Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Past hurler:  "I can see Wexford v Kilkenny final.

I think Dublin will beat Galway, Galway must be one of the slowest teams in the Liam McCarthy."
I thought I would never say this but could Dublin of all teams beat Kilkenny in Parnell Park? Now that would Definitely open up the Leinster Championship!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2248 - 04/05/2024 20:50:01    2542959

Replying To katser:  "Last week Wexford people were saying after their defeat to Antrim that Wexford deserved to be in the Joe Mc Cup now they are saying they can get to a Leinster Final after beating Galway."
Worry about Galway, you haven't shown Wexford any respect, just glad we beat you, I'm under no illusion about the pitfalls of being a Wexford supporter, and I haven't mentioned anything about finals, we have to get past Carlow first and that's no given.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 04/05/2024 21:07:44    2542960

It's a good job Galway are in Leinster and not Munster.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 04/05/2024 21:18:51    2542963

Too many passengers..
Still wondering what Conor Cooney offers Galway...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 04/05/2024 21:21:03    2542965

Replying To katser:  "I thought I would never say this but could Dublin of all teams beat Kilkenny in Parnell Park? Now that would Definitely open up the Leinster Championship!"
That would throw the group right open if it did happen.

Dublin and KK the only teams who havnt lost yet, but Dublin do still have to play KK at home and Galway away.

Kilkenny also seem to struggle with Wexford in Leinster.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 745 - 04/05/2024 21:32:46    2542968

In reality Galway have not being a consistent contender for all Ireland since the great team of the 80s prob should have won another 3 then but in history of Gaa 5 all Ireland's won at senior level and Limerick are going for 5 in a row it amazes me how every year they are spoken about snd they won 4 of them all Ireland getting virtually straight to semi final ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 856 - 04/05/2024 21:52:37    2542974

Replying To foreveryoung:  ""could absolutely hammer"? You were right about that but you just made one huge faux pas. You got the teams wrong way around. It is always nice to see a smart alec get her comeuppance!"
Hardly a smart alec I think. More a few slices short of a loaf. They say every village has one and sometimes they go missing.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 04/05/2024 22:16:34    2542978

Replying To Jedobi:  "Good to see you have taken it well. Sorry we're were significantly better than you today, also didn't Kilkenny draw with Galway? Lost a lot of respect for Galway hurling after the comments about Wexford on this forum."
Most on here are sound hurling people. It's just his holiness, the goalkeeper as Gaeilge, Tommeen (at times, sometimes fine) and katser herself and I think she does it for devilment as opposed to delusion, that give Galway hurling folk on here a bad name!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1944 - 04/05/2024 22:17:53    2542979

Loads of hurlers in Galway. I've been saying it for years. Outside managers don't work. Get your own in. 1998 and counting.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 04/05/2024 23:03:30    2542994

I'm slightly surprised with result today..to be honest I didn't see a Wexford win being so handy..unfortunately for them they probably still need a result v the cats..Galway can still make it and I still expect them to..it's another match where Galway failed against 14..I'll ask the Galway supporters,what did Flynn or Glynn bring to the game when Galway needed fellas to really stand up?I know mannion was a huge loss..huge game upcoming now against Dublin and Antrim,any slip up and another year gone..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 04/05/2024 23:20:35    2543002

Replying To gbay:  "whats king henry's excuse now..
i was suppose the bus journey was tough going.

out of his depth..cant pick a team..
but if we are to be totally honest we have too many hurlers passed there best..
too slow to run/ react to the breaking ball..

for the second week in a row mannion was caught out for two points and his distribution was pathetic.
our defending from 15 back was non existant..

leaving a wexford a man free and we a man up is just unforgiveable but we deserved what we get
its just a shme it wasnt 15/20 points then questions would need to be asked by the county board but
we all no that wont happen.

we are going no where and thats ben the case for along time but they could at least play lads in there proper positions....
at least..."
I thought Galway would win today, but it didn't happen. It could be the end for Henry Shefflin, 3 games left to rescue their championship ambitions.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1757 - 05/05/2024 00:04:52    2543010

Replying To Kickitout:  "In reality Galway have not being a consistent contender for all Ireland since the great team of the 80s prob should have won another 3 then but in history of Gaa 5 all Ireland's won at senior level and Limerick are going for 5 in a row it amazes me how every year they are spoken about snd they won 4 of them all Ireland getting virtually straight to semi final ,,"
True, galway are numerically miles away from the top table but I genuinely believe we should be up there.
How in the name of God a county with a strong hurling culture like ours with great clubs and players have only managed 5 all Irelands is a complete mystery to me.
I can't think of a greater anomaly in any other sport.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1751 - 05/05/2024 06:18:36    2543026

Today's performance and result has been the consequence of what is turning out to be a disastrous three year tenure for Henry Shefflin and his back room team. Shefflin's appointment always had something gimmicky and naivety about it, with him getting the job seeming like a victory in itself for some who may have had other motives.
The insistence of perusing with aging players who's sell by date has long passed came home to roost today as did the refusal to even attempt to introduce younger talent. Make no mistake but this was the worst performance by a Galway team in the championship in over forty years and some of the people on this forum are delusional on their expectations as Galway could potentially not win another game in this years championship.
After today it is plain to be seen that Galway will basically have to start from scratch as they will need to assemble a new management team who will have the task overhauling the panel where at least 12 of today's panel who after many years of service should move on. This will take knowingness and patience -something I'm not sure this current county board have.

Galway4ever (Galway) - Posts: 211 - 05/05/2024 06:40:53    2543027

Replying To katser:  "Last week Wexford people were saying after their defeat to Antrim that Wexford deserved to be in the Joe Mc Cup now they are saying they can get to a Leinster Final after beating Galway."
That actually suns up Wexford hurling though.

We had absolutely no guts last week and yesterday 11 of the same lads got stuck in like their lives depend on it.

I'm genuinely more worried about Carlow than Kilkenny which seems mad but I guarantee you I'm not the only one.

If we beat Carlow we've a great chance. Our record against Kilkenny is excellent.

The only rivalry in hurling outside Munster.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2749 - 05/05/2024 06:48:39    2543029

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Most on here are sound hurling people. It's just his holiness, the goalkeeper as Gaeilge, Tommeen (at times, sometimes fine) and katser herself and I think she does it for devilment as opposed to delusion, that give Galway hurling folk on here a bad name!"
It's yer man that says Wexford are a poorly coached team that got me. Rossiter in only his 3rd championship game in charge.....how the hell does he know how well or poor we are coached. Given that he secured 1A status with basically an u20 team plus supporting cast that doesn't smack of poor coaching to me. And all this coming from a team managed by Henry Sheflin who let's be honest lads is no Brian Cody. Laughable and delighted with that result yesterday for people like that running us down.for the genuine hurling supporters of Galway I know they weren't taking the Mike out of us but I bet still surprised to lose yesterday

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 128 - 05/05/2024 08:27:10    2543035

Replying To Galway4ever:  "Today's performance and result has been the consequence of what is turning out to be a disastrous three year tenure for Henry Shefflin and his back room team. Shefflin's appointment always had something gimmicky and naivety about it, with him getting the job seeming like a victory in itself for some who may have had other motives.
The insistence of perusing with aging players who's sell by date has long passed came home to roost today as did the refusal to even attempt to introduce younger talent. Make no mistake but this was the worst performance by a Galway team in the championship in over forty years and some of the people on this forum are delusional on their expectations as Galway could potentially not win another game in this years championship.
After today it is plain to be seen that Galway will basically have to start from scratch as they will need to assemble a new management team who will have the task overhauling the panel where at least 12 of today's panel who after many years of service should move on. This will take knowingness and patience -something I'm not sure this current county board have."
You've summed it up.
Its harder to get off the team than onto it.
Keep doing the same things and you will get the same result.
We have had some bad days but this was the worst since 1973.
Embarrassing is the only word I can think of.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 308 - 05/05/2024 10:07:05    2543045

Replying To daveboy:  "Loads of hurlers in Galway. I've been saying it for years. Outside managers don't work. Get your own in. 1998 and counting."
Yes. The successful Managers in gaa have managed their native county. Cody in Kilkenny, O'Dwyer in Kerry, Kiely now in Limerick, Gavin in Dublin, Boylan in Meath, the list goes on. There must be talent in Galway with all the underage titles they've won but the Henry reign in the West is just a damp squib.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2186 - 05/05/2024 10:23:19    2543049

Replying To Kinvara:  "I expect Galway to win handily if they play anything close to their standard of hurling

Wexford are a poor side, badly coached, average talent. If Galway can't get a convincing win then it might be curtains!"
i presume youre gone on holidays..........

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1111 - 05/05/2024 10:26:21    2543051

Replying To WEXILE:  "It's yer man that says Wexford are a poorly coached team that got me. Rossiter in only his 3rd championship game in charge.....how the hell does he know how well or poor we are coached. Given that he secured 1A status with basically an u20 team plus supporting cast that doesn't smack of poor coaching to me. And all this coming from a team managed by Henry Sheflin who let's be honest lads is no Brian Cody. Laughable and delighted with that result yesterday for people like that running us down.for the genuine hurling supporters of Galway I know they weren't taking the Mike out of us but I bet still surprised to lose yesterday"
I can tell you yesterday's result did not surprise me one bit. There's very little which surprises me with Galway hurling. Experience will do that.
We also have plenty recent evidence of what Wexford are capable of when their backs are to the wall.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2066 - 05/05/2024 10:36:33    2543052

Replying To endgame:  "Yes. The successful Managers in gaa have managed their native county. Cody in Kilkenny, O'Dwyer in Kerry, Kiely now in Limerick, Gavin in Dublin, Boylan in Meath, the list goes on. There must be talent in Galway with all the underage titles they've won but the Henry reign in the West is just a damp squib."
Have to agree with you endgame - even here in Galway (outside of John O'Mahony in the football), its been local managers that have brought home the AI's. Galway are as good as gone for the year now and time for a rebuild. Its all very sad but not too sad for "outside posters" I see!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3391 - 05/05/2024 10:42:43    2543053