Donegal GAA thread

Well he who laughs last laughs loudest. A comprehensive win for Donegal today. I felt confident that if our application was right we'd get the victory as I feel that we simply have better players than Armagh overall.

You could argue that the disallowed goal was a turning point. But I had a feeling that if there was a contentious decision to be made at some point in the match that the decision would go Donegal's way. After Armagh went undermining the officials after the league encounter maybe there was a wee bit of unconscious bias. But I don't want to go casting aspersions at Deegans integrity either.

We move on to Cavan now. Forewarned is forearmed there. Hopefully we'll have Gallen back and there weren't any injuries picked up today.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 24/04/2022 16:31:38    2412759

Great win! Should have been more comfortable but our kicking wasnt 100%.

I wonder will Armagh appeal the result?

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 24/04/2022 16:40:47    2412763

Good start to the championship, lots of positives and lots to work on... Thought Armagh were very poor in the second half

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 24/04/2022 17:28:50    2412786

Great win and the margin could have been a lot more too, looked to be men against boys when we got into gear, Michael Murphy is one of a kind, onto Cavan now and we owe them a trimming too so extra motivation needed.
had to laugh last night looking at the Rte Gaa podcast for the weekend, Colm O'Rourke tipped Antrim and Armagh to win, lol, he's some pundit to have on tv.
Heard an awful lot of whining from Armagh fans about the referee and timewasting, seems to me Armagh would be better concentrate on the football, trying to act like hardmen they just look silly to me and they didn't look like much of a team today, depends what draw they get in the backdoor but I can't see them doing much despite all the talk about them.
Well done to team and management, we'll have Neil and Odhran nicely rested now for the next day.
Donegal for Sam, how do like them apples Armagh?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 24/04/2022 17:31:26    2412789

Firstly fair play to Donegal. They went about their job in a very controlled manner. It never got too emotional and Armagh never showed up. Maybe they put too much energy into the appeals and lost focus on the match. Donegal left scores behind as well.
I think Cavan will be better than Armagh today and Donegal will have to more efficient in front of goal. Hope langan and Jason McGee will be fit for the next day. Langan gets a powerful shot off very quickly. They did turn over some silly enough ball in the second half an McFadden didn't have his best. Mccole kept Rian O'Neill scoreless and fair play to him.
Murphy still has it and Ryan McHugh was very good .

They'll be strong favourites the next day but Cavan have something about them under graham. Anyway well done again to the team and management.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 24/04/2022 17:47:29    2412801

Replying To Ronan1989:  "Great win! Should have been more comfortable but our kicking wasnt 100%.

I wonder will Armagh appeal the result?"
LoL...

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 24/04/2022 17:51:27    2412806

Do we know where the semi-final will be fixed for?

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 24/04/2022 18:11:32    2412816

Great win against an Armagh team that seems to have overcooked themselves in the league.

Good performances all over the pitch but special mentions to Murphy, McGee, McHugh and the man marking job McCole did on O'Neil.

Tactically we out foxed Armagh on kickouts and our defensive setup was very solid - kudos to the management team for this.

Lots of things to improve on including leaving scores on the pitch and Hugh still seems off the pace.

Looking forward to the Cavan game already.

Donegal2022 (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 24/04/2022 18:51:52    2412827

Well done to Donegal. Composed and solid performance. Well done to players and management on a strong opening in Ulster.

Jason McGee delivered today on his potential, coming of age display. Murphy looked sharp, looked like he has more in the locker. Ryan McHugh, Mogan and Ban Gallagher ran well all game. Langan is so dangerous. Brendan McCole looked impressive all game, so much so I'm not sure if Rian O'Neill actually won his appeal or not!? Hardly saw him…

I think as a Donegal fan you're wanting a range of performers to step up alongside Murphy who is so consistent. Today was more like it in that respect. We have a lot of talent and maybe this is the year they click.

Felt the defensive game was solid, numbers back but much more tuned in today than other games. Not jumping rashly into tackles but marking tight and following runners. More like it.

Lots of room to improve and we won't underestimate Cavan anyway that's for sure after 2020.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 24/04/2022 19:52:28    2412853

Looking forward to 2 weeks time already boys. I'm already giving my Donegal missus and her Dad grief that we'll do you over like 2020! In all seriousness think it'll be a belter of a game. We're better than most think and you're still stinging from 2020 so you'll not take this for granted. Hope it's in Clones and a big day for all concerned. Always had great days out with the Donegal crowd, and back with the fans should be good!

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2382 - 24/04/2022 19:52:37    2412854

Congratulations to all involved today as well as the minors yesterday on two good wins. Got to be happy with today given the performance today with the potential for improvement especially given the rust of some of the lads still coming back from long lay offs. Shooting into the Finn end proved difficult for both sides much like the Tyrone league game. Saying that our shooting will need to improve looking forward and felt we could've been more clinical in terms of goals output as should've scored more than one. I also felt we invited trouble trying to play out of defense that on another day will get punished. Saying that we controlled the ball for large spells meaning Armagh couldn't really play their direct counter attacking style. No motivation needed for the semi final. I must say I wasn't expecting Cavan to beat Antrim so thoroughly and by all accounts impressively at that which will certainly have Donegal on guard.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 24/04/2022 19:56:47    2412855

Well done to Donegal players and management on a great victory. Stood up to all the Armagh thuggery and let their football do the talking, especially Michael Murphy who was targeted but was the best player on the pitch. How anyone thinks Kieran McGeeney is a good manager is beyond me.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 24/04/2022 22:04:29    2412910

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well he who laughs last laughs loudest. A comprehensive win for Donegal today. I felt confident that if our application was right we'd get the victory as I feel that we simply have better players than Armagh overall.

You could argue that the disallowed goal was a turning point. But I had a feeling that if there was a contentious decision to be made at some point in the match that the decision would go Donegal's way. After Armagh went undermining the officials after the league encounter maybe there was a wee bit of unconscious bias. But I don't want to go casting aspersions at Deegans integrity either.

We move on to Cavan now. Forewarned is forearmed there. Hopefully we'll have Gallen back and there weren't any injuries picked up today."
Nothing contentious about the disallowed goal decision. Nobody on BBC or Sunday Game seem to know the rules. You can't handpass a goal!

railwayman (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 25/04/2022 09:06:57    2412931

Replying To railwayman:  "Nothing contentious about the disallowed goal decision. Nobody on BBC or Sunday Game seem to know the rules. You can't handpass a goal!"
Would their argument not be that Patton had possession and O'Neill tackled the ball out of his grasp? Was hard enough to see but there's no doubt the ref was eager to give the free out strangely enough.

Personally I thought O'Neill was charging on the initial possession but haven't seen it back

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 25/04/2022 10:26:20    2412964

Well done players and management fantastic show yesterday. A lot of fantastic performances don't really like naming anybody but I really thought young Shane o donnell was outstanding for such a young lad. But it was really a team performance. Anyway it's only a first game big one with Cavan next. It won't be easy but hopefully we'll stay focused. One thing I noticed yesterday was that Armagh probably had as many supporters as us , which is disappointing where have all the supporters gone , 13.000 in ballybofey with about half Armagh, 24.000 in castlbar with about 18.000 mayo. Come on people of Donegal support these lads they deserve it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 25/04/2022 11:36:29    2413010

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Would their argument not be that Patton had possession and O'Neill tackled the ball out of his grasp? Was hard enough to see but there's no doubt the ref was eager to give the free out strangely enough.

Personally I thought O'Neill was charging on the initial possession but haven't seen it back"
Yeah I think there might have been an element of charging. Also, whether he won the ball or not, is it not the case that the keeper can't be tackled in the square anyway? It did look like Patton had possession, albeit very briefly.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 25/04/2022 11:51:47    2413025

It was great to see Ryan McHugh back to near his best yesterday. He has had his critics but the lad is one of the most intelligent footballers out there. Here's hoping he can continue to regain his best form and start chipping in a few scores again like we all know he can. I think if Donegal are going to challenge for silverware we need McHugh on song and doing what he does best.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 25/04/2022 12:23:16    2413045

Replying To rorysboys:  "Well done players and management fantastic show yesterday. A lot of fantastic performances don't really like naming anybody but I really thought young Shane o donnell was outstanding for such a young lad. But it was really a team performance. Anyway it's only a first game big one with Cavan next. It won't be easy but hopefully we'll stay focused. One thing I noticed yesterday was that Armagh probably had as many supporters as us , which is disappointing where have all the supporters gone , 13.000 in ballybofey with about half Armagh, 24.000 in castlbar with about 18.000 mayo. Come on people of Donegal support these lads they deserve it."
Unfortunately with the current cost of living, many families in a county like Donegal simply may not be able to afford to go to every game. For a couple and 2 children the tickets would cost 46 euro. Add the cost of petrol or diesel needed to travel from some parts of the county on top of that and the cost of the game goes to 70 or 80 euro, without getting anything to eat or drink. Times are tough out there for a lot people trying to make ends meet.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 25/04/2022 13:10:49    2413069

Replying To greenfan:  "Unfortunately with the current cost of living, many families in a county like Donegal simply may not be able to afford to go to every game. For a couple and 2 children the tickets would cost 46 euro. Add the cost of petrol or diesel needed to travel from some parts of the county on top of that and the cost of the game goes to 70 or 80 euro, without getting anything to eat or drink. Times are tough out there for a lot people trying to make ends meet."
You're right, it's the occupational hazard of being such a big county alright. It's a serious run from Carndonagh or Glencolmcille when fuel is at this price

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 25/04/2022 13:22:39    2413078

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Would their argument not be that Patton had possession and O'Neill tackled the ball out of his grasp? Was hard enough to see but there's no doubt the ref was eager to give the free out strangely enough.

Personally I thought O'Neill was charging on the initial possession but haven't seen it back"
Joe soap I'm sure O'Neil actually caught the ball in the square.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 25/04/2022 13:40:33    2413091