Donegal GAA thread

Donegal should beat that Mayo team, very poor midfield, no Oisin Mullen, Enda Hessin or Cillian O Connor and Aiden O Shea who always plays well against Donegal only a sub.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 27/01/2022 14:14:40    2396722

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I got so fed up with Donegal forum moving to the national forum that I haven't been posting for a while but I just couldn't stay away. Firstly its great to be able to attend inter county games games again.

Some general thoughts on our McKenna Cup campaign. It definitely was a great run out for some of the fringe players and those younger players trying to put their hand up for a first team spot. However I was hoping to see something a bit different in terms of tactics but we are basically going to play the same way we have in previous years and hope the players can perform better. I'd say the starting championship team against Armagh later this year will be very similar to the team that started last year against Tyrone, that coupled with no new tactics means we have to hope some of players can perform to a higher level this year. That is a possibility, if we upped our performance levels we could win Ulster. However I would love for us to mix our game up a bit, we are over reliant on the running game, players with their head down soloing until they meet a wall of players and hoping someone can take the ball off the shoulder, otherwise its a turnover or a pass backwards. Could we mix it a bit by playing some long balls into the full forward line?

On the game against Monaghan, we were very poor in the first 50 minutes but excellent in the last 20+. We are very susceptible to giving up goal chances when teams run at us. I like the idea of having Ryan McHugh and Peadar Mogan as wing half forwards. I thought we really struggled without Patton's kickouts and also Langan to fetch them. They are our two most important players now. Hopefully we can have decent league campaign and stay up but it will be tough."
Yeah Patton was badly missed, but it was McKenna Cup and we need a platform to test new or inexperienced players out, as the National League is so messed up that a team can be in the running for both relegation and League SF on the last day of the league. It makes it difficult to really give lots of players a run out.

Personally I'm more worrieD about attack, in recent years against the likes of Tyrone, Mayo, Derry, Cavan, our attacking was muffled and that is ultimately why we lost those games or got it very tight against Derry.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 27/01/2022 15:07:07    2396737

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Donegal should beat that Mayo team, very poor midfield, no Oisin Mullen, Enda Hessin or Cillian O Connor and Aiden O Shea who always plays well against Donegal only a sub."
Donegal will have their hands full against the All Ireland runners up, keep in mind that we haven't reached an All Ireland Semi final since 2014, so their is clearly a gap between the sides at the minute.

Mayo have superior funding behind them, I estimate them to be the 2nd or 3rd richest County in GAA circles for a long time now, which has definitely helped keep them at the top table through maximizing development potential, despite their population. McHale Park upgrade work cost €20 million a few years back, they were politically blessed with the Connacht Dome, not to mention other facilities they have.

When you see Donegal taking 10 years to scrape together a portion of the €1.6 million for our Centre of Excellence, and €200k just to keep MacCumhaill Park up to standard, it shows the financial gulf at play here.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 27/01/2022 15:14:18    2396740

Replying To Commodore:  "Donegal will have their hands full against the All Ireland runners up, keep in mind that we haven't reached an All Ireland Semi final since 2014, so their is clearly a gap between the sides at the minute.

Mayo have superior funding behind them, I estimate them to be the 2nd or 3rd richest County in GAA circles for a long time now, which has definitely helped keep them at the top table through maximizing development potential, despite their population. McHale Park upgrade work cost €20 million a few years back, they were politically blessed with the Connacht Dome, not to mention other facilities they have.

When you see Donegal taking 10 years to scrape together a portion of the €1.6 million for our Centre of Excellence, and €200k just to keep MacCumhaill Park up to standard, it shows the financial gulf at play here."
Exactly. When was the last time we got the better of Mayo in league or championship? I know they fluked a draw against us in 2020. But before that I reckon it was 2016? I remember Leo McLoone scoring a goal in a league fixture in Ballybofey that we won. As for championship, we're now talking 10 years ago.

I think a draw wouldn't be a bad result at all.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 27/01/2022 15:57:46    2396748

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Donegal should beat that Mayo team, very poor midfield, no Oisin Mullen, Enda Hessin or Cillian O Connor and Aiden O Shea who always plays well against Donegal only a sub."
What's the logic behind that statement. Mayo will have at least ten of the all Ireland starters. It's not that we're at full strength our selves. Getting any thing even a draw would be a good result. . Aidan o sea on bench could probably start , Mullen reportedly has an injury. Kevin Mc Laughlin not there at the moment so basically it's a strong Mayo team.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 27/01/2022 16:21:42    2396752

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I see Mayo have named a strong team, no messing about from Horan.

1. Hennelly
2. Keegan
3. Coen
4. O'Hora
5. Durcan
6. McHugh (debut)
7. McLaughlin
8. C O'Shea
9. Loftus
10. McDonagh
11. Orme (debut)
12. D O'Connor
13. Conroy
14. Doherty
15. O'Donoghue"
Fair play to Mayo announcing their team so early. We'll not hear anything about a Donegal lineup until Sunday morning, and then there'll be 8 changes at the last minute and we'll have to scribble out half of the matchday programme!

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 27/01/2022 16:58:05    2396760

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I got so fed up with Donegal forum moving to the national forum that I haven't been posting for a while but I just couldn't stay away. Firstly its great to be able to attend inter county games games again.

Some general thoughts on our McKenna Cup campaign. It definitely was a great run out for some of the fringe players and those younger players trying to put their hand up for a first team spot. However I was hoping to see something a bit different in terms of tactics but we are basically going to play the same way we have in previous years and hope the players can perform better. I'd say the starting championship team against Armagh later this year will be very similar to the team that started last year against Tyrone, that coupled with no new tactics means we have to hope some of players can perform to a higher level this year. That is a possibility, if we upped our performance levels we could win Ulster. However I would love for us to mix our game up a bit, we are over reliant on the running game, players with their head down soloing until they meet a wall of players and hoping someone can take the ball off the shoulder, otherwise its a turnover or a pass backwards. Could we mix it a bit by playing some long balls into the full forward line?

On the game against Monaghan, we were very poor in the first 50 minutes but excellent in the last 20+. We are very susceptible to giving up goal chances when teams run at us. I like the idea of having Ryan McHugh and Peadar Mogan as wing half forwards. I thought we really struggled without Patton's kickouts and also Langan to fetch them. They are our two most important players now. Hopefully we can have decent league campaign and stay up but it will be tough."
Good post Green-gold, watch them for 3 of the mckenna cups there far too lateral in the half back line, bugs me to bits they seem to be told just control from there and wait for an opening, for the life of me u can imagine the forwards are totally frustrated making countless runs for nothing.
The more clued in teams will just pick us off come summer time unless there's a change, we badly need Hugh back at Chb, to just drive the ball long.
Hopefully the bulk of the lads will stay injury free with the run of games coming up.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 27/01/2022 18:21:22    2396772

Replying To papa_pump:  "Fair play to Mayo announcing their team so early. We'll not hear anything about a Donegal lineup until Sunday morning, and then there'll be 8 changes at the last minute and we'll have to scribble out half of the matchday programme!"
Yeah I don't understand that at all. I know players can pick up knocks/twinges in the warmup. But there is no other excuse for it. Is it trying to be "cute" or what? Laughable if so.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 27/01/2022 18:25:40    2396773

Replying To papa_pump:  "Fair play to Mayo announcing their team so early. We'll not hear anything about a Donegal lineup until Sunday morning, and then there'll be 8 changes at the last minute and we'll have to scribble out half of the matchday programme!"
Couldn't agree more .... sick of the carry on from Donegal management who refuse to name a team until the ball is being thrown in. But hey we're being cute......

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 27/01/2022 22:03:27    2396798

Replying To totalrecall:  "Couldn't agree more .... sick of the carry on from Donegal management who refuse to name a team until the ball is being thrown in. But hey we're being cute......"
Everybody seems to want to put the dig into the Donegal management about everything. I'd probably like to see team named publicly a bit earlier in the week but it's not like Donegal are alone. Mayo seem to be complete exception in naming their team. Pretty much every other team from what I can see does not name the team publicly and make changes to the team on the program.
If your looking to have a dig have a go at the gaa centrally or all the teams. Not just the Donegal management.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 28/01/2022 12:40:41    2396851

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Everybody seems to want to put the dig into the Donegal management about everything. I'd probably like to see team named publicly a bit earlier in the week but it's not like Donegal are alone. Mayo seem to be complete exception in naming their team. Pretty much every other team from what I can see does not name the team publicly and make changes to the team on the program.
If your looking to have a dig have a go at the gaa centrally or all the teams. Not just the Donegal management."
Well the truth is Declan is there long enough now and if we don't see real progress this year he should let some other man have a go at it, personally I think he should have gone this year, I just think we are going nowhere under his leadership, next man might do even worse but plodding on as we are is no good either, I think we need a new voice(s) with fresh ideas to shake things up, I think we have top players but they need motivation and leadership and someone who won't be swayed by big personalities on the pitch. the tail can't be let wag the dog.
We will hopefully stay in div 1 and get a decent Championship run but when it comes down to the business end on the All Ireland series Donegal will have no say in it, hope I'm wrong obviously.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 28/01/2022 18:07:57    2396885

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well the truth is Declan is there long enough now and if we don't see real progress this year he should let some other man have a go at it, personally I think he should have gone this year, I just think we are going nowhere under his leadership, next man might do even worse but plodding on as we are is no good either, I think we need a new voice(s) with fresh ideas to shake things up, I think we have top players but they need motivation and leadership and someone who won't be swayed by big personalities on the pitch. the tail can't be let wag the dog.
We will hopefully stay in div 1 and get a decent Championship run but when it comes down to the business end on the All Ireland series Donegal will have no say in it, hope I'm wrong obviously."
How is not naming a team in a Thursday night led to this rant?

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 28/01/2022 20:28:13    2396908

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "How is not naming a team in a Thursday night led to this rant?"
Any wee excuse to get at management we all know who they are. They'll all be sitting beside there laptops or phones hoping that Mayo win tomorrow. Sad individual bet u Marty . Lowball and one or two more will be looking for bonner s head if we lose. If they done as much for Donegal football as bonner and management and players have done then they would be entitled to an honest opinion..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 29/01/2022 10:42:22    2396934

I'm thinking Donegal should win this game tomorrow by 4 or 5 points. While there's a decent level of experience in the starting 15 Mayo have a good number of U20s on the bench. Combine that with the couple of debutantes on the field, plus a very experimental midfield selection and it seems to me that James Horan and co are looking to the future rather than really going hard to get a result. I don't know who of the starting 15 would be an effective marker for Michael Murphy... maybe Stephen Coen? Mayo's flirtations with relegation that ended with the drop in 2020 are likely to be resumed and I think a lot of posters are expecting our lads to be sailing close to that wind again this year. I think Donegal will win and should also be good for the points against Kildare in round 2. A top 4 place I reckon for ye by the end of the league. I think things overall will go well for Donegal this year, though as supporters yer a bit like ourselves, with never being sure before the journey starts. Safe travels to those making the trip... at least Mayo are meeting ye halfway:)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/01/2022 12:48:01    2396955

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Everybody seems to want to put the dig into the Donegal management about everything. I'd probably like to see team named publicly a bit earlier in the week but it's not like Donegal are alone. Mayo seem to be complete exception in naming their team. Pretty much every other team from what I can see does not name the team publicly and make changes to the team on the program.
If your looking to have a dig have a go at the gaa centrally or all the teams. Not just the Donegal management."
I'd rather we named a team later if it was the actual starting 15 than this craic of rumours going around the morning of the match and changes announced minutes before kickoff. If there's supposedly a psychological advantage in having the opposition tactics being undone very late I think it looks more like a lack of self belief and confidence that your 15 starters plus subs will win on the day. Not sure what changes but I expect a different 15 to start tomorrow.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 29/01/2022 13:55:05    2396963

Replying To Pericles:  "I'm thinking Donegal should win this game tomorrow by 4 or 5 points. While there's a decent level of experience in the starting 15 Mayo have a good number of U20s on the bench. Combine that with the couple of debutantes on the field, plus a very experimental midfield selection and it seems to me that James Horan and co are looking to the future rather than really going hard to get a result. I don't know who of the starting 15 would be an effective marker for Michael Murphy... maybe Stephen Coen? Mayo's flirtations with relegation that ended with the drop in 2020 are likely to be resumed and I think a lot of posters are expecting our lads to be sailing close to that wind again this year. I think Donegal will win and should also be good for the points against Kildare in round 2. A top 4 place I reckon for ye by the end of the league. I think things overall will go well for Donegal this year, though as supporters yer a bit like ourselves, with never being sure before the journey starts. Safe travels to those making the trip... at least Mayo are meeting ye halfway:)"
The way the weather is looking we might have got a better game in that dome ye have down there but suppose you'd not get much of a crowd in to see it, if we get anything out of the game tomorrow I'll be more than happy.
Mayo normally start the league off slowly but we'll see how it goes anyway, safe travels to all.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 29/01/2022 15:30:22    2396984

It'll be a tight game, our league games with them always are. I think the two panels are fairly equal in terms of strength but Horans team always play with a hardiness. We have some skillful lads ourselves but this last 3 or 4 years there's been a while lack of grit. I think that bit of steel that Mayo have will see them win by 2 or 3 points.

Main hope for this year's league would be to see an improved defensive structure. Last year's league was rife with sloppy defending such as the Monaghan and Armagh matches, which carried into the Ulster championship with Down and Tyrone. We know we've the forwards to walk the walk, so I'd love to see us put the clamps on some Div 1 quality forwards this spring.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 29/01/2022 15:35:16    2396986

Replying To papa_pump:  "It'll be a tight game, our league games with them always are. I think the two panels are fairly equal in terms of strength but Horans team always play with a hardiness. We have some skillful lads ourselves but this last 3 or 4 years there's been a while lack of grit. I think that bit of steel that Mayo have will see them win by 2 or 3 points.

Main hope for this year's league would be to see an improved defensive structure. Last year's league was rife with sloppy defending such as the Monaghan and Armagh matches, which carried into the Ulster championship with Down and Tyrone. We know we've the forwards to walk the walk, so I'd love to see us put the clamps on some Div 1 quality forwards this spring."
Our two worst lines at the minute are the side line and half back lines, sort them out and we have the potential to go a long way imo.
We have some great talent but not enough grit in the defence, more to it than that though, I don't think we are learning the lessons we should have from the big Championship defeats this last few years and if you continue doing the same thing you usually keep getting similar results, at least we have lost the party boys culture of 20 years ago, Murphy won't be around forever and when he goes I think we are heading back for another silverware famine.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 29/01/2022 16:03:46    2396991

Replying To papa_pump:  "It'll be a tight game, our league games with them always are. I think the two panels are fairly equal in terms of strength but Horans team always play with a hardiness. We have some skillful lads ourselves but this last 3 or 4 years there's been a while lack of grit. I think that bit of steel that Mayo have will see them win by 2 or 3 points.

Main hope for this year's league would be to see an improved defensive structure. Last year's league was rife with sloppy defending such as the Monaghan and Armagh matches, which carried into the Ulster championship with Down and Tyrone. We know we've the forwards to walk the walk, so I'd love to see us put the clamps on some Div 1 quality forwards this spring."
Hard to disagree with the points on gritiness and hardiness. I don't think it's just a horan thing but maybe more a mayo thing. Some donegal lads seem to really struggle when it's put up to them. Though every game is an opportunity to show a bit more toughness. I suppose with donegal being exposed quite a bit last year in the defence the obvious answer is to completely ape Donegal club football with every man back. I hope that doesn't happen but we'll see.

It's hard to call any match at this time of the year as you're never completely sure were teams are at. And hope the weather is not too bad!!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 29/01/2022 17:08:29    2397005

Hoping we get the result today and start us off on good things ahead this season, wish all the boys the best of luck this campaign and no serious injurys. Come on everyone let's get behind them from here on in.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 30/01/2022 10:56:03    2397115