Donegal GAA thread

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Oops! A big boo-boo by Donegal. Those lads who are going to miss the game must surely feel let down by their county board and/or management team (dunno who made the crazy decision not to appeal), whereas the Armagh guys will be well buoyed up, knowing that their CB/Management fought tooth and nail for them.

Donegal, definitely at sleep at the wheel!"
Donegal are determined to do their talking on the pitch.

If Armagh want to talk and cry in the boardroom that's their choice. They haven't done much else in 20 years.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 20/04/2022 12:39:21    2411776

Looks like a mistake now not appealing doesn't it? another mistake from Bonner? he's at the heart of it and he should know the ins and outs of these things, the old saying 'if you don't ask you won't get' springs to mind.
What an absolute shambles. the GAA is a joke the way it's run.
I'm getting so sick of the whole thing from the style of 'football' these days to the farcical way the games are administered.
I'm in two minds whether to go the game at all now tbh. sick of the whole thing.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 20/04/2022 14:34:21    2411841

Replying To rorysboys:  "Donegal put there faith in the system that players would not get off. They are let badly down by the gaa. As I said before Donegal have done nothing wrong. We accepted our punishment but are now badly let down. All it takes is a good legal team to get players off. I hope Donegal gaa release a statement today I don't think this is over yet. Roll on Sunday"
The Donegal County Board are in no position to be issuing statements about this since they did exactly the same thing themselves only a few short weeks ago.
As for them putting their faith in the system, Kilcar people are falling over themselves laughing at that notion.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/04/2022 14:44:04    2411847

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "The Donegal County Board are in no position to be issuing statements about this since they did exactly the same thing themselves only a few short weeks ago.
As for them putting their faith in the system, Kilcar people are falling over themselves laughing at that notion."
Big difference lad in the two games. This melee was in referees report and they went against the referee report

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 20/04/2022 15:49:21    2411874

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Looks like a mistake now not appealing doesn't it? another mistake from Bonner? he's at the heart of it and he should know the ins and outs of these things, the old saying 'if you don't ask you won't get' springs to mind.
What an absolute shambles. the GAA is a joke the way it's run.
I'm getting so sick of the whole thing from the style of 'football' these days to the farcical way the games are administered.
I'm in two minds whether to go the game at all now tbh. sick of the whole thing."
What are you on about blaming bonner again. Same old same old. About time you got a life. The decision not to appeal I would say is not entirely down to bonner. I didn't see you commenting on here this last few weeks about Donegal not appealing. You have all the answers as usual now.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 20/04/2022 16:43:58    2411890

Bonner and the county board made a mistake not to appeal but Armagh are not miles ahead of Donegal. Both finished on same points in the League and they were lucky to go up against a poor Dublin and out of form Tyrone in their first 2 games. Drew with Monaghan and beat Kildare. Lost to us in Letterkenny of all places. I'm not saying they should be taken lightly but Donegal have a good shot here and there is still the backdoor even if we lose.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 20/04/2022 17:33:06    2411902

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Donegal are determined to do their talking on the pitch.

If Armagh want to talk and cry in the boardroom that's their choice. They haven't done much else in 20 years."
Counties are entitled to appeal especially when they know due process hasn't been followed. There's nothing against Donegal here from an Armagh perspective and the whole thing just highlights how poor the administration process is within the GAA. Here's to an open, fair game.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 20/04/2022 18:56:51    2411916

Fair play for not appealing.
Take it on the chin and get on with it.
I really hope you hammer them because of it. Best of luck.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 20/04/2022 19:13:54    2411919

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Counties are entitled to appeal especially when they know due process hasn't been followed. There's nothing against Donegal here from an Armagh perspective and the whole thing just highlights how poor the administration process is within the GAA. Here's to an open, fair game."
How will it be a fair game. We're down two influential players who could have had a big influence on the game.. if gaa get away with this it's a joke. No word at all about the referee being undermined. Spoke to a few Donegal gaels today who are totally incensed with the ruling. As one said to me, what happens if there's a big melee after Sundays game, will players be hanging back I doubt it. Rian o neill struck and was let off so the gaa setting a dangerous precedent. At least they should come out and explain why these players got off..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 20/04/2022 20:45:03    2411944

Replying To rorysboys:  "Big difference lad in the two games. This melee was in referees report and they went against the referee report"
While acknowledging your point about the difference in the two cases, the similarities are even more striking.....lad.

1 The evidence is as clear as day as to who did what.
2. The right decision was initially taken.
3. A complete 180 degree turnaround then took place due to a mixture of incompetence & corruption.

When I look at the effort put in by honest GAA people the length and breadth of Ireland, both coaching and playing, it really is galling that those on big expense accounts couldn't do a simple job like ensuring fair play. Who could have any confidence in such a poorly run operation?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/04/2022 08:50:21    2411976

The lack of transparency is the really galling thing. All we're told is that the bans were quashed due to a technicality. I'd be curious to know how the appeals process works in other sports? Say for instance in the League of Ireland. If a player is retrospectively hit with a suspension following some altercation after the final whistle for example. I'm sure there is an appeals process alright, but I highly doubt that there is a similar obsure CHC, DRA, bla bla bla avenue to exploit?

It really does comes across as gombeen Ireland. Fair play and integrity are exploited by obscure wink and nod means and the guilty walk away laughing and privately boasting about how they beat the system. Neil and Odhran must be absolutely sickened. Everyone knows the effort that is put in to get ready for Championship. Now, they'll be sitting in the stand with the rest of us.

I can only hope that we do our talking on the pitch now and send these lads packing. Player for player we have better footballers than them and noone will convince me otherwise. The trick will be to get out there like feral dogs and not give them a second's peace. After that the footballers will do their stuff.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 21/04/2022 09:56:41    2411997

Leaving aside yet another example of the GAA's incompetence, what team do ye want to see on Sunday?

Current forecast looks like it'll be perfect conditions for football - hopefully that'll hold.

If we take Bonnars statement of having a full hand besides Gallen at face value I'd like to see us go with...

Patton

Ward-----McCole-----McMenamin

Mogan-----Ban------McGonagle

Hugh---McGee

C O'Donnell------Lagan-----Thompson

Paddy-----Murphy-----J Brennan

Who to come in for Ordhan is a tough one - I'd love to see McGonagle come in if fit as he'd be a big help on kickouts and provide drive up and down the pitch.

In terms of setup I think it's vital we get cover in front of McCole whenever possible to cut out space for O'Neill.

Grugan is their main playmaker so having pressure on him at all times will be very important - I think Ban can match his mobility around the pitch.

I think C O'Donnell has earned his start on front of Ryan on current form but we'll see if that comes to pass.

One positive thing is regardless of the starting team we'll have 3 or 4 lads on the bench who should be fit to come on and make a difference (2 O'Donnell brothers, McHugh/C O'Donnell, Ethan O'Donnell)

Really looking forward to going to this - I think they'll be a cracking atmosphere and hopefully we can send Armagh packing.

Donegal Abu!

Donegal2022 (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 21/04/2022 14:57:33    2412108

Replying To Donegal2022:  "Leaving aside yet another example of the GAA's incompetence, what team do ye want to see on Sunday?

Current forecast looks like it'll be perfect conditions for football - hopefully that'll hold.

If we take Bonnars statement of having a full hand besides Gallen at face value I'd like to see us go with...

Patton

Hugh---McGee

Who to come in for Ordhan is a tough one - I'd love to see McGonagle come in if fit as he'd be a big help on kickouts and provide drive up and down the pitch.

In terms of setup I think it's vital we get cover in front of McCole whenever possible to cut out space for O'Neill.

Grugan is their main playmaker so having pressure on him at all times will be very important - I think Ban can match his mobility around the pitch.

I think C O'Donnell has earned his start on front of Ryan on current form but we'll see if that comes to pass.

One positive thing is regardless of the starting team we'll have 3 or 4 lads on the bench who should be fit to come on and make a difference (2 O'Donnell brothers, McHugh/C O'Donnell, Ethan O'Donnell)

Really looking forward to going to this - I think they'll be a cracking atmosphere and hopefully we can send Armagh packing.

Donegal Abu!"
@Donegal2022 my preferred starting 15 is pretty similar to yours;

1. Shaun Patton
2. Caolán Ward
3. Brendan McCole
4. Stephen McMenamin
5. Peadar Mogan
6. Eoghan Bán Gallagher
7. Jeaic MacCeallabhuí
8. Hugh McFadden
9. Jason McGee
10. Michael Langan
11. Ciarán Thompson
12. Ryan McHugh
13. Patrick McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Jamie Brennan

Subs: Caolán McGonigle, Conor O'Donnell, Shane O'Donnell, Niall O'Donnell, Paul Brennan, Tony McClenaghan

I'd put in Jeaic MacCeallabhuí at 7 for pace and a scoring threat going forward. He's also has a bit of steel about him which will be needed on Sunday. I'd put Hughie in mid-field ahead of McGonigle just because he's had more game time and McGonigle is only coming back after injury. I'd pick Ryan McHugh ahead of Conor O'Donnell in the half-forward line based on his experience at this level but depending on how they're going at training I wouldn't be surprised for Conor to start in this line either.

Anyway here's to hoping that we have a great performance and send the Orchard packing. Dún na nGall Abú!

obreaslainp (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 21/04/2022 16:07:15    2412124

Replying To obreaslainp:  "@Donegal2022 my preferred starting 15 is pretty similar to yours;

1. Shaun Patton
2. Caolán Ward
3. Brendan McCole
4. Stephen McMenamin
5. Peadar Mogan
6. Eoghan Bán Gallagher
7. Jeaic MacCeallabhuí
8. Hugh McFadden
9. Jason McGee
10. Michael Langan
11. Ciarán Thompson
12. Ryan McHugh
13. Patrick McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Jamie Brennan

Subs: Caolán McGonigle, Conor O'Donnell, Shane O'Donnell, Niall O'Donnell, Paul Brennan, Tony McClenaghan

I'd put in Jeaic MacCeallabhuí at 7 for pace and a scoring threat going forward. He's also has a bit of steel about him which will be needed on Sunday. I'd put Hughie in mid-field ahead of McGonigle just because he's had more game time and McGonigle is only coming back after injury. I'd pick Ryan McHugh ahead of Conor O'Donnell in the half-forward line based on his experience at this level but depending on how they're going at training I wouldn't be surprised for Conor to start in this line either.

Anyway here's to hoping that we have a great performance and send the Orchard packing. Dún na nGall Abú!"
Must agree with you, really like jeac Mc kelvey he has a bit of bite about him.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 21/04/2022 17:08:31    2412136

Replying To obreaslainp:  "@Donegal2022 my preferred starting 15 is pretty similar to yours;

1. Shaun Patton
2. Caolán Ward
3. Brendan McCole
4. Stephen McMenamin
5. Peadar Mogan
6. Eoghan Bán Gallagher
7. Jeaic MacCeallabhuí
8. Hugh McFadden
9. Jason McGee
10. Michael Langan
11. Ciarán Thompson
12. Ryan McHugh
13. Patrick McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Jamie Brennan

Anyway here's to hoping that we have a great performance and send the Orchard packing. Dún na nGall Abú!"
@donegal2022. Liked your post. You kind of have to move on as much as gaa's messing would drive you to distraction.

I wouldn't underestimate not having Neil McGee. He's some amount of games played for Donegal and at the very least was first defensive sub. Mcff was definite starter.

I was struggling on the team and ultimately was landing on this team. Really would not like to see McHugh in the Hb line with Mogan as it's just not defensive enough and think mcceallbhui is next in line. The goal against Tyrone was super workrate though the penalty concession against Dublin was a bit rash. It might be a bit much to expect mcgonagle to start though if he does it would probably be at the expense of Jason McGee.

I think Conor O'Donnell and Shane O'Donnell hurt their chances a little bit against Armagh in letterkenny. Their impact wasn't as pronounced as other games. Though the experience in the league means at the very least they'll be valuable subs.

In saying all that I do think performance at training will be a big factor so there could be a bit of a bolter. Mcceallbhui started from nowhere against Tyrone a few years ago and mcff made his debut in an Ulster final.

There's been quite a lot of negativity from fans and pundits about Donegal. I believe in this team and wish them all the best for Sunday. Hopefully there's big support there for them. Do the men from '72 proud.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 21/04/2022 18:36:21    2412153

Niall needs to start if he's got his fitness /injury concerns sorted. Too important not to start. Not really impact either. Would rather see Shane come from the bench than Niall as he's more explosive. Shane, Conor, one of Jamie Brennan /Ryan would add plenty of energy from the bench. Don't think Hughie can Stert if we plan to play him around the middle. Too slow and suspect on the back foot. If he's dropping to sweep, then perfect, a great man for this and defo could be used here for this game.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1141 - 21/04/2022 19:16:21    2412159

Replying To Donegal2022:  "Leaving aside yet another example of the GAA's incompetence, what team do ye want to see on Sunday?

Patton

Hugh---McGee

Donegal Abu!"
Can't see Bonner dropping Ryan unless he's injured, if we get our act together and play like we are capable off we have the beating of this Armagh team I have no doubt, if we start well and then start messing around trying to sit on a lead things could go pear shaped very quick and we aren't great at chasing a game,
so if we start well then keep the foot on the accelerator and go for it, I hope Patton stays on his line too, gives me a panic attack when he goes wandering out the field.
Think I'll go anyway sickened as I am by the farcical appeals we were long enough sitting at home waiting for big days like this again, I have no doubt it will be a great battle, hope Deegan and his team have a good game too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 21/04/2022 19:48:03    2412161

Interesting team with plenty of options and thoughts for debate. Some thoughts from a neutral who has watched your county team a fair bit and familiar with many of your players at underage and college level. Very few would argue with a full forward line of McBrearty, Murphy and Brennan as they can do damage given a decent supply of ball. Will be good to see Michael Langan fit and lining out again after his injury. Hope Stephen McMeniman is 100% fit again as he and Oisin Gallen have had no luck atall in the past few years. Patton's restarts are great to watch and he will be more direct for the championship, getting it forward quickly to talented forwards reaps more rewards than over indulging in recycling which invites trouble and allows the opposition to regroup. Caolan Ward is an intelligent footballer and uses the ball very well, always thought he more suited to right half back than a tight marking corner back position..then again you might not be spoiled for options at corner back. Jeaic McCeallabhui is a superb man marker and can do a job at number 4 or 7 , I wouldn't be demanding too much from him as an attacking force despite his 80m dash to finish against Tyrone .. would be happy with him keeping his opponent scores to a minimum. Caolan McGonigle was one the most improved attacking mid fielders in the country up to his hand injury . His direct running sees him surge forward and pick off a score or two on a regular basis, nothing beats that for giving the team a lift. Hugh McFadden seems to do his best work behind midfield in a sweeping role , his energy sapping runs tend to be diagonal before unloading. It's a big ask to expect talented players like Ryan McHugh and Peadar Mogan to launch attacks from deep inside their own half, having them in those positions means that they will end up defending and man marking which might not be their strong points and we can expect exchanges in the first 20 minutes to be very physical. Would be great to have the luxury of introducing a player of Morgan's pace around 50mins when the game becomes more open and some players begin to tire.
McFadden Ferry is a big loss but it's good to see supporters moving on from suspensions/appeals and focusing on your starting 15. Your panel won't need all that to motivate them as dwelling on it too much could lead to I'll discipline .

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 22/04/2022 13:42:54    2412271

Not long to go now, feels like more than a first round game at this stage with all the talk and build up. I'm delighted that it seems mostly to be one side doing the talking, even Stevie weighed in with his opinion yesterday - Donegal were the agressors, quel surprise!

Not a peep coming from the Green and Gold camp or from retired players. That's what we want. Between 2pm and 4pm on the pitch on Sunday is the time let the football do the talking.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 22/04/2022 15:19:20    2412305

Replying To Curlew66:  "Interesting team with plenty of options and thoughts for debate. Some thoughts from a neutral who has watched your county team a fair bit and familiar with many of your players at underage and college level. Very few would argue with a full forward line of McBrearty, Murphy and Brennan as they can do damage given a decent supply of ball. Will be good to see Michael Langan fit and lining out again after his injury. Hope Stephen McMeniman is 100% fit again as he and Oisin Gallen have had no luck atall in the past few years. Patton's restarts are great to watch and he will be more direct for the championship, getting it forward quickly to talented forwards reaps more rewards than over indulging in recycling which invites trouble and allows the opposition to regroup. Caolan Ward is an intelligent footballer and uses the ball very well, always thought he more suited to right half back than a tight marking corner back position..then again you might not be spoiled for options at corner back. Jeaic McCeallabhui is a superb man marker and can do a job at number 4 or 7 , I wouldn't be demanding too much from him as an attacking force despite his 80m dash to finish against Tyrone .. would be happy with him keeping his opponent scores to a minimum. Caolan McGonigle was one the most improved attacking mid fielders in the country up to his hand injury . His direct running sees him surge forward and pick off a score or two on a regular basis, nothing beats that for giving the team a lift. Hugh McFadden seems to do his best work behind midfield in a sweeping role , his energy sapping runs tend to be diagonal before unloading. It's a big ask to expect talented players like Ryan McHugh and Peadar Mogan to launch attacks from deep inside their own half, having them in those positions means that they will end up defending and man marking which might not be their strong points and we can expect exchanges in the first 20 minutes to be very physical. Would be great to have the luxury of introducing a player of Morgan's pace around 50mins when the game becomes more open and some players begin to tire.
McFadden Ferry is a big loss but it's good to see supporters moving on from suspensions/appeals and focusing on your starting 15. Your panel won't need all that to motivate them as dwelling on it too much could lead to I'll discipline ."
Very well said Curlew, i couldnt disagree with anything you have said, and you have excellent knowledge. I suspect that your better half is a Donegal woman.

I feel with the importance of the physical battle this weekend, that we can't afford to have a defensive set up with Mogan, McHugh and Eoin Ban. They just don't offer that hard hit that'll be required. So McCeallbhui is a good shout.

This will be specially so if we have to relegate one of our big man like McGonigle, Jason McGee or Big Hughie to facilitate a playmaker like Niall O'Donnell.

If we manage the game properly, I feel that we should get enough of a lift off the bench to see us over the line with maybe a couple to spare.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 22/04/2022 16:09:57    2412320