Carlow GAA thread

Replying To Matador:  "Slipped into the Centre of Excellence tonight to see Mayo 2nd string with Kevin McStay, Steven Rochford & Donie Buckley on the line v Carlow. How Murphy got them to come down on a Friday night of an Easter weekend is one thing but the quality of the match & the difference already in Carlow was amazing. David Gough even ref''d The game 1-16 to 1-18 it finished, things are changing, no comparison.

Joe Murphy is a great appointment, absolutely no question.

But the bits in bold, highlight the delusion in Carlow football. Pass judgement on how amazing things are once the Tailteann Cup is over."
Leix are the undisputed champions of delusion in football. So, you'd be an expert on that.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 832 - 19/04/2025 14:46:02    2602756

Solid start in the joe mc today. Took a while to get going but big win in the end. Always good to score 6 goals and some well taken points. Tougher tests ahead but can only play whose in front of you. Down to their credit play a running style definitely not suited to today but may cause a few problems to other teams yet.

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 111 - 19/04/2025 17:27:04    2602806

Replying To Fenaghman1:  "Slipped into the Centre of Excellence tonight to see Mayo 2nd string with Kevin McStay, Steven Rochford & Donie Buckley on the line v Carlow. How Murphy got them to come down on a Friday night of an Easter weekend is one thing but the quality of the match & the difference already in Carlow was amazing. David Gough even ref''d The game 1-16 to 1-18 it finished, things are changing, no comparison."
I'd be very surprised if Mayos 2nd string & their management were in the centre of excellence last night when they were playing Leitrim in the Connacht Semi this afternoon in Carrick on Shannon....

Good win for the hurlers after a very sloppy start. Down matched us for that first half & Nolans goal before halftime was the only difference. We looked rusty which is understandable after a few weeks off but we really stepped it up in the 2nd half & killed them with goals. Other Carlow teams might have taken points that were on offer but the lads were ruthless & went for goals. Scoring difference could come into later on so a big win is very welcome. Good to see the bench make a contribution to the scoreboard but i would have brought them in earlier. Murphy & Joyce looked lively. Kerry next who had a good win v Kildare. Always a hard place to get the win so hopefully we are fully tuned in.

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 257 - 19/04/2025 20:09:43    2602884

Replying To Fenaghman1:  "Slipped into the Centre of Excellence tonight to see Mayo 2nd string with Kevin McStay, Steven Rochford & Donie Buckley on the line v Carlow. How Murphy got them to come down on a Friday night of an Easter weekend is one thing but the quality of the match & the difference already in Carlow was amazing. David Gough even ref''d The game 1-16 to 1-18 it finished, things are changing, no comparison."
What's seldom is wonderful.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3160 - 19/04/2025 20:54:01    2602893

Replying To carlo:  "I'd be very surprised if Mayos 2nd string & their management were in the centre of excellence last night when they were playing Leitrim in the Connacht Semi this afternoon in Carrick on Shannon....

Good win for the hurlers after a very sloppy start. Down matched us for that first half & Nolans goal before halftime was the only difference. We looked rusty which is understandable after a few weeks off but we really stepped it up in the 2nd half & killed them with goals. Other Carlow teams might have taken points that were on offer but the lads were ruthless & went for goals. Scoring difference could come into later on so a big win is very welcome. Good to see the bench make a contribution to the scoreboard but i would have brought them in earlier. Murphy & Joyce looked lively. Kerry next who had a good win v Kildare. Always a hard place to get the win so hopefully we are fully tuned in."
A very hungry performance in the 2nd half after a poor first half where nobody was on their game fully.
Chris Nolan again top of the scoring stakes !
Dion Wall Paul Doyle Paidi O Shea and Kevin Mc did their job well all through.
Kerry will be a tougher assignment next weekend. With their win over Kildare with 5 unanswered points in their finish- will make them even harder to beat.
We should not take our eye off the ball for next weekend. Kerry are always very tough opponents.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1870 - 20/04/2025 10:39:06    2602987

Good win for the hurlers yesterday, Down have been on a high since the start of the year so was a tricky tie on paper. We had two very good 20 minute spells in either half. In the first half we went from 4-1 down to lead 1-10 to 0-07 and in the second half went from 1-11 to 0-11 to 4-19 to 0-16.

Interesting to see James Doyle line up in the full forward line and was a handful as always, scoring 1-3 but creating so much more. Chris didn't get on a massive amount of ball but came away with 3-1 which shows how clinical he is. Marty didn't score from play but put in a serious shift between the two 45s as always and it was nice to be able to take him off around 55 minutes. I think a key strength of our forward line is they can all play in any of the six positions maybe with the exception of Jon Nolan. It just allows us to mix things up if a change is needed. A lot of talk about forwards, I thought the backs stood up well in tricky conditions, with Down's style of play they can easily create goal chances with overlaps but they snuffed any chances out well with Brian Tracey making one great save. Kevin McDonald is a serious asset and on a dry day would have cleared a mountain of ball.

A tough assignment away in Tralee next weekend, I had a look at parts of the Kildare and Kerry game and I think we're operating at a level above them but we don't have a great record in Tralee. We hammered Kildare two years ago and were in a strong position against Kerry in Tralee a week later but only managed to come away with a draw. It is a much changed Kerry team but Shane Conway ran the show that day, he was missing yesterday but isn't far away from returning from injury so they will be a different team if he's involved. Padraig Boyle went off injured yesterday but he will take minding on the edge of the square with his aerial ability if he's involved so a tough task for Dion Wall or Paul Doyle.

We shouldn't take these days or this team for granted, some key players are in their late 20s or early 30s so enjoy it while we can and hopefully we'll get another day in Croke Park in June.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 20/04/2025 11:47:47    2603009

Replying To hurlingguru:  "Good win for the hurlers yesterday, Down have been on a high since the start of the year so was a tricky tie on paper. We had two very good 20 minute spells in either half. In the first half we went from 4-1 down to lead 1-10 to 0-07 and in the second half went from 1-11 to 0-11 to 4-19 to 0-16.

Interesting to see James Doyle line up in the full forward line and was a handful as always, scoring 1-3 but creating so much more. Chris didn't get on a massive amount of ball but came away with 3-1 which shows how clinical he is. Marty didn't score from play but put in a serious shift between the two 45s as always and it was nice to be able to take him off around 55 minutes. I think a key strength of our forward line is they can all play in any of the six positions maybe with the exception of Jon Nolan. It just allows us to mix things up if a change is needed. A lot of talk about forwards, I thought the backs stood up well in tricky conditions, with Down's style of play they can easily create goal chances with overlaps but they snuffed any chances out well with Brian Tracey making one great save. Kevin McDonald is a serious asset and on a dry day would have cleared a mountain of ball.

A tough assignment away in Tralee next weekend, I had a look at parts of the Kildare and Kerry game and I think we're operating at a level above them but we don't have a great record in Tralee. We hammered Kildare two years ago and were in a strong position against Kerry in Tralee a week later but only managed to come away with a draw. It is a much changed Kerry team but Shane Conway ran the show that day, he was missing yesterday but isn't far away from returning from injury so they will be a different team if he's involved. Padraig Boyle went off injured yesterday but he will take minding on the edge of the square with his aerial ability if he's involved so a tough task for Dion Wall or Paul Doyle.

We shouldn't take these days or this team for granted, some key players are in their late 20s or early 30s so enjoy it while we can and hopefully we'll get another day in Croke Park in June."
Great analysis ! Dead right too - that so many of our stars are in their late 20's and early 30's and we.should cherish them and the great times we currently have with them. Very special days !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1870 - 21/04/2025 19:36:28    2603482

Would echo the above statements don't realize how lucky we are to have the hurlers we do serving our county with such pride and dedication truly deserve every plaudit they get.

Was there when we beat Offaly in a league game in the early 00s in Dr Cullen remember thinking how great it was but surely we can't match these so called top counties on a regular basis.

We'll match them we have over the past 2 decades had good and bad days following our hurlers but always left any venue with a sense of great pride that we have a team as good as any.

Hopefully we can get another few years and maybe a mcdonagh cup and a shot in lei ster again.

As said above we should cherish it.

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 311 - 22/04/2025 20:28:15    2603746

Delighted to see the progress ye have been making in Hurling and the way ye can put it up to the traditionally strong counties.
I have long advocated that in Wicklow we have more potential to make progress in Hurling than in Football and we should be using Carlow as the template to follow.

Fair play to you , keep it going!

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 158 - 22/04/2025 21:39:14    2603758

Replying To ITSCHOLAR:  "Would echo the above statements don't realize how lucky we are to have the hurlers we do serving our county with such pride and dedication truly deserve every plaudit they get.

Was there when we beat Offaly in a league game in the early 00s in Dr Cullen remember thinking how great it was but surely we can't match these so called top counties on a regular basis.

We'll match them we have over the past 2 decades had good and bad days following our hurlers but always left any venue with a sense of great pride that we have a team as good as any.

Hopefully we can get another few years and maybe a mcdonagh cup and a shot in lei ster again.

As said above we should cherish it."
We have had great battles over the years and we have the height of respect for Carlow hurlers an example to all.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1686 - 22/04/2025 23:09:09    2603779

Replying To Hawkeye2:  "Delighted to see the progress ye have been making in Hurling and the way ye can put it up to the traditionally strong counties.
I have long advocated that in Wicklow we have more potential to make progress in Hurling than in Football and we should be using Carlow as the template to follow.

Fair play to you , keep it going!"
Every county in Leinster has more potential in hurling than football… until Dublin start taking the small ball seriously. Then it's over.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 832 - 22/04/2025 23:30:08    2603781

Replying To ITSCHOLAR:  "Would echo the above statements don't realize how lucky we are to have the hurlers we do serving our county with such pride and dedication truly deserve every plaudit they get.

As said above we should cherish it."
Brendan Hennessey in fairness always recognises this ok his commentary and always pleads with carlow people to get out and see these lads in the flesh!
As someone said last weekend we had a nice little crowd in, but that was the extent of it, a nice little crowd!
They'll be the usual faces in Tralee on Sunday.
Rather than sitting watching other teams all day on. tv, I'd beg every carlow supporter to get in your car and go to Tralee Sunday morning..Tralee is a great venue, and a win would set us up nicely for the next games. Make it a day out on the road to see a carlow team with a chance of winning away from home. I
t's a tough place to get a win so every voice counts, especially new ones….

Carlowtothecore1 (Carlow) - Posts: 60 - 23/04/2025 08:33:06    2603795

Replying To jobber:  "We have had great battles over the years and we have the height of respect for Carlow hurlers an example to all."
Many great games over the years never much between either team at any stage.

Always great sporting games and massive respect between both teams.

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 311 - 24/04/2025 20:23:33    2604118

Great effort from our minors yesterday evening. Unfortunately, they did not kick a big enough score in the first half with the wind and Westmeath capitalised on that in the second half. Very refreshing to see a Carlow underage team fight for every ball and physically be up for the challenge.

Some fantastic young footballers on that team and it's a long time since a Carlow minor team won back to back Leinster championship games - build on it!

EireOgAbu (Carlow) - Posts: 28 - 25/04/2025 09:37:09    2604165

Replying To EireOgAbu:  "Great effort from our minors yesterday evening. Unfortunately, they did not kick a big enough score in the first half with the wind and Westmeath capitalised on that in the second half. Very refreshing to see a Carlow underage team fight for every ball and physically be up for the challenge.

Some fantastic young footballers on that team and it's a long time since a Carlow minor team won back to back Leinster championship games - build on it!"
Agree they put in a great effort. We were gifted a goal by Westmeath in the first minute but we gifted them one back in the first minute of the second half so that evened out but then we missed two great goal chances in the first half. Even points off those two chances might have given us enough of a lead to hang on. 5 points was always looking like it might be too little and so it proved but then the lads rallied in the last 10 minutes and got it back to 2 but I thought we went looking for goals too early in that second half and missed knocking over a few points that we could have done with late on.

Also I don't know the players enough so not being critical but I thought some of the substitutions were strange ones as lads I thought were doing really well were taken off but no doubt there's some really classy footballers in that team, plenty of lads with quick feet and quick hands who will have a bright future if they stick with it.

Into the All Ireland minor C championship now so hopefully they should go very well in that against counties of a similar level. I think it's for all teams who didn't make their provincial semi finals.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1548 - 25/04/2025 10:17:12    2604171

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Agree they put in a great effort. We were gifted a goal by Westmeath in the first minute but we gifted them one back in the first minute of the second half so that evened out but then we missed two great goal chances in the first half. Even points off those two chances might have given us enough of a lead to hang on. 5 points was always looking like it might be too little and so it proved but then the lads rallied in the last 10 minutes and got it back to 2 but I thought we went looking for goals too early in that second half and missed knocking over a few points that we could have done with late on.

Also I don't know the players enough so not being critical but I thought some of the substitutions were strange ones as lads I thought were doing really well were taken off but no doubt there's some really classy footballers in that team, plenty of lads with quick feet and quick hands who will have a bright future if they stick with it.

Into the All Ireland minor C championship now so hopefully they should go very well in that against counties of a similar level. I think it's for all teams who didn't make their provincial semi finals."
Hard luck to the lads last night. You will feel distraught today, but most of you are capable of playing senior football. I hope you all keep it up and stick with it. Maybe it will also lead to some opportunities at third level.

Like Onion, I don't know any of the personalities involved, but I want to echo what he just said. Young Casey from Eire Og was the best player on the field in the first half. I couldn't believe it when they took him off. It didn't look like he was injured. Then they took off the centre forward a few minutes later. Seemed bizarre to me.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 832 - 25/04/2025 11:29:11    2604189

Replying To CARPS:  "Hard luck to the lads last night. You will feel distraught today, but most of you are capable of playing senior football. I hope you all keep it up and stick with it. Maybe it will also lead to some opportunities at third level.

Like Onion, I don't know any of the personalities involved, but I want to echo what he just said. Young Casey from Eire Og was the best player on the field in the first half. I couldn't believe it when they took him off. It didn't look like he was injured. Then they took off the centre forward a few minutes later. Seemed bizarre to me."
Yes taking Casey (no. 7) off I couldn't understand as he had a brilliant first half and was off very early in the second and also they took the corner back off (no. 2) who was doing great.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1548 - 25/04/2025 14:46:20    2604235

Minor hurlers out tomorrow up in Newbridge v Kildare.

A win or draw needed for qualify from the group for the knockout stages. Kildare need a win to have any hope. On what I've seen of them we should be capable of winning this as there's some nice hurlers on that Carlow team but maybe not enough to go much further. Much more skilful team though than the U-20s I thought. Hopefully they get a win anyway and a crack at Offaly who I think it'll be in first knock out round.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1548 - 25/04/2025 17:12:45    2604266