Totally agree Preliminary Quater Finals should go completely which would lead to Semi Finals & Final played earlier and with better ground conditions. Black&White26 (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 23/09/2025 13:58:32 2637190 Link 2 |
The 4 semi finalists should be the only ones seeded. I don't agree with the top 8 because that would favour the bigger teams and I think that would put a bigger divide between the top 8 and bottom 8. At the end of the day its the luck of the draw. The format we have at the minute is grand. Alot of teams had alot to play for when it came to the 3rd round. I admit there has been a few hammerings in this years championship but it did come down to the last games to decide the group as who tops places 1 2 and 3rd in the group and who went down into relegation. On another note just wondering will the county board confirm what teams are going to be what grades in 2026. Senior intermediate and junior have sorted themselves out but would love to know what teams are going to be in the reeves Cup, junior A all the way down to junior F. Just curious to see if its gonna be 12 all the way down or will it be different number of teams in each grade. Off_the_post (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 23/09/2025 19:01:02 2637224 Link 1 |
Senior Championship next year should be 4 groups of 4 with the top 2 teams to the quarter finals and get rid of this rubbish of preliminary quarter finals. Bottom 4 teams into relegation. John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 24/09/2025 07:30:19 2637253 Link 1 |
Completely agree find the pre lim QF a waste and unnecessary. Top 2 straight through to QFs way to go Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 421 - 24/09/2025 09:18:17 2637260 Link 2 |
Tommies finished 3rd and are now in a quater finals and castlegar nearly took sarsfields scalp at the weekend. I know where ye are coming from as a less round means county final 2 weeks earlier better pitches plus favours the teams that finish top of their groups as they don't have the month off and won't lose their momentum. I think people can give out about the preliminary quater finals but maybe it will change in time but for the foreseable future they are here to stay and I reckon alot of players and clubs are happy for them to stay. But the day they do go and this is just my opinion I think the stronger teams will get stronger and there will be an even bigger gap and that will not be good for development. Off_the_post (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 24/09/2025 10:51:50 2637273 Link 1 |
Playing it that way would ruin the integrity of the group stage matches. In the last round of matches this year i think nearly every team had something to play for on the last day which makes for great watching and entertainment. If only two teams came out of the group and say for instance 2 teams were battling for 2nd place but one team were playing against a team already out of the championship on the last day and had nothing to play for would ruin the integrity of it. Players, management and clubs want matches and opportunities and i dont think anyone would lost the weekend would turn around and say we would have been better off without playing a prem county quater final. Larkins are now in a quater final after finishing 3rd in their group and won convincingly, and castlegar put sars to the pin of their collar and drove them to extra time. Why fix something thats not broken?
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 24/09/2025 23:40:01 2637356 Link 2 |
Other side of that argument is what good did it do Killimorday or Moycullen getting hammered by 17pts and 13pts respectively in the pre-lims ? No one is right or wrong here - it's just our opinions. John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 25/09/2025 09:06:34 2637368 Link 1 |
Serious U20 Final last night between Loughrea and Oranmore/Maree. Loughrea are 6 points up with 7 minutes normal time remaining. StreamSport have the last 15 minutes up on the Galway GAA Facebook page. ref (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 25/09/2025 11:59:17 2637397 Link 1 |
There isnt really a other side to the argument when larkins are now in a quater final after finishing 3rd. 4 teams got a opportunity after finishing 3rd to stay in the championship and get to a quater final. One team took that opportunity. And to your " what good is it to them" this is senior championship knockout hurling its dog eat dog, do you think killimordaly or moycullen would have given walkovers to the prem qf if they had the opportunity? No chance
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 27/09/2025 15:47:36 2637648 Link 3 |
Im predicting Craughwell,turlough,Thomas's,clairnbridge to win senior games Tubeyou (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 02/10/2025 18:12:37 2638288 Link 1 |
Are games at risk with weather and pitches? I say the games on saturday very much could be pulled?
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 421 - 02/10/2025 21:27:05 2638305 Link 1 |
Wouldn't agree, the more teams that have something to play for the better, keeps things interesting and keeps teams interested and honest. Getting rid of the PQF can lead to more dead rubbers given that the group schedules are laid out now, and who wants dead rubbers? I don't see the harm in keeping them. Plus it equalises things, finishing third in a rotten group should give you an opportunity against a team finishing third in a softer group. Keeps meritocracy in place and reduces the luck of the draw. The cream should always rise to the top where possible. I know you didn't make the case but the idea that the PQF should be eliminated due to weather concerns alone (as I've seen elsewhere ) is hilarious to me, it can rain on any weekend of the year in Ireland FGS Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 962 - 02/10/2025 21:47:58 2638306 Link 1 |
Can't wait to see this Loughrea Clarinbridge game. Pity it's a quarter final as there is no doubt these on paper are two of the best club teams in the country. Fascinating to see what Loughrea do to counteract the Clarinbridge half back line with Gavin Lee, TJ Brennan and Dylan Dunne. Who on the Loughrea side picks up Aaron Niland, who has five goals scored in the group stages? Evan Niland and Joshua Ryan going well for the Bridge in that middle third. Can Loughrea get their full team on the field? A forward line with McManus, Shaughnessy, Jamie Ryan, Cullen Killeen, Tiernan Killeen and Vince Morgan would be savage. Serious amount of intercounty players on the field for that game. galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 1008 - 02/10/2025 22:43:04 2638312 Link 1 |
Senor QF Turloughmore, St Thomas ',Clarinbridge and sarsfields katser (Galway) - Posts: 2732 - 03/10/2025 14:07:21 2638364 Link 1 |
Fair play. I agree with all except Loughrea will beat the Bridge. SouthGalway (Galway) - Posts: 48 - 03/10/2025 17:06:19 2638386 Link 0 |
The weather to destroy what promised to be some intriguing games at this stage of the Championship. Black&White26 (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 04/10/2025 09:37:19 2638410 Link 1 |
Mighty to see Sean Linnane back on the field today. Craughwell were the better team against Sarsfields, should have won the game in normal time really. galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 1008 - 04/10/2025 18:18:48 2638441 Link 1 |
I didn't suggest getting rid of the PQFs. Just said that neutral fans likely wouldn't miss them. I agree that when you see 3rd placed Larkins knocking off Athenry by 12pts or so in a PQF, it makes a strong case for this round of PQF fixtures, and more than likely improves the overall standard of the last 8.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4426 - 04/10/2025 19:11:04 2638456 Link 1 |
With the prevailing weather conditions Loughrea will be hard to beat for sure but I really dont know why they are odds on favourites to beat Clarinbridge. I'm going for the Bridge to win and will have a few quid at the 7/4 being offered on them. I imagine a record was created today in the Sarsfields vs Craughwell match. I doubt it has ever happened before, and may never happen again, that FOUR of the management team of one of the sides (Craughwell) were issued with straight red cards. The funny thing is i thought the referee had a good game officiating the actual game. Guess there must have been some directive given by the County Board to have zero tolerance of any dissent or backchat from the sideline. PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2081 - 04/10/2025 21:10:28 2638473 Link 1 |
Hopefully Ciaran Leen's injury is not serious enough to rule him out of the semi final for Craughwell. Scored two sideline cuts into the breeze today and took his goal really nicely. Super talent for an 18 year old. galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 1008 - 04/10/2025 21:39:55 2638477 Link 1 |