 200 Dublin supports and huge home support.
What's that's all about

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 707 - 19/06/2023 09:22:49    2487060

Replying To jimbodub:  "The Dublin drop off

The amount of Dub supporters on here, all trying valiantly to give as good as we got, but the ABDs had so much ammo, year after year of Dublin being found out, even embarrassed at times. We were dragged through the muck backwards, but the support never deminished. We stuck our chests out and gave it a go.. but there was some right gits that knew how to twist the knife.. boot you when you were down.

Although many of them (if not all) vanished quick enough when the going wasn't so easy..

It's gas seeing it now, we are all bloated with success, we are ravaged by rich living and All Ireland gout.

Witnessed history being made in layers, multiple records stacked and packed in Sky Blue.

We conquered it all, we drank it up and fed until we couldn't touch another bite.

The drop off in support is obvious now, I have to admit it myself, I'll personally be satisfied as a supporter for the rest of my days,.

But yeah it obvious, look at this thread. You have other county threads up in the thousands, even though we are losing again, even the desire to twist the knife isn't there, they know well that we couldn't give a bollix.

You need a quest, you need hardship and the knife in the guts.. that's why 2011 meant so much, the release at the final whistle was something unforgettable.

It just not the same, the next generation of Dub support might have that build up of disappointment and frustration, but for us, we had our great moment as supporters.

I'll die a satisfied Dub supporter, we were there to witness it all."
Christ. Not sure where to start with that. .

Dublin have lost 2 all ireland semi finals, both by a point (and one of those after extra time). A few correct refereeing calls and many of the 8 all irelands won in the last decade could've easily gone the same way.

Dublin haven't gone anywhere and the money pumped into Dublin GAA since the turn of the century means they never will. Ever.

So i dont think there's anything for opposition fans to be "twisting the knife" over.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5041 - 19/06/2023 10:47:12    2487142

Replying To cavanman47:  "Christ. Not sure where to start with that. .

Dublin have lost 2 all ireland semi finals, both by a point (and one of those after extra time). A few correct refereeing calls and many of the 8 all irelands won in the last decade could've easily gone the same way.

Dublin haven't gone anywhere and the money pumped into Dublin GAA since the turn of the century means they never will. Ever.

So i dont think there's anything for opposition fans to be "twisting the knife" over."
This post is sponsored by the letters:

I R N E

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4448 - 19/06/2023 11:10:42    2487178

Moving well yesterday lads and ladies.

Howard - immense.

Collie is proving a dangerous player - especially in tandem with Con who is often double marked, but clever enough to make the space for Collie.

We are awful at the back - i dread Mayo or Kerry running at us - if we're going to do it its going to be a shoot out.

Great day trip out to Breffni - weve been spoiled this year for away games. We were blessed to avoid the worst of the weather.

Tell you what - speaking about away support chalk and cheese between the attendance of the first game and the second - in terms of away support.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4448 - 19/06/2023 11:14:55    2487180

Took us a while to get going yesterday. Seems like a pattern developing with us. I'm still not keen on our man to man strategy at the back, leaving an isolated 2 on 2 in there. We almost got punished early yesterday for it and the likes of a Clifford would lap that space up all day long. Once we got the wheels moving, the forwards clicked and Sligo slumped. Some really good performances there from Collie, Lee, Con, Paddy. Looking like we're developing a lot of firepower and options up front now which is great. Special word for Clucko on that high ball in that he managed to punch away. I thought he was going to be beaten all ends up but managed to outreach the Sligo man. Good distribution as well from him. When that big clap of thunder went off I thought it was Clucko clapping his hands Thor like. There'll be a much bigger test in 2 weeks time. We're shaping up pretty well though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4704 - 19/06/2023 11:25:57    2487196

Replying To Blackbog:  "Great game in Carlow on Saturday
Dubln given a rattle but superior skills and fitness won out after 62 Mins
Really pleased with Carlow effort and Dublin played sublime hurling when allowed towards last 10min.
What was disappointing was lack of Dublin support in a crowd of around 7000.
Probably no more that 200 Dublin supports and huge home support.
What's that's all about"
Bit more than 200, but yes, we are the poor cousins.

Good game, and Carlow obviously well able to cope with the promotion I'd say. It's a hard shift though and took Dublin a few years to not have to be all the time worrying about relegation in league or championship.

Best of luck next year. Will lead to more competitive games I think.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2742 - 19/06/2023 12:25:15    2487254

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Bit more than 200, but yes, we are the poor cousins.

Good game, and Carlow obviously well able to cope with the promotion I'd say. It's a hard shift though and took Dublin a few years to not have to be all the time worrying about relegation in league or championship.

Best of luck next year. Will lead to more competitive games I think."
Yeah good points. Dublin deserve more support.
Dublin hurling supporters we met were great and know and live their hurling as we do
I think we are always swimming against the tide
I would love to Dublin beat into top echelons

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 707 - 19/06/2023 14:41:12    2487368

Hmm. I see Kerry folk are boiling in their own urine after yesterday's annihilation of 'wee' Louth.
Some suggesting that yesterday's victory makes the two in a row more of a probability than a possibilty.
You'll hear no talk of the disparity in population size, funding and resources from any Kerryman in relation to that fixture.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/06/2023 14:55:31    2487382

Replying To Blackbog:  "Yeah good points. Dublin deserve more support.
Dublin hurling supporters we met were great and know and live their hurling as we do
I think we are always swimming against the tide
I would love to Dublin beat into top echelons"
It is a small but fiercely loyal cult :-)

Sure you have to be as you know yourself!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2742 - 19/06/2023 15:02:48    2487383

Replying To jimbodub:  "The Dublin drop off

I'll die a satisfied Dub supporter, we were there to witness it all."
A great post Jimbo and yes you were a lucky man. Alot of supporters never get that chance or feeling. Even Mayo supporters are lucky too (and I'm being genuine). While Mayo might not have won Sam in recent times they were there giving their supporters great days out. I always felt losing a semi final was worse than losing a final as you miss the build up etc. The weeks before the final the day of the final the pre match craic the nerves the teams coming out into the pitch the parade and finally the throw in. Great to win but it's great to be part of it too. If course winning is the cream oon top and like Jimbo I've been so lucky to see my county win many times live. Memories I'll never forget. The good and the bad.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3704 - 19/06/2023 18:19:10    2487569

Replying To avonali:  "Hmm. I see Kerry folk are boiling in their own urine after yesterday's annihilation of 'wee' Louth.
Some suggesting that yesterday's victory makes the two in a row more of a probability than a possibilty.
You'll hear no talk of the disparity in population size, funding and resources from any Kerryman in relation to that fixture."
Ah Avon i don't Know what site you ré reading but most Kerry supporters are being realistic and whole delighted with yesterday's win are just thrilled to be in a quarter final. Population of Kerry 147.000 and population of Louth is 129000 so yes we have 18000 more.Money! Now come on. Are you going down that road? The money is there for everyone to see and we all know what county got most money from the gaa. Disappointing post from you Avon and don't see the need to bring Kerry into it. You should ve happy the way Dublin won in both codes. I would be!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3704 - 19/06/2023 18:28:18    2487570

Replying To avonali:  "Hmm. I see Kerry folk are boiling in their own urine after yesterday's annihilation of 'wee' Louth.
You'll hear no talk of the disparity in population size, funding and resources from any Kerryman in relation to that fixture."
Also for the record Avon. Louth have recieved more than Kerry in gaa funding since the figures became public. Kerry are away down the list. Figures from 2007 to 23 can bé checked. No need to check number 1.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3704 - 19/06/2023 18:33:22    2487571

Happy for Basquel

He has the talent, very gifted. He had the shoulder drop, then acceleration with a fine eye for a class finish.

Only my opinion, but in the seasons gone by, I'm just not sure yet wanted the level of commitment involved to break through, looks to be like a fella enjoying his football at the minute.

Felt bad for Sligo, fine county, nice people. Hope they continue to improve but it was a bit of a no show performance.

Job done, Quarter final at home. Tougher games now to come.

While our rivals have largely made it quite tough for themselves.

Happy Days.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20614 - 20/06/2023 09:39:04    2487672

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Ah Avon i don't Know what site you ré reading but most Kerry supporters are being realistic and whole delighted with yesterday's win are just thrilled to be in a quarter final. Population of Kerry 147.000 and population of Louth is 129000 so yes we have 18000 more.Money! Now come on. Are you going down that road? The money is there for everyone to see and we all know what county got most money from the gaa. Disappointing post from you Avon and don't see the need to bring Kerry into it. You should ve happy the way Dublin won in both codes. I would be!"
You wrote this : "Hopefully the two week rest now gels the team more and who knows we might have Sam for another 12mts yet P. G." That goes beyond just being thrilled I think. You're entitled to be optimistic of course but I think the performance against Louth may be creating the illusion that Kerry are world beaters,

You talk of Kerry supporters being realistic???? The name calling and anti - Dublin bile evident on that sewer of a forum page is "realistic"????? It's disgusting. The gowl, your nemesis, is a particular case in point.
You tell us we should be happy. Yeah, we are, but what about your own county men? Fir amount of bile mixed in with the happiness I would say.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/06/2023 14:28:18    2487836

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Also for the record Avon. Louth have recieved more than Kerry in gaa funding since the figures became public. Kerry are away down the list. Figures from 2007 to 23 can bé checked. No need to check number 1."
You conveniently forget ye are supported by one of the biggest food global brands in the world ffs!

Remember this headline from the Examiner. I don't Louth has anything like this kind of corporate support. But sure look, don't let the truth spoil the myth that Kerry football is as pure as the driven snow. My ****

The bottom line is all about Kerry
Kerry and Dublin isn't just a heavyweight duel on the pitch. It's a muscular collision off it between two global mega-corporations partnering two GAA superpowers, albeit via wholly different business strategies.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/06/2023 14:46:06    2487849

Replying To avonali:  "You conveniently forget ye are supported by one of the biggest food global brands in the world ffs!

Remember this headline from the Examiner. I don't Louth has anything like this kind of corporate support. But sure look, don't let the truth spoil the myth that Kerry football is as pure as the driven snow. My ****

The bottom line is all about Kerry
Kerry and Dublin isn't just a heavyweight duel on the pitch. It's a muscular collision off it between two global mega-corporations partnering two GAA superpowers, albeit via wholly different business strategies.
"
Avonali

Why would you go near that place... Im sure there's some very decent skins in the mix though

Sure poor aul Mick there was accused of all sorts, called all sorts by the same gombeens on here, but the cult of whinge slithered out of here when they couldn't talk out of both sides of their mouths and retreated to their "safe space" :)

Them Kerry boys love the smell of their own farts.

What's this about Mick.. are you having wars over there haha

You were always an easy target for the nitwits

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20614 - 20/06/2023 15:01:46    2487859

Replying To jimbodub:  "Avonali

Why would you go near that place... Im sure there's some very decent skins in the mix though

Sure poor aul Mick there was accused of all sorts, called all sorts by the same gombeens on here, but the cult of whinge slithered out of here when they couldn't talk out of both sides of their mouths and retreated to their "safe space" :)

Them Kerry boys love the smell of their own farts.

What's this about Mick.. are you having wars over there haha

You were always an easy target for the nitwits"
I can't say why Jimbo. I guess I am inexorably drawn to horror. I used to post on it but I actually asked the moderator to ban me to ensure that I wouldn't be contaminated. The greatest collection of whingers and begrudgers ever to darken the web. Pure poison. The stuff they say about our Dublin players and ex-players is bordering on the libellous.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/06/2023 15:22:59    2487869