Leitrim GAA thread

Have to agree with some posters who are saying that no county team - especially one with as small as a pick as Leitrim could cope without the players who aren't available for the last few games but also for the entire year.

However, I don't get how Poacher seems to absolve himself/management from any blame. Before the league started I didn't expect us to win any game with the panel we have but I also didn't expect us to look as badly coached as we do.
They're not getting the best out of what we have.

Leitrim have the lowest points scored of any team in any tier of the league - with 23 points. We have the lowest amount of 2 pointers scored (1) of any team.
We are also one of 3 teams left that hasn't scored a goal.

We can talk about players that aren't there and S&C etc. Which are all fair excuses for Poacher and co. But the reality is under the new rules it is far easier to score and whats more, scoring forwards is the one area of the field we are decent with the likes of Beirne, Prior, Honeyman, Cox etc. Who were all able to score under the old rules with packed defences.
Yes, you need a platform from out the field but to only have 23 points after 3 games is a reflection of the coaching unfortunately.

Was great to see Ben Guckian get minutes at the weekend and Donal Casey to be on the bench - they will both vastly improve the team when theyre fully fit.

Any word on Jordan Reynolds injury? As I'd agree with other posters that McNamara and Honeyman should be pulled from the seniors and left with the U20s - Poacher has talked about a 3 year plan and development etc. So that would be the best for all concerned.

LongBall94 (USA) - Posts: 6 - 19/02/2025 11:10:32    2591893

Replying To Square_B:  "And the ThePowerhouse's post... I suppose that's all nonsense yeah?"
If you say so who am I to disagree with you!

Leitrim@1960 (Leitrim) - Posts: 28 - 19/02/2025 11:30:04    2591902

Replying To Leitrim@1960:  "That is a well thought out and excellent post!"
Agree

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 530 - 19/02/2025 11:41:58    2591906

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Please name players of County standard not playing for Leitrim? Stats don't lie. 19 absent from last year due to retirement, emigration & injury. Nine gone through injury - three against Laois . No county can hope to compete with this haemorrhage of players. Sad so called supporters continue to criticise everybody associated with Leitrim football- Co Board, Management,players who are doing their best . Look at the positives. Talented group of Under age players coming through, successful run at College level, Ladies team on course for promotion & unearthing new talent, Hurlers having a good run & wish them well against pacesetters Louth. Realty is we don't have the pool of talent necessary to compete with other Counties & with so many absentees would struggle in Div 4. It is what it is but all I & other supporters can do is continue to support the Green & Gold at all levels . Those close to the squad acknowledge it's going to be a long haul but it could start with a good performance against Antrim. The return of some injured players is a boost.My hope is our youngsters are not disheartened by many of the negative postings. As quite a few come from outside Leitrim & overseas they obviously don't see Leitrim play so opinions are irrelevant."
A perfect example of the emperors new clothes.
Unfortunately, you're not alone and your unquestioning loyalty is a symptom of the problem.

First things first. I would wager that the people involved in Leitrim LGFA and Leitrim hurling would disagree with being lumped in with our senior football team. Both of them have paddled their own canoe for a long time and their success is down to their dedication and their refusal to give up when the odds were stacked against them. They had few of the advantages afforded to our senior footballers.

Secondly, whether people go to senior matches or not is a moot point. By your logic the opinions of former players that have emigrated are irrelevant. Do we really need to attend to figure it out? In any case the blame can't be levelled at our players. I've stressed that on numerous occasions. They are the ones to be commended.

It gives me no pleasure to say that I've been predicting this disaster for years. I've been saying it because I could see the evidence in front of me. If it was obvious to me it should have been even more so to the people that are in charge. They ignored it. I'm not talking about the senior team. I'm talking from underage up to adult club football.

The last point I want to make is in relation to our population. Its been the excuse for years and is the get out of jail card for various County boards over the years. There are countless examples in the Gaa and other sports where a big population doesn't guarantee success and vice versa. It's an excuse.

There is no doubt we are suffering because of the loss of so many players. But our suffering was always going to be more acute because our standards are so low at club level. They're low because we've too many clubs, too many "senior" teams. The list of poor standards is endless. Too many players that have become used to low standards in every regard so that if and when they step up to play senior inter county its exposed ruthlessly. By the time a player has reached senior inter county football its way too late.

No doubt I'll be called negative but I couldn't care less about that. I'll be the first one to praise the County board if they come up with and implement a coherent plan to address these issues. It should have been done 15 years ago. It won't improve overnight but it can be done. There's an opportunity for a complete reform arising from this crisis.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 163 - 19/02/2025 12:28:56    2591912

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "A perfect example of the emperors new clothes.
Unfortunately, you're not alone and your unquestioning loyalty is a symptom of the problem.

First things first. I would wager that the people involved in Leitrim LGFA and Leitrim hurling would disagree with being lumped in with our senior football team. Both of them have paddled their own canoe for a long time and their success is down to their dedication and their refusal to give up when the odds were stacked against them. They had few of the advantages afforded to our senior footballers.

Secondly, whether people go to senior matches or not is a moot point. By your logic the opinions of former players that have emigrated are irrelevant. Do we really need to attend to figure it out? In any case the blame can't be levelled at our players. I've stressed that on numerous occasions. They are the ones to be commended.

It gives me no pleasure to say that I've been predicting this disaster for years. I've been saying it because I could see the evidence in front of me. If it was obvious to me it should have been even more so to the people that are in charge. They ignored it. I'm not talking about the senior team. I'm talking from underage up to adult club football.

The last point I want to make is in relation to our population. Its been the excuse for years and is the get out of jail card for various County boards over the years. There are countless examples in the Gaa and other sports where a big population doesn't guarantee success and vice versa. It's an excuse.

There is no doubt we are suffering because of the loss of so many players. But our suffering was always going to be more acute because our standards are so low at club level. They're low because we've too many clubs, too many "senior" teams. The list of poor standards is endless. Too many players that have become used to low standards in every regard so that if and when they step up to play senior inter county its exposed ruthlessly. By the time a player has reached senior inter county football its way too late.

No doubt I'll be called negative but I couldn't care less about that. I'll be the first one to praise the County board if they come up with and implement a coherent plan to address these issues. It should have been done 15 years ago. It won't improve overnight but it can be done. There's an opportunity for a complete reform arising from this crisis."
100% correct... and an actual well thought out post not like some of the rubbish I read here. It's unbelievable the amount of people out there who will defend this nonsense... as I've said, decisions need to be made in the coming years to prevent the further decline of GAA in the county. If not, we might as well advocate to Croke Park for a 3rd tier championship. That's where we're headed.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1159 - 19/02/2025 13:07:36    2591916

No doubt I'll be called negative but I couldn't care less about that. I'll be the first one to praise the County board if they come up with and implement a coherent plan to address these issues. It should have been done 15 years ago. It won't improve overnight but it can be done. There's an opportunity for a complete reform arising from this crisis."
How many clubs in Leitrim do you think are acceptable and which ones would you get rid of? Name them out there.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 126 - 19/02/2025 13:28:00    2591922

As an outside observer I'm very interested in what you're saying about too many clubs and I'm inclined to agree with your assessment of how it reduces standards when you dilute the good players among more teams and lesser quality or interested in progressing on county scene players. This can be said about any small/weaker county including my own. However I don't think getting rid of clubs is a solution either. To Leitrim's credit, they have reduced the number of teams in Senior and Intermediate championship and I only wish that Sligo would do the same. There's little advantage in always being the team that wins the relegation final or semi final.

But the point I'm making is that clubs will never agree to fold unless they absolutely have to. So off to Kerry I look. There are undoubtedly Junior clubs in Kerry with similar populations to clubs in this part of the world that are operating here at maybe Senior and Intermediate on their own. They still maintain their identity in their respective championships but the ''divisional teams'' result in the better players being exposed to a higher standard in senior. I know Kerry is a county of 150k people and it has about 70 clubs so it means more of these such divisional teams and perhaps several clubs feeding into them instead of 2/3 here. I also know Roscommon trialed it but I think got the timing wrong as it was clashing with the Inter and Junior champs in between. Its hard to ask a lad to go out and play along side a fella you're playing against the following week.

Yet, it could be worth trialing out in the likes of Sligo and Leitrim. I could think of maybe 3/4 teams in Sligo that could be created out of it. I'm sure there might be a similar amount in Leitrim. The problem is it'd nearly have to be directed to be implemented as clubs in my belief rarely look beyond their own interest and are skeptical of such plans being the start of the process of a permanent amalgamation, yet the folks in Kerry seem to be able to marry the two with proper scheduling.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 459 - 19/02/2025 13:34:02    2591926

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "How many clubs in Leitrim do you think are acceptable and which ones would you get rid of? Name them out there."
I'll have a stab at it. These few points will help reduce the amount of clubs helping us to reach a division one standard of football.

1. Disband Melvin Gaels - Obvious one. No one likes that drive up there and after their antics in the intermediate final the club should be disbanded. I'm sure they would be more than happy to play in Donegal.

2. Bornacoola and Annaduff amalgamation. This would be a great success if this happened. The barbarity and backwardness of one side of dromod mixed with the polite and quietness of the other would be a force to be reckoned with. I'll let you all make up your minds on which side is which. Could be named Dromod Train Station Gaels.

3. Disband Drumreilly, Aughawillan and the Neds and let them join Ballinamore and Kiltubrid. They already have a great name befitting of such a great amalgamation. "McDiarmada Gaels"

4. Excommunicate Carrigallen to Cavan.

5. Any club that is not a town and I deem to not be up the standard to be disbanded.

I think that leaves us with about 10 clubs. Implement these changes and we'll be lifting Sam on the Hogan Stand in no time.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 19/02/2025 14:03:22    2591938

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "I'll have a stab at it. These few points will help reduce the amount of clubs helping us to reach a division one standard of football.

1. Disband Melvin Gaels - Obvious one. No one likes that drive up there and after their antics in the intermediate final the club should be disbanded. I'm sure they would be more than happy to play in Donegal.

2. Bornacoola and Annaduff amalgamation. This would be a great success if this happened. The barbarity and backwardness of one side of dromod mixed with the polite and quietness of the other would be a force to be reckoned with. I'll let you all make up your minds on which side is which. Could be named Dromod Train Station Gaels.

3. Disband Drumreilly, Aughawillan and the Neds and let them join Ballinamore and Kiltubrid. They already have a great name befitting of such a great amalgamation. "McDiarmada Gaels"

5. Any club that is not a town and I deem to not be up the standard to be disbanded.

I think that leaves us with about 10 clubs. Implement these changes and we'll be lifting Sam on the Hogan Stand in no time."
I'd go the other way, disband all the town teams!

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 126 - 19/02/2025 14:35:59    2591941

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "I'll have a stab at it. These few points will help reduce the amount of clubs helping us to reach a division one standard of football.

I think that leaves us with about 10 clubs. Implement these changes and we'll be lifting Sam on the Hogan Stand in no time."
Brilliant!

Leitrim@1960 (Leitrim) - Posts: 28 - 19/02/2025 14:52:44    2591943

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "As an outside observer I'm very interested in what you're saying about too many clubs and I'm inclined to agree with your assessment of how it reduces standards when you dilute the good players among more teams and lesser quality or interested in progressing on county scene players. This can be said about any small/weaker county including my own. However I don't think getting rid of clubs is a solution either. To Leitrim's credit, they have reduced the number of teams in Senior and Intermediate championship and I only wish that Sligo would do the same. There's little advantage in always being the team that wins the relegation final or semi final.

But the point I'm making is that clubs will never agree to fold unless they absolutely have to. So off to Kerry I look. There are undoubtedly Junior clubs in Kerry with similar populations to clubs in this part of the world that are operating here at maybe Senior and Intermediate on their own. They still maintain their identity in their respective championships but the ''divisional teams'' result in the better players being exposed to a higher standard in senior. I know Kerry is a county of 150k people and it has about 70 clubs so it means more of these such divisional teams and perhaps several clubs feeding into them instead of 2/3 here. I also know Roscommon trialed it but I think got the timing wrong as it was clashing with the Inter and Junior champs in between. Its hard to ask a lad to go out and play along side a fella you're playing against the following week.

Yet, it could be worth trialing out in the likes of Sligo and Leitrim. I could think of maybe 3/4 teams in Sligo that could be created out of it. I'm sure there might be a similar amount in Leitrim. The problem is it'd nearly have to be directed to be implemented as clubs in my belief rarely look beyond their own interest and are skeptical of such plans being the start of the process of a permanent amalgamation, yet the folks in Kerry seem to be able to marry the two with proper scheduling."
Agreed. It seems to work well for Kerry but sure what would they know!

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 163 - 19/02/2025 15:13:52    2591946

Replying To Leitrim@1960:  "Brilliant!"
Glad to see it's a source of amusement for you...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1159 - 19/02/2025 16:14:12    2591960

Replying To Square_B:  "Glad to see it's a source of amusement for you..."
Thanks!

Leitrim@1960 (Leitrim) - Posts: 28 - 19/02/2025 16:43:36    2591968

Best post ever on here about Leitrim! Cavan will look for a trans-border tax, though. Those fellas have every way of making a penny nailed down. I hear that they were even out last month selling snow while Ireland had it!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2136 - 19/02/2025 20:36:48    2591989

Didn't Roscommon try divisional teams in their competitions, many of the lurkers from that county that appear on here might tell us how that worked out...I'm sure they'd say it was a roaring success anyway, as with everything else they do.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 126 - 20/02/2025 09:47:34    2592022

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Didn't Roscommon try divisional teams in their competitions, many of the lurkers from that county that appear on here might tell us how that worked out...I'm sure they'd say it was a roaring success anyway, as with everything else they do."
As far as I'm aware they had two teams, North Roscommon and Mid/South Ros for any teams not already in Senior but they joined at a later stage in Championship rather than from beginning. Kerry play their Inter and Junior off before Senior to remove the clashing of fixtures of players expected to play together.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 459 - 20/02/2025 09:59:19    2592025

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Didn't Roscommon try divisional teams in their competitions, many of the lurkers from that county that appear on here might tell us how that worked out...I'm sure they'd say it was a roaring success anyway, as with everything else they do."
The divisional trial has been a disaster and it's a dead duck. Ya we have a great team at the moment
Brought about by complete focus on underage structures. Ye have a talented group from 17 to 21 so look after them and division 2 is a realistic goal for ye within five years. Keep giving out and moaning and half them will stick to club and Leitrim will be division 4
Again forever.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 525 - 20/02/2025 10:20:22    2592029

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "As far as I'm aware they had two teams, North Roscommon and Mid/South Ros for any teams not already in Senior but they joined at a later stage in Championship rather than from beginning. Kerry play their Inter and Junior off before Senior to remove the clashing of fixtures of players expected to play together."
Kerry play Junior, Inter, Senior Club first.
Then they have a County Championship made up of Senior Clubs and Regional teams.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2079 - 20/02/2025 10:56:36    2592046

Well it wasn't and isn't a "roaring success". It's set at the same time as the junior and intermediate championships. Many clubs choose not to send players to play for the divisional teams.

Ross1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 12 - 20/02/2025 11:56:44    2592062

Replying To Ros2013:  "The divisional trial has been a disaster and it's a dead duck. Ya we have a great team at the moment
Brought about by complete focus on underage structures. Ye have a talented group from 17 to 21 so look after them and division 2 is a realistic goal for ye within five years. Keep giving out and moaning and half them will stick to club and Leitrim will be division 4
Again forever."
Finally a bit of common sense

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 20/02/2025 14:22:24    2592097