Kerry deserved the draw...dubs seemed to me as if they were holding back in the 2nd half..positive for me was we were able to cut them open in the first half should have had at least another 3 goals..Clifford is something else if you keep him to 3,4 ir 5 pts from a defenders point of few it is job done..1-3 in the 2nd half was disappointing...2 teams never disappoint when they play each other jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/05/2021 16:33:13 2344580 Link 3 |
Nonsense. The best refs in all sports use common sense why would you want to reward the defender who is illegally trying to stop a goalscoring chance by bringing it back for a free? We want to see goals in our game and the benefit of the doubt being given to the attacker. You must not have played the game yourself as its impossible to hop or solo the ball whilst being fouled, con o callaghan alone could have a highlight reel of goals where he is being fouled and has to over carry as a result but is rightly given the advantage and buries it. Besides the first one wasnt even steps anyway and Kerry had men over breaking hard at goal when the ref decides to bring it back for a difficult free which kerry miss, ridiculous referring
Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 245 - 23/05/2021 16:44:17 2344588 Link 5 |
The aul common sense argument can justify anything. The ref was not wrong here. He just applied the rule. Change the rule and then he can apply that. If being fouled you can take as many steps as you like.
Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 826 - 23/05/2021 17:07:31 2344604 Link 5 |
Good game. Dublin probably should have had another 3 goals and failed to keep the foot down when 7 points up. Kerry put the high press on in the second half and Dublin made some silly errors and got turned over easily. Kerry deserved the draw in the end but Dublin will be happy enough with that performance against a team who many declared to be AI favourites last week. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 23/05/2021 17:07:43 2344605 Link 11 |
I'm confused, ok if there was too many steps....fair enough, but then I thought it would have been a black card and a penalty it as it was obviously a goal scoring opportunity? .... (we know it was a goal scoring chance as he scored the goal) captainshamrock (Kerry) - Posts: 23 - 23/05/2021 17:09:16 2344607 Link 2 |
Happy enough with that, didn't think we were to bothered about the result to be honest and just played the game without giving anything away strategy wise for later in the year. No real surprises or nothing we haven't weighed or measured from the South West before. A good game for the young lads and their development, Lahiff did well, Mullen tidy when he came on, McMahon grew into it - that will push him on, Evan had a good game to. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 23/05/2021 17:15:23 2344609 Link 4 |
Your idea of entertaining is different to mine. Match was interesting in that it was close near the end and some good skills from O' Callaghan and Clifford , However, as a game it was poor with some very negative football by Dublin for long periods with hand passing the ball backwards (for over 60m) on many occasions.
browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/05/2021 17:27:48 2344614 Link 16 |
I didn't think it was a great game joxer, the way dublin hold onto the ball going in and out over the 45 yard line like a human sewing machine, I understand why ye do it but it's awful to watch. But considering we're months behind ye fitnesswise we did good to get back. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/05/2021 17:36:55 2344623 Link 1 |
Jesus looked sharp enough to me. Home remedies BOS style standing to ye..
jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/05/2021 17:49:17 2344628 Link 3 |
And let a blanket defence win, never!! ;)
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 23/05/2021 17:51:00 2344631 Link 6 |
Yes we obviously have different opinions sure how bad.
lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/05/2021 17:57:28 2344638 Link 3 |
That's a fair point though think rule states Denying an opponent a goalscoring opportunity by a cynical act of depriving an opponent of a goalscoring opportunity within the 20-metre line or its arc I think the cynical act is basically a black card foul. I don't think you could say that the foul was cynical. In saying that it would have been very fair if the rules allowed for a penalty in this situation. Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 826 - 23/05/2021 17:58:20 2344640 Link 0 |
If your man had of gone to ground it would have been a penalty and a black card.
lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/05/2021 17:58:47 2344641 Link 1 |
The referee was terrible and so was the co commentator on TG4.... how in Gods good name did he award Scully man of the match...? Clifford and O Callaghan were the stand out players with several more way ahead of Scully... mind boggling ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3928 - 23/05/2021 18:17:48 2344655 Link 6 |
Confusing alright, seems it has to be a black-card offence, i.e deliberate body collide, deliberate trip or deliberate pull-down, that prevents a goal-scoring opportunity, so it seems if a player is pulled back but not pulled down it is not covered?
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 909 - 23/05/2021 18:43:08 2344671 Link 1 |
Good run out, that's all. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2021 18:51:45 2344677 Link 7 |
I would have given it to Con O'Callaghan myself though David Clifford dragged Kerry back into the game so he would have been a worthy recipient too. Unless the TG4 crew saw something the camera didn't show I dunno why Scully got it. To be fair he looked bewildered himself.
lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/05/2021 18:54:24 2344679 Link 1 |
Kerry finished with the strongest legs all the same KB. The months without training and only hauling bails of hay around and working the farm has obviously kept a lot of lads fit. It was a good run out for a few of our young fellas and will stand to us but very disappointed in our first half finishing against that defence. Sure it's only the league as they say. Kerry have earned their favourites tag having demolished Galway and galloping back against the 6 in a row champs. Fix that defence and there'll be no stopping this green machine.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 23/05/2021 18:59:08 2344682 Link 13 |
Completely.... O Callaghan for me, Clifford wasn't great in the first half to be fair, great in the second . David Moran had a particular off day for me.
captainshamrock (Kerry) - Posts: 23 - 23/05/2021 19:07:42 2344688 Link 0 |
So you have to lie down for a penalty. I have never seen that rule!. Is it called the 'lie down rule'!!
browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/05/2021 19:15:31 2344692 Link 12 |