Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "is there a case for the U20's on the senor panel to be returned to the U20's. i can't see how getting these hammerings is of any benefit to them and will drain them of all confidence for the U20 championship. let them focus on U20's and give that a good rattle. just a question. what do people think."
what would our first 15 even look like without any u20s? They make up the majority of our panel

overthebar45 (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 20/02/2025 19:55:51    2592163

Replying To overthebar45:  "what would our first 15 even look like without any u20s? They make up the majority of our panel"
majority is a bit of an exaggeration. Guckian, Cox, Honeyman, Cull, McNamara, Foley.

how Cox didn't get game time against Kildare is beyond me. he was very lively when introduced against Laois, what benefit is it to him to be with the seniors.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 146 - 20/02/2025 22:18:59    2592186

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "majority is a bit of an exaggeration. Guckian, Cox, Honeyman, Cull, McNamara, Foley.

how Cox didn't get game time against Kildare is beyond me. he was very lively when introduced against Laois, what benefit is it to him to be with the seniors."
Maybe an exaggeration but the reason we have so many u20s on the senior panel in the first place is because we don't have enough players over 20 that are available. Who do we have to replace those six lads if they also became unavailable?

overthebar45 (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 21/02/2025 13:16:59    2592274

Replying To overthebar45:  "Maybe an exaggeration but the reason we have so many u20s on the senior panel in the first place is because we don't have enough players over 20 that are available. Who do we have to replace those six lads if they also became unavailable?"
Not sure if you are aware but Honeyman, McNamara and Cull (possibly) are the only U20s on the panel. The rest such as McNulty, Foley and Cox had their last year at U20 last year.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 333 - 21/02/2025 14:42:23    2592291

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Not sure if you are aware but Honeyman, McNamara and Cull (possibly) are the only U20s on the panel. The rest such as McNulty, Foley and Cox had their last year at U20 last year."
Not true

Cull, Guckian, McNamara, Cox Foley , Honeyman all under 20 this year

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 530 - 21/02/2025 15:18:24    2592296

Replying To joeman123:  "Not true

Cull, Guckian, McNamara, Cox Foley , Honeyman all under 20 this year"
Oh wow. Apologies.

It's an even bigger decision to make so. However, for the good of the development of those players and for the county going forward they should be left with the U20s only.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 333 - 21/02/2025 17:16:25    2592317

Many travelling up today? Im making a weekend out of it. Could be a long day but its a lovely small venue for a game. We got a trimming up here 2 years ago in the Tailteann, more of the same today unfortunately.

Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 23 - 22/02/2025 09:20:27    2592393

A good start but fell apart fairly soon after going 3-2 up. Kicking the ball down the middle for every kickout is killing us. We just give the ball ball back to Antrim every time. Surely we can come up with some sort of a plan on restarts. Very unlucky with the penalty rebound. Why would you start Clancy on the bench considering McCanns size? Had they any analysis done on Antrim at all?

Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 23 - 22/02/2025 15:22:00    2592455

Replying To Willies24:  "A good start but fell apart fairly soon after going 3-2 up. Kicking the ball down the middle for every kickout is killing us. We just give the ball ball back to Antrim every time. Surely we can come up with some sort of a plan on restarts. Very unlucky with the penalty rebound. Why would you start Clancy on the bench considering McCanns size? Had they any analysis done on Antrim at all?"
Waiting for people to come on and says it's an improvement. Hammered against Antrim

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 468 - 22/02/2025 16:11:31    2592462

Horrible showing again but glimpses of individual brilliance. No clear game plan or any semblance of tactics. Kickouts a shambles. Outmuscled and outclassed but there was some bright points. The bright points were down to individual talent. One wonders if we had a management team with any sort of basic knowledge would we be better set up. High flying Offaly up next who will know us inside out with Luke Bree moving down to coach them.

Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 23 - 22/02/2025 17:00:21    2592469

What was the score today ? How did we do ?

leitrimman1994 (Leitrim) - Posts: 30 - 22/02/2025 17:03:50    2592470

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "What was the score today ? How did we do ?"
Leitrim lost by 14 points!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2136 - 22/02/2025 17:16:54    2592474

Replying To Willies24:  "Horrible showing again but glimpses of individual brilliance. No clear game plan or any semblance of tactics. Kickouts a shambles. Outmuscled and outclassed but there was some bright points. The bright points were down to individual talent. One wonders if we had a management team with any sort of basic knowledge would we be better set up. High flying Offaly up next who will know us inside out with Luke Bree moving down to coach them."
To be fair I don't think Offaly will have any need to rely on any inside information… A tough time for Leitrim football but one thing is for certain is that things will improve….!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3489 - 22/02/2025 17:23:17    2592476

Antrim 4-16 to 1-11 Leitrim

Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 23 - 22/02/2025 17:41:58    2592479

You ever try that google yoke ? Great for finding information. Thank me later.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 729 - 22/02/2025 17:49:34    2592480

You ever try that google yoke ? Great for finding information. Thank me later.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 729 - 22/02/2025 17:49:42    2592481

I think the ocean fm commentator hit the nail on the head today, he said- and I'm ad-libbing here - but he basically said: "Cox, Honeyman, mc namara, foley, guckian, prior- all under 22, all under 20 years old if you exclude foley and prior: are tremendous footballers but they don't have the power or physique against 30+ years old Antrim footballers and are being bullied off the ball"

I have to agree. Have Leitrim the youngest squad in the country? I'd have to think we have. Are these footballers going to get to play for our under 29's this year? Because I really think a u20 title Connacht title is within grasp for them.

I think poachers concept is to get these guys to commit and then in 5-6 years when they have the power and physique of the teams they are facing now then we move up the divisions. Fair play to him, and them - they are the future

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 683 - 22/02/2025 19:04:23    2592488

Out of curiosity, if every player who was part of the panel over the past few years and who left the panel for whatever reason became available again, what would the Leitrim team lineup look like? What would your 1-15 be?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1140 - 22/02/2025 19:20:01    2592494

Question for everyone. I think it's generally accepted that Leitrim were incredibly lucky to get promoted last year. If we had come up short, if we hadn't won that penalty against Wexford, if etc etc, how would we be getting on in Division 4?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1140 - 22/02/2025 19:23:32    2592496

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Question for everyone. I think it's generally accepted that Leitrim were incredibly lucky to get promoted last year. If we had come up short, if we hadn't won that penalty against Wexford, if etc etc, how would we be getting on in Division 4?"
With the current crop available to us. Most of them under 22. Majority under 24, average age of starting team under 24 we'd be mid table in division 4.

If all were available from last year, or had our beat squad available, we'd be top of division 4. But in a perilous false sense of security- running out of time and players who were capable of getting promoted and no more.

The current squad although young, light and inexperienced are capable of growing, learning and playing higher than division 3 when up to speed

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 683 - 22/02/2025 19:58:45    2592499