Galway Hurling thread

Saw enough from Galway in the first half (wides issue aside which can and will improve)to suggest they're going to be a handful for anyone this summer. They're my pick for Leinster before yesterday and are still so provided Conor whelan's injury isn't too serious as he's a massive player for ye much like chin is for wexford .

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 17/04/2022 10:20:59    2411276

Replying To rhudson:  "Galway going nowhere unless theres a major improvement
Conor Cooney on the frees will cost us
We have to be more ruthless
Because Killkenny wont spare us thats for sure"
the best free taker in the county is niland..
to be fair i thought conor improved as the game went on but tired after 60 mins.
i thought from one to nine we where quiet solid and very good under the high ball.
the problem we have is we dont have enough forwards and our bench make zero impact.
it looked way of the pace when introduced..

im not sure what eanna burke has to do to get a game..
one of the best club hurlers in the county and can score from anywhere..

im expecting to see tiernan kileen and lee to see more game time next week which will
rule them out of the under 20's. both still only 18. there very very young for senior hurling.

we wont see whelan or glennon back for the rest of the leinster championship..
also flynn had a setback in his recovery so we wont see him this year.
very unlikely to see shane cooney back now too..
maybe the qualifer if we get 3rd place..
think the game v dublin in round 5 will determine who gets 3rd.

for next week id move mannion to 11.
cooney to 14.
start eanna burke at 10.
niland to 15.
start hastings at 12.

i think he'll stick with the full back line but maybe bring in tj brennan/jack fitz/kileen to half back line
and possibly rest one if not two of the half backs..maybe fintan and p.mannion to come on..

easy enough to see what we needs to look at this week and try and fix.
shooting and second half performance.

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 17/04/2022 10:27:16    2411278

I think we need to park the Wexford discussion. How they think they have any chance of progressing, based on yesterdays performance is beyond me.

There was a lot of encouragement to be taken out of yesterday overall. Speedy recovery to Whelan, it'll be great to have Flynn and others back.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 17/04/2022 10:31:46    2411279

Replying To updwell:  "Are people outside Galway not allowed to comment on Galway. The match is live on TV and the only game on. I'm sure plenty of people outside Limerick and Cork will have comments on our game tomorrow. Anyway that's beside the point Galway should have won but Whelans injury and playing with 7 defenders gave the initiative to Wexford. Expecting a 19 year old to win ball on his own against the likes of O'Hanlon and Ryan wasn't fair on him and gave Galway no out ball while Galway subs hardly touched the ball. Looking at Dublin hanging on tonight both teams should be good enough to get out of Leinster."
All welcome here excepting smug-faced pontificators from Limerick, like yourself! ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 17/04/2022 10:46:56    2411281

Yesterday confirmed a few things about Galway currently.
We have a pretty good first 15, but we're very light after that. There isn't enough depth to the panel. Any injuries will hurt us even greater than most teams as a result.
We were well on top for most of the first half and should have been much further ahead at half-time. There was always a sense that it would come back to bite us, as we don't have the bench to push us on late in games.
We're incredibly reliant on Conor Whelan inside. He does the work of a few forwards and this inevitably takes its toll.
We got what we deserved yesterday. There's plenty hard work ahead. The Galway public really need to come out and support this team, especially for our home games.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 17/04/2022 10:48:36    2411282

Replying To Waveitwide:  "If's and's buts and maybe's.After missing the chance of a goal from a penalty Murphy pucked the ball straight out to a Wexford player and he put it over the bar,was that point the losing of the game,no.Did Concannon take 8 steps,yes was he fouled and given advantage after 4 I think he was.Did McDonald pick the ball off the ground as people are claiming for his goal I think he didn't.O'Connor had a poor game and because of this Grealish fouled him all afternoon.One second difference in the time allowed for the last 2 frees it cost us the win and allowed Wexford the draw.Was Cooney told to hurry up and take the free,which he should have been.The referee is not going to get every decision right,he was described on sky as a 32 year old up and coming referee,but I thought he was poor at times.We want good hard hurling and we got it yesterday,and I don't think any challenge warranted a red card in yesterday's match.Unless hawkeye and a video ref are brought in to the game it is hard to blame the man in the middle,and that is not going to happen any time soon.Sniping from all corners is at an all time high here,but worse of all was listening to Nicky English bias but what could you expect when his own county man is managing a team playing Galway.When he was taking the frees for Tipperary he would take longer fixing himself up than Conor Cooney took yesterday.Jamsie O'Connor then slating Joe Cooney for the missed goal opportunity and how cocky we were coming into yesterday's match,he would need to remember where he was born and bred.I hope this isn't going to be sky's type of analysis like it is in the premier league."
We debated all this last night over pints. At the end of the night we came up with poor decision making at key times from Galway, but the biggest one was Joe Cooney not the slipping the pass, it would have been good night and up the road with two points. Henry will have now seen our major issue first hand. Players not doing the right thing at the right time.

The next two weekends are massive for Galway GAA, Mayo away and Kilkenny at home the following week.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 720 - 17/04/2022 11:28:00    2411285

Came on for a nose at the Galway reaction. I am on holidays and was watching it but to me, Galway have nobody but themselves to blame for not finishing that match off. If Joe Cooney had given the ball to the man inside, the exits would have been busy straight after. A shocking amount of wides also, Wexford Park is hard to play in and I don't know how windy it was but top players should be able to deal with it, especially Galway who play in a windy ground themselves.

Blame the ref all you want but I think the above is why they lost. I thought the referee was harsh on Wexford and ROC was fouled throughout but players need to take responsibility as to why they don't win a match rather than pointing at the referee.

It had a first day feel to it overall, I expect both sides to improve and might meet in a Leinster Final.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/04/2022 12:51:20    2411295

I don't know where Rohan Glennon was for the match as he was clearly the best midfielder in the league. Young Fahy on the wing didn't offer much, very disappointing from Niland (he should be our free taker) C.Cooney, C Mannion and B Concannon were inconsistent and have alot more in them to offer.
Was happy enough with the backs...although they are not the quickest they are most certainly very physical strong men.
My motto is speed and skill for the forwards strength and meanness for the backs.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 17/04/2022 13:08:43    2411299

I think every Galway supporters (and even other county supporters) can agree that Conor Whelan is some warrior to keep taking the fight to the opposition with or without the ball even with 3 or 4 defenders hanging off him - a class player and I wish him a speedy recovery.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 17/04/2022 13:43:34    2411303

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Yesterday confirmed a few things about Galway currently.
We have a pretty good first 15, but we're very light after that. There isn't enough depth to the panel. Any injuries will hurt us even greater than most teams as a result.
We were well on top for most of the first half and should have been much further ahead at half-time. There was always a sense that it would come back to bite us, as we don't have the bench to push us on late in games.
We're incredibly reliant on Conor Whelan inside. He does the work of a few forwards and this inevitably takes its toll.
We got what we deserved yesterday. There's plenty hard work ahead. The Galway public really need to come out and support this team, especially for our home games."
A player the calibre for Conor Whelan, any team in the country would miss him terribly.

If we get Flynn, Glennon back we will be a different proposition again.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 17/04/2022 14:26:42    2411307

Replying To Waveitwide:  "If's and's buts and maybe's.After missing the chance of a goal from a penalty Murphy pucked the ball straight out to a Wexford player and he put it over the bar,was that point the losing of the game,no.Did Concannon take 8 steps,yes was he fouled and given advantage after 4 I think he was.Did McDonald pick the ball off the ground as people are claiming for his goal I think he didn't.O'Connor had a poor game and because of this Grealish fouled him all afternoon.One second difference in the time allowed for the last 2 frees it cost us the win and allowed Wexford the draw.Was Cooney told to hurry up and take the free,which he should have been.The referee is not going to get every decision right,he was described on sky as a 32 year old up and coming referee,but I thought he was poor at times.We want good hard hurling and we got it yesterday,and I don't think any challenge warranted a red card in yesterday's match.Unless hawkeye and a video ref are brought in to the game it is hard to blame the man in the middle,and that is not going to happen any time soon.Sniping from all corners is at an all time high here,but worse of all was listening to Nicky English bias but what could you expect when his own county man is managing a team playing Galway.When he was taking the frees for Tipperary he would take longer fixing himself up than Conor Cooney took yesterday.Jamsie O'Connor then slating Joe Cooney for the missed goal opportunity and how cocky we were coming into yesterday's match,he would need to remember where he was born and bred.I hope this isn't going to be sky's type of analysis like it is in the premier league."
Not a shock for English and O'Connor to have anti Galway bias even though O'Connor is half a Galway man (born and bred) and supposedly supported Galway when he was younger - most of it is jealousy that Galway are usually strong in both codes. English could have won 2 more AI's if Galway did not stand in his way in 87 / 88 so he is always like that from whenever I have heard him commentating. Most non Galway counties and more importantly referees have an anti Galway bias so its another obstacle for these players to overcome. The only commentator that doesn't seem to have this bias is Michael Duignan whose father is from Galway.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 17/04/2022 14:32:34    2411310

Replying To Viking66:  "Classic game of 2 halves. We were very poor 1st half. No intensity. No hunting in packs. No running into space. Poor pockets straight down on top of Galways big men. No forwards inside and our crowded midfield bypassed both ways. Better intensity 2nd half. Our subs, 3 of whom who probably should've started, swung it our way late on. Lee Chin gave us a massive lift. Great atmosphere at the game. All to play for going forward. I'm more confident we will both make the AI series now."
Maybe a game of 2 halves, but to use the word "classic" in any shape or form in relation to the game is incorrect. Brutal game, brutal skill level on both sides. Saved a tiny bit by the closeness and drama in the end. Neither side will be in the shake up.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 17/04/2022 14:44:30    2411315

Why do people think advantage allows a player to overcarry the ball. If advantage is bwing played and a player overvarries it goes back for the free. No discussiin or debatw on that.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 17/04/2022 15:48:38    2411327

Why do people think advantage allows a player to overcarry the ball. If advantage is bwing played and a player overvarries it goes back for the free. No discussiin or debatw on that.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 17/04/2022 15:52:29    2411329

Replying To anotheralias:  "Maybe a game of 2 halves, but to use the word "classic" in any shape or form in relation to the game is incorrect. Brutal game, brutal skill level on both sides. Saved a tiny bit by the closeness and drama in the end. Neither side will be in the shake up."
Did you watch Waterford and tipp?

We're both better than we thought yesterday.

Walsh Park is riddled with basic errors too

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2629 - 17/04/2022 15:56:32    2411331

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Did you watch Waterford and tipp?

We're both better than we thought yesterday.

Walsh Park is riddled with basic errors too"
Mistakes in that game too..agreed... but in general you coukd see that tipp and waterford are operating at a far superior level.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 17/04/2022 16:47:41    2411348

Yer wan Gránna Mcillwhine was egging up this type of 'analysis' afterwards too, and was heard to ask the daft question at one stage 'were Galway overconfident?'. What a daft notion, after the NHL campaign Galway put in this year, and the generally underwhelmed reaction of the Galway fanbase & the broader hurling fanbase to it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 17/04/2022 16:52:00    2411350

Replying To anotheralias:  "Why do people think advantage allows a player to overcarry the ball. If advantage is bwing played and a player overvarries it goes back for the free. No discussiin or debatw on that."
If he is fouled the advantage is to play on what do you want the player to do

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 17/04/2022 16:58:17    2411352

A couple of dodgy decisions cosy us the win. The free being overturned was ridiculous.

All that being said we shouldn't focus on the ref. Our forward line was atrocious. We couldn't win a ball in the second half and kept pucking it down on top of them.

Even the last play of the game, all we needed to do was take a short pick out and drive it dead.

Joseph Conney did some lovely hurling but I couldn't imagine a KK forward in their pomp ever not passing that ball.

It will be tough to qualify but if we can scrape through we should improve. Whelan is a huge loss.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 17/04/2022 17:42:53    2411364

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Yer wan Gránna Mcillwhine was egging up this type of 'analysis' afterwards too, and was heard to ask the daft question at one stage 'were Galway overconfident?'. What a daft notion, after the NHL campaign Galway put in this year, and the generally underwhelmed reaction of the Galway fanbase & the broader hurling fanbase to it."
In the last 5 championship matches we played over the last two seasons we won one and lost four of them. All to different opponents.

We had an indifferent 2022 league and were travelling to Wexford to play a championship game away from home.

Only an utter simpleton would begin to imagine 'overconfidence' had anything to do with yesterday.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 830 - 17/04/2022 20:07:21    2411412