Hard to call a swampish field surrounded by old concrete terracing beautiful but beauty is in the eye of the beholder they say. I am sure the people of Elphin are great fair play to them. I have already visited the windmill today and it is an incredible spectacle, the great pyramids have nothing on it alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 204 - 03/01/2026 22:19:53 2649622 Link 0 |
Must be great to go into every season knowing I won't get relegated. Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 03/01/2026 22:47:48 2649624 Link 0 |
You don't though as you like to be relegate. Thanks so much.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 03/01/2026 23:08:02 2649627 Link 0 |
Lads..For the benefit of people of all ages who visit hoganstand for info about games, teams, happenings, and yes some banter, lets us take into consideration all of the users on this platform and try and avoid whatever personal gripes/views we have and not inflame a throw away comment that snowballs into a needless and pointless tit for tat argument that 99%of readers dont want to see. Banter is great but lets keep it at banter. Dothesimplethingswell (Sligo) - Posts: 39 - 03/01/2026 23:16:45 2649629 Link 3 |
Very well said. I agree thanks so much. A lot of the issue comes from people from neighbouring counties coming into our forum spouting nonsense please and thanks. Then they get offended when they hear some home truths please. I find it great though as it keeps our forum busy and entertaining thank you to all who contribute to this, unlike some other boring drab forums where know it all posters hog it with multiple accounts. Thank you very much to everyone.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 04/01/2026 09:57:35 2649655 Link 1 |
Good post. Hopefully with the schools reopening tomorrow the level of posting will improve. I had a more withering observation in for moderation but it has been declined. I'll have a shot with it on the Trump platform and see will it fly….. Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 754 - 04/01/2026 11:29:52 2649677 Link 0 |
We are all the poorer for missing out on your withering comment, and yes hopefully they post it elsewhere. You can let us know if it is successful and we will have a star studded premiere for it
alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 204 - 04/01/2026 12:06:36 2649680 Link 0 |
Wasted journey to Elphin for you fella with the game moved to bekan, was there last night to see Galway, wrap up warm and you'll be super, thanks.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 646 - 04/01/2026 12:19:46 2649683 Link 0 |
After a brisk walk on the Orchard Park this morning I figured it was going to be deemed unplayable and so I must leave beautiful Elphin and head to Mayo for this fixture. We may not have had the football but we'll always have the windmill. alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 204 - 04/01/2026 12:34:52 2649686 Link 0 |
Aragh it's great craic and only lasts January to end of march with our lovely neighbours Then there off to the not Sam Maguire comp whatever it's called. Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 04/01/2026 13:26:16 2649691 Link 0 |
Ah you mean the only realistic cup Roscommon might win is it?
alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 204 - 04/01/2026 14:13:37 2649694 Link 0 |
Sunglasses you need and leave the cream at home. Bring plenty of player. Hugely important. Hugs and love.
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1210 - 04/01/2026 14:18:30 2649695 Link 0 |
Fairly sobering result that , unless we have a a good few to come back we're in for a tough year. A far from full strength Roscommon team destroyed us. JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 04/01/2026 16:05:41 2649712 Link 0 |
Not good at all. Bad start to 2026 for poor ould Leitrim!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2416 - 04/01/2026 16:46:36 2649729 Link 0 |
Why would I need sunglasses please and thanks so much? Was there no pitch at all playable in the county today for the game? Are they all that bad? Thanks in advance for your answers to these questions.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 04/01/2026 17:48:11 2649740 Link 0 |
Oh another Roscommon poster has landed thank you. Please keep coming to us. Thanks a million stars and so on.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 04/01/2026 17:48:56 2649741 Link 0 |
Is this really the best we have in Leitrim,look like a minor team,is there no experienced players in Leitrim Celticmanor (Leitrim) - Posts: 47 - 04/01/2026 18:01:05 2649746 Link 0 |
Don't be taking your anger out on the Rossies. We had a good for once. Thank you.
hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 149 - 04/01/2026 18:01:44 2649747 Link 0 |
I take your point thanks very very much. Elphin wasn't right due bad frost and ice. No point having you people's travelling long distances to see that filleting. Nay problem bud. Keep the faith. Huggles!
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1210 - 04/01/2026 18:08:55 2649749 Link 0 |
That was quite a strong Roscommon team and they are going well in training trying to make the cut before the Brigids and strokestown lads come back so I wouldn't read too much into it. Our new manager is ruthless which is badly needed as We were due a shake up. Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 593 - 04/01/2026 18:26:14 2649755 Link 0 |