What is a low live rory? Is it someone who lives in the Netherlands?
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1354 - 31/05/2022 10:15:51 2421304 Link 0 |
Such a childish post, but no great surprise coming from someone with very little real knowledge of the game. And then to finish with ' low lives lol. What age are you 15? A former team mate comes in and deflects attention away from the inept performance of our manager, no surprise there. I have not seen one bit of abuse thrown at players or the management team. Just honest Donegal supporter's who care about Donegal football questioning our management's abilities to bring the team on. And questioning some of the crazy decisions made on sunday by management. And then to say we have not got the talent, and say when murphy, mcbrearty and hugh go we are finished. You really have little knowledge of the talent we have in donegal. For one, look what came off the bench on sunday, the two o 'donnells, Thomson and others. It was never about lack of talent before mcguinness took charge, and it is not about lack of talent now. Its about getting the right management in place to get the best out of our talent. I dont even know why i respond to you, as your lack of any real knowledge about donegal football is there for everyone to see. And as i have said, you come across as childish The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 723 - 31/05/2022 10:17:54 2421308 Link 1 |
I was fuming yesterday so decided not to post anything on this thread in case I said something out of order. I think its terrible people abusing the manager and players on the likes of Twitter and Facebook. Unfortunately its part of modern day society. I do feel most posters on Hogan Stand are fair. some are anti-Bonner for sure and wanted him out from year one. There is nothing I would like more than Bonner and Rochford to succeed but its looking less likely as time goes by. The game against Derry was an amalgamation of all the bad things we saw in the league, slow build up play, passing backwards and sideways, even if we had taken pot shots from around the 45 we would have probably got enough scores to win in normal time. The passage of play that summed it most was the end of normal time, holding on to the ball for about two minutes without having a shot. I actually don't mind getting beat, that happens, I am more disappointed with our style of play. I would love us to be more attack minded and start using the foot pass into the forwards instead of endless hand passing. We may not have the players to be winning All Irelands but we still have a really good squad and are definitely better than we are showing this year. Going back to the end of last year, I do agree with your overall point that there were no decent candidates coming forward. We could end up in the same situation if Bonner left. The only man inside the county with the credentials is Jim, he isn't interested at the moment so we are probably looking at an outside manager. What are your thoughts if we go out in the qualifiers? Do we stick with Bonner and Rochford next year? Granted we need to let this season play out before making any decisions. Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1932 - 31/05/2022 10:25:56 2421310 Link 0 |
Somebody mentioned Rory Kavanagh? even if he stepped in to take charge for the rest of the season, I don't know whoever takes over they have to start playing football the way it's meant to be played, ie the purpose being to win, throw off the fear of losing. If you get beat by a better team fair enough, I don't think Rochford is the man either, he has a baggage of failure about him at county level too. Just listening to the DL debate last night I think it's clear to everyone now that Bonner has had his chance and has finally blown it, how he didn't put Murphy in to FF when it was obvious he wasn't moving well and Murphy's marker was causing us damage by being took out round the middle is just beyond me, the mistakes by not using the number of subs available correctly? when we had players cramping up? that's just total incompetence if true and a bit hard to believe tbh. what got us past Cavan was a couple of long balls in, they may have been attempts at points but no matter they dropped into the danger area, I can't believe declansboy is still on here blaming the players, suppose it's no surprise given his past comments, those players deserve better leadership and so do the Donegal supporters, paying good money for tickets and travel etc only to watch the sh** show of tactics from Bonner? it was embarrassing tbh. No it's really time now that Declan Bonner did the decent thing and just resigned, he's only doing the county team harm now and his own reputation. let an interim manager take charge for the qualifier game. I wouldn't have great faith in our county board to get the next appointment right either but we live in hope. Reading Jim's article this week he reckons Murphy's best years could still be ahead of him if Donegal just leave him in at FF for the rest of his career. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3457 - 31/05/2022 10:32:31 2421311 Link 0 |
Declansboy would you just please go away and give your head a wobble, if you can't see your clubmate is finished now you never will, your comments are getting more pathetic and childish.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3457 - 31/05/2022 10:36:06 2421312 Link 0 |
Pauric McShea who captained Donegal to an ulster title said today that tactical ineptitude cost Donegal the game. Plenty others who played the game have said the same, they're not keyboard warriors or lowlife's . People are entitled to ask legitimate questions about how the team was prepared, the game plan that was used and the reluctance to use the bench when players were falling down tired. I agree with Molloy about the keyboard warriors, it's not acceptable, it's completely out of order.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 743 - 31/05/2022 10:43:32 2421313 Link 1 |
If you see fault in others always questioning the manager then surely you see fault in yourself for never questioning the manager. I don't see how not kicking on or sitting back is fully a player problem. Messages are coming from the bench and the bench have the ability to change things.. personnel and positionally. Most people on here are questioning the use of Murphy. If the bench told him to play that way, its their issue, if Murphy decides himself to play like that then it is also the benches fault because no player should be fully dictating the game plan. This also applies to the kick outs... we had a huge advantage theire which was not exploited.. on our own kickout and targeting Derry's kickout (only a couple of times we really got a proper squeeze on Derry's kickout) I can only assume McBrearty is being kept on the team for frees. Seems the only expectation of Paddy yesterday was to tie up McKuigue, then that's a low bar to set. Any other forward who contributed as little to the game would have been hauled off and rightly so. Various scoring inside forwards on the bench who could bring something else I've nothing against Bonner personally (or any of the players), and hopefully we can learn lessons and kick on now. My fear is even of we get through the qualifier round (very draw dependent), then we get either Dublin, Kerry or Galway in the quarters. I would fear us taking a hammering from Dublin or Kerry, and that would be good for no one. himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 31/05/2022 10:44:30 2421314 Link 2 |
can yous all just stop the sniping or ignore one anothers' posts, it's exhausting to read to be honest JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/05/2022 10:54:05 2421319 Link 1 |
My main gripe with Sunday is the fact that we only appeared to have a plan A. My 6 year old daughter knew what way Derry were going to play so it isn't unreasonable to query why we didn't have more cards up our sleeve to counteract it. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10033 - 31/05/2022 11:46:09 2421330 Link 0 |
@Roryboy, Usual garbage Rory , anyone with an opinion is a low 'live'. Maybe the great MOLLOY is on to something, this keyboard stuff and he knows these people who never kicked a ball. Maybe disenchantment and dismay with management at what's going at not KICKING the ball from him would shake things up!How would he himself have liked to play in the present day Donegal shambolic set up? thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 31/05/2022 12:09:36 2421337 Link 0 |
While I'm not it's greatest fan, the Mark is similar to the Drop At Goal in Rugby. Firstly, you get an uncontested shot at the opponents posts. Secondly, it allows you to reset your shape, whether to press or retreat. On Sunday, the Derry defence were like a Rugby team set up for line breaks, were susceptible to the Mark if we manipulated a little bit of space. And at least four of our attacking players are more than capable of knocking them over. And whereas it may not work all the time, at least its putting another decision in the mind of the defender and may open up other opportunities.
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 879 - 31/05/2022 12:36:10 2421349 Link 0 |
Never heard from you in 3 weeks. You definitely fit the bill of what Anthony Molloy is talking about. Have no interest in what you have to say. I'll not be going away so get used to it. I stand by my point the best men are there but we don't really have the quality players to take us to the top level. That's nothing against the players even one of them have my utmost respect. They gave up there young lives to play for there county . If people don't agree with what I say so what. Heard today there was a bit of fist cups in the pat Mc grane stand between two Donegal fans. One of them was mouthing about bonner unaware that there were club mates of bonner about.. maybe it was you low ball but you probably would be too cowardly for that.. I could do with a few likes lads . Hope to see yous all in two weeks but I wudnt hold my breath it'll be the genuine supporters at this game.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2667 - 31/05/2022 12:52:33 2421351 Link 0 |
Looking in from the outside I love watching Donegal play and I understand the hurt from loosing the Ulster final and it's normal reaction after a defeat like that, but there are some terrific players on that Donegal team and I wish we had 5or 6 of them on our team,and with our manager I recon we would make an all Ireland final. [email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 31/05/2022 12:57:29 2421352 Link 0 |
I'd say from the outside you would be in a minority of 1 if you liked watching the way Donegal have played recently….. most of their own supporters don't even like it…. A talented bunch of footballers hamstrung by negative coaching down the years and for some of them their best days have been wasted
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 31/05/2022 13:12:57 2421359 Link 0 |
Good boy Rory, ure usual best, cowards, keyboard, know nothing about football, that is us that have an opinion on the mess Bonner has created, So now ure switching codes to the McGregor stuff , wait, u sound more like a sumu wrestler type. Get the Countdown started, you and DECCIE are gone , history. By the way , how did I look swinging in the stand, Ithink I won. You Gaelic football genius, a little attempt at deflecting away from the big picture.
thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 31/05/2022 13:18:22 2421363 Link 1 |
I was nearly believing you about fisty cuffs (not cups - certainly none of them in Na Rossa anyway) until you mentioned it was his own club men.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1354 - 31/05/2022 13:18:25 2421364 Link 0 |
Exactly. We needed some other strings to our bow the other day and they were sadly missing. I'd say Gallagher couldn't believe his luck.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10033 - 31/05/2022 13:29:19 2421374 Link 0 |
I only wish our management done what doengal did and went full blanket defence, only fault i have with bonner is that he didn't put mc breatey back too, yous nearly had them at their won game, I fully believe it was the right option as they want the other team to press out, just didn't have the runners to win those frees and derry would have fouled all day if yous would have penetrated a bit more. monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 431 - 31/05/2022 13:30:10 2421375 Link 3 |
What are you trying to say lad. A bit confused are you. A lot of wafflers on here this last few days.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2667 - 31/05/2022 13:53:51 2421383 Link 0 |
Agree but they are still a talented bunch like you said it's an opinion I have and this is a forum for discussion,you have yours and I have mine that's what it's there for and I never mentioned recently read it again. It's not the players fault that's what I was referring to they have very good players all over the pitch and 5 or 6 of them would make a massive difference to the Cavan team.
[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 31/05/2022 14:02:37 2421386 Link 0 |