Roscommon GAA thread

Hope the Roscommon team give it a real go tomorrow and follow the attitude of some of the Rossie supporters I have met in Derry today.
* Give it a lash.
* No inhibitions.

Good support so far and hopefully we will at least be competitive.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 23/03/2024 17:47:56    2532878

Team named hopefully a improved performance and see will that will be enough. Three changes made.

Conor Carroll
David Murray Brian Stack Patrick Gavin
Niall Daly Niall Higgins Eoin McCormack
Enda Smith Ultan Harney
Dylan Ruane Ruaidhri fallon Ronan Daly
Daire Cregg Diarmuid Murtagh Donie Smith

Subs - Colm Lavin,Conor Hussey,Robbie Dolan,Tadgh O'Rourke,Shane Cunnane,Cian Connolly,Ciaran Lennon,Conor Cox,James Fitzpatrick,Evan Flynn,Andrew Glennon

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 23/03/2024 21:07:09    2532938

Does anyone know where is Keith Doyle and Adam McDermott? Are they injured or have they left the panel?

Rossie4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 4 - 23/03/2024 21:38:03    2532944

Replying To Rossie4life:  "Does anyone know where is Keith Doyle and Adam McDermott? Are they injured or have they left the panel?"
Doyle injured, McDermott reportedly played for Castlerea during the week so obviously not in contention for a place on the 26.
Hope the crew in Derry tonight can make the match tomorrow!!!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 23/03/2024 22:09:09    2532947

9 defenders in starting 15 tells you this is about not being hammered today.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 24/03/2024 09:00:17    2532977

Replying To The_analyser:  "Team named hopefully a improved performance and see will that will be enough. Three changes made.

Conor Carroll
David Murray Brian Stack Patrick Gavin
Niall Daly Niall Higgins Eoin McCormack
Enda Smith Ultan Harney
Dylan Ruane Ruaidhri fallon Ronan Daly
Daire Cregg Diarmuid Murtagh Donie Smith

Subs - Colm Lavin,Conor Hussey,Robbie Dolan,Tadgh O'Rourke,Shane Cunnane,Cian Connolly,Ciaran Lennon,Conor Cox,James Fitzpatrick,Evan Flynn,Andrew Glennon"
That's as strong a starting lineup as we could have today. Close enough to the championship starting team in 4 weeks with hopefully a fit Ben O'Carroll back. Don't know if a fit Keith Doyle would start at midfield. We've given ourselves it all to do to stay up. Roscommon also need a result for Kerry in Killarney where Jack hasn't named the Clifford's to start. Best of luck to Roscommon today. A deceased former Roscommon Manager Sean Young was a Derry man. Always think of him when we play the oak leafers.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 24/03/2024 09:37:20    2532982

My relations are up in Derry for the match. Jaysus tis rare I'm hoping ye lose but its an awful pity its between Galway and Roscommon to go down. Whichever of us goes down I fully expect they will go back up next year looking at the teams in Division 2. Safe journey to all travelling.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 24/03/2024 11:16:33    2533003

Replying To dave1988:  "9 defenders in starting 15 tells you this is about not being hammered today."
Also it looks the best blend of mobility plus physical strength.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 11:38:46    2533008

Replying To JahTribe:  "My relations are up in Derry for the match. Jaysus tis rare I'm hoping ye lose but its an awful pity its between Galway and Roscommon to go down. Whichever of us goes down I fully expect they will go back up next year looking at the teams in Division 2. Safe journey to all travelling."
Fair play. Difference between Galway and Ros is ye have left yer fate in yer own hands, we just haven't been good enough in the league. Likewise on all those travelling whether to Kerry or Derry.

Best of luck to team and management. Hopefully get a performance at the very least.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 11:51:34    2533010

Ah lad we will put out our u20 and still hammer ye today

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 12:29:46    2533022

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Roscommon will beat the Derry B team on Sunday and will probably survive relegation.
Looks ominous for Galway really.
Best of luck to ye."
Roscommon wouldn't beat the steelstown team never mind a Derry b team. A county who always think they are 20-30% better than they are and who achieve nothing. As a Derry man living in Galway when I see a fela in a rossie top come into the var I leave. The absolute muck they talk is unbearable. But don't forget they got an all star so basically rhey should have won the all oreland last year. Just read back on this fourm. Post after post of excuse after excuse

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 12:33:15    2533024

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "Roscommon wouldn't beat the steelstown team never mind a Derry b team. A county who always think they are 20-30% better than they are and who achieve nothing. As a Derry man living in Galway when I see a fela in a rossie top come into the var I leave. The absolute muck they talk is unbearable. But don't forget they got an all star so basically rhey should have won the all oreland last year. Just read back on this fourm. Post after post of excuse after excuse"
From Derry, to Galway to Clare, your travelling the country looking for that second brain cell. No sign of you finding it anytime soon.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 13:15:48    2533035

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "Roscommon wouldn't beat the steelstown team never mind a Derry b team. A county who always think they are 20-30% better than they are and who achieve nothing. As a Derry man living in Galway when I see a fela in a rossie top come into the var I leave. The absolute muck they talk is unbearable. But don't forget they got an all star so basically rhey should have won the all oreland last year. Just read back on this fourm. Post after post of excuse after excuse"
I think you need to back to school first. Pathetic post!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 24/03/2024 13:33:45    2533039

Same story from Roscommon all the time, talk the talk but can't walk the walk. They try to act hard but cry when teams stand up to them.

Neartheborder (Derry) - Posts: 56 - 24/03/2024 13:42:45    2533041

Replying To Neartheborder:  "Same story from Roscommon all the time, talk the talk but can't walk the walk. They try to act hard but cry when teams stand up to them."
Squeaky bum time as both Galway and Roscommon trailing at half time

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 24/03/2024 14:25:58    2533046

Replying To Neartheborder:  "Same story from Roscommon all the time, talk the talk but can't walk the walk. They try to act hard but cry when teams stand up to them."
100% hardest fans to listen to in the country

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:08:02    2533064

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "From Derry, to Galway to Clare, your travelling the country looking for that second brain cell. No sign of you finding it anytime soon."
Yeah some people in other counties travel ans move for work. Nz oz Canada Belfast Dublin clare galway. Its tough being in demand. I like roscommon though, tinder is amazing due to rossie men wearing body warmers and only talking football.....90% of my matches are rossie ones so cheers for that

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:10:12    2533069

Replying To moros:  "I think you need to back to school first. Pathetic post!"
Ha ha hero. Correcting my typos while making that ine yourself. Smart boy lol

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:10:56    2533070

This b team is doing well lol

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:11:44    2533072

Looks like promtion to D1 will be between Cavan, Monaghan and Roscommon. Roscommon and Monaghan will be slight favourites.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 24/03/2024 15:13:01    2533077