Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea interesting putting Mc fadden ferry on Mc kinless. You didn't mention Murphy. In my eyes this is the biggest poser."
Is there any point in discussing Murphy. Everyone would love to see him in the square a bit more than he currently is but sure Murphy is going to play where Murphy is going to play. We all know he's the string puller so why suggest we change him from that role. If Donegal can nullify Derry's dangerous operators then we have a really good chance of winning if Murphy and co up front can be patient with their shot selection (Very important against a well organised blanket defence).

Like I said I think Brennan playing well will be key for Donegal and him kicking a few early scores might nullify the threat of McCloskey attacking. McKindless plays that sweeper role for Derry so that's why it's important we have someone paying attention to his every move once Derry go on the attack and for us to have our sweeper covering the space he's about to attack. If we are as organised as Derry, I only see one result given the talent we have.

I'm looking forward to it and whoever wins I think will go on to the All Ireland final to meet either Dublin or Kerry.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 17/05/2022 12:31:18    2418087

For all the hard time Bonner gets Donegal did beat Derry last year and the tactics were right for the game. You might wonder about Eoin McHugh at corner back (did they underestimate Benny herron) and was Stephen mcmenamin match sharp enough. The tactic of replicating Derry by dropping all men back when the ball was lost , guarding possession carefully and probing until the chance was there did ultimately work. The Derry defence was harder to break down than the Donegal defence and Derry did miss a great goal chance. Donegal did hit some excellent scores from distance and the overall points scoring threat was just slightly greater.

That was last year though. Donegal will probably do the same again. langan and Niall O'Donnell were very prolific though O'Donnell looked rusty when he came in against Cavan and langan has been injured as well and was not at his best against Cavan. Donegal will need a large scoring spread to win and need their half forwards to deliver. In the Tyrone league match Conor O'Donnell was very effective running on the pop hand pass and kicking it over with both feet. He might suit playing against the Derry defence. Mcbrearty is unlikely to score much. Jamie Brennan has done well in these tight Ulster matches. At his best he operates very well in a congested play. He gets a shot away quickly and kicks off both feet. Murphy will come out because he won't have any space in side. They'll use him as bit of a battering ram at times and then maybe giving the pop pass when he's stretched Derry a bit.

They'll certainly target the Derry kickout. I'm not sure Derry will and unless the long kick out is really on do they'll go short most of time. Though if is on long they have to go for it and need to much more clinical in that area of the game than against cavan. The donegal defence needs to be more on it than last year. We also really struggled with Cassidy running at us last year.

Derry will absolutely be on it and if there is any weakness at all in Donegal Derry will win.

I've mentioned this before but the 50 year anniversary of Donegals first Ulster win and hope players can take some sense of motivation from that. To me Donegal missed a bit of a trick not replicating that jersey for this year. It was a very Antrim style jersey with white trim and green shorts with numbers in them. Would have been a nice nod to history.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 17/05/2022 15:10:21    2418166

Replying To rorysboys:  "I have a question now for the anti management brigade how would yous set up against Derry and who would you task with the matchups . This especially to low ball, Murphy balls, Marty, Naomi Conal. Stockholm. No point talking after saying I told you so. Now is the time. I await with bated breath"
Are you looking for some advice Mr Bonner??

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 17/05/2022 21:44:58    2418266

Jim McGuinness was on the Tomás Ó'Sé podcast there last week, it's a great listen

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/05/2022 10:56:07    2418314

Replying To totalrecall:  "Are you looking for some advice Mr Bonner??"
Not much comeback yet, not surprised but. Was expecting it. Maybe you might answer it?. A lot of the posters have vanquished.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 18/05/2022 11:03:05    2418323

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Jim McGuinness was on the Tomás Ó'Sé podcast there last week, it's a great listen"
Thanks for the tip, I'll pretend I'm working here and have a listen!! imagine if we had Jim managing us against RG's Derry in this final, I'd be a lot more confident in our chances that's for sure.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7mRQcgSuBM

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 18/05/2022 13:32:10    2418390

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Thanks for the tip, I'll pretend I'm working here and have a listen!! imagine if we had Jim managing us against RG's Derry in this final, I'd be a lot more confident in our chances that's for sure.
No" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7mRQcgSuBM"
No need to imagine lads it'll not happen. Time to look forward Derry it is. This forum should be buzzing talking about the game and showing our team and management some respect , this forum was busier after a league defeat than it is now before an Ulster final. Says a lot about some of the posters. The majority of yous could not wait to get rid of Rory now according to some of yous he's a great manager. Make up your minds . I seen a few nasty messages about Rory up on Facebook. Shameless stuff from people who have an agenda.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 18/05/2022 16:51:26    2418501

Replying To rorysboys:  "No need to imagine lads it'll not happen. Time to look forward Derry it is. This forum should be buzzing talking about the game and showing our team and management some respect , this forum was busier after a league defeat than it is now before an Ulster final. Says a lot about some of the posters. The majority of yous could not wait to get rid of Rory now according to some of yous he's a great manager. Make up your minds . I seen a few nasty messages about Rory up on Facebook. Shameless stuff from people who have an agenda."
Hi rorysboys: I'm trying to figure out something but struggling. Rory was always fairly animated on the line with clubs (Killybegs) and as sole manager with counties Donegal and Fermanagh but the 2 Championship games they have played this year he has taken that animation to a completely different level altogether, some of his carry on is off the Richter scale. What is the reason for that? Does he see something special in this Derry team that he didn't see in the previous teams mentioned and realises he could be on to something big here or does he feel he has to do that himself to keep the Derry players totally buoyed up throughout the match.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 18/05/2022 19:14:09    2418527

Replying To rorysboys:  "No need to imagine lads it'll not happen. Time to look forward Derry it is. This forum should be buzzing talking about the game and showing our team and management some respect , this forum was busier after a league defeat than it is now before an Ulster final. Says a lot about some of the posters. The majority of yous could not wait to get rid of Rory now according to some of yous he's a great manager. Make up your minds . I seen a few nasty messages about Rory up on Facebook. Shameless stuff from people who have an agenda."
In fairness most ppl are posting in the other Derry vs Donegal thread and not this one.

Based on how we've played all year (slow lateral build up) I'd be concerned about the game but obviously the management team will have seen the Monaghan match and have had plenty of time to prepare.

In terms of selection I think it's vital we start with our most moblie 15 to combat Derry's running power around the middle.

So I'd bring McGonagle in for Hugh and MCFF for Niall O'Donnell (move Ryan Mc Hugh to half forward)

One area I think we could really make hay is on the Derry kickout of we force them to go long like Monaghan did in the second half.

I think Caolan Ward is perfect to mark Benny Herron and curb his influence out the pitch, McCole and McGuiggan will be a great battle too.

Clones will be packed and its a great day out so looking forward to it already.

Few of my Derry friends asking if they can have Buncrana if they win!

Donegal2022 (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 19/05/2022 08:04:13    2418564

It looks like Rory has come a long way since managing Donegal. He's combined that defensive style with a good counter attacking style. They look like the Donegal of 2012 as they have some big players all over the field.

The thing that is impressing me about Donegal this year, it's not the style of play but their ability to get results looking like they're performing at about 60% intensity levels. If things click for this team like they did for Tyrone last year then to say Donegal definitely won't win an All Ireland would be a bit of a premature thought. I know I said earlier Donegal won't win an All Ireland playing this style of football but the more I watch the Championship this year the more I believe. Bonner obviously believes this is the way he can win an All Ireland because playing open free flowing football before never got them across the line. However, Donegal were always badly unlucky with injuries and stuff and I think abandoning that style was premature also. I just hope they are able to transition into that type of free flowing football when they absolutely need to. They showed glimpses of it against Tyrone in the second half in the league. All in all, I really believe both Derry and Donegal can win the All Ireland as the winner will likely be on the other side of the draw to Dublin and Kerry (Must win their provincial championships).

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 19/05/2022 08:46:21    2418572

Replying To MurphBalls:  "It looks like Rory has come a long way since managing Donegal. He's combined that defensive style with a good counter attacking style. They look like the Donegal of 2012 as they have some big players all over the field.

The thing that is impressing me about Donegal this year, it's not the style of play but their ability to get results looking like they're performing at about 60% intensity levels. If things click for this team like they did for Tyrone last year then to say Donegal definitely won't win an All Ireland would be a bit of a premature thought. I know I said earlier Donegal won't win an All Ireland playing this style of football but the more I watch the Championship this year the more I believe. Bonner obviously believes this is the way he can win an All Ireland because playing open free flowing football before never got them across the line. However, Donegal were always badly unlucky with injuries and stuff and I think abandoning that style was premature also. I just hope they are able to transition into that type of free flowing football when they absolutely need to. They showed glimpses of it against Tyrone in the second half in the league. All in all, I really believe both Derry and Donegal can win the All Ireland as the winner will likely be on the other side of the draw to Dublin and Kerry (Must win their provincial championships)."
I hear what you are saying but you are giving very little countenance to the fact that Galway and Ros may also be making progress or outside of Connacht this is not being recognised (conveniently or not). A lot of the current conversation nationally is on Derry (rightly so given they took down the all ireland champions). Tbh it is fair to say the 4 provincial finalists on our side of the draw could probably beat each other on a given day and all will believe this. However none currently will beat Kerry with Dublin a bit of an outlier as their mojo seems to be back. Don't get me wrong I would have no issue with Ros or the Two Ulster finalists getting the Holy grail if we are not in the mix.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 19/05/2022 09:43:11    2418580

Momentum and belief are powerful things in sport. As we can all happily remember, we went from nobodies in 2010 to All Ireland champions in two short years. Yes, a lot of the success can be attributed to Jim McGuinness (and indeed Rory Gallagher) for the way they harnessed the available talent, got them into serious shape and perhaps most importantly of all - made them believe they could reach the top.

But underpinning all of that was the basic fact that we had some serious footballers at our disposal who for one reason or another, were not maximising their talents. Do this current Derry crop have the same talent in their ranks? Undoubtedly the likes of McKaigue, Rogers, McKinless, Glass and McGuigan are serious operators. But is the supporting cast all THAT good? I'm not convinced just yet. I think Donegal will give them a more serious test than a Tyrone team in disarray and a Monaghan team who were tactically all over the place (in the first half at least).

It's all set up for a fascinating final. I just think that if we can get enough of our key men firing on all cylinders it will be too much for Derry. The nagging doubt I have is that we haven't really got to that place in 2022. Yet.

Too often we've drifted in and out of matches. My hope is that there is another gear or two within us, unseen thus far. And if we do get to that place, Derry and other teams may not be able to live with it. All very well me chatting about it here on an online forum though. The only men that can prove me right are the lads that cross the white line Sunday week. I sincerely hope that they do.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 19/05/2022 09:55:31    2418589

Should be some kind of final. Want to talk matchups! The biggest one will be on the sideline, Rory v Bonner. Derry major edge here! Patton v Lynch, Donegal should shade the goal keeping and kickout stakes. Derrys quartet of Rodgers, McKinless, Glass and Bradley will be hard stopped around the middle third with their tenacity and drive , the only one in the Donegal ranks that can top any any of these guys is Murphy.Donegals sideways trot with Mogan, McHugh and Ban will be music to Derrys ears as they will be going route one.With Donegals McGee and who ever partners him being so so against Cavan and Langan and Thompson being subpar where is the supply going to come from for Donegals front line. Draw could be in the offing or does the game finish out on the day.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 19/05/2022 10:53:40    2418612

Replying To thelowball:  "Should be some kind of final. Want to talk matchups! The biggest one will be on the sideline, Rory v Bonner. Derry major edge here! Patton v Lynch, Donegal should shade the goal keeping and kickout stakes. Derrys quartet of Rodgers, McKinless, Glass and Bradley will be hard stopped around the middle third with their tenacity and drive , the only one in the Donegal ranks that can top any any of these guys is Murphy.Donegals sideways trot with Mogan, McHugh and Ban will be music to Derrys ears as they will be going route one.With Donegals McGee and who ever partners him being so so against Cavan and Langan and Thompson being subpar where is the supply going to come from for Donegals front line. Draw could be in the offing or does the game finish out on the day."
Murphy is the only one that can top those guys? What are you even spouting?

Glass and Bradley didn't look too good in midfield against Monaghan. In fact Monaghan won about 40% of Derry's kickouts. I think the only players we need to watch for, or worry about, is McKindless, McGuigan and McCloskey and we have more than enough players to nullify them. I think Derry have more to worry about on the Donegal side than Donegal do on the Derry side.

I would rather have Langan in my side over McKindless anyway. Remember, Langan missed the entire league essentially so on one off poor game against Cavan is nothing to worry about.

If Donegal manage the 3 players I mentioned above from Derry then Donegal will send Derry between their tales and everyone will be brought back down to earth a bit. Donegal by 4+

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 19/05/2022 11:22:23    2418622

Replying To thelowball:  "Should be some kind of final. Want to talk matchups! The biggest one will be on the sideline, Rory v Bonner. Derry major edge here! Patton v Lynch, Donegal should shade the goal keeping and kickout stakes. Derrys quartet of Rodgers, McKinless, Glass and Bradley will be hard stopped around the middle third with their tenacity and drive , the only one in the Donegal ranks that can top any any of these guys is Murphy.Donegals sideways trot with Mogan, McHugh and Ban will be music to Derrys ears as they will be going route one.With Donegals McGee and who ever partners him being so so against Cavan and Langan and Thompson being subpar where is the supply going to come from for Donegals front line. Draw could be in the offing or does the game finish out on the day."
You say it could be a draw. With every thing else you're predicting we'll be doing well to get within 10 points of them. I asked for match ups as usual you avoid the question. No surprise there. Who picks up the Derry danger men. Not a hard question for a know it all like yourself.????

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 19/05/2022 11:34:59    2418629

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Murphy is the only one that can top those guys? What are you even spouting?

Glass and Bradley didn't look too good in midfield against Monaghan. In fact Monaghan won about 40% of Derry's kickouts. I think the only players we need to watch for, or worry about, is McKindless, McGuigan and McCloskey and we have more than enough players to nullify them. I think Derry have more to worry about on the Donegal side than Donegal do on the Derry side.

I would rather have Langan in my side over McKindless anyway. Remember, Langan missed the entire league essentially so on one off poor game against Cavan is nothing to worry about.

If Donegal manage the 3 players I mentioned above from Derry then Donegal will send Derry between their tales and everyone will be brought back down to earth a bit. Donegal by 4+"
Yeah I think we can all be guilty of that - concentrating and fretting over the opposition's key men and forgetting about our own abilities. If I was to start posing questions like the ones below I'm sure a few Derry nerves would start jangling...

- what if Murphy goes out the field and dictates the game?
- what if Murphy goes into the square and Donegal unveil a previously held back tactic of hitting him with long accurate balls?
- how to we counteract Eoghan Ban Gallagher's runs from deep?
- what if Michael Langan and Ciaran Thompson kick long range points negating our defensive shield?
- what if Jason McGee cancels Conor Glass out?
- what if someone man marks McKinless?
- what do we do if they play a sweeper in front of McGuigan?
- what do we do about Shaun Patton's kick outs?

etc etc etc

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 19/05/2022 11:55:15    2418637

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah I think we can all be guilty of that - concentrating and fretting over the opposition's key men and forgetting about our own abilities. If I was to start posing questions like the ones below I'm sure a few Derry nerves would start jangling...

- what if Murphy goes out the field and dictates the game?
- what if Murphy goes into the square and Donegal unveil a previously held back tactic of hitting him with long accurate balls?
- how to we counteract Eoghan Ban Gallagher's runs from deep?
- what if Michael Langan and Ciaran Thompson kick long range points negating our defensive shield?
- what if Jason McGee cancels Conor Glass out?
- what if someone man marks McKinless?
- what do we do if they play a sweeper in front of McGuigan?
- what do we do about Shaun Patton's kick outs?

etc etc etc"
Exactly, we can talk about Conor Glass and what impact he's going to have but personally I don't think we need to emphasise too much focus on Glass. Nullify the counter attacks and the runs from deep and Derry won't have a hope. One poster mentioned that what do Derry do when they go behind? They haven't been tested yet when they fall behind except for against Galway but sure look how that worked out for them. The more I analyse what needs to happen the more confident I'm getting that Donegal will run comfortable winners.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 19/05/2022 12:18:50    2418652

Replying To kiloughter:  "I hear what you are saying but you are giving very little countenance to the fact that Galway and Ros may also be making progress or outside of Connacht this is not being recognised (conveniently or not). A lot of the current conversation nationally is on Derry (rightly so given they took down the all ireland champions). Tbh it is fair to say the 4 provincial finalists on our side of the draw could probably beat each other on a given day and all will believe this. However none currently will beat Kerry with Dublin a bit of an outlier as their mojo seems to be back. Don't get me wrong I would have no issue with Ros or the Two Ulster finalists getting the Holy grail if we are not in the mix."
It's not that I'm giving very little countenance to those counties, I just don't put Galway or Roscommon ahead of Donegal. Galway might be on a par with them. And I don't think Kerry is as far ahead as everyone is making them out to be. I don't get this whole thing about putting Kerry ahead of everyone else. This has been going on for years now and I just don't understand it. Kerry go balls to the walls for the league because they have to. They had a settled team throughout the league so if they aren't winning the league then you'd be worried about them. I think come June/July Kerry will be right there in the middle of the pack. The team I'd be most worried about right now is Dublin. They have been written off after the league but those guys are all All Ireland winners and they are as hungry as ever it seems right now.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 19/05/2022 12:23:03    2418653

Replying To rorysboys:  "You say it could be a draw. With every thing else you're predicting we'll be doing well to get within 10 points of them. I asked for match ups as usual you avoid the question. No surprise there. Who picks up the Derry danger men. Not a hard question for a know it all like yourself.????"
That's the fear Roryboy with Bonner around the place, the ten pt beating ! Ure so smart and clever at answering ure own questions! To save us all the trouble u who is so close to the coat tails stop the suspense and tell us what Bonners plan is for the final!

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 19/05/2022 12:27:59    2418655

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Exactly, we can talk about Conor Glass and what impact he's going to have but personally I don't think we need to emphasise too much focus on Glass. Nullify the counter attacks and the runs from deep and Derry won't have a hope. One poster mentioned that what do Derry do when they go behind? They haven't been tested yet when they fall behind except for against Galway but sure look how that worked out for them. The more I analyse what needs to happen the more confident I'm getting that Donegal will run comfortable winners."
Roscommon 0-12 Derry 0-12
Roscommon were six points up in the 42nd minute

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 19/05/2022 12:40:01    2418665