Fair play to them. Kevin Walsh was a class basketball player himself.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7973 - 19/05/2019 20:02:23 2185602 Link 5 |
Where you there?
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 19/05/2019 20:15:52 2185612 Link 3 |
Yes coming from you. We're you at the game? Answer the question. Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 19/05/2019 20:47:48 2185636 Link 1 |
gaa_lover - what county are you from? I'm guessing Roscommon since your always on their page and seem to have nothing ever good to say about Galway or mayo.... yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 19/05/2019 22:09:44 2185669 Link 7 |
Last week on the Sunday game instead of talking about the Roscommon Leitrim game joe brolly went on about scrapping the Provincial games for a tier structure this week after the sligo Galway game the same thing happened no analysis of the game just talking down the Province. Connacht need someone on RTE coverage who will stand up for the Province brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 20/05/2019 00:24:42 2185717 Link 2 |
Agreed. Embarrassing. I hope they give plenty of analysis next Sun on the Mayo/Ros game. Embarrassing and disingenuous. On this one it is solely with the presenter. He leads and provokes the conversation. Des needs to up his game.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 20/05/2019 09:40:43 2185762 Link 2 |
Not overly confident of Mayo winning this weekend, Roscommon are a good team and Cunningham is a good manager and theres no pressure on them. tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 638 - 20/05/2019 09:52:55 2185769 Link 0 |
After reading through the messages on here this morning, I have one question to ask everybody. Would you talk to someone you met in at a game in this petty, pedantic, niggly and child like manner? Everybody is at each other. Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 20/05/2019 10:53:15 2185810 Link 2 |
Agreed, Cahill needs to up his game. Brought the token lady onto the 'hurling panel' last evening, and proceeded to direct a hugely disproportionate amount of the 'analysis/discussion' at the two male panelists. I thought he'd 'sent her to make the tay' at one stage.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4132 - 20/05/2019 11:31:16 2185840 Link 2 |
While I haven't involved myself in much of this I can say hand on heart I spend my entire day with the Mayo people I work with insulting them. And vice versa. It is what it is. It may seem petty but that is the rivalry we have. Is buying a coffee mug every year and writing how long it is since Mayo won an All Ireland on it and increasing it by one every year petty? Maybe it is I guess...................... By the way its 68 years in case anyone has forgotten. SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 624 - 20/05/2019 11:46:04 2185854 Link 2 |
Sunday Game having Sean Cavanagh moaning about structures and how tough Ulster teams have it. kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 344 - 20/05/2019 12:36:42 2185882 Link 3 |
What's gas about the whole thing is seeing the word " analysis " coming up during the game and then getting 2 mins of Cavanagh talking about the Ulster championship. Surely he could have found time after the Ulster games to discuss this. That said, McStay loves the sound of his own voice so its not easy to get a word in. candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 298 - 20/05/2019 13:37:56 2185905 Link 2 |
He's not from Roscommon anyway and its fairly obvious who is from our county. We have loads of Galway/Mayo and the odd Leitrim lad pretending to rossies which is very tiresome routine at this stage.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4039 - 20/05/2019 16:22:05 2185967 Link 0 |
68 years you say? Remarkable, when you consider the quality of their players and strength of their support. Sixty-eight years... wow. Just wow. Under American cultural resource protection law, that's old enough to qualify as an pre-historic event. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 20/05/2019 17:37:01 2185998 Link 5 |
Which is grand IF Roscommon win it. Galway had to play 2 team that will be plying their trade in Div 4 next year. Mayo would beat NY and Roscommon to get to a final. Connacht has three good teams and the rest are poor and have been mostly in my life save Sligo about 10 years ago. Sligo and Leitrim have 5 titles between them. Roscommon have nearly 5 times that. Galway and Mayo have twice what the rossies have. In Ulster its clearly more competitive and 'upsets' happen each year. Tyrone lost to Monaghan last year and then Monaghan lost to Fermanagh. This year Cavan have beaten Monaghan. In a harder slog as the gap between the best team in Ulster and the next 4-5 teams is not so large that this doesn't happen. The teams may not go on to win but it makes it tougher on the top sides in Ulster. I agree Connacht is more entertaining than Munster or Leinster (obvious point) but lets not make out it's as tough to get through as Ulster.
Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 20/05/2019 18:16:28 2186024 Link 1 |
Yew i have no county i'm a total neutral that has been involved with New York GAA hence my main interest with Connacht football and all counties in that province. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 20/05/2019 18:21:36 2186026 Link 0 |
Which is grand IF Roscommon win it. Galway had to play 2 team that will be plying their trade in Div 4 next year. Mayo would beat NY and Roscommon to get to a final. Connacht has three good teams and the rest are poor and have been mostly in my life save Sligo about 10 years ago. Sligo and Leitrim have 5 titles between them. Roscommon have nearly 5 times that. Galway and Mayo have twice what the rossies have. In Ulster its clearly more competitive and 'upsets' happen each year. Tyrone lost to Monaghan last year and then Monaghan lost to Fermanagh. This year Cavan have beaten Monaghan. In a harder slog as the gap between the best team in Ulster and the next 4-5 teams is not so large that this doesn't happen. The teams may not go on to win but it makes it tougher on the top sides in Ulster. I agree Connacht is more entertaining than Munster or Leinster (obvious point) but lets not make out it's as tough to get through as Ulster. Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 20/05/2019 19:31:11 2186058 Link 0 |
Yes Ulster has the best Championship, no reason to scrap it. Sean Cavanaugh forgot to mention that Galway had cliff hangers against Mayo and Ros in the last 3 semis and finals before this particular Sligo game. Mc Stay smirked on in approval of the "confirmation bias if you like" approach of the RTE view. Sligo beat Galway 3 out of 6 of their last championship meetings I think. Hurling style provincial c'ship might be the answer. Ulster and Leinster could have 2 groups as was mentioned on another thread. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 20/05/2019 20:55:31 2186085 Link 0 |
Answer one question. Were you at the game? I'm not one bit upset btw. Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 20/05/2019 21:52:16 2186106 Link 0 |
So you weren't at the game......
SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 624 - 20/05/2019 21:57:16 2186108 Link 2 |