Roscommon GAA thread

I wish Dave Burke the very best of luck going forward. He was the "best young manager in the country" on this forum when he was appointed. That wouldn't have changed surely. He did very well with Roscommon and should be lauded.

Who do you go for next? Mcstay to come back? Nigel Dineen? Mike solan? Or maybe someone left field?! Cora Staunton? Rory Gallagher? Brendan Guckian?

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 28/06/2025 13:25:40    2621718

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "I think Burke should have got three more years with youse tbh. He was overachieving there"
Stick to what you know about i e Boxty

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2477 - 28/06/2025 13:33:42    2621722

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Stick to what you know about i e Boxty"
Getting you to div 1, almost being able to beat the big two in Connacht. What more is needed?

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 420 - 28/06/2025 13:45:10    2621726

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Getting you to div 1, almost being able to beat the big two in Connacht. What more is needed?"
Do you think Leitrim will be able to field a team next year for all the games next year or will it be game to game?

Rossgaa47 (Roscommon) - Posts: 13 - 28/06/2025 14:05:19    2621730

Replying To Freethinker:  "Looks like all above got their wish. Davey jumped before he got pushed. Now we will see what might or might not be going on behind the scenes. That's what, 4 vacancies throughout the country now ?? Question is, will there be more?"
A lot more. It's going to be a very busy time with new managers before the 2026 season starts.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3675 - 28/06/2025 14:32:24    2621739

Very professional statement issue by Davy Burke on leaving the manager's job in Roscommon. He did it the right way after taking only about 2 weeks to consider his position. Both himself and the chairman referred to some highs and lows during his term and I think that is a fair enought analysis. Certainly the highs were finishing third in division 1, beating Mayo in Castlebar, Tyrone in Omagh and getting promotion to division 1 this year. Today is not a day for concentrating on the negatives. The best of luck to Davy in the future and to the county board in finding the replacement TEAM.
At least they have time to consider the situation.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 767 - 28/06/2025 14:54:02    2621744

Potential candidates will wait until all vacancies are confirmed. Will be hard for Roscommon yo get a big name.
Francie Dolan is a name which comes to mind. He trained a Longford team to a county title last year and worked with Oisin McConville this year.

Shane Currans chances are damaged with his reign in Carlow

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3167 - 28/06/2025 16:36:14    2621757

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "My observations are trying to think why the Roscommon county board would keep him on. Davy Burke has now decided to step down himself. Reading between the lines of the County board chairman I get the feeling he was to be kept on if Davy himself didn't go. Both statements showed a lot more class than Mayo."
I'd say you are right, think the county board were happy enough if he was to agree by the sounds of it.

He has a young family and a long commute so he has to be thanked for the big effort put in over the past few years. Both statements were very gracious. He's a likeable sort but you could tell this year that things didn't look right as much as I was hoping things would click at some point. Anyways good luck to him in his next roll.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 220 - 28/06/2025 16:42:16    2621761

Replying To Rossgaa47:  "Do you think Leitrim will be able to field a team next year for all the games next year or will it be game to game?"
That's a good question well asked. We'll get back to you on that.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 420 - 28/06/2025 18:02:18    2621796

Know it's school holidays time when Jack L and the two Leitrim lads are on this thread giving their tuppence worth

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4098 - 28/06/2025 18:46:08    2621818

Replying To The_analyser:  "Know it's school holidays time when Jack L and the two Leitrim lads are on this thread giving their tuppence worth"
I think we are really here because we value your knowledge of Roscommon football so much. It is so in depth and delivered with precision and I personally have learned loads down the years from your wisdom, nobody comes close.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 420 - 28/06/2025 18:54:24    2621820

Ah lads can we not all be friends ;)

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1281 - 28/06/2025 19:38:56    2621829

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "I think we are really here because we value your knowledge of Roscommon football so much. It is so in depth and delivered with precision and I personally have learned loads down the years from your wisdom, nobody comes close."
How can you be in a constant state of passive aggressiveness, it must be exhausting.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 220 - 28/06/2025 21:12:16    2621869

With the Dublin post now open it could be quite a while before this post is filled.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3167 - 28/06/2025 21:47:46    2621884