Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Tyrion:  "I think it was Ryan said paddy take the penalty he had the ball in his hands when Michael was talking to him as the ref was Given the card then dropped it down to MC"
Plenty of good penalty takers in Kilcar alright...

We completely bottled it when Mayo put it up to us. Passed the ball about in our full back line and paid the price. But for a few bad Mayo wides they should have won.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 817 - 30/01/2022 21:17:16    2397327

I was very annoyed.at the end of the game. A lot of folks want to put everything at the the feet of bonner but the players have to man up and as a team they didn't do that again today. They have a soft underbelly and It's a collective thing. Every one of them have to stand up better even the ones being lauded as having good games.

Ryan McHugh's free taking in his own half near the end was very poor. And it wasn't just the one to Patton. But maybe langan should be back demanding the ball and let him take them. Against aodh ruadh in the club championship he'd at least the whit to kick over the press. Maybe if Murphy does not want to go with the penalties give it to langan as well. Mcbrearty is not a good penalty taker.
As someone had said why did they not start going long with the kickouts. They got the short ones away alright but got turned over before they got to the halfway line. If you're doing that go long and if you win it you're man on man in the forwards.

More generally the mayo players work harder than the Donegal players, especially their forwards. That was as clear as day even in the first half and that's really frustrating to watch.

Anyhow I suppose they didn't lose.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 703 - 30/01/2022 21:20:25    2397328

Would it be worth for Bonner to try and get Jim in for some psychological work with players.. Would never see that type of calving under his management?

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 168 - 30/01/2022 21:41:49    2397334

It's not to hard the boys that don't go to games. Straight in after the game abusing everybody. One fool questioning why ward was taken off . Marty low ball who only appears when we don't win a game. Was at the game today outnumbered at least 10 to 1 supporter wise and fools sorry keyboard warriors giving there opinion social media. Go and support the team you fools.. I wudnt even call yous supporters. By the way you Milford fan who wondered why ward was taking off I know the the tg4 screens were blurry but go to a game to see the real deal. Fool.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 30/01/2022 21:48:56    2397338

Replying To rorysboys:  "It's not to hard the boys that don't go to games. Straight in after the game abusing everybody. One fool questioning why ward was taken off . Marty low ball who only appears when we don't win a game. Was at the game today outnumbered at least 10 to 1 supporter wise and fools sorry keyboard warriors giving there opinion social media. Go and support the team you fools.. I wudnt even call yous supporters. By the way you Milford fan who wondered why ward was taking off I know the the tg4 screens were blurry but go to a game to see the real deal. Fool."
There's plenty of justified and legitimate criticism coming out of that match today.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 30/01/2022 21:56:19    2397340

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Would it be worth for Bonner to try and get Jim in for some psychological work with players.. Would never see that type of calving under his management?"
Yea we did 2013 v Mayo. I would call that a cave in.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 30/01/2022 21:58:20    2397342

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Would it be worth for Bonner to try and get Jim in for some psychological work with players.. Would never see that type of calving under his management?"
They got a guy called Dr Ciaran Kearney in precisely for this purpose before the season started.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1323 - 31/01/2022 07:20:15    2397346

Replying To rorysboys:  "It's not to hard the boys that don't go to games. Straight in after the game abusing everybody. One fool questioning why ward was taken off . Marty low ball who only appears when we don't win a game. Was at the game today outnumbered at least 10 to 1 supporter wise and fools sorry keyboard warriors giving there opinion social media. Go and support the team you fools.. I wudnt even call yous supporters. By the way you Milford fan who wondered why ward was taking off I know the the tg4 screens were blurry but go to a game to see the real deal. Fool."
Rory..when the reappointment of management took place earlier in year I told you 90percemt of fans were unhappy with it, you disagreed and told me they were very happy. You just said we were outnumbered 10 to 1 what does that tell you? I was obviously right but It's not a personal thing here about who is wrong and who is right it's about dgl fball we all want the right thing and to get us back to the top but what is happening now is getting us nowhere, we are wasting a great bunch of players here. Now I know you are going to say what have I done for dgl fball? I have done a fair share but I appreciate that our manager has done a lot more and will be a dgl legend after 92 and winning couple if ulsters. But we have to do what is right for dgl fball and I personally feel we are going nowhere with current set up.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 31/01/2022 08:09:13    2397350

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea we did 2013 v Mayo. I would call that a cave in."
I don't quite remember the League game that year but if you are referring to the championship game we did not cave in we got a 16 point hammering.

As for yesterday not much I can add that is not already been mentioned its just very disappointing and a shame that we just can't see out games. Personally looking at the other teams and considering we are going to Dublin and Kerry I believe we will be playing Division 2 football next year.

**SEASON TICKET HOLDERS**
I would recommend looking at your online account as my ticket was definitely not scanned yesterday and I believe multiple other were not either.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 482 - 31/01/2022 08:45:54    2397353

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea we did 2013 v Mayo. I would call that a cave in."
It was but ye were understrength due to injuries for players having to play club matches, because yer county board wouldn't schedule games as McGuinness wanted. Ye never caved in 2012 when it counted!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 31/01/2022 09:20:08    2397359

@ rorysboy, Really Rory , constantly on here with the warrior stuff, constantly berating anyone that has a difference of opinion, all for nought on your behalf. Bonner must be the worst manager in modern day Gaelic football, what with a generational player like Murphy and Donegal talent and the amount of time he has been afforded his record is really abysmal.Ah Rory, guess you'll come up with something, somebody else to blame for the likes of yesterday's debacle!Wait a minute there chap, has there been a management change the rest of us don't know of, er the McHughs. Definitely worth a shot.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 31/01/2022 09:43:19    2397369

It was disappointing to lose a 5 point lead and there were some mistakes and bad decisions that contributed to that but it should not take away from the fact that we played a lot of good football for the majority of the match.A major factor was how badly we were outnumbered in support.When Mayo got a bit of momentum the crowd really got behind them and drove them on which was definitely worth a few points to them,Donegal would have needed similar backing which was sadly lacking due to their paltry support,There was a lot of talk beforehand that the Sligo venue would even up things but I never saw so little Donegal support.The players,management and supporters should be all be in this together.Sure the players made some mistakes,The management may have made mistakes with subs etc but it was the supporters who really let the side down yesterday.They were really needed when the game was in the melting pot.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1066 - 31/01/2022 10:51:17    2397394

Replying To thelowball:  "@ rorysboy, Really Rory , constantly on here with the warrior stuff, constantly berating anyone that has a difference of opinion, all for nought on your behalf. Bonner must be the worst manager in modern day Gaelic football, what with a generational player like Murphy and Donegal talent and the amount of time he has been afforded his record is really abysmal.Ah Rory, guess you'll come up with something, somebody else to blame for the likes of yesterday's debacle!Wait a minute there chap, has there been a management change the rest of us don't know of, er the McHughs. Definitely worth a shot."
You calling yourself a fan get away you fool. How many user names are you using now, lowball Marty Stockholm and the list goes on. You are probably one of the warriors abusing bonner and the players on Facebook these people have families you know. Get a life you moron. Has any of the top players left the squad this year answer that. N Conal for your benefit a sixteen point hammering is caving in, we caved in before half time that day.. I saw a real gaa county in action yesterday and it wasn't us these people follow there team through thick and thin not like our so called fans. We have a hardcore of about 3 thousand fans the rest of yous are bandwagon supporters. Don't all jump on me now cause it's true ha. Finally we'll done yesterday lads played well we should have win it but it's next Sunday now. See yous all there if it's not on tg4. I heard some of yous were ringing tg4 to get somebody to clean the lens.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 31/01/2022 10:58:03    2397402

Replying To gunman:  "It was disappointing to lose a 5 point lead and there were some mistakes and bad decisions that contributed to that but it should not take away from the fact that we played a lot of good football for the majority of the match.A major factor was how badly we were outnumbered in support.When Mayo got a bit of momentum the crowd really got behind them and drove them on which was definitely worth a few points to them,Donegal would have needed similar backing which was sadly lacking due to their paltry support,There was a lot of talk beforehand that the Sligo venue would even up things but I never saw so little Donegal support.The players,management and supporters should be all be in this together.Sure the players made some mistakes,The management may have made mistakes with subs etc but it was the supporters who really let the side down yesterday.They were really needed when the game was in the melting pot."
100 per cent first sensible post I seen since yesterday. Shame on you so called fans .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 31/01/2022 11:15:25    2397407

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "I don't quite remember the League game that year but if you are referring to the championship game we did not cave in we got a 16 point hammering.

As for yesterday not much I can add that is not already been mentioned its just very disappointing and a shame that we just can't see out games. Personally looking at the other teams and considering we are going to Dublin and Kerry I believe we will be playing Division 2 football next year.

**SEASON TICKET HOLDERS**
I would recommend looking at your online account as my ticket was definitely not scanned yesterday and I believe multiple other were not either."
How do you check if the season ticket has been scanned?

Can't see it on the website / portal.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 31/01/2022 11:16:15    2397408

here we are again another year but the same old story .. Donegal with soft under bellies .. O Rourke wrote a few years ago of mayo about donegal " a wolf is not afraid of a barking dog " yesterday for me was another nail in the coffin in fact there is more nails in the coffin than wood at this stage .

Mayo were terrible in the first half , it should have been an easy day for us but yet it was Donegal that was lucky to get a draw !! five pts up and a man up and it was mayo dominating us ! when mayo put the shoulder to wheel they know are wee fellas fall apart ..

I am sorry there is so much wrong with Bonnar mgte that he needs to go now !

he is lovely man and has given donegal great service and i would love to see him be successful but nice sentiment dont cut it !

Paddy Mcbearty for all his brillance is very poor goal scorer , its amazing he has never work on this ! at club and county he always goes for power no composure and his conversation rate of goal v chances is very poor .
How is he made a penalty taker its beyond stupid ??
Still no defensive structure -
Mentality - nice lads giving silly interviews ! ryan mchugh talking about winning Sam just stay quite and focus on one game at the time and try not give suicide passes to Patton or leaving the full back line completely exposed for another year .

I could go on but there is no point . We have actually missed the boat Murphy is too old now and Mcbearty due to injuries' is to slow to get away from his man now .
New manager needed and bring in Gallen and co .. and rebuild again

ballyshannon (Donegal) - Posts: 176 - 31/01/2022 11:17:49    2397410

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "How do you check if the season ticket has been scanned?

Can't see it on the website / portal."
Doesn't really matter if it not showing up. Attendance s don't count in league. It's only championship.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 31/01/2022 11:25:11    2397415

First post in here since the stupid move to one forum from HS. But wanted to comment on the team.

Very disappointing yesterday in every aspect. Had the ref played another minute I believe we would have lost which is a real indictment on the lack of game management. The most disappointing thing to me was that our key, experienced players were the ones that let us down in that final portion of the game in my view. There was a lack of movement and no giving the man on the ball options, a real conservativeness in possession instead of going for the throat, of all teams in the country should we not realise you can't give Mayo a sniff. I also felt in really tough conditions that our skills let us down, passes going to ground in that sort of weather is just asking for trouble. It was a very poor performance practically from the moment we missed the penalty.

To take the positives, some of the stuff we played in awful difficult conditions for that first 50 minutes or so was really great. I have been impressed with Conor O'Donnell from the McKenna cup and again yesterday. He gives us something a little different I think. I also felt our defence was better yesterday than it has been for a good while in terms of physicality, I think Brendan McCole played very well - there was one chance for Mayo in the 2nd half where he really played it excellently and stopped a certain goal. Michael Langan carrying on from last year and is now absolutely our most important player outside of Murphy obviously. I think Murphy looked in good nick as well which is great, I hope he gets a clear run at things now this year.

We should also note, as awful as we were in the final 20 minutes or so, that really we created enough to win the game handily even at that. Hennelly made three saves, one in particular in the first half was incredible from Langan's fisted attempt. McFadden-Ferry's attempt was just good goalkeeping he was closed down very quick. The missed penalty obviously a key moment. McGonagle had a big chance going through in the 2nd half as well that he shanked wide unfortunately and we got nothing from a good attack. So we missed I would say 4 really big goal chances, you can't afford that against Mayo. And in spite of all that, it still needed an absolutely wonderful free from Hennelly to level it up with the last kick. Never mind some of the crazy points Mayo took in their comeback from Durcan and Jason Doherty (welcome back to that man!). So it's disappointing and sickening in a lot of ways not to win, but there are definite positives from the performance and at this point, Mayo are without a doubt a bogey team for us as well. I would still be confident of getting the results necessary from our home games to be in Div 1 again next year.

I see there is a bit of back and forth on the supporters. I have to admit I was very disappointed with the showing from Donegal. It was a rotten day and maybe that kept people at home as well, I know I was 50/50 before I hit the road yesterday morning and the long drive afterward had me questioning my own sanity, but sin an saol. I also know of plenty that decided against the season ticket this year which may be a factor, when you have the season ticket I feel it's like an extra kick to get you to the game as you've already paid for it. But without a doubt we were hugely outnumbered and it was pretty disappointing as I felt the lads probably needed a bit of a roar when Murphy nailed that 45 after the missed penalty just to gee them up a bit.

On to next week!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/01/2022 11:38:30    2397422

There are folks on here who are keyboard warriors and some who should be completely ignored. I wouldn't bother responding to them because it only gives them oxygen. I also agree with you on the support. Mayo have an incredibly dedicated fan base. Donegal don't have that level of support at all.

Though Donegal have lacked bottle over the last few years and showed that again yesterday. When the going got tough and mayo increased the intensity the Donegal team wilted. It's only January and it's only the first game of the league, it was a terrible day but it can't keep happening. Unlike a lot of folks I think there is too much blame put in bonner and ultimately it's the players who have to deliver and only blaming the manager is not fair.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 703 - 31/01/2022 11:45:18    2397425

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "There are folks on here who are keyboard warriors and some who should be completely ignored. I wouldn't bother responding to them because it only gives them oxygen. I also agree with you on the support. Mayo have an incredibly dedicated fan base. Donegal don't have that level of support at all.

Though Donegal have lacked bottle over the last few years and showed that again yesterday. When the going got tough and mayo increased the intensity the Donegal team wilted. It's only January and it's only the first game of the league, it was a terrible day but it can't keep happening. Unlike a lot of folks I think there is too much blame put in bonner and ultimately it's the players who have to deliver and only blaming the manager is not fair."
Yea I didn't see bonner or rochford missing the penalty. I feel the best players are there bar gallen Brennan and mc menamin who are injured. Maybe we're not as good as the posters on here think. I think management are doing well, must say we were set up well and if hennelly hadn't kicked that last point the fools wudnt be on here ha. I must say most of the posters are knowledgeable but it's the few idiots that wudnt know how to kick a ball you know who's are that turn this forum into a joke.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2423 - 31/01/2022 12:17:01    2397433