Galway Football thread

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ah here what in the name of Jesus game we're you at? The ref nearly cost us the game. Couldn't buy a free. Comer dived into one of our players and got a free. Harney was dragged back while through on goal early no free. Smith same in second half should have been a peno or a free in. Taught he was very poor but find it hilarious you think Galway were hard done by."
I would not be over sensitive about it. No one disputes Ros were the better team. Maybe we fouled more. I don't know but ye getting 8 scores from frees and us only 3 from frees tells a certain story. Marginal decisions they say balance out. I would need a another re watch but on first viewing it just appeared ye got some frees of the soft variety. Anyway it is done and dusted and both teams achieved the objective of promotion. All about championship now.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 04/04/2022 08:53:01    2409422

In recent years, Mayo have had poor League campaigns only to perform much better in the championship.

They have to plenty to work on but have an established set up and competent management team in place to learn from their mistakes yesterday.

Can anyone really say the same about Galway right now?

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 427 - 04/04/2022 09:03:51    2409424

If PJ and Scan don't get it right in Castlebar its curtains for them. What's worrying is there does not seem to be an obvious heir apparent and conroy will definitely retire and we will be really goosed.

Hopefully it won't come to that and we can catch a depleted Mayo on the hop in there backyard.

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 04/04/2022 09:57:38    2409432

Is there anything to be said for bringing back Kevin Walsh as manager?

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 04/04/2022 10:02:32    2409435

Replying To kiloughter:  "I would not be over sensitive about it. No one disputes Ros were the better team. Maybe we fouled more. I don't know but ye getting 8 scores from frees and us only 3 from frees tells a certain story. Marginal decisions they say balance out. I would need a another re watch but on first viewing it just appeared ye got some frees of the soft variety. Anyway it is done and dusted and both teams achieved the objective of promotion. All about championship now."
Ref balanced it out and to be honest some of our tackling was poor. I think it was 9 steps or so for the Roscommon goal which was disappointing.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1687 - 04/04/2022 10:07:08    2409436

Plenty of positives yesterday and yes plenty to work on. Conceding scorable frees was very frustrating but our lads fought to the finish and were a bit unlucky. 22 points in Croke Park was excellent. Division 1 objective achieved. Congrats to all. Especially Paul Conroy.

Gaillimh Abu.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 04/04/2022 10:18:48    2409440

Replying To kiloughter:  "I would not be over sensitive about it. No one disputes Ros were the better team. Maybe we fouled more. I don't know but ye getting 8 scores from frees and us only 3 from frees tells a certain story. Marginal decisions they say balance out. I would need a another re watch but on first viewing it just appeared ye got some frees of the soft variety. Anyway it is done and dusted and both teams achieved the objective of promotion. All about championship now."
Need to watch it again myself also to be fair. But on numerous occasions i felt we were fouled and didn't get calls. The two most obvious were Harney been pulled back Conroy when he went to shoot in the first half that keeper saved. That was a ridiculous decision. Smith in second half for goal chance too. Anyway its over and was good work out for both teams. Good to see Walsh back the wild rumours that were going around about him must be untrue. If so who ever spreads the likes of that about anyone is an effin disgrace.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1207 - 04/04/2022 10:45:44    2409446

Replying To FallenStar:  "In recent years, Mayo have had poor League campaigns only to perform much better in the championship.

They have to plenty to work on but have an established set up and competent management team in place to learn from their mistakes yesterday.

Can anyone really say the same about Galway right now?"
Apart from the 'plenty to work on' bit.............no.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4141 - 04/04/2022 11:02:05    2409450

The most disappointing aspect is that the game was played in Summer-like conditions on a dry sod which would normally suit pacy young players that Galway are supposed to have in abundance, yet the MOTM was 32 year old (33 next month) Paul Conroy who undoubtedly has been a class player and leader for 15 years now since leading the minors to victory in 2007. There is definitely something wrong there. The S&C and fitness are not up to scratch either as many of the Galway players were too easily dispossessed, could not tackle effectively or were turned over / brushed aside like kids at a playground..

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/04/2022 11:06:25    2409452

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Is there anything to be said for bringing back Kevin Walsh as manager?"
Is there anything to be said for saying another mass!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/04/2022 11:10:36    2409455

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Is there anything to be said for bringing back Kevin Walsh as manager?"
Not at this point. All focus is on the championship now. If that doesn't go well, then we most likely will be looking for a new management team.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 04/04/2022 11:13:43    2409457

Replying To FallenStar:  "In recent years, Mayo have had poor League campaigns only to perform much better in the championship.

Can anyone really say the same about Galway right now?"
I'd say we are the only two that see this whole charade for what it is..
In 3 years, this management have failed in the following
1. Get a reliable goalkeeper
2. Work on a kickout strategy.
3. Get a full back line .
4. Work on a defensive plan.
5. Get two midfielders to compete with Conroy.
6. Get at least two scoring forwards to work alongside Comer and Walsh that won't go missing on the big days.
7. Work on conditioning , .
8. Have a team that's works together, not as individuals.

We are still at least 7 players short of competing with average teams never mind the kerry s of this world.
I see a defeat in Castlebar definitely. Horan will correct the mistakes of yesterday and they have at least 5 top players to come back.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2022 11:16:01    2409459

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Plenty of positives yesterday and yes plenty to work on. Conceding scorable frees was very frustrating but our lads fought to the finish and were a bit unlucky. 22 points in Croke Park was excellent. Division 1 objective achieved. Congrats to all. Especially Paul Conroy.

Gaillimh Abu."
Congrats to all?? Ffs we were beaten by the Rossies twice in a week and your congratuling them...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2022 11:19:44    2409462

Just watched it back
Flaherty, good and confident but 2 bad ones in the first half. I blame the moment or lack of. Not sure about injury.
Molloy, not suited to marking a finisher and has no ball carrying threat(his strenght) where he is currently.
Fitzgerald, good prospect but was all over the shop yesterday. Couple of early fouls and mistakes didn't help.
Glynn, battled hard but definitely affected by the belt he got.
Silke, another guy that didn't start well and didn't seem to be able to get into it.
Daly, he had a good first half, Kickout option and plays with the head up. They came down the middle a few times in the second half, need him fit.
O'Laoi, battled away hard, deserved his score, one of the few that actually seemed up for it.
Kelly, very quiet, maybe targeted but as our key man he should expect this. Needed closer to goal I'm afraid(our goal!)
Conroy, not only scorer but worked very hard, not sure about all this talk(even frome me) about him not having the legs.
Heaney, just couldn't get into it, great score, not sure of his best position.
Daly, was never going to have the same impact but to be fair to him doesn't look out of place when carrying the ball. His work rate without the ball and all of the forwards really caused us problems.
Tierney. I'm a fan but this wasn't a good day, very poor work rate same as above which put the backs under pressure.
Finnerty. Always seems to miss a handy one but showed well. Not sure he's a certain starter.
Comer. Did well, looks fit, took on his man(no other option). Needs clear instruction against Mayo.
Conneely, was unlucky with the shot. Not sure he's a certain starter either but definitely has ability. As a unit the FF line didn't really gel or work.

Walsh, looked good. mind him and get him right for 3 weeks.
McLaoughlin, big impact, must be doing OK in training.
Gleeson, not the answer but no hope with the goal.
Gill, got stuck in and honest as the day is long.
McGrath, did OK, def one for the future.
Patrick Kelly, on at the end, one wide.

We missed McHugh and Paul Kelly, they will cover ground and track runners. The one thing we didn't do yesterday.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 506 - 04/04/2022 11:20:44    2409464

Replying To Belclare:  "I'd say we are the only two that see this whole charade for what it is..
6. Get at least two scoring forwards to work alongside Comer and Walsh that won't go missing on the big days.

We are still at least 7 players short of competing with average teams never mind the kerry s of this world.
I see a defeat in Castlebar definitely. Horan will correct the mistakes of yesterday and they have at least 5 top players to come back."
Could you be any broader with your insights ?

Get a defensive plan.....

The co.board should slingshot you into the managers position right now !

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 04/04/2022 11:43:03    2409476

Replying To Belclare:  "I'd say we are the only two that see this whole charade for what it is..

I see a defeat in Castlebar definitely. Horan will correct the mistakes of yesterday and they have at least 5 top players to come back."
They have a new young goalkeeper who has only started and saved them from being beaten by alot more yesterday.They played more cohesively when Shane Walsh came on.They only lost by a point with Roscommon playing very well and us not so well.These are young players and watching the tribute to Red Og Murphy at the end of Sunday Game last night and thinking about how his family must feel puts this game in perspective.He played with and against some of the Galway lads only a couple of weeks ago in Sigerson.Stop with all the negativity.Its not all rosy in the garden but definitely not as bad as you make it out to be.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 431 - 04/04/2022 11:49:18    2409478

Replying To BLT:  "Could you be any broader with your insights ?

Get a defensive plan.....

The co.board should slingshot you into the managers position right now !"
We're wide open down the middle..
Lads filling space..
Look whatever if you want to be smart but it's as plain as anything with the massive hurling scores we've conceded in every game..
2 17 Cork.
3 10 Offaly
1 20 Roscommon
1 20 Roscommon.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2022 12:01:53    2409484

The new young goalkeeper saved them from being beaten by more yesterday.Bar going out and catching his own kickouts what more could he do? That's what I like about Mayo.Rob Hennelly was the villain a few years ago but James Horan stuck with him and gave him confidence and now he is one of their top performers.These are young players gaining experience.The negativity here is astounding.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 431 - 04/04/2022 12:06:49    2409485

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "The new young goalkeeper saved them from being beaten by more yesterday.Bar going out and catching his own kickouts what more could he do? That's what I like about Mayo.Rob Hennelly was the villain a few years ago but James Horan stuck with him and gave him confidence and now he is one of their top performers.These are young players gaining experience.The negativity here is astounding."
He did in fairness, but I'm talking over three years it has taken joyce until now in year three and Flaherty will get his championship debut (maybe) this year..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2022 13:08:07    2409505

Replying To smallfrank:  "Just watched it back
Flaherty, good and confident but 2 bad ones in the first half. I blame the moment or lack of. Not sure about injury.
Molloy, not suited to marking a finisher and has no ball carrying threat(his strenght) where he is currently.
Fitzgerald, good prospect but was all over the shop yesterday. Couple of early fouls and mistakes didn't help.
Glynn, battled hard but definitely affected by the belt he got.
Silke, another guy that didn't start well and didn't seem to be able to get into it.
Daly, he had a good first half, Kickout option and plays with the head up. They came down the middle a few times in the second half, need him fit.
O'Laoi, battled away hard, deserved his score, one of the few that actually seemed up for it.
Kelly, very quiet, maybe targeted but as our key man he should expect this. Needed closer to goal I'm afraid(our goal!)
Conroy, not only scorer but worked very hard, not sure about all this talk(even frome me) about him not having the legs.
Heaney, just couldn't get into it, great score, not sure of his best position.
Daly, was never going to have the same impact but to be fair to him doesn't look out of place when carrying the ball. His work rate without the ball and all of the forwards really caused us problems.
Tierney. I'm a fan but this wasn't a good day, very poor work rate same as above which put the backs under pressure.
Finnerty. Always seems to miss a handy one but showed well. Not sure he's a certain starter.
Comer. Did well, looks fit, took on his man(no other option). Needs clear instruction against Mayo.
Conneely, was unlucky with the shot. Not sure he's a certain starter either but definitely has ability. As a unit the FF line didn't really gel or work.

Walsh, looked good. mind him and get him right for 3 weeks.
McLaoughlin, big impact, must be doing OK in training.
Gleeson, not the answer but no hope with the goal.
Gill, got stuck in and honest as the day is long.
McGrath, did OK, def one for the future.
Patrick Kelly, on at the end, one wide.

We missed McHugh and Paul Kelly, they will cover ground and track runners. The one thing we didn't do yesterday."
very good post and spot on...
if we get our team selection correct in 3 weeks plus have everyone fit and well we have a chance..
we need to play a sweeper..end of story..
we where wide open at the back..

the best corner back in county is colin murray..no sign of him.
billy Mannion excellent at full back for mountbellew last year..
neither have gotten game time...
darragh silke best corner forward in county champ last year..no sign of him or brian mannion .
these are they type of players who can make a difference on the score board..
dylan canney should of started at 11 yesterday.,he can score and create..not even on the 26.

yesterday we finished with conroy., macloughlin ( looks the real deal )
.,tierney and patrick kelly..practially all midfield
players..dont get me wrong all very good players but did we need all these types of players
on the field at the one go..

for me conroy is pivitol to us..what a leader he is.,outstanding display yesterday..he'd walk onto
any team in the country so id actually start him at 11 for the mayo game as we need him on the field
for the full 70.,

kieron molloy i felt sorry for yesterday..brill player and had a solid league campaign..
got roasted but he's not a corner back..
johnny heaney not a 12.
sean fitzgerald not a 7..
niall daly not a 11 but with work one for the future at midfield.
balance and shape of the team was all wrong..

why was, mcwalter gallagher and paul kelly not introduced..natural wing forwards!!!

young flaherty had a tough day yesterday but will learn from it..looks a bit over weight for a goalie.
pj said he'll be fine for 3 weeks.

i do believe the players are there but are the best players getting picked in there natural positions.!!
its not all doom and gloom we still have achieved our main objective with promotion.,but old
failings came back to haunt us yesterday..
our defence needs serious work in the next 2 and a half weeks otherwise the mayo lads will stroll
passed us..
the kick out strategy needs alot of work too.,im not sure who's over that department..
we lose too many breaking balls around the middle.,serious lack of aggression and work rate there..

in fairness to the players they kicked 20 points from play.,got no scoreable frees and where unlucky
with some very hard calls.,
in previous years if a galway team went 6 down midway through the second half the heads would drop
and we'd be bet by 10..yesterday they didnt do that..played great stuff to kick 7 on the spin and showed
some bottle..full marks in that regard to the players.

yesterday i felt was a poor day for the management.,but lets hope they learn from it..
serious pressure on them as if we dont put in a strong performance v mayo., till be a short summer.
and prob the end of the road for the management,

looking forward to the u-20 game wednesday eve.,hope to see a good galway crowd there..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 267 - 04/04/2022 13:16:34    2409510