Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from mick2007

Dublin GAA thread - 8 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Shout out to all the lads who argued Cluxton was merely back up because of an injury crisis. Replacing a lad who has done nothing wrong. Not great for morale even if the camp claim otherwise."
Dessie buckled under the pressure it was a shocking decision… cluxton would also want to take a long hard look at himself coming back at 41.. ego springs to mind…

mick2007 (National) - 30/04/2023 18:25:32

Monaghan GAA thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To veterngaa:  "Who are these most men? Stop talking waffle…"
That truly great scotstown team of the 80's that was admired by everyone the length and breath of the country never had to pull in outsiders for provincial success.. if you think the site of a currin & Donegal man starting the county final and taking the place of 2 home grown scotstown players who have come through the nursery set up years ago has sat well with every scotstown person your more deluded than I thought…..thick and lamp post springs to mind…..

mick2007 (National) - 15/11/2023 15:25:49

The Final - 6 Like(s)
As a die hard Monaghan man I'm finding it hard to stomach yesterday's defeat so I can only imagine what Mayo fans and especially the players feel like today.. The last time I felt so low after a game was when I lost a county final in 1996 with the club.. Not afraid to admit I had tears in my eyes at the final whistle yesterday.. Incredible organisation Mayo gaa are from the amazing fans to an equally incredible bunch of players.. The likes of Higgins Boyle Keegan Moran bareet Clarke are men I'd love to go to war with.. Awe inspiring men.. Unfort sport has no memory and you don't always get what you deserve in life.. With the help of God as time heals I hope these warriors/Heroes will go to the well 1 last time and give the whole country what everyone wants which is to see Mayo win Sam.. As fans I plead with each and every one of yous to rally round the players at this difficult time.. As for Dublin Joe don't get me started.. Vaughan will regret his actions til the day he dies but again he's not the 1st man to make a mistake in life.. Unreal servent to Mayo football And I hope that isn't forgot about when the dust settles

mick2007 (Mayo) - 18/09/2017 20:12:45

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
Cracking result tonight dough wasn't good for the heart.. wasnt a great performance IMO, pure heart, desire and a refusal to buckle earned the 2pts… lots of room for improvement which is great to see.. we're getting Kerry at an great time is well next weekd so could be well on the road to survival next weekd…absolutely delighted for McDonnell who showed tonight what an excellent goalkeeper he is.. o Hanlons best performance in a Monaghan shirt also… long time since we started with only 1 scotstown player (o' toole) which was another massive plus which shows the playing pool we have of players from other clubs so the future mightnt be as bleak as some may think…

mick2007 (National) - 27/01/2024 22:25:01

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To patmouse:  "So let's get this right once and for all. If we win, it's down to the others in the management team and everything is brilliant If we lose, it's McEnaney is useless If some one gets injured it's McEnaney is useless Pity, we hadn't the old formula, we could set up 2 threads. is there anyway we can blame him for the state of my beloved Man U are in, or is this going too far."
You obviously aren't aware of what the real reason was that McEntee suddenly dropped out of the race to become manager which meant Banty had a clear run into the hotseat unopposed…

mick2007 (National) - 05/04/2022 13:27:57

Purposely didn't attend todays game in clones as I refuse to bring my son to a game involving corduff.. the county board should hang their heads in shame turning a blind eye to 1 incident after another…their antics are a disgrace and stain on the game and it's a almost Cult siege mentality within that club that is disgusting…again money can't buy class…also the sight of McCarron chasing a hollow club medal doesn't sit well with me either…so thankfully I didn't waste my sunday afternoon going to clones

mick2007 (National) - 08/10/2023 16:15:55

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "The GAA should be more assertive in trying to get the games back again. Waiting around till October is not an option imho. They should be looking at behind closed doors finish for league in July and August. And a mini championship with spectators in October imho. Croke park holds 80,000, so they could easily have 30K. The Aviva only holds 50K so how can they social distance the fans. It is too small. Also Thurles, Pairc Uí Chaoimh and Clones are all 50K. So they can easily social distance. They should be looking at renting out these to Soccer and Rugby if you ask me."
So If county games were played in July and august maybe you could tell us when exactly the other 98% of the playing population can look forward to games....you can't expect clubs player to sit around twiddling there thumbs until Oct...t's not all about the county scene..... for once the GAA have done the right thing and ensured that the club player is being catered for 1st...

mick2007 (National) - 06/06/2020 20:42:11

Replying To HB245:  "Massive credit to Banty. No McManus, no Bannigan, no Kieran Duffy, no problem. Banty has kept us in Division 1 twice now and reached an Ulster Final (losing by a point to the eventual All Ireland winners). No manager in Ireland would have achieved any more with this group of players in that space of time. Make your apology as loud as the disrespect was."
7 wins out of 21/22 league and championship games in his 2nd coming.. facts are facts.. we have serious talent coming through that needs nurtured and if you think he's the man to bring us forward king term well plz stop the lights…it's the way he got back in with McEntee "suddenly" dropping out of the race that leaves a sour taste in my mouth as it does people who know what I'm referring to…any today is a great day to be a monaghan supporter so no point getting into petty argument today..

mick2007 (National) - 27/03/2022 17:08:05

Ulster Club SFC - 3 Like(s)

Replying To veterngaa:  "You have a serious chip on your shoulder with the club. They work v hard on and off the field. Having a large club has its issues aswell. The currin man is a Scotstown man."
No chip i just deal in facts, maybe you should do the same…..logic would tell any numpty that with 8 players from the 1 club on a div 1 intercounty team they should be competing for an ulster club as a bare minimun and add into the fact that they've 90/100 plus senior players to pick from across 5 senior teams…as for Jack being a scotstown man he played for currin until 28/29 years of age so dunno how that equates to him being a scotstown man…again fact is he's a currin man now playing for scotstown….

mick2007 (National) - 14/11/2023 11:22:36

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
As a neutral with a keen interest on all ulster teams it's sad to see the way that Donegal side has regressed..quite simply how bonner got another 3 year term is beyond belief.. he needs to do the decent thing and go.. Donegal has as much talent as the next team but tactics are chronic…a complete shambles..

mick2007 (National) - 20/02/2022 15:43:21

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To dec:  "Looking at the daily figures 34 today, we are in the same position now as the original lock down, hopefully we won't return to full lockdown, but phase 2 may happen which would mean an end to all gaa activity, probably wiser for John horan to call a halt to all activity so the gaa can do their bit to stop the spread instead of trying to add to it"
Blue nose Horan is only worrying about making enough money to pay for Dublin's 60 plus full time coaches which don't come cheap... health is coming a distant 2nd..

mick2007 (National) - 17/07/2020 19:00:16

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Given the fact that we've drawn the worst team in ulster in down and will easily beat them that will paper over some cracks.. however given the toxic atmosphere towards the current set up we need change regardless of what happens.. we are regressing at a rate of nots and god knows where we will end up under Banty…

mick2007 (National) - 22/03/2022 13:44:41

Huge congratulations to the hurlers on todays success..enjoy the well earned celebrations tonight.. absolutely delighted to see them get silverware as some of them lads have give great service to the jersey…hopefully it will give the small ball a boost in the county and they will be treated as equal by the co board going forward…

mick2007 (National) - 03/06/2023 20:43:21

Replying To Monaghanfan123:  "Banty pulled out of County cause he was loosing McAnespie n Kierans n didn't want to be the manager to bring Monaghan down. So Corry takes the roll on after numerous managers don't want it. So that'll b his claim to fame I'm afraid especially the way he's handled young players. McCaugue taking on Scotstoun cause Jack McCarron has moved there n he smells a County title."
Baffling how mccaugue got near an intercounty role.. Now he's taking over a scotstown team that my granny could manage to a county title following their dip into the transfer market......

mick2007 (National) - 19/01/2023 15:34:33

Banty can sugar coat both the Mayo and Tyrone game as much as he wants and spin whatever rubbish he wants but bottom line is we should have won both games.. fully expected us to beat both and especially yesterday against a Mayo team at home minus 5 of their best players (Mullen, ruane, McLoughin, o Connor, conroy)… as I stated in a post last week we are set up in a way that we won't be hammered or rout anyone but unfort these caveman tactics won't win us many trophies…

mick2007 (National) - 07/02/2022 11:13:01

Sunday Game Football Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Is McCaffery a particularly great defender even? I think if he was playing in bygone eras he'd be a wing forward (and a very good one). His dynamic style and speed going forward is what makes him great. He is such a threat you have to plan for him. McCaffrey would be in my team but I think there are better pure defenders around personally. I don't think you could put him in the category of 'must make this team', as a lot of people might have two out of O'Connell, O'Se, Keegan, Jordan etc."
When a great player like Paul galvin says that Philip Jordan was his toughest opponent that tells you how good of player Jordan was in a fantastic Tyrone team that took care of an equally great Kerry team.. regarding McCaffrey he is a quality operator with skill and pace to burn.. imagine a 1/2 back line of Jordan, Keegan and mc caffery.. pace and power rolled into one

mick2007 (National) - 26/05/2020 21:41:40

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Another, perhaps more accurate way to look at our run is the following: We have won 1 game out of 5 We have won 4 games out of 16 in the league under current manager We have won 6 games out of 19 in both League & Championship under current manager That's the facts, unfortunately. Sooner we take a step back and realise the return/long term damage this man will have had for us the sooner the Co. Board might act."
Bang on the money an excellent post..the results and win ratios speak for themselves.. someone earlier said how todays win would keep the keyboard warriors quiet.. personally I've always dealt in facts and the fact that we've won 6 out of 19 games under Banty speaks volumes for the valid point a lot of the so called "keyboard warriors" are trying to make..yes today was a excellent win albeit against an absolutely dire Donegal team missing a few key men who play the worst brand of football.. Donegal are like monaghan the problem is on the line..today is only papering over the cracks..we need change..

mick2007 (National) - 13/03/2022 21:18:08

Connelly/Holmes - 3 Like(s)
People and ex players like mcgarrity need to get a grip.. Pat and Neol are 2 men who have given great service to Mayo over the years are fully intitled to defend themselves and there reputations..The players got rid of them and never give them a reason as to the reason why.. Also Some of the snippets from the interview dosent surprise me at all, about a certain player in particular.

mick2007 (National) - 20/12/2016 13:50:48

Will everyone leave veterngaa alone, he was savy enough to state that scotstown will be hard beat so obviously he has a high footballing IQ making such a bold statement like that………god help him if the poor lad can't see anything wrong or why people who are working hard at the coalface in every small club are disgusted by the currin man being poached to chase hollow medals that will mean nothing when he looks back in years to come…on a separate note my granny was from emyvale and my grandad from carrick so does that make me a 1/2 carrick and a 1/2 emyvale man….

mick2007 (National) - 15/11/2023 11:32:42

Sunday Game Football Team - 3 Like(s)
Comparing Fenton to the former greats like tohill, o' shea and Buckley is like comparing apples to oranges..I was lucky enough to see tohill playing numerous times and my God what a player he was awesome he was a truly incredible player... there is very little contested kick outs nowadays compared to back then.. it was win your own ball or else you would be getting the curly finger fairly swiftly..when it was kicked out into the mixer it was a battle of the bravest in them days.. In my opinion Fenton would struggle playing in them days physically, the likes of darragh and tohill would throw him about physically.. take an average player like jack Barry from Kerry who's a big unit he can nearly always keep Fenton quiet due to his size so imagine what tohill or o'sea would do with twice the ability that Barry has and power to boot...Fenton wouldn't be seen... I'm not disputing Fenton is a serious player and athlete but it's all short kick outs and running off the shoulder which suits athletes like Fenton added into the fact that he's playing in a great side that's pumping most teams.. when Cluxton is kicking the ball out for Dublin he has a choice off 5 free men usually.. I'd safely say if I stick a pair of boots on my aul fella who's 75 he could even kick the ball out for Dublin.. Even take my own county we have a few average ball plAyers on the team currently but they can run and run so that's mostly why there on the team.. athletes over skill..average defenders limations are masked over by the blanket.. go back to another ex Derry player Kieran mc keever corner back what a marvellous player in his day would grace any side current or past.. he was like glue and marked the likes of Mickey linden, James mc carton one on one

mick2007 (National) - 21/05/2020 10:01:07