Kerry GAA thread

What about good gaa pubs around Kilarney?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 11/02/2022 16:50:36    2399852

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What about good gaa pubs around Kilarney?"
When it comes to killarney I'd be as much of a tourist as yourself the rock, but when we're back there for a match we'd usually go to Corkerys, the Dannyman, McSoreleys, Scruffys, the Fáilte bar and Scott's garden is a good spot, loads of big screens it would remind you being on holidays.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2022 12:30:23    2399908

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "When it comes to killarney I'd be as much of a tourist as yourself the rock, but when we're back there for a match we'd usually go to Corkerys, the Dannyman, McSoreleys, Scruffys, the Fáilte bar and Scott's garden is a good spot, loads of big screens it would remind you being on holidays."
Cheers.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 12/02/2022 15:15:43    2399923

Killarney is a great town for pubs and craic music etc. The Tatler Jack is a big gaa pub.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 12/02/2022 16:57:21    2399945

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Killarney is a great town for pubs and craic music etc. The Tatler Jack is a big gaa pub."
Your spot on Mick, the Tatler Jack is a good gaa pub as well, , I thought I had put it on my list but I didn't.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2022 17:33:27    2399953

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Your spot on Mick, the Tatler Jack is a good gaa pub as well, , I thought I had put it on my list but I didn't."
Ah for sure Kboy but you can't go too wrong in any bar in Killarney and they all in close proximity to Fitzgerald stadium.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 12/02/2022 18:04:32    2399962

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Ah for sure Kboy but you can't go too wrong in any bar in Killarney and they all in close proximity to Fitzgerald stadium."
Yeah, I was going to mention Tatler Jack's as well. I'd always have one or two there whenever in Killarney (great town for a game; 1987 Munster Final replay one of the best weekends ever in Ireland…not coz of the result, though). You'd always meet lads there who'd talk football until the cows would come home.

Is it still owned by the O'Sullivan's? Pat who used to be county chairman at one stage used to run the place, years back.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 12/02/2022 18:46:56    2399966

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yeah, I was going to mention Tatler Jack's as well. I'd always have one or two there whenever in Killarney (great town for a game; 1987 Munster Final replay one of the best weekends ever in Ireland…not coz of the result, though). You'd always meet lads there who'd talk football until the cows would come home.

Is it still owned by the O'Sullivan's? Pat who used to be county chairman at one stage used to run the place, years back."
Yeah he's still running it,i go to Killarney every summer for a few days,not a bad place to stop for a couple of pints and plenty of good establishments nearby to eat!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 12/02/2022 19:25:59    2399978

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yeah, I was going to mention Tatler Jack's as well. I'd always have one or two there whenever in Killarney (great town for a game; 1987 Munster Final replay one of the best weekends ever in Ireland…not coz of the result, though). You'd always meet lads there who'd talk football until the cows would come home.

Is it still owned by the O'Sullivan's? Pat who used to be county chairman at one stage used to run the place, years back."
Pat is chairman again currently.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 12/02/2022 21:03:04    2400003

What the mood in the camp? Looks like a dirty weekend of weather. I heard Jack is to rest David Clifford for weekend. Has played an awful amount of football this year. Hopefully Killian Spillane get his chance. Would like to see David Shaw in too.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 18/02/2022 11:56:29    2400967

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "What the mood in the camp? Looks like a dirty weekend of weather. I heard Jack is to rest David Clifford for weekend. Has played an awful amount of football this year. Hopefully Killian Spillane get his chance. Would like to see David Shaw in too."
It's a CATCH22 [lol] Situation re playing 'King David'

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 18/02/2022 16:08:12    2401002

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "What the mood in the camp? Looks like a dirty weekend of weather. I heard Jack is to rest David Clifford for weekend. Has played an awful amount of football this year. Hopefully Killian Spillane get his chance. Would like to see David Shaw in too."
Seamus Walsh recent call in to the panel. Will be pushing hard for a wing forward position. Thoughts on him?

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 18/02/2022 17:05:52    2401010

Replying To Kerry15:  "Seamus Walsh recent call in to the panel. Will be pushing hard for a wing forward position. Thoughts on him?"
LOL

Or did you mean Paul Walsh though he had a bit of a Ned Kelly in Sigerson.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 21/02/2022 12:09:33    2401555

We did a lot of good stuff. After HT we got 2-3 chances to take points but opted to overrun the ball. We sweated a bit when Donegal got 4 points in the row but ground out the result comfortably in the end.

Very near the championship team I expect. White and Been to come in as wing backs, and Clifford to start instead of Moynihan or Killian Spillane

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 21/02/2022 12:09:51    2401556

Yis will get much tougher challenges than that, very disappointed from our POV.

Seanie Shea put on a clinic though, it was never really in doubt even if Ryan McHugh hadn't messed up the one goal chance we had.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 21/02/2022 13:20:10    2401585

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "We did a lot of good stuff. After HT we got 2-3 chances to take points but opted to overrun the ball. We sweated a bit when Donegal got 4 points in the row but ground out the result comfortably in the end.

Very near the championship team I expect. White and Been to come in as wing backs, and Clifford to start instead of Moynihan or Killian Spillane"
Are you going to tell is why you stole veterans post from the Kerry gaa forum and posted it as your own?

You had no permission from him to do that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/02/2022 13:29:28    2401588

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are you going to tell is why you stole veterans post from the Kerry gaa forum and posted it as your own?

You had no permission from him to do that."
Very impressive performance from Seanie O'Shea yesterday. Our second team could beat cork in championship.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 21/02/2022 14:28:52    2401611

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Yis will get much tougher challenges than that, very disappointed from our POV.

Seanie Shea put on a clinic though, it was never really in doubt even if Ryan McHugh hadn't messed up the one goal chance we had."
How's it going joesoap? Ya I was surprised enough ye didn't attack more in the second half as I was expecting ye to use the wind to yer advantage.

I wouldn't read too much into it as ye were missing a few starters and we were pretty much full strenght and like you say we'll have bigger tests ahead.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/02/2022 14:45:58    2401620

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "We did a lot of good stuff. After HT we got 2-3 chances to take points but opted to overrun the ball. We sweated a bit when Donegal got 4 points in the row but ground out the result comfortably in the end.

Very near the championship team I expect. White and Been to come in as wing backs, and Clifford to start instead of Moynihan or Killian Spillane"
Paul Murphy has not put a foot wrong all year. Good marker, great on the ball. He picked up a lot of breaking dirty ball yesterday.
The goalie was not aware that there is two sides, and a middle, to the pitch for 25 minutes of the second half. All kicks were to the crowded left side sideline.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 21/02/2022 14:57:38    2401626

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How's it going joesoap? Ya I was surprised enough ye didn't attack more in the second half as I was expecting ye to use the wind to yer advantage.

I wouldn't read too much into it as ye were missing a few starters and we were pretty much full strenght and like you say we'll have bigger tests ahead."
Mike Breen, Gavin White and Daithi Moran and off David Clifford to start. Anthony Brosnan was solid enough . Would have Jack Savage ahead of him. Dan Donoghue is savage bit of stuff, scored a nice point too.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 21/02/2022 15:54:04    2401654