People are never happy, if the game was played at a smaller venue, everyone would be complaining because there weren't enough tickets.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 658 - 04/06/2025 15:28:31 2614889 Link 2 |
It is Clare from the Mayo blog with the deluded thoughts, poor grammer and spelling. Donegal posters are best advised to ignore you. Galway posters now avoid your strange postings as JimB1991. Nobody cares what you think.
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 822 - 04/06/2025 16:04:43 2614898 Link 7 |
He thought it would be Cavan which he mentioned in his interview,
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1167 - 04/06/2025 16:52:01 2614912 Link 0 |
You are right from a playing point of view it makes no difference which field the game is in.Personally it makes no great difference to me but the reaction of our posters just shows how we are prepared to put up with a lack of fairness in this and in far more serious issues.I just mentioned Omagh because I know it would never be considered stewarts or traffic notwithstanding,Different mindset on Donegal.On a positive note Roscommon is a good enough venue although if this weather continues you would need to be in the stand about 12 noon.That is where Croke Park would be better especially for the older generation or less mobile people .One very good omen from Hyde Park is that we won the 1987 U-21 all Ireland Final replay against Kerry with Manus Boyle on fire.
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1167 - 04/06/2025 17:15:13 2614916 Link 0 |
I don't know anyone who realistically thought Cavan was an option?
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8423 - 04/06/2025 18:28:08 2614929 Link 0 |
It's ok to say you're delighted with the Hyde and admit that it's an advantage to Mayo support and team. Mayo didn't pick the venue but it's very favourable to them. Nevertheless, confident we'll get the job done and end Mayo's fine record there.
WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 73 - 04/06/2025 19:31:56 2614936 Link 1 |
Cavan is roughly the same distance from Letterkenny and Castlebar whereas Roscommon is over 2 and a 1/2 hours from Letterkenny and 1and a 1/4 from Castlebar.
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 529 - 04/06/2025 20:01:07 2614939 Link 2 |
It's not about exact distance. How many times do i have to say it? It was never going to be in Cavan as Donegal played there the previous game. Absolutely everyone knew that. This debate is so stupid considering Jim came out so strongly against Croker. Options were pretty limited. I really don't think Hyde Park is the difference between winning and losing here.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8423 - 04/06/2025 20:21:40 2614942 Link 0 |
Sure you would have been happy if you had got Cavan. It doesn't matter where the venue is it will matter who turns up on the day to be the better team . We are not over confident but we can beat anyone when at our best. You say your confident of a win that's a bit disrespectful to Mayo but sure we are used to it . We are happy to wait in the long grass for ye and let everyone write us off we will be ready whatever happens we won't go down without a fight. S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 190 - 04/06/2025 21:07:06 2614947 Link 0 |
Personally I was hoping for enniskillen or omagh as Roscommon is a brutal journey on crap roads from the north. And yes Clare, I'm confident in my county's ability to get a result in this match. A bit disrespectful to Mayo... Will you give over ffs.
WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 73 - 04/06/2025 21:41:41 2614950 Link 0 |
Mayo played their 2nd and 3rd group games last year in the Hyde so don't see why that would rule out Cavan.
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 04/06/2025 21:53:41 2614953 Link 1 |
Seems my ticket is unreserved in the stand Ulsterchamps so hopefully we all land in early again like you say Don't get the obsession over venue to be honest. It's not ideal for travelling from Donegal but it's not the winning or losing of the match. I had thought Carrick might be used but they obviously expect a bigger crowd than it can hold CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 199 - 04/06/2025 21:59:11 2614955 Link 0 |
Its just the Journey times. Jim McGuinness wants a strong turnout by Donegal fans, but recognises the financial pressure by so many games now have on families and avoiding big journeys where possible is something he probably wants to back to help a little.. Donegal is a big County its a considerable journey for the majority of fans. For example: Malin town to Dr Hyde Park = 3.5 hours drive, while Bundoran is only 1 hour 36 minutes drive to Dr Hyde Park. The size and location of Donegal should be a factor. Mayo is also a big County, but the farthest reaches are maybe 2 hours max from Dr Hyde Park. I think most of us would prefer Sligo or Carrick on Shannon, maybe even Breffni Park, as Roscommon is not ideal. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1365 - 04/06/2025 22:05:46 2614956 Link 0 |
Not sure what you mean ? Think you misinterpreted my post? .
chancer (Donegal) - Posts: 33 - 04/06/2025 23:28:40 2614969 Link 0 |
Sligo closed. Carrick too small. Donegal just played in Breffni. I predicted the Hyde on here 2 weeks ago. Can't believe people are so shocked at the outcome.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8423 - 05/06/2025 00:09:38 2614976 Link 0 |
And yes Clare? Hilarious that you all think my account is this Clare one mad stuff! Weird obsession... I think you need to give over this Clare one lives in your heads rent free and clearly listening to bizarre Galwegions saying I'm this Clare one. Would ye ever get a life and concentrate on the task ahead . Fair ***** to ye are confident getting a result over us . We don't think we will no not at all ................. And fair play to whoever this Clare one is cause my God she's ****** some of ye off ! Why do you care what this Clare one says anyways? Mad stuff ! But sure look forward to McGuiness fighting on sideline again! S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 190 - 05/06/2025 00:56:22 2614980 Link 0 |
It is about fairness, Donegal people have been shafted again. Why should we have journeys that are double the time and distance? We have no access to trains that the big towns in Mayo have. Ironically it is a home match for a number of Mayo players as they live and play their home games in Ballaghaderreen, Co Roscommon.
Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 122 - 05/06/2025 09:08:12 2614993 Link 1 |
Not to mention Mayo have actually used it as their home ground in the not too distant past. We all know that Roscommon were always going to get a game at the Hyde. Doesn't take from the fact that it's hugely beneficial to Mayo here despite all the mental gymnastics being performed to try to justify it. Like I said, Mayo didn't pick the fixture but it's ok to acknowledge the benefit it gives them.
WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 73 - 05/06/2025 10:02:00 2615001 Link 0 |
It's clear that Carrick was the most neutral option (outside of the closed Markievicz), but the GAA as they always do went with the option that lands them the most money and placed the game in Mayo's back yard. It's done now and we have to go with it. I just feel sorry for people from the coastal extremities of Donegal that have an onerous journey ahead of them. But I have no doubt we have the beating of this Mayo team if we apply ourselves correctly regardless where of the fixture is played. Mayo have to win, a draw will get us 2nd place assuming Tyrone beat Cavan. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1213 - 05/06/2025 10:17:00 2615006 Link 0 |
What about Ryan O Donoghue having to come from Belmullet then???
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 282 - 05/06/2025 10:29:29 2615014 Link 0 |