Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "We were the better team today. Very unfortunate not to win. Sligo are only ok. If you compare that performance with our championship game against Sligo last year it's some improvement....it's night and day. We had 3 players starting from last year , Sligo had 12 or 13, we looked better coached and fitter than last year. It is hard to understand this team, but I have seen enough to have optimisim, we have some excellent young footballers who deserve huge credit to after what what a horrendous league. The Fermanagh game still leaves a very sour taste for me personally but I'd like to see what we would be like after another year or two under Poacher." It is great to see new players given chances all throughout the year. The difference today was that Sligo were able to bring in experienced players from the bench while everyone on Leitrim bench was in there first or second year of county football
Ballinagleradaithi (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 18/05/2025 23:48:09
Replying To gaelsboy: "Definitely left it after us. Had the chances to win and didn't take them, simple as. Shows there is some chinks of light, dunno where Sligo are going thinking they've a shot of winning the TC cos they won't based on today" Big turning point in the game was young Cox being denied a second goal for Leitrim to put us 8 ahead (I think) only for Sligo to go straight down the pitch for Quinn to nail a 2 pointer.. we looked leggy at this stage and Sligo had the subs to make a impact.. good performance overall from Leitrim, huge potential in the squad, they are not far off turning these defeats into victories.. Here's hoping the new club championship structure can instil a bit of steeliness in lads as there should be more tighter games across senior down to Junior A.
LeitrimBatman (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 19/05/2025 08:11:09
Replying To Ballinagleradaithi: "It is great to see new players given chances all throughout the year. The difference today was that Sligo were able to bring in experienced players from the bench while everyone on Leitrim bench was in there first or second year of county football" Very encouraging the young talent we have, Tom Prior Darren Cox, Casey, Clancy, Ben Guickan, Jack Foley, Casey, McNamara, Barry McNulty, with more lads coming through serious potential.
I've said it before Barry McNulty will be like our Michael Murphy for the next 15 years please God, he has everything and will only get better, and he is a proper leader.
I'd like to give a mention to Keith Keegan, Keith is around a long time and this is his first proper year playing inter-county what a warrior he is, any time I've seen him I've been very impressed.
The league was always going to be a tough task because last year was a freak promotion, we lost to Carlow and Longford and still got promoted then the manager departs, then his replacement departs, then 80% of the panel departs so the league was always going to be a disaster in my opinion.
I think a lot of these new young players have far more potential than most of the guys they have replaced, but Ryan O'Rourke, Pearce Dolan & Plunkett would add a lot to this team.
I think Poacher will be on to these boys throughout the Summer and Autumn driving them on in relation to strength and conditioning etc and I think they will be a serious team in division 4 next year.
Poacher has added a bit of bite to this team which was badly needed they played yesterday without any fear which is remarkable considering some of the hammering we have received, ive played on teams that have had bad years and recieved bad beatings and its very hard to dust yourself off and go again but you cant question the effort against both Mayo and Sligo.
I think our strength and conditioning coach Finn is a good lad everyone speaks very highly of him, and the signs can be seen on the field.
I'm looking forward to the Tippeary game taking the few positive from 2025 and looking forward to 2026.
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 417 - 19/05/2025 10:01:35
Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "Very encouraging the young talent we have, Tom Prior Darren Cox, Casey, Clancy, Ben Guickan, Jack Foley, Casey, McNamara, Barry McNulty, with more lads coming through serious potential.
I've said it before Barry McNulty will be like our Michael Murphy for the next 15 years please God, he has everything and will only get better, and he is a proper leader.
I'd like to give a mention to Keith Keegan, Keith is around a long time and this is his first proper year playing inter-county what a warrior he is, any time I've seen him I've been very impressed.
The league was always going to be a tough task because last year was a freak promotion, we lost to Carlow and Longford and still got promoted then the manager departs, then his replacement departs, then 80% of the panel departs so the league was always going to be a disaster in my opinion.
I think a lot of these new young players have far more potential than most of the guys they have replaced, but Ryan O'Rourke, Pearce Dolan & Plunkett would add a lot to this team.
I think Poacher will be on to these boys throughout the Summer and Autumn driving them on in relation to strength and conditioning etc and I think they will be a serious team in division 4 next year.
Poacher has added a bit of bite to this team which was badly needed they played yesterday without any fear which is remarkable considering some of the hammering we have received, ive played on teams that have had bad years and recieved bad beatings and its very hard to dust yourself off and go again but you cant question the effort against both Mayo and Sligo.
I think our strength and conditioning coach Finn is a good lad everyone speaks very highly of him, and the signs can be seen on the field.
I'm looking forward to the Tippeary game taking the few positive from 2025 and looking forward to 2026." I can't understand though if we have made the progress you mention, how can we be so "good" against Mayo and Sligo and so woeful in between against Kildare?? That does not make sense and how can there be such an upturn from the league which only finished a few weeks ago to now?? I think that these performance while encouraging do not necessarily indicate massive improvement as they are still too inconsistent.
If we are making this progress we are being asked to believe how could we dipped so miserably against Kildare??
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 109 - 19/05/2025 12:00:02
Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "Very encouraging the young talent we have, Tom Prior Darren Cox, Casey, Clancy, Ben Guickan, Jack Foley, Casey, McNamara, Barry McNulty, with more lads coming through serious potential.
I'm looking forward to the Tippeary game taking the few positive from 2025 and looking forward to 2026." Well said and very true.
Will the regular negative brigade please give us a break and get behind this group of lads.
Remember we have more in the pipeline coming through ,Jack Kelly for one.
joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 577 - 19/05/2025 12:16:36
I'm looking forward to the Tippeary game taking the few positive from 2025 and looking forward to 2026." Like you I want to see positives and from watching the highlights last night I seen lots of them. Barry McNulty is some player, another 1-7 yesterday tells you the talent we have in him. We badly need him to stick about and a few more lads. We'll park Poacher, his card has been marked but if he gets a solid stable team going capable of staying in Div 3 that will be progress.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1316 - 19/05/2025 12:33:09
Replying To bláthach: "I can't understand though if we have made the progress you mention, how can we be so "good" against Mayo and Sligo and so woeful in between against Kildare?? That does not make sense and how can there be such an upturn from the league which only finished a few weeks ago to now?? I think that these performance while encouraging do not necessarily indicate massive improvement as they are still too inconsistent.
If we are making this progress we are being asked to believe how could we dipped so miserably against Kildare??" Your going to have inconsistency with a young team. There isn't a younger county team in the country.
If we played in div 3 with last year's team and management we wouldn't have won a game either in my opinion.
The progress I was talking about was if you compare our performance yesterday with our performance against Sligo 12 months ago. Last year we were a disgrace , lethargic, clueless,we put up no fight, yesterday and against Mayo they gave everything they had until the last minute.
In relation to Kildare I think they are a better team than both Mayo and Sligo this year much better, very Unlucky not to beat Louth who went on to beat Meath who beat Dublin,
I think you have to factor in the new rules results throughout have been very inconsistent.
Brand new team, brand new management I was impressed with what I saw yesterday and what I saw against Mayo, the league was always going to be a huge challenge. I'm aware we still haven't won a game this year but I do see some encouraging signs. The attitude of the younger players is encouraging they weren't afraid to take on their man, to take a shot, they played manly football which is what I like to see, the dominant the breaking ball, and we easily the better team for long periods. Tony McEntee is there 4 or 5 years remember.
They hammered us in the league a few weeks ago so there is progress, I think the Mayo game was a turning point it gave them a boost in confidence after a brusing league campaign.
I'm looking for positives to be honest. I think there are some there.
3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 417 - 19/05/2025 12:45:25
Replying To joeman123: "Well said and very true.
Will the regular negative brigade please give us a break and get behind this group of lads.
Remember we have more in the pipeline coming through ,Jack Kelly for one." There isn't a person on this thread (apart from the folk from other counties making a skit) which aren't supportive of every Leitrim footballer. How do you define 'get behind'?
You reckon there's Leitrim people wanting our teams to lose?
I sincerely hope we progress to the next round after beating Tipperary comfortably and other results going our way, but we will see if that happens
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 310 - 19/05/2025 12:51:16
Replying To boxtyburgerbuns: "There isn't a person on this thread (apart from the folk from other counties making a skit) which aren't supportive of every Leitrim footballer. How do you define 'get behind'?
You reckon there's Leitrim people wanting our teams to lose?
I sincerely hope we progress to the next round after beating Tipperary comfortably and other results going our way, but we will see if that happens" I am not sure about wanting Leitrim to lose;
There is nothing but negativity and criticism from a lot of you. The brigade come out in force when Leitrim do badly.What do you conclude from that.
I would say we have the most negative Forum on Hogan Stand. For example when we qualify for the All B competions it is scoffed at as being secondary competitions. By the way well dome to Leitrim minors for beating Down in a thriller.
It is time to acknowledge the talent we have and get behind the teams.
joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 577 - 19/05/2025 13:27:11
Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "Your going to have inconsistency with a young team. There isn't a younger county team in the country.
If we played in div 3 with last year's team and management we wouldn't have won a game either in my opinion.
The progress I was talking about was if you compare our performance yesterday with our performance against Sligo 12 months ago. Last year we were a disgrace , lethargic, clueless,we put up no fight, yesterday and against Mayo they gave everything they had until the last minute.
In relation to Kildare I think they are a better team than both Mayo and Sligo this year much better, very Unlucky not to beat Louth who went on to beat Meath who beat Dublin,
I think you have to factor in the new rules results throughout have been very inconsistent.
Brand new team, brand new management I was impressed with what I saw yesterday and what I saw against Mayo, the league was always going to be a huge challenge. I'm aware we still haven't won a game this year but I do see some encouraging signs. The attitude of the younger players is encouraging they weren't afraid to take on their man, to take a shot, they played manly football which is what I like to see, the dominant the breaking ball, and we easily the better team for long periods. Tony McEntee is there 4 or 5 years remember.
They hammered us in the league a few weeks ago so there is progress, I think the Mayo game was a turning point it gave them a boost in confidence after a brusing league campaign.
I'm looking for positives to be honest. I think there are some there." I hope you are right- time will tell. I agree with a lot of what you said, but I think it's concerning that we can concede 36 points to one division three team (this year) and then put up a mighty show against another and do well against a division one team.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 109 - 19/05/2025 13:27:53
Replying To 3rdmidfielder: "We were the better team today. Very unfortunate not to win. Sligo are only ok. If you compare that performance with our championship game against Sligo last year it's some improvement....it's night and day. We had 3 players starting from last year , Sligo had 12 or 13, we looked better coached and fitter than last year. It is hard to understand this team, but I have seen enough to have optimisim, we have some excellent young footballers who deserve huge credit to after what what a horrendous league. The Fermanagh game still leaves a very sour taste for me personally but I'd like to see what we would be like after another year or two under Poacher." Sligo are only ok but stayed up in division 3 along with winning 3 games. Day and night in the difference. Can we cop ourselves on. Judge teams over the year and not one off games.
williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 495 - 19/05/2025 13:29:08
Replying To LeitrimBatman: "Big turning point in the game was young Cox being denied a second goal for Leitrim to put us 8 ahead (I think) only for Sligo to go straight down the pitch for Quinn to nail a 2 pointer.. we looked leggy at this stage and Sligo had the subs to make a impact.. good performance overall from Leitrim, huge potential in the squad, they are not far off turning these defeats into victories.. Here's hoping the new club championship structure can instil a bit of steeliness in lads as there should be more tighter games across senior down to Junior A." The Caped Crusader is right. I think the new club championships will give players more of an edge, with fewer opportunities to underperform and fall into safety with the minimum of results.
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1187 - 19/05/2025 13:51:36
Replying To joeman123: "I am not sure about wanting Leitrim to lose;
There is nothing but negativity and criticism from a lot of you. The brigade come out in force when Leitrim do badly.What do you conclude from that.
I would say we have the most negative Forum on Hogan Stand. For example when we qualify for the All B competions it is scoffed at as being secondary competitions. By the way well dome to Leitrim minors for beating Down in a thriller.
It is time to acknowledge the talent we have and get behind the teams." You're not sure about wanting Leitrim to loose...... Christ on a bike :rolleyes
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1316 - 19/05/2025 14:04:13
Replying To williesboy: "Sligo are only ok but stayed up in division 3 along with winning 3 games. Day and night in the difference. Can we cop ourselves on. Judge teams over the year and not one off games." A well measured post. As a Sligo man, we were lucky yesterday. But luck comes with improvement. How many times have Sligo and Leitrim been on the wrong side of an "unlucky" result. Good teams even playing badly, find a way. Sligo are top half Tailteen team, no more. That performance yesterday will see you over the line against Tipp. Would love to see a double header for this one. Maybe the Hyde ???? Bet they'll send us all to Cavan which is a right burial ground for Sligo football
SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 58 - 19/05/2025 14:04:15
Replying To joeman123: "I am not sure about wanting Leitrim to lose;
It is time to acknowledge the talent we have and get behind the teams." It feels like a circular discussion with you every time.
Every Leitrim poster wants our Leitrim teams to do well
Every Leitrim poster acknowledges the talent we have and support the teams
Every Leitrim poster is entitled to support or criticise what we see fit in regards to the teams or coaching
You haven't been on many threads if you think ours is the most negative, I'd suggest you look at a few of our neighbours ones
Unfortunately as you prob know there are few Leitrim days that are successful, hence why the majority of days they do badly are discussed. And I see positive spins being put on the most recent turn out against Sligo, which are probably valid points.
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 310 - 19/05/2025 14:08:52
Replying To boxtyburgerbuns: "It feels like a circular discussion with you every time.
Every Leitrim poster wants our Leitrim teams to do well
Every Leitrim poster acknowledges the talent we have and support the teams
Every Leitrim poster is entitled to support or criticise what we see fit in regards to the teams or coaching
You haven't been on many threads if you think ours is the most negative, I'd suggest you look at a few of our neighbours ones
Unfortunately as you prob know there are few Leitrim days that are successful, hence why the majority of days they do badly are discussed. And I see positive spins being put on the most recent turn out against Sligo, which are probably valid points." agree 100%. People like to bury their heads in the sand saying ah shur we did well against Sligo etc etc. But we still lost against them.........what's the overall aim like?? To do well or actually win games??
Maybe that is our problem- we accept moral victories, ah shur weren't ye great and the small population ye have. Fair play to ye for even turning up nearly!! And some posters here lap it up. It's pretty pathetic in my opinion.
And as for this nonsense of us having a young team?? Don't get me started- how many of these will still be playing with Leitrim in five years?? They will emigrate to Australia or move to London or even Dublin and realise that it is not worth the hassle. We were hearing the same five years ago of these young players we had- granted they may be good but they don't stay around and that is a lot of the issue.
Thanks.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 109 - 19/05/2025 15:16:51