Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Pleasing you Tyrone folks is a long way down in our list of priorities"
Not only that, but Tyrone didn't come close to beating Kerry either. Never mind their style of football.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 29/07/2025 11:04:27    2628941

I drove to Donegal Town last night for the homecoming, great crowd but it was a somber affair. Well done for everyone who turned up to show support for the team. The heavens opened as the team were coming onto the stage, probably summed up the mood. Hugh looked particularly upset, it was a tough weekend for him. What a great season he had, hopefully he gets nominated for an all star.

As others have said, we never got out of the traps on Sunday. The disappointing part was not playing anywhere near our potential. Kerry were brilliant but we did make it easy. That will hurt the players.

The talk now will turn to retirements. Was that a farewell speech from Paddy? Hard to see Michael soldiering on. We still have a great squad, just need to add a few of those fantastic u20s from last year.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1928 - 29/07/2025 11:10:09    2628943

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Firstly hard luck to Donegal, can have no arguments on the day. Never got out of the starting blocks really and the game was pretty much over at half time as a contest. Eamonn McGee said similar on OTB this morning too.

I spent last week in your beautiful county on holidays and the one thing that Jim has done yet again is have the whole county believing that there would only be one winner on Sunday. That will make the come down even harder to take I'd imagine. Will be a long few months ahead and you would expect Murphy will retire and McBrearty also. Another poster mentioned one or two others who might not be obvious also. Jim (if he stays) will need to bring a few of those good U20s into the fold and try to shape a fresher team out of things. I did say on here previously that I felt this was Donegal's win or bust year based on having Murphy essentially still playing top tier stuff. Was gutted for him on Sunday but time waits for no man and Kerry targeted him to keep him moving and in Croke Park there is no let up. Kerry were relentless and full value for their win. Its up to the rest now to figure out a way to keep them close and hopefully not let them go on a run of a few in a row.

IF Jim did decided he doesn't want to go again (I tihnk he will based on his comments at the homecoming) - who is being groomed to take over? Lacey?"
Jim is likely staying on for his 3rd and final year of his 3 year term, I don't honestly see many players stepping down, including Patrick McBrearty, Ryan McHugh and Ciaran Thompson, I think next season may be the last dance for some of them, but who knows.

Michael Murphy is one possible retirement risk this year, I hope he stays on, but he has a lot on his plate outside of football and the commitment for this is huge. The man owes us nothing, i was honoured to be able to watch him play for our County again this season. I would prefer him to stay for one final season, but I have nothing but respect for the man no matter what he decides.

I don't think they are grooming a replacement for Jim just yet.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1438 - 29/07/2025 11:16:36    2628946

Hugely dissapointing leaving croke park on Sunday. One of them days when you have to admit you were beaten by a better team. Kerry tactics were spot on. Watching gavin white from the off he was definitely told to run at the right side of our defence, and by God they got joy from it. The two Clifford's are phenomenal footballers watching there movement was unbelievable. Felt sorry for our lads but they fought hard even though we were on the back foot most of the game. Conor o donnell was excellent. Hughie must have been gutted I felt we needed his presence early on . Anyway talk to retirements now. Murphy probably. Paddy probably. Mc hugh might. Apart from that hopefully everyone stays were not far away. We need a few defenders and possibly another big midfielder. Thanks to jim and the lads for a brilliant year, yous done us proud.
Back to club now and hopefully unearth a few gems.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2655 - 29/07/2025 11:46:49    2628956

To Donegal posters

I know you are hurting at the mo but I just want to post and say how gracious the Donegal people and posters have been towards Kerry.
Losing an All Ireland is tough but the Donegal people have shown to be real classy.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4053 - 29/07/2025 12:01:22    2628966

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "I don't live in the country anymore and have no affiliation with my parish club., not from the town. I was never a big club fan. Sure I'd go to the finals regardless who was playing but I've always been more of a county supporter then club."
Club demands work. County fans are like soccer fans

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 312 - 29/07/2025 12:22:55    2628971

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Jimmy had no plan today, a team of Gaelic Footballers against a team of athletes and long distance runners who didn't run today, also no place for old men in Croke Park , a few scored easy frees not enough on All Ireland Final Day."
You're just a wee mayo troll jacktheboy, what you say doesn't matter to anyone.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3399 - 29/07/2025 12:27:28    2628976

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hugely dissapointing leaving croke park on Sunday. One of them days when you have to admit you were beaten by a better team. Kerry tactics were spot on. Watching gavin white from the off he was definitely told to run at the right side of our defence, and by God they got joy from it. The two Clifford's are phenomenal footballers watching there movement was unbelievable. Felt sorry for our lads but they fought hard even though we were on the back foot most of the game. Conor o donnell was excellent. Hughie must have been gutted I felt we needed his presence early on . Anyway talk to retirements now. Murphy probably. Paddy probably. Mc hugh might. Apart from that hopefully everyone stays were not far away. We need a few defenders and possibly another big midfielder. Thanks to jim and the lads for a brilliant year, yous done us proud.
Back to club now and hopefully unearth a few gems."
very hard to take alright rory but I hope the grandkids enjoyed the day it's a special occasion even if the result wasn't what we wanted

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 262 - 29/07/2025 12:33:33    2628979

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ah sure look every team including ourselves look for any wee perceived injustice.
In reality, I doubt the Kerry lads are that thin-skinned. They know how good they are & certainly proved it over the last month."
I may have been a tad OTT in my criticism of Donegal but you don't seem to be disagreeing with me?

They left the parade early in semi and final and the presidents handshake. What were they trying to achieve? some kind of mental advantage? it was ridiculous and embarrassing.

But a lot of Donegal fans seem to treat Jim McGuiness as some kind of Donald Trump figure. Thou shalt not criticize our fearless leader.

Call it as it is lads.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2102 - 29/07/2025 12:59:37    2628984

Just dropping in to say commiserations on Sundays defeat. We in Galway know very well how ye must be feeling, after losing 2 of the last 4 All-Irelands.

Truth being told, ye could/should have been going for 2 in a row, but for a very fortuitous goal we got against ye last year in the semi. Also, I'd say on 364 other days of the year there's no way Kerry are 10 points better than Donegal. So onwards and upwards lads, don't be too disheartened....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 545 - 29/07/2025 13:01:25    2628985

Replying To CCFabu:  "very hard to take alright rory but I hope the grandkids enjoyed the day it's a special occasion even if the result wasn't what we wanted"
Thanks, yes they were so excited. Just a pity that we hadn't sam home with us. It's roll on to next year now. I feel we still have a chance of getting sam soon if we can get another few young lads up to scratch. Muldoon and mc cahill can't be far away.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2655 - 29/07/2025 13:17:43    2628989

I see Colm Parkinson has a bee in his bonnet over McGuinness never having a plan b. Was it really a tactical meltdown that lost the all Ireland I am wondering

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 29/07/2025 13:18:39    2628990

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "To Donegal posters

I know you are hurting at the mo but I just want to post and say how gracious the Donegal people and posters have been towards Kerry.
Losing an All Ireland is tough but the Donegal people have shown to be real classy."
Thank you. You always have to put your hands up when beaten by the better team on the day. The Cliffords and Gavin are class acts. I hope we learn from the defeat.
The Kerry supporters were great as usual. There is a way to win and they were very sporting.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 29/07/2025 13:33:30    2628996

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "To Donegal posters

Losing an All Ireland is tough but the Donegal people have shown to be real classy."
grma Mick I hope you enjoy it, by all accounts a special All Ireland for Kerry this year and well deserved

I had great chats with Kerry people all weekend. Probably the best interactions with opposition fans I had all year (though I haven't had any bad ones really). was a nice reminder that the nonsense you see online is just that, online nonsense.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 262 - 29/07/2025 13:45:36    2629002

Replying To CCFabu:  "very hard to take alright rory but I hope the grandkids enjoyed the day it's a special occasion even if the result wasn't what we wanted"
This is it. There can only be one winner at the end of the day.
I know my own clan have made some memories that'll last them a lifetime this summer. They're itching to get training and playing games. What it's all about.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9943 - 29/07/2025 13:49:24    2629004

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I may have been a tad OTT in my criticism of Donegal but you don't seem to be disagreeing with me?

They left the parade early in semi and final and the presidents handshake. What were they trying to achieve? some kind of mental advantage? it was ridiculous and embarrassing.

But a lot of Donegal fans seem to treat Jim McGuiness as some kind of Donald Trump figure. Thou shalt not criticize our fearless leader.

Call it as it is lads."
is that you Mel Roberts?

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 120 - 29/07/2025 14:05:07    2629007

Replying To streaker:  "Just dropping in to say commiserations on Sundays defeat. We in Galway know very well how ye must be feeling, after losing 2 of the last 4 All-Irelands.

Truth being told, ye could/should have been going for 2 in a row, but for a very fortuitous goal we got against ye last year in the semi. Also, I'd say on 364 other days of the year there's no way Kerry are 10 points better than Donegal. So onwards and upwards lads, don't be too disheartened...."
Probably 4 or 5 but their best is is best in country but ye 10 points bit harsh

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 847 - 29/07/2025 14:11:51    2629011

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I may have been a tad OTT in my criticism of Donegal but you don't seem to be disagreeing with me?

Call it as it is lads."
No they didn't abandon the president's handshake.

They did leave the parade a bit early, hardly the first team to ever do it so I don't understand why people are getting in such a flap about it.

I've seen plenty of criticism of the starting lineup chosen and tactics from Donegal fans, so you're just being flippant.

- Hugh McFadden should have started
- Paudie should have been tagged
- No alternative game plan when plan A evidently wasn't working as normal

Easiest thing in the world is to be wise after the event.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9943 - 29/07/2025 14:35:21    2629023

Replying To farneygael3:  "I see Colm Parkinson has a bee in his bonnet over McGuinness never having a plan b. Was it really a tactical meltdown that lost the all Ireland I am wondering"
Colm who???

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1149 - 29/07/2025 14:59:36    2629034

Replying To Lockjaw:  "No they didn't abandon the president's handshake.

They did leave the parade a bit early, hardly the first team to ever do it so I don't understand why people are getting in such a flap about it.

I've seen plenty of criticism of the starting lineup chosen and tactics from Donegal fans, so you're just being flippant.

- Hugh McFadden should have started
- Paudie should have been tagged
- No alternative game plan when plan A evidently wasn't working as normal

Easiest thing in the world is to be wise after the event."
What's most frustrating is that those three points were the conventional wisdom before the ball was thrown in.

McGuinness, the backroom team, the players are all human and I have a great deal of sympathy for them, but those questions must be asked. The final will be zoned in on in detail, but the warning signs had been there all season.

It's all well and good for McGuinness to put his hands up and take blame, but I want to know what he thinks he got wrong. His methods have always been to focus on a new approach each season, though the weaknesses remain relatively consistent year on year.

He's still the best man for the job. I just wish he was challenged more internally.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 489 - 29/07/2025 15:09:30    2629038