Donegal GAA thread

A very good performance in patches. We started off tentatively enough, and Derry were finding wee pockets of space inside which could have been costly on another day. I thought Dáire was brilliant in that second quarter spell. Really grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and wrestled control our way.

We sort of slept walked into the second half as well. But once we livened up and put the foot down there was only ever going to be one winner. Special word to Moore, Roarty & O'Donnell - their running power is a sight to behold when they cut loose. Fantastic to see Paddy back too, he really enjoyed himself out there today.

The squad is so strong. McGee, Langan, Eoghan Ban, Gallen, McColgan, N O'Donnell, Brennan, Aaron Doc all to come fully into the mix still.

Hopefully young Roarty hasn't picked up a serious injury. He looked to be in a good bit of discomfort walking off, but I did see him laughing and giving a thumbs up to someone in the crowd a wee bit later. By Jesus he's some player. Went about his business there today like he was doing it all his life. Brilliant stuff.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9704 - 06/04/2025 20:35:03    2600829

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A very good performance in patches. We started off tentatively enough, and Derry were finding wee pockets of space inside which could have been costly on another day. I thought Dáire was brilliant in that second quarter spell. Really grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and wrestled control our way.

We sort of slept walked into the second half as well. But once we livened up and put the foot down there was only ever going to be one winner. Special word to Moore, Roarty & O'Donnell - their running power is a sight to behold when they cut loose. Fantastic to see Paddy back too, he really enjoyed himself out there today.

The squad is so strong. McGee, Langan, Eoghan Ban, Gallen, McColgan, N O'Donnell, Brennan, Aaron Doc all to come fully into the mix still.

Hopefully young Roarty hasn't picked up a serious injury. He looked to be in a good bit of discomfort walking off, but I did see him laughing and giving a thumbs up to someone in the crowd a wee bit later. By Jesus he's some player. Went about his business there today like he was doing it all his life. Brilliant stuff."
100%

Btw, how old is Daire?
Could have sworn he was 29 or so but Chris McNulty said he was playing u15 soccer 10 years ago. Maybe I picked up on it wrong.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 106 - 06/04/2025 21:15:52    2600841

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "100%

Btw, how old is Daire?
Could have sworn he was 29 or so but Chris McNulty said he was playing u15 soccer 10 years ago. Maybe I picked up on it wrong."
Daire played minor (under 18) in 2015 so I he's 28 at some stage this year!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 793 - 06/04/2025 21:41:34    2600846

Who runs Sunday Game? Donegal v Derry and Darragh Canavan is shown as a Derry player.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2276 - 06/04/2025 21:44:23    2600848

Fair play on a good win and performance. Derry have a lot of soul searching to do but genuinely don't think we are that far away. The McNicholl experiment in goals needs to end, we lost 1-10 on our own kick outs. Thought we had some very good moments but never really had any control.

Hope you go on to win Ulster now.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 212 - 06/04/2025 21:53:43    2600852

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "Fair play on a good win and performance. Derry have a lot of soul searching to do but genuinely don't think we are that far away. The McNicholl experiment in goals needs to end, we lost 1-10 on our own kick outs. Thought we had some very good moments but never really had any control.

Hope you go on to win Ulster now."
Thanks, there is potential still in Derry but a few things need fixing, kickouts an obvious one but the buzz seems to have gone out of the team this last while. Plenty of time now for Derry to regroup and fix what's going wrong.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3155 - 06/04/2025 22:19:54    2600861

Remember when certain people said we didn't have a squad a few years back and who would want to manage us? That seems light years ago now which is testament to Jim McGuinness and the professional approach he has brought, again. The buy-in from the players and his ability to get commitment from all available players speaks volumes really. Our bench today was frightening. The thing has moved on from 2024 which is exciting. Felt Donegal were between 3rd and 4th gear today there. More to come. Fantastic mobility in this team. They make a big pitch look small with their electric speed. 11 different scorers speaks to the variety in our game and confidence in anyone taking a score. A few areas to tidy up but a 10 point win against Derry is a fine day's work at any point. Onwards and upwards one game at a time.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1397 - 06/04/2025 22:50:01    2600867

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "Fair play on a good win and performance. Derry have a lot of soul searching to do but genuinely don't think we are that far away. The McNicholl experiment in goals needs to end, we lost 1-10 on our own kick outs. Thought we had some very good moments but never really had any control.

Hope you go on to win Ulster now."
I don't think the experimentation with Tyrone managers is working. Water & oil.

There is a lot of talent there. Just seems to be something lacking in harnessing it all.

I wonder if you got someone who would command instant respect, SM Lockhart for example, and got the injured lads back, it would be a completely different story.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9704 - 06/04/2025 23:18:48    2600872

Replying To Saynothing:  "Who runs Sunday Game? Donegal v Derry and Darragh Canavan is shown as a Derry player."
Derry would love if he were. Any county would embrace that class!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2175 - 06/04/2025 23:51:57    2600873

I thought we had extra gears without a doubt, and to be able to get the win so comfortably without having to use Langan and getting minutes for Jason McGee is a big big boost as well. Gallen as well, that 2nd to last point that we got, his wee shimmy had Diarmuid Baker spinning and he is one of the best corner backs in the land. It was a joy to see that from Gallen and hopefully he can get a run and back to the form we know he can hit.

McBrearty too, a torn calf is not an easy thing to come back from, it's very sore and if you don't rehab it right it can go again very quickly, so I hope he's rested up now. That was some 2nd half from him and number 4 for Derry lost the head a bit by the end when Paddy was coming off too.

I will be honest I was actually very worried at the start of the game without Langan or McGee in the middle, I thought with Rogers and Glass they are very mobile and athletic, and Hughie can sometimes struggle. Well I needn't have worried at all, I thought we absolutely dominated the middle although maybe didn't win as many breaks as I would like. Between Thompson (a class above), Moore and Hughie they had the middle third tied up. Hughie has come on leaps and bounds this year I think and covers a serious amount of grass. It's great to see him playing so well I've always been a huge fan of him and the effort he puts in.

Roarty I thought really grew into things, he is some player at that age. Initially I felt he was giving Derry's 15 too much space, that first 20 minutes or so I think he'll have learned a lot with how it went. But his tackling is brilliant, himself and McFadden-Ferry are the type of markers you need in this new game as well I think. I thought McCole too did a great job on McGuigan, he seemed to be annoying him anyway which is always a good sign I think!

Patton's penalty save a big big moment I thought and some of his kickouts were great. Shane O'Donnell and Daire O'Baoil really excellent as well, to be honest I could name them all 1-15 they were excellent and like I said I still think they had more in the tank.

Obviously plenty of caveats with the opponents, I think for as good as Hughie and Thompson were, it was clear Glass wasn't fit for example. They suffered big time with the goalkeeper going down, we had a field day on their kickouts. I think going away for a few weeks might suit Derry a little bit to get the bodies healed up and back at it, there is still serious serious talent in that team but they need everyone fit and firing. To be honest I wouldn't really want to meet them again as good as the victory was yesterday, I don't like meeting teams 3 times in a year.

On to Monaghan now, always a bogey team for us for as long as I have been following Donegal, we will need to be tuned in and obviously Beggan is a different animal to the Derry keeper yesterday, but by rights we should be beating them.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 07/04/2025 08:32:13    2600890

A good win yesterday. Maybe not a great win, we struggled a little at times, but we were able to figure it out and then implement our own game plan.

Derry were very dangerous down their right hand side in the first half, with Ethan Doherty and Lachlann Murray really causing us trouble. Nearly all their scores came down that side, and of course the goal when they got the overload when Caolan McGonagle was off the pitch. Mark Curran contributed to shutting them down on that side in the 2nd half, especially the threat of Murray.

Having watched the match back, I thought the penalty decision was soft, it seemed to me that Hughie brilliantly nicked the ball. The speed of Ciaran Moore and Shane O'Donnell was unreal yesterday, not that Ryan McHugh or Peadar Mogan were any slower.

The Monaghan game is going to be completely different. They will cause a very different set of problems. I personally can't see them being able to stop our forward power. But with Beggan they have a weapon that not many other have. Will we bring our line of engagement out a little, or do we detail a man to man mark him when he crosses the half way line?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 753 - 07/04/2025 12:07:23    2600943

Good performance yesterday against Derry. We were a bit open the first 15 minutes but I think with the new rules it could be like that. Its going to be difficult to completely shut out teams. Mark Curran helped tighten things up in the second half.

Our running power is unreal, Shane O'Donnell, Ciaran Moore, Peadar Mogan and Finbar Roarty were just unplayable at times. What a performance from Daire O'Baoil, he is really stepping up. Hugh put in a great shift, very unlucky on that penalty decision.

Was Langan rested yesterday or has he got a knock? I thought it was strange that Oisin Gallen didn't start as well as i still feel he is our best forward. We are going to need all these players. There is bound to be squad rotation with the games coming thick and fast. Very positive all round and plenty to work on.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1905 - 07/04/2025 17:20:41    2601002