Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Oldtourman:  "All the great teams 'kicked everyone's ass' when they were at their peak. The Tipp team of the mid sixties and the KK side of the oughties were classic examples of this. However both those sides came down to Earth fairly quickly in the end and this Limerick side will do the same."
Did you think KK 'came down fairly quickly'? I thought twas a pretty long movie myself.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 25/03/2022 10:50:40    2406981

Replying To tiobraid:  "No one in their right mind would play McIneerney at 3 and Burke at 6 again!"
You would play McInerney at 3, he is a very good one. If Burke is unavailable for any reason it's either Fintan Burke straight in to 3 or McInerney dropping back with Mannion going to 6.

But if both were available McInerney is a better 6 than Burke so Burke at 3 and McInerney at 6 has to be the way to go.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 828 - 25/03/2022 11:26:21    2406999

Great going for Galway hurling, 8 camogie All-stars and POTY'. Well done!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 26/03/2022 10:45:49    2407135

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Did you think KK 'came down fairly quickly'? I thought twas a pretty long movie myself."
I see you point in relation to KK, but I always think they were takeable from around '12 on. Galway had them on the rack several times and Limerick took them down to the wire in '12 and more so in '14, with a very average team, less than half of whom would make the present team.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 26/03/2022 11:45:43    2407150

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I see you point in relation to KK, but I always think they were takeable from around '12 on. Galway had them on the rack several times and Limerick took them down to the wire in '12 and more so in '14, with a very average team, less than half of whom would make the present team."
Kilkenny were deadly just before the halftime whistle or just after halftime, that's when they snuck a lot of their goals when there would be the slightest lull in the game. They didn't have to be the best team either as they simply knew HOW to win.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 26/03/2022 15:10:35    2407194

Nice to see Davy Glennon playing well for Westmeath too. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 26/03/2022 15:12:38    2407196

Replying To Trump2020:  "Kilkenny were deadly just before the halftime whistle or just after halftime, that's when they snuck a lot of their goals when there would be the slightest lull in the game. They didn't have to be the best team either as they simply knew HOW to win."
It's almost genetic. Frightening stuff back then.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 26/03/2022 15:45:04    2407204

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Did you think KK 'came down fairly quickly'? I thought twas a pretty long movie myself."
Lol, kilkennys dominance from 06 to about 15 was very frustrating from a hurling supporters point of view (like fair play to them, great team but it was kinda boring), they cruised to the title in 2015, won all 4 games convincingly, beating us twice, for their 2nd consecutive title, and 8th in 10 seasons.
Had you said then that as of 2022 they'd still be waiting for their next all Ireland it would have been very hard to believe.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 26/03/2022 19:24:39    2407240

Replying To foreveryoung:  "It's Larry…!"
Who's Larry?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/03/2022 07:41:43    2407282

Replying To tiobraid:  "Who's Larry?"
Larry Corbett - Lar for short lol!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 27/03/2022 11:29:30    2407300

Replying To tiobraid:  "Who's Larry?"
I think it's just 5 random letters put together that happen to spell a name. You know what they say.......in infinite time a chimpanzee using a typewriter will re-produce the entire works of Shakespeare!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 27/03/2022 11:45:56    2407306

Replying To Trump2020:  "Kilkenny were deadly just before the halftime whistle or just after halftime, that's when they snuck a lot of their goals when there would be the slightest lull in the game. They didn't have to be the best team either as they simply knew HOW to win."
They also had a capacity to get a lot of scores in a burst, when they got on top even for a short period they would generally kill the game off, take it right away from you, they would get a goal and be straightaway looking for another one, unlike many teams who can tend to take a mental breather following a green flag

You don't need to perform for 70 mins if your best 10 minutes is better than your oppositions as a rule, and theirs invariably was.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 828 - 27/03/2022 13:50:15    2407322

That's what ye're up against now? They looked like junior hurlers against proper hurlers today, but spoke quite finely in the days before the game.

A handy first round win for Galway? Surely!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 27/03/2022 18:08:37    2407447

Replying To foreveryoung:  "That's what ye're up against now? They looked like junior hurlers against proper hurlers today, but spoke quite finely in the days before the game.

A handy first round win for Galway? Surely!"
We will see. The pitches are getting harder and we will have our 1st team out. I'm glad you think we are Junior hurlers because over the years reading your rubbish it's very apparent you know nothing about hurling and most of your predictions are completely wrong. You even started a whole new thread this week to showcase your lack of knowledge! And the last couple of days it also appears from your posts you know more about hurling than baseball.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 27/03/2022 20:12:48    2407533

Replying To Viking66:  "Is Fintan Burke fast enough for a modern day wing back?"
Did enter my head watching the tortoise(s) and the hare(s) in Nowlan Park yesterday.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 28/03/2022 11:16:11    2407680

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Did enter my head watching the tortoise(s) and the hare(s) in Nowlan Park yesterday."
Our lads looked alot slower than they have done all year with the exception of the Walsh Cup final. Team selection seemed a little strange too. I suspect none of the halfbacks or half forwards from Saturday will line up where they did today against you in the Park in 3 weeks except possibly Matt O Hanlon but he will more likely start cornerback. And 2 or 3 of them likely wont start at all.
Now you know how Fintan will look if you come up against Waterford later in the summer.
Still, if we play as badly as that in 3 weeks time you will have the easiest 2 point start you ever had to a Round Robin!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 28/03/2022 15:11:27    2407793

I see a few big names dropped from hurling panel??what do ye think??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 28/03/2022 20:09:01    2407876

Replying To Galway9801:  "Lol, kilkennys dominance from 06 to about 15 was very frustrating from a hurling supporters point of view (like fair play to them, great team but it was kinda boring), they cruised to the title in 2015, won all 4 games convincingly, beating us twice, for their 2nd consecutive title, and 8th in 10 seasons.
Had you said then that as of 2022 they'd still be waiting for their next all Ireland it would have been very hard to believe."
But would it. Apart from a Minor win in '14 against Limerick which was almost savagely reversed when much the same teams met in the '17 Under 21 Final. Kilkenny had won nothing at underage Level for years before that and almost ever year since your own county has consistently beat them at under age level. Tipperary inflicted a deadly hammering on them in the '16 Final. Though the margin was smaller, Tipps win that day was almost as comprehensive as Limericks over Cork last year. They will always put out a good team but their days on invincibility have passed for the moment and it has and will for all great teams.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 28/03/2022 20:13:05    2407877

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see a few big names dropped from hurling panel??what do ye think??"
For Galway? Who was dropped?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/03/2022 08:43:39    2407924

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see a few big names dropped from hurling panel??what do ye think??"
Only ones I'd put into this bracket would be Tuohy, Loftus and Niall Burke.
IMO only Tuohy may have contributed this year as a corner back as I think we are weak enough in that position to be fair but for me he does too much fumbling on the ball for a corner back.
Loftus has been tried time and time again and has failed to deliver so was definitely time to cut him from the panel.
Niall Burke sadly is just too slow for inter county hurling when you see the pace the likes of Waterford are bringing to the table now.

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 230 - 29/03/2022 08:47:29    2407925