Anyone who is on here to poke fun at yesterdays collapse farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 314 - 28/07/2025 11:05:30 2628549 Link 0 |
Commiserations to Donegal. Great supporters. Great county. I've enjoyed going to Donegal on holidays in recent years. From our perspective getting a result was always going to require a massive performance. Donegal fought back well a number of times during the game. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9050 - 28/07/2025 11:11:55 2628553 Link 2 |
Kerryq outdoor adventure yesterday without 2 if inly saying get rid of them because of that 2 pt frees some situations I say maybe get rid but from play they have helped just my opinion you can disagree
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 838 - 28/07/2025 11:12:44 2628554 Link 0 |
He's obviously not gonna win us an All-Ireland if we bench him!!!? The difference in the team when Hughie is on the pitch to not on the pitch is night and day! Hughie has more miles left on the clock at 31 than our other midfielders do at 27, 28, and 30! SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 488 - 28/07/2025 11:43:46 2628577 Link 0 |
I was sorry to see Donegal lose yesterday, no shame in losing to a good team however. boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 511 - 28/07/2025 11:48:27 2628579 Link 0 |
That was a tough day for us, we never really got going and looked really nervous. Such a shame that the great season we have had ended like that. All the credit has to go to Kerry, as good an All Ireland final performance as I have seen. All their big players turned up and it was the reverse for us. We got murdered at midfield in the first half and couldn't get our hands on the ball. Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1927 - 28/07/2025 11:56:20 2628583 Link 1 |
Hard luck yesterday to Donegal. Better team won no doubt and hard to beat experience. Jack id streets ahead of Jim as a manager and five all Ireland's plus a few minors, munsters and league titles are testament to that. bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 203 - 28/07/2025 12:04:42 2628585 Link 1 |
Well done Donegal. Not the result you wanted yesterday but fair play to your Management, player and fans for the atmosphere and colour you brought in 2025. At a minimum, Donegal are interesting to watch and at a maximum, thrilling. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6522 - 28/07/2025 12:05:10 2628586 Link 1 |
Very disappointing performance form Donegal yesterday. Alot of keyboard warriors dishing our lads and Jim particularly from Kerry , half of their supporters left before the presentation. No complaints about the result they were better than us and that's all there is to it. totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1137 - 28/07/2025 12:16:09 2628593 Link 2 |
Thanks. Great performance by Kerry yesterday. David Clifford gets the plaudits and rightly so (his shooting yesterday was brilliant) but Paudie is fantastic player. His link up play and vision is super.
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 721 - 28/07/2025 12:25:45 2628597 Link 1 |
Yeah, everyone has their opinions I guess on the new rules. My bugbear with them is they change the game too much. Kerry kicked three two pointers yesterday and were 10-4 up instead of 7-4 up. I felt the game was up for us there. Of course there are example where it has gone the other way, but when I was filling out the FRC survey every week during the year, that was one that I consistently selected as not being in favour of. Wonder how many of the team might consider leaving now? ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 28/07/2025 12:28:21 2628598 Link 0 |
Comments turned off on social media posts :/ farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 314 - 28/07/2025 12:47:06 2628612 Link 0 |
Yes well done and congratulations to Kerry on a top class performance when everything clicked for Kerry and the reverse for us, losing so many kickouts was the killer among other things, the nervousness got to some of our lads which is understandable for me being it was their first All Ireland final appearance. Kerry are old hands at this, the best team won on the day no doubt about that, I am seriously disappointed but I don't feel as sick as I did after 2014 when I felt we didn't perform at all on the day. Getting beat by a better team is easier to take. For us being realistic looking at where we've come from in 2 years we have to be very happy with our progress and we are all very proud of our team and supporters and the beautiful county we come from. This team have given this county a massive lift recently and the craic and memories of the last 2 weeks won't be forgotten. I hope there's a massive crowd in Donegal town tonight to welcome the team home and thank them for the great year they have given us, they deserve so much credit and thanks for all their hard work. We'll be back with lessons leaned and experience in the tank next time, back to earth now with the Club Championships to enjoy next and we'll see if we can unearth some new talent for next year. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3392 - 28/07/2025 12:49:41 2628614 Link 1 |
Yeah I was surprised when I heard it was Hughie. I wasn't surprised when I heard Caolan came in but it really didn't work. I thought it would be McColgan or even Ban to make way. We didn't lay a glove on Kerry for much of the first half and despite McCole doing ok on Clifford the middle was still too open. I suppose Jim was worried about his pace but like I already said Hughie brings an intensity that rubs off and we just didn't have it with the change. I was sitting beside a Kerry man and we talked throughout the game....a sound fella as well as one or two after. However I was certainly irked by lots of less than gracious stuff inside and especially outside the stadium much directed at Jim. Seeing it online too with many from Armagh banding in. I'm sure Jim won't be paying much notice and I just hope yesterday will provide the motivation to drive on. I was surprised Mark Curran didn't see more game time but it's obvious Jim favours pacey hybrid players over solid defenders. I just think too many of our defenders suffered from jelly legs not helped by a creaky zonal defence and getting battered on the kickouts. The likes of Mogan, Roarty, Moore, McColgan, Ban and Ryan when he was on really didn't figure which was disappointing. The build up was incredible but maybe was it too much? I'm sure Jim shielded it away well enough but there was videos of people getting very excited (and rightfully so) seeing players off on their way to get the team bus down. It's a learning experience that can hopefully used it we're blessed to get back but it's a long road.
panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2891 - 28/07/2025 12:54:34 2628621 Link 1 |
What a ridiculous comment. Jack has no Ulster titles which is as relevant as anything you have said.
themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 173 - 28/07/2025 12:56:51 2628622 Link 0 |
Are we a bit too one-dimensional? There's no doubt that when our running game is clicking and working well, other teams find it hard to deal with. But against the very best teams, I think we need a few more strings to our bow. Dáíre attempted a couple of floated balls into Murphy yesterday but the execution was way off, and it looked like an ad-hoc play rather than anything rehearsed. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9936 - 28/07/2025 13:52:10 2628649 Link 0 |
Get over it. The two pointer was in all year and its black and white. Kerry won the game by 10 pts. End of story!
winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 765 - 28/07/2025 14:11:27 2628665 Link 0 |
Laughing into the Mayo players faces Jack L (None) - Posts: 3185 - 28/07/2025 14:18:07 2628672 Link 0 |
Agreed. No point in crying about two pointers, we were damn glad of them in the Monaghan game when Ciaran Thompson nailed two in the first half to keep us in it.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9936 - 28/07/2025 14:19:51 2628673 Link 0 |
People forget alot of kerry team in their third final and some of them have played in 5 previously. It's a big advantage in terms of what to expect on the day. Alot of online nonsense from Kerry people trashing mcguinness and Donegal, clearly winning isn't enough for some. I don't know what the 2 Clifford's are on about being disrespected the only disrespectful comments I heard in the last number of months about this Kerry team were from Kerry people. I don't recall Michael Murphy ever having to ask Donegal people to come out and back the team? totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1137 - 28/07/2025 14:21:05 2628674 Link 1 |