Donegal GAA thread

Replying To tidytownman:  "Well done Donegal. Great result. Couldn't have asked for better so far since Jim and team arrived. Also great to see club league back started. Anyone know why Kilcar/Letterkenny/rest of Ireland reserve game didn't happen? Maybe our reporter on the ground from LK might fill us in??"
Ah he's on his midterm break so it will be another week before a reply is forthcoming I would say!!!!!!!!

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 279 - 01/04/2024 09:07:00    2534936

Well done Jim and the lads. Nice to win a final in croker. A lot of players stood up Thompson immense but surprised at the room Armagh gave him. We're motoring well but the big test is three weeks time. Can we beat them of course we can. I would say one or two of the subs especially wudnt be happy with a certain substitution yesterday.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2409 - 01/04/2024 09:16:27    2534937

What a result considering the amount of injuries we had. The squad is well and truly stepping up. Great to see progress being made.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 227 - 01/04/2024 13:17:31    2534977

Congrats to all involved yesterday. Good for the younger lads to get themselves some silverware. Hard to really take much from the game as both teams seemed to be holding plenty back especially Donegal. The team showed great character to come back the way they did when all the momentum was behind Armagh. In truth it was their own efficiency in front of the posts that had them 4 points down. Some beautiful scores from Thompson, Niall O'Donnell and Oisin Gallen. Again McGonigle stepped up when needed but he showed great leadership throughout driving at Armagh and is really flourishing at the moment. The same can be said for Ciaran Moore who looks an absolute find. The lad has pace and power and is only going to get better and better. He also opens up the prospect of pushing McGonigle to midfield while he occupies centre half back if and when McCole returns. I did feel Armagh should've had a goal or two so that's something to work on. Derry are in a fantastic place right now and will be a monumental task. I think we'll have a much better sense where we're at after that game but all in all it's been a positive league campaign with lots more to come.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/04/2024 14:12:36    2534986

Replying To rorysboys:  "Well done Jim and the lads. Nice to win a final in croker. A lot of players stood up Thompson immense but surprised at the room Armagh gave him. We're motoring well but the big test is three weeks time. Can we beat them of course we can. I would say one or two of the subs especially wudnt be happy with a certain substitution yesterday."
Thompson made his own room with the aid of quick passing from the players around. Trying to stir the pot. I have full trust in our great Manager...........

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 279 - 01/04/2024 15:45:12    2535009

Replying To greenfan:  "I wouldn't get too carried away after that game. Poor game played at walking pace up to the last 10 mins. The intensity shown in the div 1 final is what will be required in 3 weeks time. Time will tell if Donegal can get to that level , particularly with the injury problems we have."
I agree it was a poor game and we were playing the same old lateral shite for a lot of it. But we had essentially a 50/50 first team / fringe players lineup, so we were never going to be at our best. But we still managed to win while putting some of the newer players to the test and getting minutes into our returning players. Plus that grit and determination in the last 5 minutes when it was put up to us is a great sign of mental fortitude.

We are developing well and moving through the gears. Is it enough to beat Derry? That's a whole other question.

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 01/04/2024 15:55:07    2535014

Replying To panamasam:  "Congrats to all involved yesterday. Good for the younger lads to get themselves some silverware. Hard to really take much from the game as both teams seemed to be holding plenty back especially Donegal. The team showed great character to come back the way they did when all the momentum was behind Armagh. In truth it was their own efficiency in front of the posts that had them 4 points down. Some beautiful scores from Thompson, Niall O'Donnell and Oisin Gallen. Again McGonigle stepped up when needed but he showed great leadership throughout driving at Armagh and is really flourishing at the moment. The same can be said for Ciaran Moore who looks an absolute find. The lad has pace and power and is only going to get better and better. He also opens up the prospect of pushing McGonigle to midfield while he occupies centre half back if and when McCole returns. I did feel Armagh should've had a goal or two so that's something to work on. Derry are in a fantastic place right now and will be a monumental task. I think we'll have a much better sense where we're at after that game but all in all it's been a positive league campaign with lots more to come."
I was thinking that as well - McCole could also play centre half back , leaving moore at full back and pushing McGonagle to midfield if we are short there. Moore gives us plenty of options. Although McGonagle at centre half is giving us such a stability that you'd be wary of moving him at all.

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 01/04/2024 15:58:27    2535016

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Thompson made his own room with the aid of quick passing from the players around. Trying to stir the pot. I have full trust in our great Manager..........."
Jez lad am I not allowed an opinion. Very sensitive of you. Is this not called a football forum where people gave their opinion.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2409 - 01/04/2024 17:09:43    2535028

Well done to Jim and the boys, was very proud of them all they way the dug out that win, great performance from Ciaran Thompson, hopefully we get more fellas back from injury for the Derry game, by the looks of the level Derry are at now it will be no easy task to beat them.
If we beat Derry then next up likely be Tyrone then maybe Armagh in the Ulster final, you'd be heading into the All Ireland series battered and bruised against teams that have coasted in there and have focused to peak for the All Ireland quarter finals.
We might be better focusing on the long game.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2752 - 01/04/2024 17:29:18    2535032

Replying To High_and_wide:  "I was thinking that as well - McCole could also play centre half back , leaving moore at full back and pushing McGonagle to midfield if we are short there. Moore gives us plenty of options. Although McGonagle at centre half is giving us such a stability that you'd be wary of moving him at all."
Yeah I agree but I'd be fairly confident Moore can give that stability too and having Caolan, Langan and Jason McGee if he's fit around the middle will give us some height. It's a big campaign for the latter two when you see what Glass is doing. Langan in particular has the ability to be just as good. I hope and I expect we'll see a big improvement with the kick outs come Derry. I thought Patton didn't have a great day on this front but I suspect Jim was holding plenty back.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/04/2024 18:38:06    2535046

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done to Jim and the boys, was very proud of them all they way the dug out that win, great performance from Ciaran Thompson, hopefully we get more fellas back from injury for the Derry game, by the looks of the level Derry are at now it will be no easy task to beat them.
If we beat Derry then next up likely be Tyrone then maybe Armagh in the Ulster final, you'd be heading into the All Ireland series battered and bruised against teams that have coasted in there and have focused to peak for the All Ireland quarter finals.
We might be better focusing on the long game."
Yeah there's a good chance that losing to Derry could mean going further in the all ireland series, getting our injured players back bit by bit and building momentum through the backdoor.

But if we were to beat Derry you wouldn't bet against us winning ulster, and that would be some platform of confidence to build on for the coming years.

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 01/04/2024 20:13:40    2535060

Replying To panamasam:  "Yeah I agree but I'd be fairly confident Moore can give that stability too and having Caolan, Langan and Jason McGee if he's fit around the middle will give us some height. It's a big campaign for the latter two when you see what Glass is doing. Langan in particular has the ability to be just as good. I hope and I expect we'll see a big improvement with the kick outs come Derry. I thought Patton didn't have a great day on this front but I suspect Jim was holding plenty back."
Yeah I can imagine a kick out strategy to beat a high press and catch Odhran lynch off his line. Its waiting to be done.

Langan's transformation into a midfielder is a fascinating sub plot so far. He has so much potential.

Gallen seems to come into the middle for kickouts too, and Thompson will be there. Plenty of big men to try to disrupt glass and break ball.

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 01/04/2024 20:18:22    2535061

Replying To High_and_wide:  "Yeah there's a good chance that losing to Derry could mean going further in the all ireland series, getting our injured players back bit by bit and building momentum through the backdoor.

But if we were to beat Derry you wouldn't bet against us winning ulster, and that would be some platform of confidence to build on for the coming years."
There is no backdoor anymore, if we get beaten our next competitive game would be in the All Ireland series group. That game would be a month or so away I think after the Derry game? plenty of time to maybe get a few of the not so serious injuries and niggles cleared up.
Winning Ulster would be massive I know and we'd have great momentum going into the group stages, going to be an exciting few months ahead anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2752 - 01/04/2024 21:04:09    2535072

Ciaran Moore has been fantastic, and the great thing is his versatility. With a full deck to play with I see McCole at full back and McGonagle at 6. They will anchor the middle. That would release Moore into a corner back role. He has huge ball carrying ability in comparison with those who have been used in similar roles in the past. Any opposition would have to be very careful about using a forward out around the middle of the field, because of his threat going forward. Caolan McColgan is another serious option, but maybe slightly behind Moore.

Our kickout wasn't as crisp yesterday, but it struggled at times in the Athletic Grounds as well. I expect that Jim will be working on other kick out strategies in training.

Looking at Paddy yesterday, I don't think he will make the Derry game. I watched him break into a wee jog going across the pitch before the start of the second half, but he looked far from comfortable.

With North Korea fully in situ, I'm sure we'll not have any idea of what our starting team will be until about an hour before throw in on the 20th April.

I'll have a stab at it now, based on who I believe will and won't be fit:

Patton
Curran, McCole, Moore
McHugh, McGonagle, McColgan
Langan, McGee
Niall O'D, Thompson, Mogan
O'Baoill, Gallen, Brennan

Subs: Mulreany, McMenamin, Odhran Doherty, MacCeallbhui, Hugh Mc, Shane O'D, Aaron Doherty, Luke McGlynn. And hopefully a couple of the longer term injured of Paddy Mc, Eoghan Ban, Conor O'D.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 01/04/2024 21:11:59    2535074

Replying To rorysboys:  "Jez lad am I not allowed an opinion. Very sensitive of you. Is this not called a football forum where people gave their opinion."
I was referring to your statement that one or two of the subs would not be happy about a certain substitution on Sunday.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 279 - 01/04/2024 23:02:16    2535087

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Ciaran Moore has been fantastic, and the great thing is his versatility. With a full deck to play with I see McCole at full back and McGonagle at 6. They will anchor the middle. That would release Moore into a corner back role. He has huge ball carrying ability in comparison with those who have been used in similar roles in the past. Any opposition would have to be very careful about using a forward out around the middle of the field, because of his threat going forward. Caolan McColgan is another serious option, but maybe slightly behind Moore.

Our kickout wasn't as crisp yesterday, but it struggled at times in the Athletic Grounds as well. I expect that Jim will be working on other kick out strategies in training.

Looking at Paddy yesterday, I don't think he will make the Derry game. I watched him break into a wee jog going across the pitch before the start of the second half, but he looked far from comfortable.

With North Korea fully in situ, I'm sure we'll not have any idea of what our starting team will be until about an hour before throw in on the 20th April.

Patton
Curran, McCole, Moore
Langan, McGee

Subs: Mulreany, McMenamin, Odhran Doherty, MacCeallbhui, Hugh Mc, Shane O'D, Aaron Doherty, Luke McGlynn. And hopefully a couple of the longer term injured of Paddy Mc, Eoghan Ban, Conor O'D."
Strangely I'd say mcguinness would be happy enough about the kickout not been as good as it should. Most of the teams in division 2 conceded the donegal kickout so you didn't quite know how well it was really working. There's definitely room for improvement. Also the few times teams did push up ryan mchugh has been a real go to for patton and he missed that yesterday as well.

The injuries and lack of game time make picking a starting 15 pretty much impossible. I suppose regardless moore has played himself into a starter. He's been really good. Thompson called out his athleticism in one of the interviews yesterday. Even last week against meath he completely burned a meath player at the end of the game. He's also provided a pile of assists for points through his running game.

I would also have shane o'donnell starting. He's a real good footballer. With his speed, skill, balance and ball control he penetrates the defence a lot and scores plenty.

Derry are very good. Mcevoy and and Murray are progressing hugely from last year. They've also developed squad depth. Last year one injury to mcgrogan in the semi final kind of did for them. That's not the case this year. More generally whether by luck, design or whatever they don't seem to pick up much injuries. Their team is a much more straightforward to name than dinegal will be. And Mickey will have his eyes on the quadruple.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 695 - 02/04/2024 00:26:07    2535093

Replying To High_and_wide:  "Yeah I can imagine a kick out strategy to beat a high press and catch Odhran lynch off his line. Its waiting to be done.

Langan's transformation into a midfielder is a fascinating sub plot so far. He has so much potential.

Gallen seems to come into the middle for kickouts too, and Thompson will be there. Plenty of big men to try to disrupt glass and break ball."
Fully agreed on the high press Lynch can definitely be got at. Think Jim is going to go with a very tall middle 8 sector with men like the o Donnell's and Mogan around them to break fast. Really felt this is where Jim could have brought even more big men into the panel during league like Rory O Donnell and Jason Campbell. Is there any possibility of getting either of these men in for all Ireland series or is the panel set now? Think we have a great chance anyway from what I seen Sunday

Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 02/04/2024 06:47:00    2535101

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I was referring to your statement that one or two of the subs would not be happy about a certain substitution on Sunday."
Sure I'm only saying what a lot of people are saying. Some of the young lads deserved a run out in croker too.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2409 - 02/04/2024 08:19:39    2535107

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Ciaran Moore has been fantastic, and the great thing is his versatility. With a full deck to play with I see McCole at full back and McGonagle at 6. They will anchor the middle. That would release Moore into a corner back role. He has huge ball carrying ability in comparison with those who have been used in similar roles in the past. Any opposition would have to be very careful about using a forward out around the middle of the field, because of his threat going forward. Caolan McColgan is another serious option, but maybe slightly behind Moore.

Patton
Curran, McCole, Moore
Langan, McGee

Subs: Mulreany, McMenamin, Odhran Doherty, MacCeallbhui, Hugh Mc, Shane O'D, Aaron Doherty, Luke McGlynn. And hopefully a couple of the longer term injured of Paddy Mc, Eoghan Ban, Conor O'D."
I can see Moore and McColgan getting the corner back positions in the future if we have a full deck. Mark Curran has been really solid and McMenamen is a great player too but I think that Jim is looking for every defender to be a danger going forward, willing to take men on and break tackles

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 02/04/2024 10:54:22    2535138

Replying To Jimsam12:  "Fully agreed on the high press Lynch can definitely be got at. Think Jim is going to go with a very tall middle 8 sector with men like the o Donnell's and Mogan around them to break fast. Really felt this is where Jim could have brought even more big men into the panel during league like Rory O Donnell and Jason Campbell. Is there any possibility of getting either of these men in for all Ireland series or is the panel set now? Think we have a great chance anyway from what I seen Sunday"
If we manage to catch Lynch off his line, and/or pressure him when he's on the ball, he'll be forced to stay in goal, which takes the playmaker out of the Derry attack. He's pivotal to what they've doing this season going forward.

Do you mean Jason Campbell from naomh conaill?

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 02/04/2024 10:59:57    2535141