Donegal GAA thread

Replying To peiledoir20:  "This is my fear with players who will get very little game time during Championship barring a bad run of injuries (hopefully not!). The likes of Aaron & Eunan Doherty, Mark Curran, Tony McClenaghan to name a few. Should they not be released back to their clubs to get some actually game time?"
Players want to play football. When people talk about commitment to county football, well the biggest commitment is the peripheral players who might only get a few mins here and there. At least the starting players and first few subs are going to see plenty match time.

On that basis you'd want all these squad players let play for their clubs. If they didn't get these games and Donegal went on a bit of a run they end up playing no games until the end of the club league or championship. That doesn't make sense. It also gives players a chance to find form with the county panel in mind.

I wonder is that a reason why so many tyrone squad players have left their panel. They basically want to play football and weren't getting that as squad players on county panel.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 02/04/2022 10:29:39    2409015

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Anyone catch the under 20 game.? Seemed to be a good win for the lads."
I watched the stream on beosport. And at least they stream lasted the full game this time and doubt Charlie Collins left his team sheet behind!
It's hard to get a full judgement from not being their live though for what it's worth.

Armagh were defensive at the start and donegal dominated possession though lacked penetrtaion. Eventually after 7/8 mins the long ball into the big man worked with mcgettigan taking a fine catch and passing it to mcglynn who finished the goal well. The game was uneventful then again for a while and eventually donegal went on on run from say the mid way point of the first half. Mcgroddy came into it and kicked a few nice points from play. He is also a reliable free taker.
Dowling from a long kickout and dunleavy also hit points. Donegal also dominated the breaking ball from kickouts and their half back line and midfield turned over armagh quite a bit and that was part of the reason Armagh only scored one point in the first half.
Although wet and it didn't seem windy though it did help with kickouts and scoring into the river goal. Ultimately the game was pretty close to being over at ht with score being 1-7 to a 0-1.

Armagh were much better in the second half and nearly had donegal rattled when they had it back to 5 points. Dowling impressed at that point with a few important plays that led to scores and that finished the game off. He's a powerful man. Probably need players playing off his runs a little better as well though. Mcglynn also hit two nice points. He did miss another straight forward goal chance they and I'm not sure what he did after doing everything right except the finish. He's the youngest player on the team and you can see the quality. Apart from his frees mcgroddy did go out of it and you don't want that.

Kieran tobin seemed to kind of everywhere for the whole game, one careless turnover and a harsh overcarrying call after a lovely bit of skill aside. Overall he'd a very fine game reading and linking the play. He comes across as really enthusiastic as well and that's great to see. Paul o'hare also did well. I think this his third year at under 20. The subs also added to the team. I guess Jamie grant is injured as he never made an appearance. Good to see O'rourke coming on as a sub though not sure he's back a 100%.

Overall winning is obviously very positive though there are a few other things I noticed. You can see the club pattern of play of possession first and turning backwards and going backwards when they could be more offensively minded. They were ponderous at the start, playing around the edges and could have just went for it a bit more. No more than most donegal teams they are predominantly a running team. I would like to see a bit more kick passing but that's a wider point than this team. The fb doherty looks a strong traditional style fb and overall did well. He probably has to look at his positioning and using the end line as a defender more than he does.

They can go and watch tyrone and down today and get prepared. Tyrone walloped Down in the leo murphy so they'll be favourites. Perhaps though down were keeping their powder dry. Surprised that cavan hammered monaghan. Monaghan were the ulster minor champions from three years ago and cavan were not good at minor level at all. Underage can be a funny business.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 02/04/2022 12:07:08    2409038

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I watched the stream on beosport. And at least they stream lasted the full game this time and doubt Charlie Collins left his team sheet behind!
It's hard to get a full judgement from not being their live though for what it's worth.

Armagh were defensive at the start and donegal dominated possession though lacked penetrtaion. Eventually after 7/8 mins the long ball into the big man worked with mcgettigan taking a fine catch and passing it to mcglynn who finished the goal well. The game was uneventful then again for a while and eventually donegal went on on run from say the mid way point of the first half. Mcgroddy came into it and kicked a few nice points from play. He is also a reliable free taker.
Dowling from a long kickout and dunleavy also hit points. Donegal also dominated the breaking ball from kickouts and their half back line and midfield turned over armagh quite a bit and that was part of the reason Armagh only scored one point in the first half.
Although wet and it didn't seem windy though it did help with kickouts and scoring into the river goal. Ultimately the game was pretty close to being over at ht with score being 1-7 to a 0-1.

Armagh were much better in the second half and nearly had donegal rattled when they had it back to 5 points. Dowling impressed at that point with a few important plays that led to scores and that finished the game off. He's a powerful man. Probably need players playing off his runs a little better as well though. Mcglynn also hit two nice points. He did miss another straight forward goal chance they and I'm not sure what he did after doing everything right except the finish. He's the youngest player on the team and you can see the quality. Apart from his frees mcgroddy did go out of it and you don't want that.

Kieran tobin seemed to kind of everywhere for the whole game, one careless turnover and a harsh overcarrying call after a lovely bit of skill aside. Overall he'd a very fine game reading and linking the play. He comes across as really enthusiastic as well and that's great to see. Paul o'hare also did well. I think this his third year at under 20. The subs also added to the team. I guess Jamie grant is injured as he never made an appearance. Good to see O'rourke coming on as a sub though not sure he's back a 100%.

Overall winning is obviously very positive though there are a few other things I noticed. You can see the club pattern of play of possession first and turning backwards and going backwards when they could be more offensively minded. They were ponderous at the start, playing around the edges and could have just went for it a bit more. No more than most donegal teams they are predominantly a running team. I would like to see a bit more kick passing but that's a wider point than this team. The fb doherty looks a strong traditional style fb and overall did well. He probably has to look at his positioning and using the end line as a defender more than he does.

They can go and watch tyrone and down today and get prepared. Tyrone walloped Down in the leo murphy so they'll be favourites. Perhaps though down were keeping their powder dry. Surprised that cavan hammered monaghan. Monaghan were the ulster minor champions from three years ago and cavan were not good at minor level at all. Underage can be a funny business."
Excellent analysis Ulster. Like you I watched the game via beosport. I had planned on traveling but when the option to stream was available I took it as wasn't convenient to travel this weekend. The performance was similar to what I seen against Roscommon a few weeks ago but in better conditions. Lots of possession combined with sometimes ponderous passages of play which is an endemic of all Donegal football that we're all aware of. Armagh found joy early playing a more direct effective style of football but poor shooting and free taking let them down. The game then changed when Bobby McGettigan fetched a high ball and laid off to McGlynn who buried it. In fact McGettigan could've had a goal before that after another high field but blasted it wide. He really is a handful but has loads of improvement in him as sometimes the basics can let him down. I thought Tobin was excellent. He seemed to pop up everywhere and played with an old head on young shoulders. He'll be making his mark with the seniors in the next couple of years. I thought the backline as a whole played well getting up and down the field and creating plenty of turnovers. As you said Dowling got involved in alot of positive plays. Armagh did make a fist of it in the second half and a goal from them would've made it interesting but you always felt Donegal had more gears. I thought McGlynn's point in the second half was an exceptional team score. From working it out from the back despite Armagh having numbers and pressure on the ball to the transition forward using hand and foot passes to the finish. The goal he missed would've been a beauty and he done everything right apart from the cheeky finish. It'll take a fair performance to beat this team. I do fear they might lack an x factor and if they'll have the ability to break free from the systematic playing style when its needed especially if facing a deficit with time running down. However these lads have developed physically and mentally so much in the last 3 years from when I seen them at minor its hard to cap them. Based on 3 years ago I'd have thought Monaghan would've had a routine win last night and was quite the opposite. I remember last year seeing Offaly just about getting over the line against a Westmeath side who looked to have the upper hand until losing their main man Brandon Kelly to injury and certainly not thinking they'd win an AI which makes capping these teams so difficult. Its a big advantage to Donegal that they'll get to see the Tyrone Down game today. Whether Donegal win Ulster and go beyond I don't know but it'll take a fair side to beat them all the same.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 02/04/2022 12:55:59    2409043

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Players want to play football. When people talk about commitment to county football, well the biggest commitment is the peripheral players who might only get a few mins here and there. At least the starting players and first few subs are going to see plenty match time.

On that basis you'd want all these squad players let play for their clubs. If they didn't get these games and Donegal went on a bit of a run they end up playing no games until the end of the club league or championship. That doesn't make sense. It also gives players a chance to find form with the county panel in mind.

I wonder is that a reason why so many tyrone squad players have left their panel. They basically want to play football and weren't getting that as squad players on county panel."
Shameful how lads on extended panel are treated by county board and county management, don't get gear, expenses and are put out when tactics are being discussed. ( BTW I'd love to know what tactics are actually being discussed) for some of the league games we didn't even have full compliment of 26 and some of these lads could have togged, no doubt co chairman will say we are all keyboard warriors but these are facts, and these players are all committed Donegal men.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 03/04/2022 17:53:06    2409305

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Anyone catch the under 20 game.? Seemed to be a good win for the lads."
I was at the game and I also saw them against MayoI have to say I like the attitude of this team.They really compete hard on loose and dirty ball and they tackle hard.They nearly all seem to be very fast as well and from half back through midfield they transition very well,They possibly could do with one or two more top class forwards.Management seem to have them well drilled as well.How far they will go is impossible to say because Armagh were not very god and the Mayo game was just a league game.No doubt Tyrone will be a big challenge as they always are at this level but hopefully they can come out on top at Celtic Park on Friday.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1055 - 03/04/2022 19:14:52    2409340

Replying To totalrecall:  "Shameful how lads on extended panel are treated by county board and county management, don't get gear, expenses and are put out when tactics are being discussed. ( BTW I'd love to know what tactics are actually being discussed) for some of the league games we didn't even have full compliment of 26 and some of these lads could have togged, no doubt co chairman will say we are all keyboard warriors but these are facts, and these players are all committed Donegal men."
Why would they be in when tactics are discussed. If there not on the panel they have no reason to be in.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 04/04/2022 10:18:31    2409439

Replying To gunman:  "I was at the game and I also saw them against MayoI have to say I like the attitude of this team.They really compete hard on loose and dirty ball and they tackle hard.They nearly all seem to be very fast as well and from half back through midfield they transition very well,They possibly could do with one or two more top class forwards.Management seem to have them well drilled as well.How far they will go is impossible to say because Armagh were not very god and the Mayo game was just a league game.No doubt Tyrone will be a big challenge as they always are at this level but hopefully they can come out on top at Celtic Park on Friday."
Big game Friday night alright gunman. Donegal beat Tyrone with a bit to spare in the league final but probably have to take with a pinch of salt given the big possibility cards were been kept close to the chest in the event of this game. The fact most of last years team are underage again definitely helps in terms of knowing their roles and playing as a collective. They need every bit of the experience and maturity gained from last year not just for Friday night but if they are to win and refocusing for a final. Playing any Tyrone side is tough but coming back down and resetting for a final is a big challenge in itself. These lads will know they should've got to the Ulster final last year and maybe won it so hopefully they can use that as a motivating factor. I thought Tobin spoke well after the game and you sense a firm focus to achieve more.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 04/04/2022 12:01:12    2409483

Armagh will be missing some major scoring threat now that Campbell and possibly O'Neill are ruled out through suspension. It will be very interesting to see how the appeals go. If they're successful it will be an embarrassment for the GAA in terms of consistency. The Tyrone lads will be incandescent with rage and it won't be fair on our two lads either.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 05/04/2022 10:14:47    2409686

Good luck to Gary and the u 20s Friday night. 50!50?game hopefully we can get over the line , no reason why we can't we're well organised with a lot of very good players, as someone else said we might be lacking a marquee forward but I feel we still have good scoring forwards. Mc gettigan is not your typical Donegal forward but he is very effective. All the best lads.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 05/04/2022 11:27:17    2409712

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Armagh will be missing some major scoring threat now that Campbell and possibly O'Neill are ruled out through suspension. It will be very interesting to see how the appeals go. If they're successful it will be an embarrassment for the GAA in terms of consistency. The Tyrone lads will be incandescent with rage and it won't be fair on our two lads either."
On what grounds would these be overturned?

I ask, as the referee's report identified 2 Donegal players and 3 Armagh players, and upon Armagh's appeal, the CCCC added Rian O'Neill based on video evidence. So I'm assuming all decisions were held up as valid, so I'm not sure what grounds they will have to get them overturned.

The GAA is trying to stamp out these types of incidents, I can't see them overturning these without strong evidence.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1103 - 05/04/2022 13:01:12    2409740

Just looking at team sheets from buncrana cup from 4 years ago and it's very noticeable how many of this team played back then. Fair play to them all for sticking at it and making it so competitive. Usually at under 20 the next group and the group after would have more players on the team. From what I can see mcglynn was the only starter underage next year (and the year after). Though mcgettigan and Doherty at FB didn't seem to play minor for Donegal I think this is their last year at under 20.

Tyrone will be tough, think ruairi canavan is close to a breakthrough at senior and he's still under 19. They at least some players from last year's very good minors and their minors from 2020 were very close to the Derry team that won the All Ireland. Canavan wasn't fit to start that day either.

Best of luck to Donegal.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 05/04/2022 13:51:29    2409758

Replying To Commodore:  "On what grounds would these be overturned?

I ask, as the referee's report identified 2 Donegal players and 3 Armagh players, and upon Armagh's appeal, the CCCC added Rian O'Neill based on video evidence. So I'm assuming all decisions were held up as valid, so I'm not sure what grounds they will have to get them overturned.

The GAA is trying to stamp out these types of incidents, I can't see them overturning these without strong evidence."
Oh I'm in total agreement with you. I can't see any justification for the bans to be overturned. I think Armagh are appealing without any sense of hope that it'll actually work. Maybe to stoke up the fire within themselves for when the appeals inevitably fail? Silly carry-on really but each to their own.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 05/04/2022 14:17:17    2409768

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Just looking at team sheets from buncrana cup from 4 years ago and it's very noticeable how many of this team played back then. Fair play to them all for sticking at it and making it so competitive. Usually at under 20 the next group and the group after would have more players on the team. From what I can see mcglynn was the only starter underage next year (and the year after). Though mcgettigan and Doherty at FB didn't seem to play minor for Donegal I think this is their last year at under 20.

Tyrone will be tough, think ruairi canavan is close to a breakthrough at senior and he's still under 19. They at least some players from last year's very good minors and their minors from 2020 were very close to the Derry team that won the All Ireland. Canavan wasn't fit to start that day either.

Best of luck to Donegal."
I believe Doherty played full back for LYIT this year. He was in the county minor squad 2 years ago, didn't get much game time, was seen as more of a midfielder then. He will be underage next year again. Out of the squad that was named for the Armagh game, David Boyle from St Eunans and Fionnan Coyle from Gweedore are also underage next year. Saw young Canavan a couple weeks ago at the Ulster Schools All stars final trial. They took him off after 20 mins as he had enough damage done at that stage to secure his all star!!

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 460 - 05/04/2022 15:12:14    2409791

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Oh I'm in total agreement with you. I can't see any justification for the bans to be overturned. I think Armagh are appealing without any sense of hope that it'll actually work. Maybe to stoke up the fire within themselves for when the appeals inevitably fail? Silly carry-on really but each to their own."
I was just watching the melee between the teams in the 2014 quarter final when our Doctor was downed.Remember.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1055 - 05/04/2022 17:07:17    2409831

Replying To gunman:  "I was just watching the melee between the teams in the 2014 quarter final when our Doctor was downed.Remember."
Yeah that was ridiculous as well. Hope that we can do our talking on the pitch in a few weeks time. That's the best way to deal with that carry-on.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 06/04/2022 10:08:14    2409900

Replying To rorysboys:  "Why would they be in when tactics are discussed. If there not on the panel they have no reason to be in."
Well if you think that's the way to treat young lads giving their best for their county maybe you should get a job with Bonner and his crew!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 06/04/2022 19:31:23    2410035

Replying To totalrecall:  "Well if you think that's the way to treat young lads giving their best for their county maybe you should get a job with Bonner and his crew!"
Read my reply I said they had no reason to be in at team meetings. What you think of u 20s tomorrow night.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 07/04/2022 10:40:06    2410086

Replying To totalrecall:  "Well if you think that's the way to treat young lads giving their best for their county maybe you should get a job with Bonner and his crew!"
Who knows maybe he does already? he's on here defending Bonner no matter what.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 07/04/2022 11:31:37    2410098

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Who knows maybe he does already? he's on here defending Bonner no matter what."
Ha poor you. Do you like following my posts. Was only replying to a post about how the development lads were treated and how they weren't allowed into tactical meetings. I don't see you haven't any problems with that post. Forum very quiet since Armagh game which doesn't surprise me. The warriors only come out after a defeat. Hope to see yous all getting behind the team Sunday forthright hopefully Armagh will not outnumber us, which is a probability.. I look on with envy at how mayo support there team through thick and thin .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 07/04/2022 14:10:23    2410147

You're correct about the need to support the team, league is done and it's time to look forward to the Championship.

Funny you mention Mayo, a county that consistently make SFs never mind finals. If this particular management team want to be in situ in 2023 they need to deliver at least a SF. I for one hope that they do.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 793 - 07/04/2022 15:19:06    2410162