Dublin GAA thread

Replying To Fionn:  "As predicted it will be a Ballyboden v Athy Leinster SFC Final.

Boden had a very convincing win away to Tullamore by 2-19 to 0-10
The game was effectively over at half time as Boden led by 14pts at the interval.
2-12 to 0-04.
Boden who had 6 different scorers, had Daire Sweeney top score for Boden with 9pts.

The other semi final saw Athy beat Portarlington by 0-19 to 0-11
Athy were 13pts up at HT.

The Final will be in Croker next Saturday @ 4.30"
Two interesting finals. A few pints in Gills set me up nicely for the day I think.

My forecasts been way off so far. Hard to compare Boden and Athy. Thought Portarlington were better than proved. And Boden seem to be serious contenders for big one but still fancy Daingean.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3865 - 29/11/2025 21:33:17    2646481

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Two interesting finals. A few pints in Gills set me up nicely for the day I think.

My forecasts been way off so far. Hard to compare Boden and Athy. Thought Portarlington were better than proved. And Boden seem to be serious contenders for big one but still fancy Daingean."
Yep, I think it will be a Dingle v Kilcoo AI Final tbh. With Dingle winning.

Cant see Boden winning it out.
Although their performances seem to be getting better as the season goes on.
But Athy will give them a good rattle in the Leinster FInal.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 29/11/2025 22:26:19    2646484

Replying To Fionn:  "Yep, I think it will be a Dingle v Kilcoo AI Final tbh. With Dingle winning.

But Athy will give them a good rattle in the Leinster FInal."
Just looking at Paddy power odds and botb Boden and Brigids of Roscommon joint favourites and 11/5.Kilkoo 3rd at 16/5 and then Scotstown and Dingle both at 13/2 .Finbarrs at 10/1 with Athy rank outsiders at 16/1.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 403 - 01/12/2025 20:56:37    2646706

Replying To Fionn:  "Yep, I think it will be a Dingle v Kilcoo AI Final tbh. With Dingle winning.

But Athy will give them a good rattle in the Leinster FInal."
I think Boden have a great chance of winning it out.The two Basquells Daire Sweeney and then you have the Kerry lad Pa Warren at centre back and Im told he has played senior for Kerry and not forgetting Galways Cein Darcy who is a powerhouse.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 403 - 01/12/2025 21:04:46    2646708

Replying To brayballer:  "I think Boden have a great chance of winning it out.The two Basquells Daire Sweeney and then you have the Kerry lad Pa Warren at centre back and Im told he has played senior for Kerry and not forgetting Galways Cein Darcy who is a powerhouse."
Ah look, it would be great if they did but I think Dingle could win it tbh.
Interesting odds though...

Sweeney has impressed me for Boden thus far.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 02/12/2025 08:39:12    2646731

One thing that stood out for me on Saturday was the sheer strength and size of the Boden lads v Tullamore. Very much a case of men against boys and once Tullamore starting taking the ball into the tackle there was only one winner.

Sweeney is a fine footballer but I wonder is it in him to make the step up to the Dubs reckoning this coming year?? He will certainly be called in for a look early on I'd imagine but not sure he has that intercounty quality about him. Quite similar to their old sharpshooter Andy Kerin back in 2016/16 when they won it, think he won Leinster Club POTY the year they won the All-Ireland even. Outrageous at club level but don't think he ever played for Dublin.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 02/12/2025 10:12:29    2646738

Replying To Fionn:  "Ah look, it would be great if they did but I think Dingle could win it tbh.
Interesting odds though...

Sweeney has impressed me for Boden thus far."
Dingle are a good team but not near Boden s level.Look at it this way.Dingle have a few county players but so do Boden, Dingle have Paul Geaney a class player but Boden have Collie Basquel a class player whois in his prime while Geaney is fading in his mid 30 s. Also Boden have outsiders including two that have played county football in Pat Warren for Kerry and Cein Darcy for Galway. I cant see Boden being beaten and the only team with any hope is Brigids Roscommon.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 403 - 06/12/2025 18:37:42    2647226

Replying To brayballer:  "Dingle are a good team but not near Boden s level.Look at it this way.Dingle have a few county players but so do Boden, Dingle have Paul Geaney a class player but Boden have Collie Basquel a class player whois in his prime while Geaney is fading in his mid 30 s. Also Boden have outsiders including two that have played county football in Pat Warren for Kerry and Cein Darcy for Galway. I cant see Boden being beaten and the only team with any hope is Brigids Roscommon."
Dingle gave conor geaney Dylan geaney and tom all county and top players too writing them off if they win munster first would be ridiculous and age isn't only factor Paul plays inside still a great player especially for club level

Forgetting dyland geaney and tom osuillivan and potential mark o'connor if he plays and doesn't go back yet

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1117 - 06/12/2025 20:55:02    2647256

Replying To brayballer:  "Dingle are a good team but not near Boden s level.Look at it this way.Dingle have a few county players but so do Boden, Dingle have Paul Geaney a class player but Boden have Collie Basquel a class player whois in his prime while Geaney is fading in his mid 30 s. Also Boden have outsiders including two that have played county football in Pat Warren for Kerry and Cein Darcy for Galway. I cant see Boden being beaten and the only team with any hope is Brigids Roscommon."
Been good but athy let's be honest fell way most kerry teams you have go put beat in close matches. How can you say dingle or finbarrs would be nowhere near

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1117 - 06/12/2025 20:55:58    2647257

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "One thing that stood out for me on Saturday was the sheer strength and size of the Boden lads v Tullamore. Very much a case of men against boys and once Tullamore starting taking the ball into the tackle there was only one winner.

Sweeney is a fine footballer but I wonder is it in him to make the step up to the Dubs reckoning this coming year?? He will certainly be called in for a look early on I'd imagine but not sure he has that intercounty quality about him. Quite similar to their old sharpshooter Andy Kerin back in 2016/16 when they won it, think he won Leinster Club POTY the year they won the All-Ireland even. Outrageous at club level but don't think he ever played for Dublin."
Agree size of some boden

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1117 - 06/12/2025 20:57:04    2647258

Daingean will beat Finbarrs and Boden. Ridiculous to be dismissing them.

Still good bet to win it out.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3865 - 06/12/2025 23:12:40    2647276

Ballyboden St Enda's (Dublin) 2-18 Athy (Kildare) 1-14 FT

Excellent win for Boden in Croker last evening.
It was 1-07 to 0-07 at half time
The Athy goalie made up for his mistake for the Boden goal, with a later save to deny Collie a goal.
The wide count finished 8 to 6 for Boden but Boden will be disappointed with their last few minutes.
They had a 14pts lead but at the end only 7 separated the two teams. So bits to work on for sure.

Dublin's domination of the Leinster club football championship continues with 11 of the last 13 titles now going to the capital, including 6 in a Row. This was Boden's 3rd Leinster football title, to go with their 5 Dublin SFC titles.

Ross McGarry top scored for Boden with 5pts and he had an excellent game.
Collie was relatively quiet tbh.
The ever young Kildare/Athy man Kevin Feely top scored with 7pts.

Boden will now meet Dingle in the All Ireland Club Semi Final on Jan 3/4.

Heartbreak for Finbarr's in the Munster club Final. A 2pt free in the 4th minute of injury time with effectively the last kick of the game for Dingle.
I said it months ago, and I maintain my view - 2pts for a free should be scrapped, especially for a free that is moved up for an infringement. 2pts from play, yes. But from a free - no.

Anyway, we have the makings of a cracking semi final now in 3 weeks.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 07/12/2025 17:53:12    2647359

Very interesting read over the weekend.....

Dubs management have looked at 110 new players from 35 clubs - Division 1 to Division 4, with the assistance of Dublin greats Wheelo, Flynner, Ray Cosgrove and even Dessie himself.
As a result of this deep dive - Dublin will have 25 new players joining the core group that is already in situ... along with some Boden players of course.

Hopefully we can unearth a few players who can score 2 pointers - we all saw how critical that was over the weekend.

Our O'Byrne Cup and League campaign will be very interesting and it is only a few weeks away.

There are definitely 3 or 4 Boden players that will be added, when their club season ends.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 07/12/2025 18:02:34    2647363

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Daingean will beat Finbarrs and Boden. Ridiculous to be dismissing them.

Still good bet to win it out."
They got our of jail today in fairness.
Very good team though.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 07/12/2025 18:03:33    2647364

Replying To Fionn:  "They got our of jail today in fairness.
Very good team though."
They are very hard to beat. Bookies will have Boden 1/2 maybe. I'm sticking with Daingean. Might not even cash out in final !

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3865 - 07/12/2025 22:19:01    2647406

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "They are very hard to beat. Bookies will have Boden 1/2 maybe. I'm sticking with Daingean. Might not even cash out in final !"
Will Mark O'Connor be available for Dingle in the semi or will he be gone back to Aus.?
It will make a massive difference to that team.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 07/12/2025 22:40:36    2647408

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "They are very hard to beat. Bookies will have Boden 1/2 maybe. I'm sticking with Daingean. Might not even cash out in final !"
How much of a disadvantage will not having Mark O'Connor be to Daingean?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8384 - 07/12/2025 23:03:00    2647410

Replying To GreenandRed:  "How much of a disadvantage will not having Mark O'Connor be to Daingean?"
Had forgotten about that. Will be gone. Definitely a big loss. They've a good run this year of lads getting back and avoiding injuries but may be coming to an end.

Still, there being 10/1 outsiders is a bit insulting!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3865 - 08/12/2025 10:08:34    2647435

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Had forgotten about that. Will be gone. Definitely a big loss. They've a good run this year of lads getting back and avoiding injuries but may be coming to an end.

Still, there being 10/1 outsiders is a bit insulting!"
Are they really 10/1.???

That is crazy.
If I was a betting man, which I am not, that would definitely be worth a flutter.

If they beat Boden, it would be nice for a club like Dingle to win it out.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4737 - 08/12/2025 11:28:09    2647450

Replying To Fionn:  "Are they really 10/1.???

That is crazy.
If I was a betting man, which I am not, that would definitely be worth a flutter.

If they beat Boden, it would be nice for a club like Dingle to win it out."
Ah you ve gone soft Fionn lol. Seriously though I agree it would be nice for a club like Dingle and manys a pint I had there.Great town for craic. They are 10/ 1 with Paddypower alright and Boden now hot favourites to win it out. Think Boden will beat Dingle easy tbh as surely Mark O Connor will be back in Oz and Dingle already missing their top midfielder Barry Dan O Sullivan with cruciate unless he back for january. If Boden were nt in it Id be rooting for Dingle altho Im a northsider lol. Enjoyable game yesterday and looking forward to Kilkoo v Scotstown next week.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 403 - 08/12/2025 17:08:19    2647526