Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To The_analyser:  "Kerry won a U21 All Ireland 2008 with players such as Shane Enright,Killian Young,David Moran,Johnny Buckley,Tommy Walsh etc. And probably would have won one a decade later if David Clifford,Sean O'Shea was allowed to play U20.

I still look back at 2008/09 in annoyance, we had a panel that was capable of winning All Ireland those years but we so poorly prepared and managed compared to the 2006 U18 group. 2012,2014,2015 we simply ran into very good Dublin and Tyrone U21 teams. 2013,2016 was annoying also as we had the beating of Galway,Mayo yet after they fell over the line against us they went on to win the All Ireland."
Yea it is a pity the 2006 minor group couldn't make headway in u21, they had the talent.

Very interesting Connact semi today. Sligo are definitely on the up. Galway maybe still doing enough to get by and hoping to peak later.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 795 - 20/04/2024 22:43:20    2539400

Big day has arrived, Weather has done its bit, Hyde looking a million dollars, now all we need is the right result.
C'MON ROS!!!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1438 - 21/04/2024 11:29:13    2539494

Best of luck to everyone involved today. It's championship. You'd never know what might happen.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 21/04/2024 11:52:15    2539502

Another frustrating championship loss to Mayo at home, not only was that match was there to won today but so was the Connacht title with the state Galway was in yesterday.

Of the 1-15 conceded 1-7 came from our basic errors under no pressure at all. Only 0-13 scored from 27 shots on goal and wasting the goal chances that came our way you won't win many games when performing at both ends like that and if it continues in that manner we will not be reaching the last 8.

To add salt to our wounds serious injuries to David Murray, Ultan Harney wishing both a quick recovery.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3761 - 21/04/2024 18:53:37    2539578

Same old story. We used to be a team that had dam all wasted chances. We got the right man on the ball in the right position to score and now we are kicking crazy amounts of wides and dropping balls into keepers hands and you won't beat division 1 teams like that. We struggled in the second half when mayo ran at us and lads were struggling then with the pace of the game. Mayo went from defence to attack alot quicker than we could. Mayo deserved the win and we can't have any complaints. Mayo supporter after the game said to me neither team will make any impact this year and he's probably right. Mayo were nothing special but they are fit and athletic. We have fell away in nearly every game this year. People were saying we are waiting for championship but it's here and it was the same story today. If we don't reach last 8 and I honestly don't think we will now then I don't see burke as Roscommon manager next year.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 21/04/2024 19:07:13    2539581

Replying To The_analyser:  "Another frustrating championship loss to Mayo at home, not only was that match was there to won today but so was the Connacht title with the state Galway was in yesterday.

Of the 1-15 conceded 1-7 came from our basic errors under no pressure at all. Only 0-13 scored from 27 shots on goal and wasting the goal chances that came our way you won't win many games when performing at both ends like that and if it continues in that manner we will not be reaching the last 8.

To add salt to our wounds serious injuries to David Murray, Ultan Harney wishing both a quick recovery."
Fair summation of a very disappointing performance. Very flat performance by the team and supporters of both teams. You would not think it was a championship match between two close rivals. Mayo deserved it on the day.
We seemed to be too slow in transition and took on too many low percentage shots which either went wide or into the keepers hands. We also had three clear goal chances and did not take any. I thought Conor Carroll got most of his kickouts away and Diarmud and Daire kicked some good scores. Not sure if a couple of our players were carrying injuries as I thought the energy and body language of a couple were not great. (Dont like naming players who have put months of effort in)
Lot of work to do before the qualifiers but at least Derry will not be in our group. (Both seeded 3)
Hopefully the injuries will clear up and that they are not serious.

Well done to the county board for having the Hyde looking so well and congratulations to Mayo on a deserved win.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 516 - 21/04/2024 19:29:13    2539587

That second half was cat. Bad start but great comeback to have it close before half time. Have to say, I like Davy but we seem tactically enept against the bigger teams. So predictable, slow laborious build up, brutal on the counter, no one running into space. We end up with men on the ball in good positions but everyone behind them. That is management and tactics. If you play negatively at the very least you expect to concede very little and be hard to beat. We are neither. We are still conceding 15 or plus points. What exactly is our game plan? The worst thing is it looks like it's suffocating our creative players. There's no flow to our attack. Everyone looks like they need the drill in training to work and when it doesn't it's a disaster and no improvisation. Some of the substitutions or lack of (apart from injured players) very questionable. How was James Fitzpatrick not brought on earlier? There were questions during the league but unless some major surprises are being kept for the group stage we are as well in the TC. I feel sorry for the players, clearly giving everything but been set up in a woeful system.

Best wishes to the lads that came off with injury. Didn't look good with either.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 795 - 21/04/2024 19:40:02    2539593

Same old story.League form coming into championship. We had the players to win that game. Again players played out of position Mayo won soley based on a better s&c. Not sure where we are going, its clear mc hugh had a huge influence on the team last year.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 21/04/2024 19:43:53    2539595

Replying To dave1988:  "Same old story. We used to be a team that had dam all wasted chances. We got the right man on the ball in the right position to score and now we are kicking crazy amounts of wides and dropping balls into keepers hands and you won't beat division 1 teams like that. We struggled in the second half when mayo ran at us and lads were struggling then with the pace of the game. Mayo went from defence to attack alot quicker than we could. Mayo deserved the win and we can't have any complaints. Mayo supporter after the game said to me neither team will make any impact this year and he's probably right. Mayo were nothing special but they are fit and athletic. We have fell away in nearly every game this year. People were saying we are waiting for championship but it's here and it was the same story today. If we don't reach last 8 and I honestly don't think we will now then I don't see burke as Roscommon manager next year."
That's it, Mayo weren't even at their best. Mayo were making hay at the start of the second half down our right side. Nothing seemed to be done to counter it. Our wides were lads having to shoot from tricky angles because we couldn't create chances in better positions. How demoralising for a team to work so hard to turn the ball over, then attack at the pace of a garden snail, hand pass it around the 45 for a while and then someone takes on a shot because there's nothing else to do which goes wide.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 795 - 21/04/2024 19:45:50    2539597

Replying To hontherossie:  "Same old story.League form coming into championship. We had the players to win that game. Again players played out of position Mayo won soley based on a better s&c. Not sure where we are going, its clear mc hugh had a huge influence on the team last year."
Well done to Mayo, they turned up on the day and had a bit more ambition. Should have been closer but for some poor decisions when we had them stretched a few times. Mayo have the potential to improve and probably will win Connacht now. I'm sick to the eyeballs of seeing Roscommon players in good attacking positions looking around and passing it backwards because nobody has run into a forward space for a pass. Basic stuff like that used to be drilled into us as school kids. We appear to have some talented footballers but no leadership or direction. I thought long and hard about going to The Hyde but seeing as the day was perfect for football I went. Won't be back again in a hurry. Hope Davy and Ultan recover quickly as they are two of our better players. Think the management team are out of their depth at this level or maybe the players are not listening to them. On a brighter note the old place looks good and with a bit more effort would be a top ground. A coat of tarmac from the entrance would be great.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 21/04/2024 21:02:41    2539620

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Well done to Mayo, they turned up on the day and had a bit more ambition. Should have been closer but for some poor decisions when we had them stretched a few times. Mayo have the potential to improve and probably will win Connacht now. I'm sick to the eyeballs of seeing Roscommon players in good attacking positions looking around and passing it backwards because nobody has run into a forward space for a pass. Basic stuff like that used to be drilled into us as school kids. We appear to have some talented footballers but no leadership or direction. I thought long and hard about going to The Hyde but seeing as the day was perfect for football I went. Won't be back again in a hurry. Hope Davy and Ultan recover quickly as they are two of our better players. Think the management team are out of their depth at this level or maybe the players are not listening to them. On a brighter note the old place looks good and with a bit more effort would be a top ground. A coat of tarmac from the entrance would be great."
It would be interesting to get Mark McHugh's take on Roscommon's poor form this season. We have regressed so much since this time last year when we beat Mayo in Castlebar and drew with the All Ireland champions in Croke Park. Today we had an All star who hardly touched the ball except to blaze wide from a few metres out. We are tactically inept and clueless. Burke's so obviously out of his depth that I'm not even going to bother commenting on it. Mayo themselves were very ordinary today and if Roscommon were firing at all, we would have had our first championship win over them in The Hyde since 2001. A mention for Diarmuid Murtagh who was excellent in the first half and for the outstanding Eoin McCormack who drives forward at every opportunity. We need more like the St. Dominic's man and less of the lateral passing across the pitch. Best of luck to the U20s in the Connacht Final. I have no hopes of the senior team for the rest of the Summer.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 21/04/2024 21:24:05    2539624

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Well done to Mayo, they turned up on the day and had a bit more ambition. Should have been closer but for some poor decisions when we had them stretched a few times. Mayo have the potential to improve and probably will win Connacht now. I'm sick to the eyeballs of seeing Roscommon players in good attacking positions looking around and passing it backwards because nobody has run into a forward space for a pass. Basic stuff like that used to be drilled into us as school kids. We appear to have some talented footballers but no leadership or direction. I thought long and hard about going to The Hyde but seeing as the day was perfect for football I went. Won't be back again in a hurry. Hope Davy and Ultan recover quickly as they are two of our better players. Think the management team are out of their depth at this level or maybe the players are not listening to them. On a brighter note the old place looks good and with a bit more effort would be a top ground. A coat of tarmac from the entrance would be great."
We don't have a management team. Davy replaced two very good coaches with club standard coaches and whoever in our higher ranks in the county board went that's sound should be ran. Cheap option and how the hell would players go from a lad that won an all Ireland and played under McGuiness to a few months later been coached by a fella thats club standard

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 21/04/2024 21:46:40    2539634

Our forwards don't ever win a ball and instantly turn and take on their man we always win the ball and run back out the pitch. We always go on about the great forwards we have and how much better they are than mayos forwards but today mayos forwards were better by a long way. Add Ciaran murtagh heneghan and Cian McKeon I might say we do but today they had the better players all over the pitch

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 21/04/2024 22:00:05    2539637

Hard luck. Hyde park is a great venue. Probably the worst Mayo team in 20 years though. We were there for the taking and ye didn't show up. We won't be doing much this summer but we knew that already. IF we win Connacht I'll be happy with that…sad state of affairs.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 21/04/2024 22:16:44    2539642

Lads be honest…Mayo have our worst team in 20 years. Still better today than Roscommon. Wouldn't be surprised
If Galway beat us in the final. Going nowhere.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 21/04/2024 22:50:26    2539652

Replying To dave1988:  "Same old story. We used to be a team that had dam all wasted chances. We got the right man on the ball in the right position to score and now we are kicking crazy amounts of wides and dropping balls into keepers hands and you won't beat division 1 teams like that. We struggled in the second half when mayo ran at us and lads were struggling then with the pace of the game. Mayo went from defence to attack alot quicker than we could. Mayo deserved the win and we can't have any complaints. Mayo supporter after the game said to me neither team will make any impact this year and he's probably right. Mayo were nothing special but they are fit and athletic. We have fell away in nearly every game this year. People were saying we are waiting for championship but it's here and it was the same story today. If we don't reach last 8 and I honestly don't think we will now then I don't see burke as Roscommon manager next year."
Couldn't agree more. Was at the game and Hyde Park looked great. Well done to all in having it look so good. Big crowd there as expected. Both teams average at best. Mayo much fitter than us and better coached. To me that was the difference. Mayo could transition from defence to attack much quicker. We had no real plan or shape from what I could see. Such a pity as I think if we had the right set up and tactics that game was there for the taking. It seems to be the same old same old with Ros. I couldn't help but think back to a post someone had posted previously that said Mark McHugh left his coaching role because the players wouldn't commit to a plan he felt was needed to bring Ros to the next level. If that is true then its very sad.
We'll never get any better than where we're currently at if that was the case. Pity as I feel we have really talented players. I can't see us improving either after today. I feel Davy will probably move on and then it's a case of hoping we can get another management team in place before the Division 2 campaign. Anyway I'll be there to shout on the lads in the All Ireland series and I hope I'm proven wrong and we produce a couple of wins. Ros Comáin abú

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 21/04/2024 22:50:36    2539653

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "That's it, Mayo weren't even at their best. Mayo were making hay at the start of the second half down our right side. Nothing seemed to be done to counter it. Our wides were lads having to shoot from tricky angles because we couldn't create chances in better positions. How demoralising for a team to work so hard to turn the ball over, then attack at the pace of a garden snail, hand pass it around the 45 for a while and then someone takes on a shot because there's nothing else to do which goes wide."
Way Mayo have been playing since McStay took over hasn't been much better than what they displayed today and I'm not sure can they play much better either as they don't have the quality of players and leaders/warriors that they had from 2012 to 2017.

Roscommon all year has no spark to them and it's hard to see where any spark will come from for the All Ireland group stage. Some of the experienced without naming them look done, of the new or newish they'll need a lot more time to bed into the team and rhythm of play.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 21/04/2024 23:06:59    2539656

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Way Mayo have been playing since McStay took over hasn't been much better than what they displayed today and I'm not sure can they play much better either as they don't have the quality of players and leaders/warriors that they had from 2012 to 2017.

Roscommon all year has no spark to them and it's hard to see where any spark will come from for the All Ireland group stage. Some of the experienced without naming them look done, of the new or newish they'll need a lot more time to bed into the team and rhythm of play."
Well summed up.
If we had a native long term manager he might throw in more of the young set for the AI series .
I suspect Davy will get through the AI series, then shake hands and move on.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1438 - 22/04/2024 08:53:43    2539697

Replying To yew_tree:  "Lads be honest…Mayo have our worst team in 20 years. Still better today than Roscommon. Wouldn't be surprised
If Galway beat us in the final. Going nowhere."
Give it a fecking rest!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 650 - 22/04/2024 09:07:40    2539699

Disappointing stuff yesterday, Mayo not world beaters but they looked so much fitter than us.

I think we're so reliant on Enda, Diarmuid, Ben and Daire, it's a case of giving them the ball and hoping they do something with it, if not we look so placid going forward, bereft of any ideas. I feel for the lads, they'll be getting crazy stick and they give so much. The abuse they got from the stands was sickening yesterday, and from people who have no bloody clue what they're on about!!

Our year is essentially over now to be honest, and I can't see Davy staying which is a pity as I really liked him. Funny how it can all change so quick as he was the Messiah last year. He was dealt a bad hand this year with very important players opting out, so I wonder would any manager have done well this year? That said, we fade so badly out of games and there has to be some reason for it, not to mention the two notable backroom team members who left. If he is to go, is there any standout candidates?

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 138 - 22/04/2024 09:20:04    2539703