Replying To alalalalalum: "Or because neither won the game then both should be relegated. I like that idea" I would very much enjoy this novel idea- both of them are unfit for senior thank you all very much for this please.
As regards the real senior teams and the clubs who are at the business end of the thing- what are people's thoughts for the weekend?? Who will prevail would you?
I predict Fenagh to win against Ballinamore and I know this will happen thanks.
Mohill won't beat Leitrim town at all and then Leitrim village will win it yes and Mohill will be saying bye bye, thank you.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 278 - 01/10/2025 11:15:14
It's hilarious that a county that hasn't kicked senior inter county ball since May will be going into November nearly to clear club fixtures
alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 27 - 01/10/2025 11:22:15
Connacht Championship 2026. With 2 fixtures already decided, NY v Ross and London V Mayo, does the fact the Leitrim got the bye last year mean that ye will face Galway in the 1st round in 2026?
Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 121 - 01/10/2025 12:43:06
Replying To Keephimthere: "Connacht Championship 2026. With 2 fixtures already decided, NY v Ross and London V Mayo, does the fact the Leitrim got the bye last year mean that ye will face Galway in the 1st round in 2026?" I suppose it depends on who New York play in the semi final
alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 27 - 01/10/2025 13:58:19
Replying To alalalalalum: "It's hilarious that a county that hasn't kicked senior inter county ball since May will be going into November nearly to clear club fixtures" Am I right here in saying it's dictated by when they're out in connacht? they're all out the same weekend according to master fixtures so the seniors will be 4 weeks and junior will be winner on the day as no time for a replay...
gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 678 - 01/10/2025 23:46:50
Replying To gaelsboy: "Am I right here in saying it's dictated by when they're out in connacht? they're all out the same weekend according to master fixtures so the seniors will be 4 weeks and junior will be winner on the day as no time for a replay..." No you're not right thanks.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 278 - 02/10/2025 13:26:46
An interesting choice of management for the U20 team for 2026 - all would have close relationship with the county board and with Annaduff. No doubt Enda has put in the hard yards coaching with different teams in different counties though (Leitrim, Longford, Fermanagh).
Theres a seriously talented group of players there this year. There also won't be the same level of crossover between the Senior and U20 panels so it will make it a lot easier for the management.
Paul Honeyman, Jack Kelly, Naoise McManus and Ruairi O'Rourke all started in the forward unit for the U20s in 2025 and are available in 2026. Add in the likes of Daire McCabe, Jamie Plunkett and Gavin Gallagher and we really have a formidable forward line.
Scott Kerr the Leitrim U17 Keeper from 2025 will be the number one and has an excellent kickout. Then you have Eanna McNamara, Oran Foley, Dara Greenan and Bailey McBride who all started in defence for the U20s in 2025 that are still available. Add in Archie O'Connor from Drumreilly who has been their senior teams best player, Ronan Connolly and Senan McGowan and you have a strong defence. The likes of Jack Moolick and the Gardiners and a few more from Carrick will be well able for this level.
U17 now isn't a good barometer of who will progress to be a strong senior footballer so the U20 grand has grown in significance. Its vital that along with the talent them players have that they get the best S&C and coaching. Hopefully with this management and with Shane Ward and Damien Butler with the school team they will get this.
Is still think we should be looking at having some for of Intercounty Junior Team - We didn't play club league football until the end of May this year - We can't afford to let the good crop of young player we have had at U20 level in the last few years to drop off - It would benefit every club.
Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 349 - 02/10/2025 14:35:00
Any predictions for this weekend? There's alot of important games on. I'm surprised St Mary's v Melvin Gaels reply isn't on.
Leitrim2024 (Leitrim) - Posts: 86 - 02/10/2025 14:56:08
Replying To Leitrim1234: "An interesting choice of management for the U20 team for 2026 - all would have close relationship with the county board and with Annaduff. No doubt Enda has put in the hard yards coaching with different teams in different counties though (Leitrim, Longford, Fermanagh).
Theres a seriously talented group of players there this year. There also won't be the same level of crossover between the Senior and U20 panels so it will make it a lot easier for the management.
Paul Honeyman, Jack Kelly, Naoise McManus and Ruairi O'Rourke all started in the forward unit for the U20s in 2025 and are available in 2026. Add in the likes of Daire McCabe, Jamie Plunkett and Gavin Gallagher and we really have a formidable forward line.
Scott Kerr the Leitrim U17 Keeper from 2025 will be the number one and has an excellent kickout. Then you have Eanna McNamara, Oran Foley, Dara Greenan and Bailey McBride who all started in defence for the U20s in 2025 that are still available. Add in Archie O'Connor from Drumreilly who has been their senior teams best player, Ronan Connolly and Senan McGowan and you have a strong defence. The likes of Jack Moolick and the Gardiners and a few more from Carrick will be well able for this level.
U17 now isn't a good barometer of who will progress to be a strong senior footballer so the U20 grand has grown in significance. Its vital that along with the talent them players have that they get the best S&C and coaching. Hopefully with this management and with Shane Ward and Damien Butler with the school team they will get this.
Is still think we should be looking at having some for of Intercounty Junior Team - We didn't play club league football until the end of May this year - We can't afford to let the good crop of young player we have had at U20 level in the last few years to drop off - It would benefit every club." Not surprised by the manager setup. They keep going around on the same few. Will be joe or benny's turn again soon
Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 359 - 02/10/2025 19:05:41
Some exciting games this weekend, here's my unbiased predictions.
Derrygonnolly vs Mohill Tight game expected here, both teams have a lot of quality with Leitrim village having a stronger transfer window. Hopefully a good game I think they'll win by 7 Balinamore vs Fenagh Toss of coin this, gonna go with a tight fenagh victory Fenagh by 1
Balinaglera vs Gortletragh Sound be ding dung battle, should be very tight Glera by 12
Kiltubrid vs st Mary's Expect Mary's to win Mary's by 4
MarysMan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 28 - 02/10/2025 19:50:52
A North Rossie here hoping to head to Pairc Sean on Sunday to see Fenagh v Ballinamore. Saw Ballinamore v Carrick and was impressed by them but I wonder are Carrick much poorer than we thought judging by their draw in the relegation play off v Melvin Gaels? Could the Saturday semi final be in doubt with weather forecast ? It would be nice to see two new teams in the final - Fenagh v Leitrim Gaels would be a strange pairing. It must be a long time since Fenagh were in a final let alone win it. I am intrigued by the Leitrim Gaels transfers from Fermanagh. Whats the reaction on the ground like? Are all three lads living in Leitrim? We have a well documented situation in St Brigids in Roscommon with a player transferring in to their club. The rules need to be implemented me thinks
tommyc (Roscommon) - Posts: 15 - 02/10/2025 21:00:04
Answer me these questions three:
1. Why do the intermediate semifinals have to wait until the senior relegation final replay is done? Anyway, I see on the Leitrim GAA website that the senior relegation final replay is on Saturday Oct 11, and the intermediate semifinals are that weekend as well.
2. There's not a dickie bird in the Observer or the Leitrim GAA website about the Kiltubrid vs St Mary's intermediate relegation semifinal, but the other one between Gortletteragh and Ballinaglera is in both. What's going on?
3. Eslin got a walkover against Annaduff in the Junior A championship, leaving them on 3 points, one point behind Cloone who drew with Mohill. But if Cloone had lost and also finished up on 3 points, would Eslin have had a case for a playoff against Cloone on the grounds that they didn't get an opportunity (the Annaduff game) to improve their scoring difference? (The Cloone vs Eslin group game was a draw.)
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1221 - 02/10/2025 22:45:46