Right Club Championships Time again.
My predictions for this weekend Senior: Coolera v Shamrock Gaels…Gaels need the win to put down a marker that they are contenders. I'll back them by the narrowest. Curry v Harps…Tight affair, Curry to win. Molaise v St Marys…Molaise are on downward trend this year I think but still should work Marys. Tourlestrane v Tubber….Tour to have too much for Tubber in this.
Intermediate Farnans v Enniscrone…League form has to count for something…Enniscrone Calry v Geevagh…will go with Geevagh Castleconnor v Bunninadden…..Bunnies to win Owenmore v Mullinabreena…Mullinabreena handily.
Junior St Michael's v St Molaise….Molaise Drumcliffe v Tour…Tour St Marys v Harps…Harps Shamrock Gaels v Tubber…Shamrock Gaels
Overall Winner Predictions and Runners Up Senior: Shamrock Gaels RU Coolera Intermediate: Coolaney/Mullinabreena RU Enniscrone Junior: Cloonacool RU: St Michael's
Relegated Senior: Easkey Intermediate: St Pats
Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 569 - 31/07/2025 12:36:31
Replying To Taypot: "There is a lof of positivity with the new management team. I would not pass much heed on the press conference. They will be judged on results I am amused that the old management team are now history and most posters on this forum has rightly moved on. There is one however who spent years castigating them and now that they are gone he is still taking swipes at them. They really lived in his head. You wouldn't expect that from a guy that practices stress management." Give it a rest it's getting old at this point. Let me give you a tip, scroll on by and ignore. Life is too short
republican (Sligo) - Posts: 350 - 31/07/2025 13:59:13
After a hugely positive week for Sligo Gaa, even the champion gave a bit of space to the senior championship. Disappointing that they didn't bother with the intermediate or Junior A. At this juncture for the last 2 years I confidently predicted Coolera to win. I am equally confident that this year they won't win. It's very open but I think that Shamrock Gaels could well pull it off. I think Coolera will finish in the top 2 with Gaels and Eastern Harp's will be third. Molaise and Marys to be the top 2 teams with Tubber in third spot. I think Easkey will be in the relegation along with Curry in one group and Drumcliffe and Tourlestrane will be the fall guys in the other group. My predictions could come completely unstuck after round one because if you lose your first game you will struggle to make the top 2. Gaels to beat Coolera and these could meet in the Co Final. Harp's to beat Curry. Tubber to beat Tourlestrane. Molaise to beat Mary's. In the intermediate which I think is really, really weak, I am really going for the dark horse here with the Bunnies. They will emerge along with Enniscrone to the knockout stage. Third place will be Enniscrone with Pats and Castleconnor in relegation. However with 4 neighbouring West division sides anything could happen. Coolaney and Ballymote to take the top 2 spots , Geevagh in third followed by Calry and Owenmore. This weekend I predict Enniscrone to beat Farnans Bunnies to beat Castleconnor Geevagh to beat Calry Coolaney to beat Owenmore Gaels.
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2190 - 31/07/2025 15:40:42
Replying To eoinog: "After a hugely positive week for Sligo Gaa, even the champion gave a bit of space to the senior championship. Disappointing that they didn't bother with the intermediate or Junior A. At this juncture for the last 2 years I confidently predicted Coolera to win. I am equally confident that this year they won't win. It's very open but I think that Shamrock Gaels could well pull it off. I think Coolera will finish in the top 2 with Gaels and Eastern Harp's will be third. Molaise and Marys to be the top 2 teams with Tubber in third spot. I think Easkey will be in the relegation along with Curry in one group and Drumcliffe and Tourlestrane will be the fall guys in the other group. My predictions could come completely unstuck after round one because if you lose your first game you will struggle to make the top 2. Gaels to beat Coolera and these could meet in the Co Final. Harp's to beat Curry. Tubber to beat Tourlestrane. Molaise to beat Mary's. In the intermediate which I think is really, really weak, I am really going for the dark horse here with the Bunnies. They will emerge along with Enniscrone to the knockout stage. Third place will be Enniscrone with Pats and Castleconnor in relegation. However with 4 neighbouring West division sides anything could happen. Coolaney and Ballymote to take the top 2 spots , Geevagh in third followed by Calry and Owenmore. This weekend I predict Enniscrone to beat Farnans Bunnies to beat Castleconnor Geevagh to beat Calry Coolaney to beat Owenmore Gaels." Ahh yes the two Enniscrone teams in the one group is a real anomaly this year. Should be an interesting tie that one, they'll probably bring them to Bunninadden to play!
BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 144 - 31/07/2025 16:12:01
Exciting weekend ahead for Sligo GAA. Some great games to look forward to. Hopefully our core underage players really start to show for the clubs what they can bring into the Sligo set up. I enjoyed reading Laochragael's post on potential players and hope posters who go to games can give a bit more player analysis of options for Sligo if they commit.
All the best to St Molaise Gaels players and management. I know some of ye said there is pressure on us but with our form this year I don't think so. We are contenders and will be the next few years and you just hope it all comes together but its not like this is our last chance with an aging team, quite the opposite. Last year we just about got out of the group so hoping for the same this year with peaking in October.
BTW our website and streaming are miles ahead of Roscommon. I have been keeping an eye on Boyles results for obvious reasons and they don't stream anywhere near the amount of games as us so we are lucky in Sligo. Fair play to all involved in that service for Sligo GAA. As I say this the website is down hopefully for just some maintenance.
Eoinog, I would agree with your goals for the Sligo seniors over the 3 year term. I don't think in 2026 expectations should be too high because I don't think McEntee left us in as good shape as some people make out. It will be interesting to see how posters support this management compared to last or will just be a case of changing to green and red next year;). Anyways we have the 4 home league games but Division 3 is a lot tougher in 2026 so consolidation would do for me as long as they progress the panel in various ways. Does anyone know the timeline on Markievicz park being ready again?
Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1897 - 31/07/2025 17:01:38
Replying To BreakingBall123: "Ahh yes the two Enniscrone teams in the one group is a real anomaly this year. Should be an interesting tie that one, they'll probably bring them to Bunninadden to play!" Well spotted ((. Im chuffed that you read the post . I might actually replace the second Enniscrone team with St. Farnans . Thanks Breaking ball
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2190 - 31/07/2025 17:44:17
Replying To Sligonian: "Exciting weekend ahead for Sligo GAA. Some great games to look forward to. Hopefully our core underage players really start to show for the clubs what they can bring into the Sligo set up. I enjoyed reading Laochragael's post on potential players and hope posters who go to games can give a bit more player analysis of options for Sligo if they commit.
All the best to St Molaise Gaels players and management. I know some of ye said there is pressure on us but with our form this year I don't think so. We are contenders and will be the next few years and you just hope it all comes together but its not like this is our last chance with an aging team, quite the opposite. Last year we just about got out of the group so hoping for the same this year with peaking in October.
BTW our website and streaming are miles ahead of Roscommon. I have been keeping an eye on Boyles results for obvious reasons and they don't stream anywhere near the amount of games as us so we are lucky in Sligo. Fair play to all involved in that service for Sligo GAA. As I say this the website is down hopefully for just some maintenance.
Eoinog, I would agree with your goals for the Sligo seniors over the 3 year term. I don't think in 2026 expectations should be too high because I don't think McEntee left us in as good shape as some people make out. It will be interesting to see how posters support this management compared to last or will just be a case of changing to green and red next year;). Anyways we have the 4 home league games but Division 3 is a lot tougher in 2026 so consolidation would do for me as long as they progress the panel in various ways. Does anyone know the timeline on Markievicz park being ready again?" Ten games being streamed in Roscommon this weekend Sligonian, as opposed to two in Sligo. Not sure Sligo's streaming is "miles ahead".
MaugheraboyKid (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 31/07/2025 23:36:47
Replying To eoinog: "After a hugely positive week for Sligo Gaa, even the champion gave a bit of space to the senior championship. Disappointing that they didn't bother with the intermediate or Junior A. At this juncture for the last 2 years I confidently predicted Coolera to win. I am equally confident that this year they won't win. It's very open but I think that Shamrock Gaels could well pull it off. I think Coolera will finish in the top 2 with Gaels and Eastern Harp's will be third. Molaise and Marys to be the top 2 teams with Tubber in third spot. I think Easkey will be in the relegation along with Curry in one group and Drumcliffe and Tourlestrane will be the fall guys in the other group. My predictions could come completely unstuck after round one because if you lose your first game you will struggle to make the top 2. Gaels to beat Coolera and these could meet in the Co Final. Harp's to beat Curry. Tubber to beat Tourlestrane. Molaise to beat Mary's. In the intermediate which I think is really, really weak, I am really going for the dark horse here with the Bunnies. They will emerge along with Enniscrone to the knockout stage. Third place will be Enniscrone with Pats and Castleconnor in relegation. However with 4 neighbouring West division sides anything could happen. Coolaney and Ballymote to take the top 2 spots , Geevagh in third followed by Calry and Owenmore. This weekend I predict Enniscrone to beat Farnans Bunnies to beat Castleconnor Geevagh to beat Calry Coolaney to beat Owenmore Gaels." Think ya need to review your groups for Intermediate Eoinog ya have Bunninadden winning it and Ballymote and Coolaney coming out as top 2. They're all in the one group!
Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 569 - 01/08/2025 05:34:50
Senior: Shamrock Gaels to beat Coolera Harps to beat Curry Marys to beat Molaise Tourlestrane to beat Tubber
Inter: Enniscrone to beat Farnans Geevagh to beat Calry Bunninnadden to beat Castleconnor Coolaney to beat Owenmore Gaels
Junior: Molaise to beat Michaels Drumcliffe to beat Tourlestrane Marys to beat Harps Shamrock Gaels to beat Tubber
Sligeach25 (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 01/08/2025 09:45:58
Coolera to pip Shamrock Gaels. Expect it to be a one point game. Harps to shade it against Curry Marys to edge Molaise in another tight game Tourlestrane to beat Tubber
Enniscrone to get over St. Farnans Geevagh to edge Calry Bunninadden to scrape past Castleconnor C/M to get over Owenmore Gaels
Only one game in either competition could bring a surprise result. Very tight games expected.
johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 173 - 01/08/2025 10:31:12
Delighted that championship is back. I am hoping that there is a season or even weekend pass for the streamed games. Predictions for this weekend Senior Shamrock Gaels to overcome Coolera and lay down a marker Mary's to edge out Molaise Tourlestrane to beat Tubber Harps to beat Curry Still very hard to call an outright winner and the groups are lobsided, we really need to look at a seeding system.
Intermediate Enniscrone to beat Farnans Calry to beat Geevagh Bunnies to beat Castleconor Mullinabreena to just edge out Owenmore Gaels As with the senior groups are lobsided. It seems like it's now or never for Coolaney/Mullinabreena. Enniscrone will be hoping that the division 1 experience helps them for championship, Ballymote are the form team but are in the tougher side of the draw.
Junior Molaise to beat Michael's DRP to beat Tour Harps to beat Mary's Shamrock Gaels to beat Tubber Very hard to know what second teams as the will all get weaker as the competition goes on Cloonacool are the favourites and I would love to see them win it out, if Molaise don't lose too many to senior football they will be close come the business end.
laochragael (Sligo) - Posts: 7 - 01/08/2025 11:31:51
Replying To laochragael: "Delighted that championship is back. I am hoping that there is a season or even weekend pass for the streamed games. Predictions for this weekend Senior Shamrock Gaels to overcome Coolera and lay down a marker Mary's to edge out Molaise Tourlestrane to beat Tubber Harps to beat Curry Still very hard to call an outright winner and the groups are lobsided, we really need to look at a seeding system.
Intermediate Enniscrone to beat Farnans Calry to beat Geevagh Bunnies to beat Castleconor Mullinabreena to just edge out Owenmore Gaels As with the senior groups are lobsided. It seems like it's now or never for Coolaney/Mullinabreena. Enniscrone will be hoping that the division 1 experience helps them for championship, Ballymote are the form team but are in the tougher side of the draw.
Junior Molaise to beat Michael's DRP to beat Tour Harps to beat Mary's Shamrock Gaels to beat Tubber Very hard to know what second teams as the will all get weaker as the competition goes on Cloonacool are the favourites and I would love to see them win it out, if Molaise don't lose too many to senior football they will be close come the business end." The groups are seeded.When the draw was made first I though Group B was the most difficult. Based on league form Group A is definitely more competitive. Curry to beat Harps Shamrock Gaels to beat Coolera Tubber to beat Tourlestrane Mary's to beat Molaise
Enniscrone to beat Farnans C/M to beat Owenmore Geevagh to beat Calry Bunny to beat Castleconnor
Harp's to beat Mary's Molaise to beat Michael's Shamrock Gaels to beat Tubber Drumcliffe to beat Your.
Winner of senior. St.Marys Winner's of Intermediate Coolaney Junior winners Cloonacool
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 184 - 01/08/2025 12:53:06
We're an hour into the club championships and shamrock Gaels are the only club providing updates on Twitter. St farnans haven't tweeted since March. Coolera must only tweet when they're winning Connacht club games. It's poor from clubs, granted pros cannot be at every game however there is a club member there that could update the twitter etc. In fairness to Shamrock Gaels they provide excellent updates. Clubs should be fined for not having updates of club championship games, there's no excuse!
BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 144 - 01/08/2025 20:02:59