Anybody overly critical of Galway have not got a clue. Already in a semi final playing a team who have not been at the same stage in 30 years. No matter what anybody says the intensity and attitude was always going to be in Monaghan's favour. Like I alluded to before and where I would be critical of Galway is team selection. Tonight was the night to ring the changes with players sitting on the sidelines chomping at the bit to stake a claim. Big mistake in my opinion not playing those players but I fully expect a different Galway next weekend. As for Monaghan the job is to get back down to earth. There was huge emotion there tonight that won't be replicated by whoever goes through in Ballybofey tomorrow given both sides relatively recent experience of playing in all Ireland semi finals. panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2844 - 05/08/2018 00:00:18 2129170 Link 0 |
Would Kerry ever hire a "foreign" coach?
ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 05/08/2018 00:32:13 2129176 Link 0 |
No more than most of you lot.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 05/08/2018 01:09:36 2129183 Link 1 |
Fair play someone with a sense of common sense. Monaghan are the only team left that can rattle the dubs. Not withstanding we were unlucky to lose an Ulster title, we have achieved our primary objective for the year. Reaching the semi-finals. We respect but do not fear Dubin. We are the only team to have beaten them in 2018 ( and in my view the only team that will). Some muppets will say in a game that did not matter, but those that were at it will tell you it mattered a lot to both teams. As was pointed out by some of my fellow countymen ( those in the know) Galway came up against a team that was 2-years ahead of them in terms of developing a defence/attack strategy. They could not cope with a well organised defensive strategy that had good defenders in it. They could not cope with a well organised attack that brought width to the game, even at home. The analysis of this Monaghan team is extremely lazy to say the least (may well have helped us get this far in one respect). We average 20+ points a game, have an average of 9 scorers a game and concede less than a goal a game, those are the stats few can match. And, we operate in division one. Anyone that would suggest that we are a one man team needs their head examining. Ryan Mc Annespie has been our most consistent player all year, and not a mention of him, anywhere Some are suggesting that Galway were not up for the game, and in one respect they are right. They were simply not clever enough or developed enough to beat this Monaghan team. We are now in the top three teams in the Country and as usual, F**c the begrudgers mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 05/08/2018 01:18:36 2129186 Link 2 |
Ah he wouldn't refuse us if we called cap in hand Sam :-) he'd be the first outsider givin the keys of the kingdom he'd get to see what real pressure is ;-) Seriously I'd be happy to see a man of jim caliber considered, he would have us organized and every man would know his job and does young Clifford remind you of a young Michael Murphy? KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2018 01:42:49 2129189 Link 0 |
I've seen every single Galway game this year.That was their worst performance by an absolute country mile. They did not try a leg. Especially in the 2nd half. They weren't trying to lose. Monaghan just wanted the win far more.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 05/08/2018 02:41:11 2129197 Link 1 |
Sorry now but yes ye missed the chance to beat Kerry for the first time in the championship in a game that ye were the better side. Ye won a game ye had to win in Galway and fair play but that doesn't change what happened in Clones. Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 05/08/2018 09:21:50 2129227 Link 0 |
First off a huge congrats to Monaghan. To see the joy of the supporters at the end was brilliant, and is something we don't see too often anymore in the GAA. I've said numerous times before that they're an absolute example to so many counties of what can be achieved. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2277 - 05/08/2018 09:40:17 2129237 Link 0 |
Congrats Monaghan, super must win performance there. Sean Kelly injury is bad news for Galway who would be happy enough with the 2 out of 3 wins in the Super 8, best to Mon going forward. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1727 - 05/08/2018 11:44:41 2129297 Link 0 |
No, It doesn't change the fact that we slipped up in Clones and missed a big opportunity to beat Kerry for the first time. But the main thing we were looking for was simply to get through to the semis, and we did by topping the group. So in that sense, we've put that result in Clones to bed. We'd have never lived it down if we failed to reach the semis yesterday, but thankfully it doesn't matter anymore.
patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 937 - 05/08/2018 11:54:36 2129301 Link 0 |
Ye won a must win game and fair play on that performance ye will be a handful for anyone. Celebrate by all means as it doesn't come around that often. Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 05/08/2018 12:04:44 2129309 Link 0 |
Define Foreign. Someone from Cork maybe?
thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 05/08/2018 12:30:05 2129314 Link 0 |
fair play..... But i think your getting your Karl's mixed up , ala Karl O'Connell & Karl Lacey (donegal)
Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 443 - 05/08/2018 13:22:06 2129336 Link 0 |
Incredible , well done lads , a proud Monaghan man today! ....... The Monaghan fans were brilliant! Our team must have got some lift, while they were doing their "warm-up", the team ran in front of the main stand &the roar they got from our fans was unreal. They then sprinted to the far terrace & the exact same thing! ... brilliant ..... must have given them some lift & perhaps maybe Galway felt a little nerved by it at THEIR HOME! Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 443 - 05/08/2018 13:36:51 2129339 Link 1 |
Congrats on your win, well done to your team and super supporters, giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1273 - 05/08/2018 13:54:33 2129348 Link 0 |