Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from Blueblood4life

Monaghan GAA thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To seanie08:  "The set up is v strange. You have Corey and McCague both monaghan football men then buckley and sheedy the Hollywood signings who seem to add very little and over it all you have Banty who really is just a soundbite manager at this stage playing the media game. The team has defenders playing in the forwards and forwards playing as defenders with players like kearns who should be in his prime and Mulligan who should be part of the future just being used off the bench. I agree with your post monaghan could pull it off Sunday and go on a run over the summer but it all has the feel of a ramshackle set up which isn't going to win anything major. Banty will string it out to the last and ask for an extension to rebuild next year in div 2 and he will probably get it as county board seem to be in thrall to him. Depressing times which may end up in div 3 and a new manager coming in then for the rebuild."
Let's not forget the supposed "expert" strength & conditioning coach in the set up. This guy was with Tyrone for a year and ran outta the place, but the high profile suited Bantys agenda of style over substance. What we are left with now is a flat, leggy team struggling with the demands of senior inter county football. When have we ever said a Monaghan teams looks unfit until this year? Reports I'm hearing out of the camp is players and certain coaches are at logger heads over training volume and player load, this along with the performances on & off the pitch represents a failed set up. I had hoped it wouldn't take a relegation for our Co. Board to realise money isn't everything but now Ill just be happy to see the back of this set up regardless of the short term cost of losing Div 1 status.

Blueblood4life (National) - 22/03/2022 14:35:21

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "Really well played from Monaghan today. That was a pressure game and I'm sure a lot of the criticism of the team hadn't gone unnoticed by the players many of whom read this thread. Be great to see us push on against Kildare and Dublin next. That would mean 5 games out of 7 unbeaten. A far cry from a lot of the negativity said about the team. Onwards and upwards."
Another, perhaps more accurate way to look at our run is the following: We have won 1 game out of 5 We have won 4 games out of 16 in the league under current manager We have won 6 games out of 19 in both League & Championship under current manager That's the facts, unfortunately. Sooner we take a step back and realise the return/long term damage this man will have had for us the sooner the Co. Board might act.

Blueblood4life (National) - 13/03/2022 17:59:21

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
Let's get things straight from the start before the spin doctors get a minute,,, It wasn't a penalty. We were beat by 4 points after setting up not to loose the game, Mayo are 6-8 points better than us. Take Jack McC out of our forward line and we get a hammering. 3 years is a long long time in football, especially with the free reins he's had over all things club and county football. If Banty is the Great Monaghan man he's fan club voice then he NEEDS to step away because this inept Co. Board won't sack. He's not alone, as great a servants as these seniors players have been its time for a full rebuild, From today's program 6-8 could/should make way to allow some youth the opportunity to develop after a disastrous u20 campaign. We need to remember we have only brought 3 from the 2 ulster winning teams into today's 24, a poor return for a normal county never mind one the size of ours. Banty needs to do the right thing, step down and give the incoming management a opportunity to scout players over the club campaign. A terrible year in which a flash in the pan v Dublin papered over massive cracks which came back to bite us this past few weeks.

Blueblood4life (National) - 04/06/2022 18:44:11

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "To be fair to any player, they owe their club nothing. So why don't they all join the big successful gaa clubs in hope of success and winning a cup."
Think you'll find they owe their club plenty. It's their club and club members who maintain the pitches, clean the dressing rooms, wash the jerseys, coach them from the age of 8 years of age all for nothing but the love of the sport & club. Jack owes his club plenty. He's been treated very well and has been asked for nothing in return. What about the Scotstown player who's jersey he walks in and takes, what sort of message does that send to the young lad who's been togging out for Scotstown since a child only to have Jack McCarron walk in and take his place? Jacks saying he wants the move because he's father played for Scotstown, would he be as keen if his father played for Killeevan or the likes?

Blueblood4life (National) - 27/01/2023 14:40:46

Replying To mick2007:  "Bottom line is we need a young fresh innovative manager on the line to nurture the young talent we have coming through plus there is 25,000 reasons why Banty should never have got back into the hot seat……."
I personally would just settle on a suitable role model for the young men in our county at this stage.

Blueblood4life (National) - 08/02/2022 14:23:04

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Under 20s weren't going to achieve this year. Mark Counihan & his staff who brought these players at minor level to Ulster titles wanted to stay with them & manage under 30s thus year. But Banty stepped in & insisted his man McCague had to be appointed instead. This is common knowledge throughout the county & yet another example of Banty making a 'hames' of Monaghan football. Remember it was Banty & his man McCague who, just a few years ago, suffered another humiliating defeat to another poor Cavan side at this level. How long can this go on for ? Meanwhile Counihan & his coaches thankfully are still doing a great job this year with our minors even though they could have walked away in disgust. Every year they prove themselves. Banty is ruining Monaghan football at ALL LEVELS !"
This is something I was only made aware of last night. Counihan and his team wanted the job, the players wanted the him and his team. Won ulster together, beat by eventual All Ireland champ, Give him the job, no brainer. So what went wrong? Counihan went against Banty and Co.B threw him under the bus. Counihan requested full access to his players which would mean Gallaher, Hanratty and Irwin would have to train with 20s instead of seniors. Co.B wouldn't back him and let Banty dictate the terms of these young lads development. Counihan along with the only other candidate for the job Andy Callan both pulled out of the running as a result. We were then left with a ulster winning team who couldn't get a management, why? Because everyone in the country knew that Banty was the only name in town. Money talks. The result of this lack of backbone and leadership from Co.B was last night. Young players shadows of themselves, over coached, under confidence and showing all the signs of a team who didn't know how to play together. We have went from back 2 back ulster champs to nothing. Counihan should have walked away from Monaghan and take his backroom team with him, who would have blamed him.

Blueblood4life (National) - 02/04/2022 15:48:22

Got to the Minor game this morning, early start for whatever reason, but……. It sure was worth the spin.. Two massive young men playing in a full forward line that caused all sorts of bother to Armagh, a really positive style of play and tactics. Some excellent kick-passing and fielding on show, 3 goals and several points coming from long, smart ball in to the target men. I can't remember ever seeing a Monaghan team set up without a plus 1, or at least that's how it appeared. Perhaps the most impressive of all was the work rate and fitness levels on show for such young men. Armagh had to make a flurry of changes due to the speed of the game and coming down with cramp etc. The lads in white and blue kept powering to the final whistle working a great fisted score to win it, really impressive stuff. I walked out a very happy man, I'll be getting out to show my support to this team as much as possible going forward..

Blueblood4life (National) - 12/03/2022 17:39:18

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To greysoil:  "Had he gone yet ??"
I'm hearing it's either he goes or the players go. Appears the players have had to force an inept Co.Boards hand. Fair play to them!

Blueblood4life (National) - 25/06/2022 16:40:11

Replying To turnip12:  "Apologies for BlueBlood. He is not a good representative for Monaghan Fans. Mayo have been a joy to watch the last 5-6 years. The commitment, the drive, the ability to get back on your feet year after year. Glory will come for Mayo and hopefully Monaghan can follow their example and get into the last 4 more regularly. Mayo-Monaghan in the league games always close."
Ach, Dry your eyes Turnip. I'm sure not all are as easily offended. It's football not life or death.

Blueblood4life (National) - 27/05/2022 18:37:17

Was on my travels this morning again to support our Co.Minors. The only disappointment of the journey was the lack of support these lads are getting. With all the doom & gloom surrounding the seniors atm these boys are a breath of fresh air. Game was all but over at half time with Monaghan dominating all over the pitch. Some of the defending was outstanding, with players comfortable and confident enough to go man v man. The physicality of this team is Phenomenal, blew Down away with their work rate. I was beside the Down management and they couldn't get over the intensity we were able to maintain. Young Mallon from Scotstown looks a real talent. And the two big men inside always looked so so dangerous. Let's get out and support these boys, some brilliant football to be had.

Blueblood4life (National) - 26/03/2022 17:12:58

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Thankfully & his staff didn't walk & are doing a great job with minors again this year. Just shows their genuine commitment to Mon. football. By the way is Jones not under 20 this year ?"
No, unfortunately for Sean he picked up a very serious hamstring injury in senior training and missed all the u20 campaign except the final where he wasn't even at 50%. We lost that final after extra time with No Mulligan (due to seniors) and a Seán Jones with a hamstring injury. Yet another year of development gone because these lads aren't allowed play their own age grade. Karl G couldn't start on Friday, this lad has played no football in 2 years due to what,,, you guessed it, a injury sustained while training with the seniors. Banty and Co are responsible for 2 minor winning teams regressing and failing. Well done Seamus the so called "Monaghan man", you've destroyed inter county football at 2 age grades consecutively.

Blueblood4life (National) - 03/04/2022 16:31:03

Replying To patmouse:  "Seamus , did you wish Banty best of luck when Corduff were the Ulster final for the first time in their history. Some achievemenet to win the double second time in 100 years and were winner of club of the year. they are shinning example of what can be done with good management."
Any of the opposition players, selectors or management who were subjected to vey personal verbal aswell as multiple cases of physical abuse might just disagree with your assessment of a "shinning example". The accounts of what went on are a disgrace and the real gaels amongst us wouldn't try to justify it for some silverware. All that is before we get into the issue of the referees on the line and their conduct.

Blueblood4life (National) - 24/01/2023 07:32:36

A lot of people calling on the Co. board to act and get Banty out, I can say with absolute confidence this will NEVER happen! The Banty dilemma is all about money, everyone (players included) are very aware he's not up to the role. Club teams in the county currently have better managers than our senior county team for godsake! If we want a change, it'll have to happen at club level,

Blueblood4life (National) - 16/05/2022 15:02:08

Replying To turnip12:  "BlueBlood will turn every off this forum. Another statistic is that Monaghan have only lost three matches this year out of 11, and bar 1 match against Fermanagh, all against teams in the top 8 in the country (plus a strong Derry side). And won the first silverware since 2015 - an increasingly competitive McKenna Cup. By any yardstick that is pretty impressive. Monaghan may well lose a semi final against the all Ireland champions but the argument that all is terrible is boring, unwarranted, and a little unhinged."
If my factual argument is unhinged what would you call yours regarding a McKenna Cup competition? Delusional perhaps? It's amazing how all these new "fans" who only have a handful of posts are all backing the management team. How much is he paying yous a post lads? Or are they all the bold Banty himself??

Blueblood4life (National) - 19/04/2022 19:02:34

Watching Monaghan over 40 years and today was the first time leaving a game early. No resemblance of a tactical plan in place to combat a Kerry onslaught in second half with the wind, almost like it didn't exist, we have been watching games the past month being won/lost aided by conditions, players being put out to the slaughter. Who with a ounce of tactical prowess can think leaving Clifford up front with space and a significant wind would result in what we seen? Felt really sorry for Kieran D, no back up at all. Another major worry is our squad depth, we have a u20 team last year who previously won a minor ulster and was a kick of the ball in u20 ulster final last year, where's the players? Where's the forward thinking of what sort of Monaghan we will have 2-3 years down the line? We have a significant amount of injuries, McCarron, McAnespie, McCarthy and after today's game it looks like Ward also, what is gods name is going on in preparing these players, a lot said about this "big name" backroom team, in my opinion you earn your name on merit not newspaper Columns like wat appears to be the way with this backroom team. Monaghan Co Board have to take a serious look at where their money is being used, the figures being talked about in the stand today to get a "top" S&C coach & physios team were outrageous, if even 50% of the figure was actually true it's still a disgrace & all for what to have a diminished squad available for selection and have some of our best talent broke up on a medical table. Relegation looks a certainty and unfortunately if that is what it takes to get Banty and his "big names" outta Monaghan I'd settle for it.

Blueblood4life (National) - 27/02/2022 16:14:48

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
McConville won't/shouldn't even get a interview. I think we need to go internal, let a man in to do a rebuild for 2-3 years uninterrupted and see what we can develop. Counihan is the county's best option, has senior club experience, won a ulster title, made another final with our Co. Minors and perhaps more importantly has the character. His knowledge of players available at the right age is invaluable having been involved the past 4-5 years. All reports I've heard from parents and players is outstanding, his attention to detail, opposition analysis and ability to get a brilliant backroom team around him surely makes him the prime candidate. Let's just hope Co. board don't drag the process out and gives the incoming manager an opportunity to assess players in club championship.

Blueblood4life (National) - 29/06/2022 17:27:37

Banty Reinstalled In Monaghan - 2 Like(s)
Looks like Buckley is back with his ticket in Kerry falling through.. But, if he was willing to put his name on a Kerry ticket it shows the investment he has in the players and the county, regardless of how good a coach he may be, can players really "get over" the fact he was a decision away from walking from them?? I said on the old forum after the Tyrone game players would walk if Banty remains on, and I know for a fact when he comes looking them in November/December they won't return, I suppose that won't annoy Banty, he still gets his time in the sun and getting his ego stroked. The Co. board however has a lot to answer for, keeping a man who is unfit for the title and role as senior co manager is on them and them alone! Penny pinching and lack of professionalism will see another year wasted under this "man". A year that will be all accounts no doubt be manzy, Hughes, kelly, walshe, Wylie, malones last. They are doing these servants a serious disservice keeping Banty at the helm.

Blueblood4life (National) - 02/10/2021 20:13:17

Replying To Positivity:  "Can I ask a question ? Who is not allowing these players play at their own county level ? Again some posts here have just no other reason for blame only if it's in one particular direction . I thought it was a GAA rule which I don't happen to agree with it, that if you make an appearance in a senior championship you are not allowed then to play in u20's. This rule is very unfair to the smaller counties who happen to maybe need some players from this particular age category . On one hand we complain when the younger players aren't blooded in and aren't getting enough game time . And then on the other hand we don't want them playing at senior level . We can't have it both ways . Also it seems some here believe that hamstring injuries seem to be a Monaghan problem attributed to their training or whatever . If that's the case other counties must be doing similar as many players at present are suffering similar injuries."
When a senior intercounty manager brings in young players he has massive influence on them, what 18-19 year old is capable of standing up for themselves and demanding they play with the players and team they may have been with since development squads? So to answer question Banty is not allowing them. If they play a senior intercounty game they can not tog out for u20s the same year, this is what happened Aaron Mulligan last year. Blooding young players can and should be achieved when the players are ready both technically and physically, not just so the manager can say he's doing x, y & z. Aaron Mulligan was (and is) a massive talent, he was rushed through without playing u20 football last year and this year can't get a game, there's a reason why we have age grades, to allow the players develop and avoid injuries or walk aways. He's now in a position where he's played little to no football for two years. Jones, due to injury, little to no football for two years. Gallagher, due to injury, little to no football for two years. Is this how we develop senior intercounty footballers? As for your comment on other county's injuries, I don't care, I'm interested in Monaghan and how we run our squads. In the past 2 years the squad has been flattened with a high injury rate last seen…… in bantys last term under McElehenens time. This is arguably a worse period. Dermot Malone forced into retirement due to a knee injury sustained in the gym, how many more before the issue is addressed? Your comment, like some of your previous posts stink of propaganda, you preach positivity, more like head in the sand stuff. There is massive issues at multiple levels in Monaghan gaa, if they aren't spoken about, called out or acted on then the impact will be seen for years to come. Like it or not, this stems from or Co.Senior management. They need to be the best representation of everything that is Monaghan football, the man at the helm can't stay out of the papers for two weeks, is that who we want in charge of our young men?

Blueblood4life (National) - 04/04/2022 14:23:23

Replying To Monaghanfan123:  "Good win today, old and new players doing well. But some players just can't do no wrong in Cory's eyes, how the stayed on for as long I don't know"
Who? No point in posting half a post ffs

Blueblood4life (National) - 19/02/2023 21:00:40

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ah yeah, we all know how important Hogan Stand comments are in winning big championship games, LOL."
Yous know about as much as us when it comes to winning "big" championship games ya bunch of bottlers..

Blueblood4life (National) - 26/05/2022 12:53:03