Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Quit moaning lol I don't like either but Kerry well on top too muc going backwards with roscommon"
I'm not moaning. With or without the 2 points frees Kerry were levels above us. Just believe it was a good time to show how they've only a negative impact on our game.

Ross1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 16 - 17/05/2025 16:24:27    2610245

The few positives I thought Higgins, Stack, Daly and John Mc did quite well. Just needed more from the lads around them. Dylan Ruane also did well. Ben did well when he got on ball. And Eddie Nolan had phases.
Diarmuid did well when he came on but Kerry weren't putting the same pressure on us at that point.

Why don't we just settle on Carroll being our 45 taker and let him practice the sh1te out of them. Most teams have a consistent 45 taker. Should that not be a basic to try and at least get a score guaranteed when you get one.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 17/05/2025 16:33:39    2610248

Replying To Ross1:  "I'm not moaning. With or without the 2 points frees Kerry were levels above us. Just believe it was a good time to show how they've only a negative impact on our game."
Fair enough meath big game for ye

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 706 - 17/05/2025 16:43:11    2610251

Disappointing but hardly a surprise from what we have seen in recent games. Getting into a bad habit of losing matches by 9/10 points now what can be done to collectively make us harder to score against because if not fixed both Meath and Cork will beat us also.

1st half 5 points down was not a fair reflection of the effort we put in. The three two pointers from frees was a real killer. End up losing by 10 and three goals conceded. Let's be honest better and more organised teams don't concede goals like that.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4048 - 17/05/2025 16:48:30    2610255

Very disappointing display overall. Only 5 points in it at half time after playing against a strong wind, but gave away 4 crazy points (2x2 ) late challenge and not having three players in our own half. Not sure what the coaches are doing about picking up some breaking ball at midfield, or having a decent kickout strategy. Kerry got about six short kickouts away and we might have managed about two. A breaking ball should be 50/50 but we are not winning many of them. It is not rocket science; you will not win many matches if you don't have the ball.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 737 - 17/05/2025 17:39:29    2610264

Replying To The_analyser:  "Disappointing but hardly a surprise from what we have seen in recent games. Getting into a bad habit of losing matches by 9/10 points now what can be done to collectively make us harder to score against because if not fixed both Meath and Cork will beat us also.

1st half 5 points down was not a fair reflection of the effort we put in. The three two pointers from frees was a real killer. End up losing by 10 and three goals conceded. Let's be honest better and more organised teams don't concede goals like that."
Ya id agree with all that. We aren't well coached at all our forwards have lost all confidence to play with any bit of freedom. We are in big trouble now imo. Burke will only have two more games in charge and that's a good thing

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1243 - 17/05/2025 17:42:23    2610266

Really bad we're totally clueless when it comes to attacking - every time enda gets the ball he stops I'm not sure what that's about
Watching Galway v Dublin here and the difference is stark
We may or
May not win one or both of the next 2 games but it's clear we're going nowhere
I've said it before being beaten is one thing but there no bit of anything to us no fight no determination no nothing !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 649 - 17/05/2025 18:21:59    2610278

Daire Cregg and Conor Hand should be playing with abandon at their age but they look like lads completely unsure of themselves. Agree with the structure issue, I thought some good man on man performances but we are really let down with collective defending. That last Kerry goal was the pits.

Agree also on the breaking ball problem. It's not like it's a problem which has appeared over night. There is no sense that Roscommon have done their homework on teams. Too easy for Kerry and everyone we've played back to the Cork league game to out fox and out play us. Again we really lack intensity, is that a symptom of not having a good game plan and structure?

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 17/05/2025 18:29:18    2610280

Replying To rossy15:  "Really bad we're totally clueless when it comes to attacking - every time enda gets the ball he stops I'm not sure what that's about
Watching Galway v Dublin here and the difference is stark
We may or
May not win one or both of the next 2 games but it's clear we're going nowhere
I've said it before being beaten is one thing but there no bit of anything to us no fight no determination no nothing !"
Galway weren't much better today in attack. 2-14 scored and two rather lucky goals. We conceded 1-24 to Galway which said more about us and how we are defending than Galway's attack forward play.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4048 - 17/05/2025 18:52:23    2610293

Replying To The_analyser:  "Galway weren't much better today in attack. 2-14 scored and two rather lucky goals. We conceded 1-24 to Galway which said more about us and how we are defending than Galway's attack forward play."
Are you serious
Galway contributed to a super contest with Dublin and were unlucky to come out the wrong side of it
Delude urself all you like this Roscommon team are miles off the top teams and even the not top teams !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 649 - 17/05/2025 18:56:41    2610300

We played ok for about 20 minutes although Kerry were only in 3rd gear and letting us attack them. At this stage Enda smith needs to go into full forward he can't play around midfield or half forwards line for some reason these days. The next two games will decide if we can continue with this mgt.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 127 - 17/05/2025 19:08:28    2610309

Replying To The_analyser:  "Galway weren't much better today in attack. 2-14 scored and two rather lucky goals. We conceded 1-24 to Galway which said more about us and how we are defending than Galway's attack forward play."
Really. They ultimately lost with the last kick of the game. Went toe to toe with Dublin. Burke said this week "we're not far off the big teams". What's he basing that on. We've regressed as the year has gone on. A talent pool been wasted at the moment.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1141 - 17/05/2025 20:27:40    2610358

48 minutes played 0-13 to 0-8

61 minutes played 3-16 to 0-11

That 13 minute period the difference between Roscommon coming away with a likely competitive loss than a 10 point beating.

Can Roscommon stop Cork and Meath from scoring in similar bursts?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3621 - 17/05/2025 20:33:48    2610364

Replying To rossy15:  "Are you serious
Galway contributed to a super contest with Dublin and were unlucky to come out the wrong side of it
Delude urself all you like this Roscommon team are miles off the top teams and even the not top teams !"
Very serious. Here is what you said "when it comes to attacking watching Galway v Dublin here and the difference is stark"

Galway weren't great at attacking today and don't let two lucky goals fool you. Dublin aren't a patch on their 6 in a row team and came into that game off the back a deserved defeat against our next opponents Meath.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4048 - 17/05/2025 20:54:12    2610377

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "48 minutes played 0-13 to 0-8

That 13 minute period the difference between Roscommon coming away with a likely competitive loss than a 10 point beating.

Can Roscommon stop Cork and Meath from scoring in similar bursts?"
A habit we have been doing all year starting with our first defeat of the year against Meath in Navan with conceding two goals in a matter of minutes. Unless it's corrected we are facing a group stage exit.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4048 - 17/05/2025 20:59:24    2610382

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "48 minutes played 0-13 to 0-8

Can Roscommon stop Cork and Meath from scoring in similar bursts?"
13 points to 8 was to much for us to challenge when our forwards are to afraid to have a go

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1243 - 17/05/2025 21:11:52    2610390

Home again after another fruitless road trip. More of the same. We are so far off the level required to even be able to compete with the top teams, let alone beat them. Our attack is so bloody pedestrian it's painful to watch. Every team we play attack us at pace with runners from deep breaking lines but we get up the field and pass over and back. Got punished for 2 of our poor kickouts which ended up in goals. Got well bet around the middle in 2nd half, thought taking Doyle off early was strange. But whether we are winning or losing, the same subs are made and same players brought in despite having had very little impact up to now.
2 games left and I honestly am not enthusiastic about our chances in either. The curtain will fall on the Burke era in the next 4, maybe 5 weeks and while I don't like bashing any player or manager that gives their time to the county, I think it's best for all.
16 teams are in the race for Sam, how many of them teams would we realistically be confident of beating?

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 17/05/2025 21:34:14    2610402

Replying To rossy15:  "Are you serious
Delude urself all you like this Roscommon team are miles off the top teams and even the not top teams !"
Super contest it wasn't, they contributed to error ridden contest with exciting finish. Galway were very flat and only team that would have been lucky is Galway had come away with a draw or a win. Was a mistake to throw Shane Walsh straight in after a long lay off. Best forward was the youngest fella Thompson who went off injured. Galway have now made it harder on themselves to get out of the group

Seeing that I'm on the Roscommon thread a piece on your match. You were competitive for the first 50 minutes against All Ireland contender in their back yard improvement on Salthil which was over after 25 minutes?. The goals in a short space of time ended whatever hope you had of delivering a competitive performance for 70 minutes. Meath beat Dublin and Cork drew with Kerry in 70 minutes so it's a uphill challenge for Roscommon to reach the knock out stage.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 447 - 17/05/2025 21:35:13    2610404

Replying To dave1988:  "13 points to 8 was to much for us to challenge when our forwards are to afraid to have a go"
Roscommon players had plenty of goes for scores 2nd half the problem was you hit as many wides and dropped efforts short than over the bar. 6 attempts for two pointers scoring 3. Kerry got scores off the back of those misses making them all the more costly.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3621 - 17/05/2025 21:40:30    2610409

Replying To The_analyser:  "A habit we have been doing all year starting with our first defeat of the year against Meath in Navan with conceding two goals in a matter of minutes. Unless it's corrected we are facing a group stage exit."
Ha ur selective with the repost of my comment analyser here's what I said

'Really bad we're totally clueless when it comes to attacking - every time enda gets the ball he stops I'm not sure what that's about
Watching Galway v Dublin here and the difference is stark '

Watching Galway v Dublin here and the difference is stark - by that I meant the quality of the game and the teams. the scores, the defending too etc
U can cod urself all u like with with stats and analysis but we are not able to compete with most teams left in the all Ireland series that's the only statistic we need to concern ourselves with

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 649 - 17/05/2025 21:48:27    2610419