Anti GAA Agenda

Replying To updwell:  "You obviously don't like the GAA so why are you on a GAA website? Trolling maybe? I think rugby is the most overrated , over hyped borefest soulless game imaginable but I couldn't be bothered going on a rugby fan forum trolling."
ihave a deep love for the gaa im only stirring the pot

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 15/02/2021 10:07:51    2331413

Replying To mickcunningham:  "Fair play to the government for finally realising that the backward gaa is not elite. How can it compare to a professional game like rugby. Its been put in its place"
Tá tú ag cáint ráiméis. What are you doing trolling on a GAA site. Mods please remove this poster.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 15/02/2021 10:14:35    2331416

Replying To mickcunningham:  "ihave a deep love for the gaa im only stirring the pot"
You are a troll, why are you on this site, trolling the GAA?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 15/02/2021 10:15:14    2331417

Did you ever notice that the loudest anti GAA trolls come from counties who are not good at Gaelic football or hurling. Example Joe Brolly of Derry, Mickcunningham of Westmeath- who have not won anything in living memory.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 15/02/2021 10:18:00    2331418

Replying To galwayford:  "You are a troll, why are you on this site, trolling the GAA?"
why in the name og god do people take themselves so seriously its a bit of craic but humour is in short supply with the keboard warriors gaa abu

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 15/02/2021 10:34:07    2331423

Replying To galwayford:  "Did you ever notice that the loudest anti GAA trolls come from counties who are not good at Gaelic football or hurling. Example Joe Brolly of Derry, Mickcunningham of Westmeath- who have not won anything in living memory."
in living memory? Either you've had a bump on the head recently or your only a gosson

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 15/02/2021 10:40:20    2331424

Replying To galwayford:  "You are a troll, why are you on this site, trolling the GAA?"
You should see some of the bull he posts on the westmeath forum, so parochial it's unbelievable

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 15/02/2021 11:24:33    2331430

and who might you be ya coward

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 15/02/2021 13:09:51    2331439

Replying To Maroonatic:  "in living memory? Either you've had a bump on the head recently or your only a gosson"
i am shocked to see how stupid you are we won a minor in 1995 u 241 in 1999 and a leinster senior in football in 2004
maybe you dont remember back that far

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 15/02/2021 13:31:28    2331445

Replying To mickcunningham:  "i am shocked to see how stupid you are we won a minor in 1995 u 241 in 1999 and a leinster senior in football in 2004
maybe you dont remember back that far"
so shocked you stupidly aimed at the wrong poster?

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 15/02/2021 13:41:12    2331448

Obviously no mod on these forums!

Lads attack the post not the poster and if possible grow a thicker skin.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 15/02/2021 13:54:44    2331451

if a moderator on hogan stand bans me for being honest so be it . the gaa has been my life for neigh on 50 years
so if i am to be banned i will survive and unlike a lot of lads on this i will be at all the games that my club and county play good bye and god bless

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 15/02/2021 14:05:42    2331452

Students in Galway with covid reported yesterday. Imagine lads coming home for club training if it was going ahead...disaster

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 15/02/2021 14:24:30    2331455

Replying To galwayford:  "Did you ever notice that the loudest anti GAA trolls come from counties who are not good at Gaelic football or hurling. Example Joe Brolly of Derry, Mickcunningham of Westmeath- who have not won anything in living memory."
Thats nonsense and you keep saying it.
The supposedly anti GAA people on here are from all counties including your own(ie you with your manner being horrible)

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 15/02/2021 15:56:49    2331465

Can anyone outline what is meant by this 'anti GAA agenda'? The GAA gets unbelievable support from the media in Ireland, way more than soccer or rugby. And in many ways, rightly so as there is huge interest in GAA but for anyone not into GAA and into sports, they must scratch their heads by time when they see the ratio of GAA coverage to other sports on the national broadcaster. Equally, the government gave the GAA around €30 million euros in 2020 because of the pandemic and are indicating that they will give more this year. Plus governments down through the years have given huge money to the GAA in respect of croke park. Now, I know rugby and soccer got supported as well. It baffles me when I hear that there is an anti gaa agenda because I don't see much evidence of it unless you count people who feel that the GAA are only concerned with money, again, there is some truth in this claim, although it is probably overblown in fairness to the GAA. Finally, if it is the government not given them elite status, I have been trying to gauge the reaction and what GAA feel and the prevailing feeling seems to be that a lot of GAA people don't believe that the GAA should go professional and aren't really sure if the GAA is an elite organisation or not. I know that the GAA sees itself as a community organisation, I'm not sure if a community based organisation aligns with an elite sports organisation but i could be wrong.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 15/02/2021 16:24:31    2331466

Replying To yew_tree:  "Students in Galway with covid reported yesterday. Imagine lads coming home for club training if it was going ahead...disaster"
Students in school and uni all along, imagine going home to parents and grandparents...disaster.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 15/02/2021 18:49:39    2331475

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Can anyone outline what is meant by this 'anti GAA agenda'? The GAA gets unbelievable support from the media in Ireland, way more than soccer or rugby. And in many ways, rightly so as there is huge interest in GAA but for anyone not into GAA and into sports, they must scratch their heads by time when they see the ratio of GAA coverage to other sports on the national broadcaster. Equally, the government gave the GAA around €30 million euros in 2020 because of the pandemic and are indicating that they will give more this year. Plus governments down through the years have given huge money to the GAA in respect of croke park. Now, I know rugby and soccer got supported as well. It baffles me when I hear that there is an anti gaa agenda because I don't see much evidence of it unless you count people who feel that the GAA are only concerned with money, again, there is some truth in this claim, although it is probably overblown in fairness to the GAA. Finally, if it is the government not given them elite status, I have been trying to gauge the reaction and what GAA feel and the prevailing feeling seems to be that a lot of GAA people don't believe that the GAA should go professional and aren't really sure if the GAA is an elite organisation or not. I know that the GAA sees itself as a community organisation, I'm not sure if a community based organisation aligns with an elite sports organisation but i could be wrong."
Here in Galway I know lots of people who hate the gaa, not just for the so called money grabbing, but just the games themselves, people who play them.
Words like "backwards" and "boggers" used to describe players, supporters, almost all of these people have never even watched a game.
I agree the games get good support from the media in terms of coverage etc,however I'd say that the gaa is in a unique position of being many Irish peoples most lived sport, and many others most hated.
I was 14 before I even started following it. Growing up in the East side of galway city soccer is pretty much the only sport kids were really aware of. (might have changed since)

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 15/02/2021 19:16:59    2331478

Replying To Galway9801:  "Here in Galway I know lots of people who hate the gaa, not just for the so called money grabbing, but just the games themselves, people who play them.
Words like "backwards" and "boggers" used to describe players, supporters, almost all of these people have never even watched a game.
I agree the games get good support from the media in terms of coverage etc,however I'd say that the gaa is in a unique position of being many Irish peoples most lived sport, and many others most hated.
I was 14 before I even started following it. Growing up in the East side of galway city soccer is pretty much the only sport kids were really aware of. (might have changed since)"
There is a small section of the Irish population who are embarrassed by GAA, and by extension, all things Gaelic, rural and Catholic.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 15/02/2021 20:00:13    2331485

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "There is a small section of the Irish population who are embarrassed by GAA, and by extension, all things Gaelic, rural and Catholic."
Absolutely. I often say that if hurling were a British game, there are many people here who would be interested in it that aren't now.
I don't understand that attitude tbh, never have and don't want to.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 15/02/2021 20:43:40    2331491

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "There is a small section of the Irish population who are embarrassed by GAA, and by extension, all things Gaelic, rural and Catholic."
There really isnt.
There is a substantial section of irish population who have totally misguided views on rugby without having any direct or even indirect experience of the sport

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 15/02/2021 20:51:35    2331492