Donegal GAA thread

If it is true that there is a huge demand for tickets in Derry that would be truly remarkable because even in their heyday
they were always poorly supported.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 21/05/2022 10:43:04    2419109

Replying To gunman:  "If it is true that there is a huge demand for tickets in Derry that would be truly remarkable because even in their heyday
they were always poorly supported."
Was at the Derry Monaghan game - Derry support out in big numbers so would say massive demand there for the final tickets

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 21/05/2022 11:20:34    2419121

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Yes but Tyrone had reached a final only a few years previous (not to mention numerous semi finals) so had a good chunk of a team that proved they could get to an AI final, they just came up against one of the best teams to play the game. Tyrone were dark horses but they have been consistently in the final four the past 8-10 years. Arra stop, Roscommon have out muscled Cavan in recent years and the same for Armagh with the exception of last years league playoff. Roscommon haven't a hope of winning an AI but would fancy their chances against Donegal."
How recent are you talking?

In the last 5 years(i think thats a fair timeframe), only 3 teams have beaten Cavan in the championship (including qualifiers); Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin. With Tyrone or Dublin winning those 5 all irelands.

Roscommon have lost to Galway twice in those 5 years while Cavan have beaten Monaghan twice. (For comparison, Monaghan beat Galway on the 1 occasion they've met in that 5 year period)

Both of us have beaten Armagh once.

I'd say we've performed better than ye over the last 5 years of championship football based on the above.

Don't let our approach to the league misguide you.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 21/05/2022 11:20:40    2419122

Replying To ryan:  "Would agree with this, it sounds and portrays a bad image of our games to young people."
There's kind of two parts to what he does. I suppose firstly I find the roaring and shouting irritating. If it's purely though aimed at his own players then well sure maybe fair enough. The current coaching philosophies probably wouldn't encourage it. Players should be well enough coached without having to roar at them and I'd be surprised that at least some of the Derry players are irritated by it.

Though he does push it into almost taunting the opposition and I don't like that. If the opposite managers were behaving in the same way you could end up with a big mill on the line. Imagine Davy Fitz and Rory Gallagher managing against each other!!!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 21/05/2022 11:36:03    2419130

Replying To gunman:  "If it is true that there is a huge demand for tickets in Derry that would be truly remarkable because even in their heyday
they were always poorly supported."
Judging by the tweet from Donegal there is a liklihood of tickets coming on sale next week again though there does seem a huge demand in derry. The fact they've beat the all ireland champions and a good Monaghan team breads interest and confidence.

I suppose though the dedicated gaa community in Derry is not as big as you'd think and that's probably a reason historically for not great support. Though they were hopping in the early 90s. The city has never really embrassed the gaa though steelstowns intermediate all Ireland has helped there. So maybe there's a bit of bounce from there as well.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 21/05/2022 11:49:45    2419135

Replying To rorysboys:  "Any word on how ticket sales are going. People saying today that they can't get any tickets. Read somewhere that Derry clubs requested 13k. Don't know how true that is. Surely Derry above anybody won't outnumber us."
I said in another thread about the Derry GAA page saying they had sold out their allocation. I wonder how many Donegal folks were waiting for general sale. I gave up the season ticket this year and was sweating on ticketmaster yesterday myself, ended up with a Hill ticket and thankful for it, a friend of mine was on at the same time and had no luck. Though I see the Donegal twitter page announcing that more tickets likely to be released next week.

I think it'll be a 50/50 split in terms of support. Derry may even outnumber us which is shocking when I think back to the great Derry sides, they were always poorly supported. But it's great in another way to see so many of them come out and shows the excitement in the county. As I've said hopefully we can delay their breakthrough by another year at least. From a Donegal POV the support hasn't been great this year though I think the numbers who have been at the Armagh and Cavan games have been loud.

I'm really looking forward to the game now, just hope for a similar day to the Cavan match in terms of the weather and the closer we get the more confident I'm starting to feel.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 21/05/2022 12:25:39    2419148

Best of luck to the Donegal minors this evening against what is very strong Tyrone group.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 21/05/2022 12:25:43    2419149

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Good to see your post. All very good points. I'll be optimistic in saying that we're coming into fitness and form!! We won Ulster convincingly in 18 and 19 and then got some bad injuries so fingers crossed it will be the other way around this year. It mind be blind optimism but we'll see.

I was thinking about the match in Derry when Tyrone won yesterday. Donegal had chances that evening. Mcglennan was immense against us and as much as he had moments yesterday his performance in Derry was a level above. Canavan was a joy at times yesterday. There's plenty potential senior players from that Donegal team though. A good few will be playing for lyit in the sigerson and hopefully they can push in it too.

And a good win for the minors. Tyrone have been hammering everyone so a tough semi awaits. I suppose that's an opportunity though."
Thanks Ulster. Re Mcglennan couldn't really get much better than his performance in Derry to be fair where he was imperious. No doubt he is a giant at that age group but hard seeing him not making a big mark at senior level. Reminds me a bit of Aidan O'Shea when he was playing underage. I think if Donegal started the way they finished they might've won not that there was much between them at the end but there was for a large portion of normal time. That sideways backways stuff only stagnated them. Cavan definitely had their homework done for the final and were excellently set up just like their seniors. I think in terms of making a mark at senior you'd probably be looking at the half backs McColgan and Dunleavey. McColgan is a rocket and very strong. Dunleavey was the motm from a Donegal perspective against Tyrone and was also excellent against Armagh. Nearly certain he started the fight back for lyit against Carlow in the sigerson. He caught a ball from a Carlow kickout out on the wing which really was inspirational. The corner back and captain from eunans whose name escapes me is another bound for the seniors.

Best of luck to the minors tonight. Its going to be shown on tg4 youtube channel.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 21/05/2022 17:16:12    2419217

Once again our underage management is the reason we lose out at the minor grade. Great effort by the players and a horrible way to lose against Tyrone but game management from the sideline was terrible. That's his third year in charge and you have to wonder why? When will the county board wake up that financial backing of a manager and club preferences in player selection are ruining Donegal Underage Football. We need to be picking managers that are in it for the right reasons.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 22/05/2022 11:36:07    2419337

Looking ahead to next weekend I am still finding it a very difficult game to weigh up. Usually a team that beats Tyrone and Monaghan on route to an Ulster final would be a warm order to win it. However I can definitely pick holes in the form of both wins. Be it the red card and soon after penalty scored against Tyrone leaving Derry in a near unbeatable position to some of Monaghans hard to figure poor defensive play in the first half. A couple of examples were the goal when the keeper game out. The pressure applied on the keeper was poor but the positional sense of the Monaghan full back was worse. There was also the score when Bradley went the whole way up the pitch with the same Monaghan player struggling in his slipstream yet no one else really gave him the desired help which led to an inspirational score.

Saying that I haven't been convinced by Donegal at all either. They did what they had to do but really were fortuitous in how they got the 2 goals against Cavan which won it. Armagh were like Monaghan tactically poor and Donegal took advantage. Speaking of advantages one huge one Donegal have next weekend is Shaun Patton from the restarts which are the best in the country right now. Donegal made hay against Armagh on their kickouts and can do so again against Derry but it should be noted that Armagh didn't have a player of the class of Glass operating around there. I do hope Hughie has found more fitness and edge over the last couple of weeks as feel he will be an important player in stifling both Glass and Mckinlos. Donegal I expect will protect the full back line against the Derry runners and a fully fit and on form McFadden with his physicality will be important factor in doing this. Donegal will need real intensity especially in the early stages as you know Gallagher will have Derry hopping. Donegal certainly have the patience and skill to be effective against how Gallagher will set up. Gallagher is known for being effective in his match ups and its fair to say that both teams strongest lines will be up against each other. I am not expecting Paddy or Jamie to get much next Sunday so we really need our half forwards to perform. Hopefully Jason can continue his good form and give Glass as good as he gets.

It all makes towards an intriguing match and build up. Hard luck to the minors last night. That looks like the makings of a very good team but I thought Tyrone were deserving winners even in the most heart breaking of ways. Donegal didn't register a score from the 44th minute of normal time until the 19th minute of extra time which included over 5 mins of injury time. That quite simply is a systems failure and it was only until they let the shackles off with nothing to lose we seen some attacking potential. There is no doubt about the hard work our underage sides are putting in and we're producing teams that are hard to beat but at a cost. There is little or no flair or off the cuff stuff you'd normally associate with underage football and this is a huge concern. There was countless occasions were players took poor options either by instinctively playing a hand pass despite a player bring closely marked and getting turned over. Or labouring on the ball when looking to do the same. All in all its yet another honorable defeat to the Tyrone men who'll need to be better against an impressive Derry side.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 22/05/2022 12:14:01    2419351

Devastated for the lads last night who I thought put in a great 2nd half performance in particular, Tyrone got one absolutely incredible point to bring it back to I think within 1 and you just got the sense they were always going to get the equaliser then. I thought we were completely gone in extra time but the goal was an absolutely fantastic finish, and the guts then to nail that free... it gives me plenty of hope for this group for the steel they showed to get to penalties at the least.

Penalties are tough, especially at that age grade, I thought maybe momentum had swung back to Donegal but really there's no complaints there.

Overall I was impressed with quite a few of the players I think there is plenty of potential there, and like I said the steel they showed is encouraging to say the least. It was a great watch considering the conditions worsened over the course of the evening as well. Best of luck to Tyrone and Derry in the final anoise.

Can anyone tell me is the McGee from Cloich Cheann Fhaola in the minors anything to Jason? I know McGee is a common name around that area but just curious. I thought he had a really good game.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/05/2022 13:04:04    2419380

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Devastated for the lads last night who I thought put in a great 2nd half performance in particular, Tyrone got one absolutely incredible point to bring it back to I think within 1 and you just got the sense they were always going to get the equaliser then. I thought we were completely gone in extra time but the goal was an absolutely fantastic finish, and the guts then to nail that free... it gives me plenty of hope for this group for the steel they showed to get to penalties at the least.

Penalties are tough, especially at that age grade, I thought maybe momentum had swung back to Donegal but really there's no complaints there.

Overall I was impressed with quite a few of the players I think there is plenty of potential there, and like I said the steel they showed is encouraging to say the least. It was a great watch considering the conditions worsened over the course of the evening as well. Best of luck to Tyrone and Derry in the final anoise.

Can anyone tell me is the McGee from Cloich Cheann Fhaola in the minors anything to Jason? I know McGee is a common name around that area but just curious. I thought he had a really good game."
Lorcan is Jason's brother Joe. Excellent point about the Tyrone point that really was top drawer stuff. While the game itself was a cliff hanger I found it a hard watch at times. It was a hark back to the Gallagher days imo regarding Donegal's performance backed up by my previous post and the point about no score from the 44th minute to near the end of injury time. I felt there was opportunities there to stretch it to 4 or 5 not taken preferring the over and back approach before getting turned over. Like you I agree there is lots of potential in that team. Particularly impressed by the two McGees in the middle. Donal Gallagher who was very good last year as well. Plus the likes of McDevit, Cian McMenamin and Molloy in the forwards.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 22/05/2022 14:09:41    2419390

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Devastated for the lads last night who I thought put in a great 2nd half performance in particular, Tyrone got one absolutely incredible point to bring it back to I think within 1 and you just got the sense they were always going to get the equaliser then. I thought we were completely gone in extra time but the goal was an absolutely fantastic finish, and the guts then to nail that free... it gives me plenty of hope for this group for the steel they showed to get to penalties at the least.

Can anyone tell me is the McGee from Cloich Cheann Fhaola in the minors anything to Jason? I know McGee is a common name around that area but just curious. I thought he had a really good game."
Yea he's a brother, the two could be midfield for Donegal in a few years.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 22/05/2022 14:12:51    2419392

Replying To panamasam:  "Lorcan is Jason's brother Joe. Excellent point about the Tyrone point that really was top drawer stuff. While the game itself was a cliff hanger I found it a hard watch at times. It was a hark back to the Gallagher days imo regarding Donegal's performance backed up by my previous post and the point about no score from the 44th minute to near the end of injury time. I felt there was opportunities there to stretch it to 4 or 5 not taken preferring the over and back approach before getting turned over. Like you I agree there is lots of potential in that team. Particularly impressed by the two McGees in the middle. Donal Gallagher who was very good last year as well. Plus the likes of McDevit, Cian McMenamin and Molloy in the forwards."
Same old story playing Tyrone. Do we really believe we can beat them at under age level. That game was there for the talking last night, but you could sense even with 10 min left and three down that we weren't going to win it. Anyway hard luck to Luke and his management team can't be easy losing a game on penalties.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 22/05/2022 14:18:58    2419394

Replying To rorysboys:  "Same old story playing Tyrone. Do we really believe we can beat them at under age level. That game was there for the talking last night, but you could sense even with 10 min left and three down that we weren't going to win it. Anyway hard luck to Luke and his management team can't be easy losing a game on penalties."
I believe that lack of belief comes from the current minor management, setting up too defensively when playing Tyrone hoping to keep it tight and nick it. They don't seem to believe our players are good enough to take on Tyrone in a more attacking game and that transmits to the players. We would develop more players for the senior setup if we let them play with more freedom express themselves, too many skillful players being overlooked in the last few years, those players are now thriving in senior football with their clubs.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 462 - 22/05/2022 15:02:05    2419413

Apart from the Derry team in the minor league final this Tyrone team have absolutely walloped everyone they've played. They still did win the minor league and unfortunately for Derry they've lost their captain to injury for the year against Donegal.

I'm not sure this Donegal team has really free scoring forwards so you have to cut the cloth accordingly. The management has to set them up in a way to win the match and they did that. I think Donegal were exceptional in what they did in the first half against by working the ball for long stretches and keeping Tyrone away from the ball. I think Tyrone management got things all wrong in the first half and should have pushed up much more. Donegal did very well in the 3rd quarter to get three points in front and probably had a chance or two to push it home. They also got really tired having put so much into the first three quarters. There was a free near the end that got moved up for kicking the ball away. For a team who was so disciplined that was frustrating.

In extra time again they were knackered but they showed great fortitude to score 1-2 in the last minute of et to get the penalties. I think the management team have done really well in the last few years. Both last year and this year their teams never stopped trying and did their very best and think that is very admirable. Imagine if you were in down this year reflecting on their underage

I've some frustrations. I find it very annoying that the gaa moved minors from under 18 to 17. Under 17 should be more development than it is but they forced the hands to make the age group more competitive than it should be. It was a terrible decision and very much so for Donegal were the schools don't really take up the slack the way they do in other counties.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 22/05/2022 15:10:47    2419419

Replying To rorysboys:  "Same old story playing Tyrone. Do we really believe we can beat them at under age level. That game was there for the talking last night, but you could sense even with 10 min left and three down that we weren't going to win it. Anyway hard luck to Luke and his management team can't be easy losing a game on penalties."
I don't think it's quite true to say we don't believe we can beat them. We beat them last year at under 20. Last year at minor they were just better than Donegal and they really should have won the all Ireland. It will be interesting to see how Tyrone progress this year after last night. At this stage I'm wondering if they are as good as they were made out to be. What last night also showed is that there was a substantial gap in quality between the teams in Ulster this year. The likes of down, Armagh, Fermanagh, Antrim and even Monaghan were a good deal off it this year.
I mentioned in another post that the Donegal got tired and that was another major reason.
And if last night and say the under 20 loss the under 20 loss bothers me more.

Taking a step back though Tyrone seemed to have raised their underage bar over the last few years. Particularly from this years under 20s and down.
Donegal have started work in the academy and hope that push that on properly, focusing on the skills of the game. There does be talk about s&c development but it has to be skills first.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 22/05/2022 15:27:09    2419426

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Apart from the Derry team in the minor league final this Tyrone team have absolutely walloped everyone they've played. They still did win the minor league and unfortunately for Derry they've lost their captain to injury for the year against Donegal.

I'm not sure this Donegal team has really free scoring forwards so you have to cut the cloth accordingly. The management has to set them up in a way to win the match and they did that. I think Donegal were exceptional in what they did in the first half against by working the ball for long stretches and keeping Tyrone away from the ball. I think Tyrone management got things all wrong in the first half and should have pushed up much more. Donegal did very well in the 3rd quarter to get three points in front and probably had a chance or two to push it home. They also got really tired having put so much into the first three quarters. There was a free near the end that got moved up for kicking the ball away. For a team who was so disciplined that was frustrating.

In extra time again they were knackered but they showed great fortitude to score 1-2 in the last minute of et to get the penalties. I think the management team have done really well in the last few years. Both last year and this year their teams never stopped trying and did their very best and think that is very admirable. Imagine if you were in down this year reflecting on their underage

I've some frustrations. I find it very annoying that the gaa moved minors from under 18 to 17. Under 17 should be more development than it is but they forced the hands to make the age group more competitive than it should be. It was a terrible decision and very much so for Donegal were the schools don't really take up the slack the way they do in other counties."
Re minor age limit, I agree about the age limit - should have been kept at 18. I think the main reason was to facilitate Southern schools though. In the 6 counties, you tend to be a year older (18.5) when leaving school, whereas in the 26, tends to be a bit younger. It was a decision taken in ignorance of / indifference to school ages up North, but that aside, 18 is a more sensible upper limit.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 22/05/2022 15:32:42    2419431

Replying To peiledoir20:  "The worst I ever saw him was in 2019 when we played Fermanagh in Enniskillen. One Donegal player in particular faced his verbal wrath that day and it was clear for all to hear as he was positioned right beside the TV mic for the full 70 minutes.

A great tactician no doubt but basic manners leave a lot to be desired.

Will be interesting to see his reaction either way (win or lose) on Sunday week."
What's with the great tactician title?? He hasn't an original tactical thought of his own. He has tried to replicate what mcguinness did everywhere he has been. His teams have no plan b. Kilcar, Donegal u21s, Donegal seniors , Fermanagh, failed to win any silverware of notewith any team.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 22/05/2022 16:15:24    2419456

Well folks, very disappointing couple of results after happening.. U20 lost to Tyrone in extra time, minors lost in penalties and the ladies lost in extra time.. What is it about Donegal teams.. Are we going back to the soft touch of pre McGuinness times.. Its just so gut wrenching.. What yous all reckon..

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 22/05/2022 18:21:15    2419487