Galway Football thread

Galway are better than Meath. So were Dublin and Kerry until they weren't. Meath by 3!!

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 168 - 23/06/2025 14:03:48    2620307

Replying To winatallcost:  "This poster is quite touchy southmeathgael. Very upset with how I ranked Galway but my rankings were based statistically on how the competition was so far. The only move after the weekends action from what I see is that Galway move from 9th down to 8th best team in All-Ireland series so far. Who knows they may be in top 4 after next weekend but I am just basing my rankings on what I have seen so far. There is very little between most teams. Think Armagh and Tyrone will have too much for Kerry and Dublin respectively while other two ties are every matched and depend on how sides perform on the day."
Why would Meath Galway be evenly matched, when it's 3rd seed against 8th seed? Do you see the inconsistency? Your analysis is losing credibility here. Either update your seedings, or explain why your match forecasts aren't in line with your latest publicised seed listing.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4247 - 23/06/2025 14:09:25    2620312

Replying To Scantermediate69:  "meith are possibly the worst team to get into quarter final since Leitrim 94.

galway learning every game. win connacht, 1 point loss to dublin, draw against derry, beat AI champs.

I will leave you with one word:

PADRAIG JOYCE 2001"
Leitrim were not in a quarter final in 1994.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4247 - 23/06/2025 14:24:50    2620316

Replying To Scantermediate69:  "meith are possibly the worst team to get into quarter final since Leitrim 94.

galway learning every game. win connacht, 1 point loss to dublin, draw against derry, beat AI champs.

PADRAIG JOYCE 2001"
I wouldn't be going down that road. It sounds like a 'he said she said' argument. Both teams here on merit. Meath see this as a big opportunity. And why wouldn't day given they have been off the top table for many years. It was only a matter of time before a Meath or a Kildare would start being really competitive again. Population etc haloing along plus addressing structures to make underage more competitive. We also see this as an opportunity to try and make up for recent final losses. Our guys cannot do much more and have serious resilience. I am hopeful we can get over the line next weekend.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 23/06/2025 14:26:04    2620319

On 29th June last year, Galway beat Dublin in the quarter final and many Galway supporters ended up at the Saw Doctors concert down the road in Fairview Park.
What are the chances of both teams playing again on Saturday night (Galway v Meath & Dublin v Tyrone) and some Galway supporters heading again to the Saw Doctors concert in Fairview Park on Saturday night.
If that does occur there will be some traffic on the M1 on Sunday with Donegal, Monaghan and Armagh supporters.
Can't see the Dubs and Armagh games being played on the same day so it will be interesting to see how it pans out. Jim's rant may pay off (Don't think it should!) and Galway might loose out with a 6 day turn around.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 765 - 23/06/2025 14:34:58    2620323

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Why would Meath Galway be evenly matched, when it's 3rd seed against 8th seed? Do you see the inconsistency? Your analysis is losing credibility here. Either update your seedings, or explain why your match forecasts aren't in line with your latest publicised seed listing."
It's quater final stage, so any of the top 8 here could beat each other on their day. Do you not agree? Donegal 5th overcame Louth 10th without fuss when they got motoring and a Conless Dublin 6th got over an Cork in 11th. Hardly a surprise that Galway 9th just scrapped over Down 8th. The result was in the balance and Down were deservedly just about rated higher than Galway before throw in. As I said, only change is that Gaiway jump one from 9th to 8th but of course if they win next weekend they will be in top 4.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 709 - 23/06/2025 14:58:18    2620336

Replying To systematic:  "Dublin at 50% might as well have been a different team! Meath will finish 2025 with no titles to show poor showing in Leinster final and ****** out of the QFs.
Oh but at least ye beat Dublin..."
A true gael

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1016 - 23/06/2025 15:27:55    2620361

Replying To smallfrank:  "I'm very relaxed. Just spent last week reading posts from Donegal people for some strange reason and based on today it looks like you're here for the week too. I like to hear what the Galway view is that's all"
That's fair, but reading the likes of "systematic " maybe an outside view not the end of the world is all

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1016 - 23/06/2025 15:54:23    2620374

Replying To JahTribe:  "I would respect Meath lads, they have pedigree and tradition but lacking in experience but they are a work in progress. To get to the QF and a chance at a semi is a fair years work for them. The loss to Louth in Croker will be the one PJ will be looking at as Louth have certainly not shot the lights out since. I am hopeful that our strenght, forward line and experience will get us over Meath but it is an All-Ireland QF and its there to be won on the pitch not on paper."
Agree,I think your experience might tell in the end.A few of our young lads didn't perform as well as they had and have been doing v Louth.I think playing in front of 65 thousand might have affected them a bit.My hope is now they will go back to croke park and perform and show their true form.Galway rightly favourites and if they click will be hard bet but yee haven't been firing on all cylinders this year but were impressive in parts v Down but also sloppy as well.Your middle sector is strong and that is a bit of a worry for us but im hoping yee dont click v us and we preform to our best and we should be in with a shout.There is no pressure on us really and as underdogs we seem to play better.Maybe a bit of pressure on yee after missing out last year but will croker bring the best out of yee?No matter what happens on Sunday it's been a good year for us finally a bit of fight and light after so many years.Really looking forward to it and may the best team win.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 378 - 23/06/2025 16:01:47    2620378

Replying To winatallcost:  "Derry haven't won a match all year not to mention they were relegated to Div. 2. Agree Cavan were poor while Louth didn't perform in All Ireland series. Armagh were already through which had a big bearing on their 2nd half performance.
The competition has the best 8 teams left, nobody can argue with that. Galway very fortunate to be there and were the ones that struggled through the weekend too but seems straightforward in all they have to do is stop a Meath team that happened to beat Dublin and Kerry on off days from shooting! Dublin and Kerry just let Meath shoot and threw in the towel. Also Meath didn't even beat Roscommon so you are giving them too much credit!"
Sorry when did Galway struggle at the weekend?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 804 - 23/06/2025 16:20:23    2620390

Replying To southmeathgael:  "That's fair, but reading the likes of "systematic " maybe an outside view not the end of the world is all"
I'm only having a laugh as you said yourself!

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 206 - 23/06/2025 16:22:21    2620392

PADRAIG JOYCE 2001"
Couple of points here-
1) There were no quarters in 94'. First quarter finals were when the back door was introduced in 2001- so count yourself lucky to have been in that final.
2) ''Meith'' is spelt Meath
3) You clearly have no idea what your talking about.
4) There is some serious arrogance here from some Galway folk, would have thought you were better.
You, along with plenty others seem very sore for some reason, no idea why.
looking forward to Sunday, may the best team win.

Martinr5399 (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 23/06/2025 16:22:49    2620393

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Why would Meath Galway be evenly matched, when it's 3rd seed against 8th seed? Do you see the inconsistency? Your analysis is losing credibility here. Either update your seedings, or explain why your match forecasts aren't in line with your latest publicised seed listing."
They surely have as good a chance as Galway had of beating Dublin in last years quarter final? New rules bring a bit less predictability too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 23/06/2025 16:27:08    2620395

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sorry when did Galway struggle at the weekend?"
Hmmm conceded 3-21, goalkeeper caught out for time-wasting and almost let a 10 pt lead at HT slip against a relegated Div. 2 team just up from Tailteann Cup last year. Sorry I may be reading into yesterday all wrong.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 709 - 23/06/2025 16:48:44    2620413

Replying To winatallcost:  "Hmmm conceded 3-21, goalkeeper caught out for time-wasting and almost let a 10 pt lead at HT slip against a relegated Div. 2 team just up from Tailteann Cup last year. Sorry I may be reading into yesterday all wrong."
I thought we played pretty well yesterday in general. Despite perceived kickout struggles at times, we actually won quite a few more kickouts than Down. The call for time-wasting on Flaherty was very harsh. I watched it back last night and the Down keeper actually took longer with a few his own kickouts, but wasn't called for it.
There was a very strong wind in Newry, so the 10 point lead was never going to last. We did however stay ahead for the whole second half and got good scores to curb their momentum whenever they closed the gap.
We had the lead back to 6 with just over a minute left. A late goal and two-pointer after the footer brought the scoreline a bit closer.
Both teams just went at it yesterday, which led to a very exciting open game.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2405 - 23/06/2025 17:18:04    2620436

Hard to digest yesterday's game when the attention is already on the next one up. Think PJ summed it up well in one of the post match interviews, overall a good 70 minute performance but still conceding too much. We can't keep relying on the forwards to outscore the opposition even with the new rules making it easier up front.

Meath beat Dublin and Kerry on merit and can't be taken for granted. Our kickout "strategy" needs refining ahead of Sunday for sure regardless of who's in goal, looked lost at sea at times during the second half yesterday.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 61 - 23/06/2025 17:28:49    2620442

Replying To Martinr5399:  "Couple of points here-
1) There were no quarters in 94'. First quarter finals were when the back door was introduced in 2001- so count yourself lucky to have been in that final.
2) ''Meith'' is spelt Meath
3) You clearly have no idea what your talking about.
4) There is some serious arrogance here from some Galway folk, would have thought you were better.
You, along with plenty others seem very sore for some reason, no idea why.
looking forward to Sunday, may the best team win."
We are a little annoyed as we have been plagued by stupid people from Donegal and Mayo the last few weeks on this thread thinking they can wind us up and waste our time. When a few Meath people that were similarly disingenuous wound up here we told them to kindly fuck off.
I personally may have been a little harsh but there is no sense in coming on another counties thread and spewing shite as we have enough shite spewers on here.
No issue at all with genuine Meath people just an issue with people on here trying to wind us up.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 206 - 23/06/2025 17:29:44    2620444

I don't think any half knowledgable Galway football people are feeling anyways arrogant or over confident about anything! We're abundantly aware that a lot has to improve at the back to make us competitive now that we're down to the last 8. Meath rightly showed up Dublin's and Kerry's over confidence going into those games. Deserved wins with plenty of brilliant attacking play from real quality players like Costello, Freyne, Kinsella, Conlon (who's gone for the season I think), Duke, Menton and Caulfield.
Robbie Brennan has instilled massive belief in his squad. He will be priming these fellas to hit us with a whirlwind start, like they did against the Dubs. He'll be reckoning an early lead for them would rattle us and we won't be able to reel them in after the campaign to date and the space in Croke Park. We don't need a crystal ball to know Brennan will have them heavily target our restarts (can we please sort this for croker!). Brennan will also likely flood the middle and target our transition defence as we're being seen as vulnerable up the middle and too slow when retreating into shape to face counterattacks. We have to get to grips with this weakness. It's addressable. We've been scraping through game after game and have to stop shipping scores so easily. This is the business end now and we need to protect that D and relentlessly hound the arc shooters like our lives depended on it. We have to step up another gear and lay down a marker now in Croke Park. A few days homework ahead. Exciting times! Bring it on….

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1076 - 23/06/2025 17:51:56    2620455