Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from farneygael

Why Are RTÉ Not Showing The Div 1&2 League Final Live? - 11 Like(s)

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "I did say that TG4 do trojan work but RTÉ have covered league games this year. Most people don't speak Irish so the experience of watching a national final is greatly diminished. I'm sure there's a lot of people disappointed today not to be able to watch and listen in English. I'm not saying RTÉ deserve the final as they are abismal by times but surely GAA fans in their homes today deserve better than this ."
I don't think for 1 minute this is the reasons it is done, but it is a good way to promote the Irish language through GAA. If your that badly stuck put the radio on and turn the volume of the TV down.

farneygael (National) - 02/04/2023 15:40:29

Tyrone Vs Monaghan Final - 7 Like(s)
Well done Tyrone and I will defiantly be cheering you on in the Semi final and hopefully final. we made a great comeback but could not get our noses in front. Tyrone deserved there win especially with the few key lads you were missing. Best of luck in the semi final lads.

farneygael (National) - 01/08/2021 13:20:24

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To veterngaa:  "Can't be blaming me for the poor Cavan folk living in the 40s! All a bit of fun!"
No, your embarrassing the rest of us Monaghan gaels, and your doing it on multiple threads. Wind it in a bit please for yourself and for us.

farneygael (National) - 29/01/2024 23:23:03

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Fair play for not appealing. Take it on the chin and get on with it. I really hope you hammer them because of it. Best of luck.

farneygael (National) - 20/04/2022 19:13:54

Kerry V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
Whats the story with most dublin posters here ?? I know your not used to losing but come on . The excuse of it's only Feb makes me laugh . It's also Feb for Kerry and for every other team playing ball. We're not long back . Or we haddent a full team out , come on lads what team is playing there full 15 at this stage of year . Now it's not all dublin posters some are very graceful in defet. The others should learn . Every team in the country that get the chance to play the dubs up there game for it . Ye are up there with the best teams ever so why wouldn't they. Just don't be making excuses for losing a game . Tonight I taught the best team won. Come championship we all know it will be a different dublin . But I'm pretty sure it will be a different Kerry and Galway and monaghan etc etc. In my honest opinion the field is getting a bit more even . But only a bit . The defeats to the dubs will affect the lads later in the year . But will it affect enough . ??? Here's to a great game of ball tonight and to what looks like a brilliant year of ball ahead . Hon the farney

farneygael (National) - 10/02/2019 02:06:23

Ulster Club - 3 Like(s)
Best of luck to both Monaghan teams at the weekend. Hopefully we will be cheering two Monaghan club teams in Croker in a few weeks.

farneygael (Monaghan) - 08/01/2020 17:28:47

Boards Forum Restructuring - 3 Like(s)

Replying To CC2020:  "It's not about you Brian personally. It could be any username. I just find so many conversations go down the lowest common denominator gutter. The Kerry/Dublin rubbish with posters from other counties getting sucked in. It needs to be sorted. For me it's a simple argument. Dublin have probably the greatest Gaelic football team of all time at the moment. They are to be commended. Is it right to raise questions about financing and population, absolutely. However Con O'Callaghan, Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy etc are wonderful once in a generation players. They stand like granite against the the teeth of envy. Dublin have current bragging rights. However Kerry have 37 all irelands to Dublin's 28. They are still the aristocrats in that sense. They have coming talent."
I agree with a lot of what your saying, but then you went and started on about Dublin and Kerry yourself. You commented on the players and teams and how many Sams each county won and it has nothing to do with this topic. Made me laugh when reading it. I enjoy the fourm there can be good debates on it but over the last year or so every topic turns into the Bashing Dublin and Kerry feeling sorry for themselves. Just stick to the topics and we have a great Form i say.

farneygael (National) - 24/07/2020 17:59:17

2019 Predictions - 3 Like(s)
If monaghan ever win ye all can come to monaghan in whatever jersey ye like and we will go on the lash for as long as the liver allows us to :-)

farneygael (National) - 03/04/2019 00:27:02

Conor Cox - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Kingdomson:  "Nothing at all to do with Peter K as a manager, so go put the blame somewhere else. Peter had no opportunity to give Conor Cox a chance with Kerry. Conor had his mind made up to go to Roscommon this season even before Peter Keane came into the Kerry job. It wasn't like Connor just decided one night to go with Roscommon, a lot of thought and planning went into the decision. Under Fitzmaurice, Cox was given a very short and limited opportunity with Kerry. Cox will always put scores consistently on the board and you couldn't say that about every forward who was involved under Fitzmaurice or even currently in the squad."
I don't think he ment it as an attack on Peter. Very defensive there .

farneygael (National) - 10/03/2019 00:17:00

Super 8 General Discussion - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "Every county could benefit from a tiered championship done properly. There'd be promotion and relegation, teams in the second championship would have something meaningful to aspire to, competing in the top competition. I think the latter stages of a tiered championship would draw public attention to it, but the latter stages have to be played at the same time as the latter stages of the All Ireland when the number of the top competition's matches have thinned out."
But there is a tiered structure in place and in my opinion its a fantastic one. Its the league. Each team plays teams of there slandered providing each team with 7 great games. Then they get their chance to play the big boys in the championship a chance to build up to making a big upset by beating a contender . A chance to go on a mad run beating teams they dont usually beat. or maybe they will be beat on their first game . But thats the luck of the draw. I prefer if we would look to put more emphasis on our league because its a fantastic set up. Putting a second tier championship in will benefit very little teams in the long run in my opinion.

farneygael (National) - 01/08/2019 17:49:54

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To veterngaa:  "Says the man brown nosing other counties! Should you not be on the Louth forum ?"
There's a commen trend of being asked to stop posting ridiculous posts though ain't there. And why should I be on the Louth thread?

farneygael (National) - 31/01/2024 09:11:18

Replying To mickcunningham:  "just an observation if anyone wants to see why gaelic football is finished please tune in to derry v monaghan riveting stuff id say"
If you believe gaelic football is finished I believe your cracked. Watch any game this weekend and go back and watch the same teams play q0nuears ago , I guarantee you this years game will be of a far better quality. Give your head a wobble

farneygael (National) - 14/05/2022 08:06:02

Kerry V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That looks like a strong team picked by o'Rourke who exactly are ye missing? I see Gavin doogan is back he absolutely destroyed us in this game 2 years ago ."
Kieran Duffy, Conor Boyle in the backs . Naill Kearns fintan kelly in mid field Kieran Hughes, in the forwards . I would say come championship all would be starters . I think we have cover in most places barr midfield we are struggling here at the min .

farneygael (National) - 03/03/2019 11:26:17

Club Football 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To 222:  "Monaghan were dumped out of the championship in early June Common sense, have a replays; club players deserve better"
so your saying that the holiday they may have had planned and booked and paid for should have been all canceled because monaghan were knocked out? The club player in monaghan get a much better deal than most counties. i dont agree with the penos but to change all the fixtures as you suggest would be very disrespectful to the club players.

farneygael (Monaghan) - 17/09/2019 17:58:19

Thanks Banty. Your commitment and time to Monaghan GAA is much appreciated

farneygael (National) - 29/06/2022 21:30:39

Ulster Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Donegalman:  "If Donegal are to win it we have to beat Fermanagh, Tyrone (most likely) and Monaghan (most likely) If Tyrone are to win it they have to beat Derry, Antrim, Donegal (most likely) and Monaghan (most likely) If Monaghan are to win it they have to beat Cavan away, Down/Armagh and (Donegal/Tyrone most likely) The also rans could be listed as such because of form and probability Fermanagh have to beat Donegal, Tyrone and Monaghan in all likelihood to win ulster. I would defo rule them out. Cavan have to beat Monaghan, Down/Armagh and then Donegal/Tyrone in the final. I don't think they can do it. Antrim have to beat Tyrone, Donegal (most likely) and Monaghan (most likely) in the final. It's beyond them. Armagh have to beat Down away, Monaghan most likely and then Donegal/Tyrone in the final. It's tough. Down have to beat Armagh, Monaghan (most likely) and Donegal/Tyrone in the final. This is also very hard. Derry have got to beat Tyrone, Antrim, Donegal (most likely) and Monaghan (most likely) in the final. Not possible imo. Sorry about the assumptions that Donegal are going to beat Fermanagh and likewise Monaghan are going to beat Cavan. This is to simplify the thread on the eye. The only way that Fermanagh can shock donegal is by keeping it a low scoring game. I am not sure this is possible with the forwards we have both returning and in good form. They will have to beat us in a shoot out. The only way Derry will beat Tyrone is if tyrone have an amazingly off form day that would have to go back a number of years. The only way that Cavan will beat Monaghan is if they play their best game of football in about 10 years. Down and Derry could be a very close game but I would not constitute it as a major shock if Down were to win it. Antrim have no hope against either Tyrone or Derry. The only way that Armagh or Down were to beat Monaghan would be injuries or suspensions to Monaghan. If this were the case, you could see a very hard game here in the making. Donegal v Tyrone would be either very one sided in favour of Tyrone or a game that would go to the wire imo. Tyrone v Monaghan in the final would be a tough battle with tyrone more than likely prevailing. Donegal v Monaghan in the final would be a tough battle. A lot would depend on a refs interpretation of the rules in this fixture. Armagh v Donegal could be an interesting one. Armagh v Tyrone would be a tyrone victory. Down v Donegal I would favour donegal in this fixture. Down v tyrone I would strongly fancy tyrone in this one. If by some miracle Cavan were to get to the final, they could have a chance as it would be their first final in 23 years and would have some traction behind them. If by some major miracle Derry were to get to the final, they would be likely to face Monaghan, who could not be ruled out of continuing their winning ways. But Monaghan would have home advantage and this would be huge for them. If by the greatest miracle of all time, either Antrim or Fermanagh were to clear the hurdles of Donegal and Tyrone to reach the final, they could expect their luck to run out in Clones v the home team. To conclude, I would say it is a 95% likelihood that one of the 3 top teams will win it. Of the remaining field, possibly either Armagh or Down, but they would have only a sliver of a hope. Cavan, Antrim, Derry and Fermanagh have none for aforementioned reasons."
I would agree with the most of that but i do think your being a bit harsh on Cavan. I dont think they will ulster but the Monaghan match will be a very tight affair . I think we will just pip the as our bench seems to be stronger. But all in all i reckon its tyrones championship to lose .

farneygael (National) - 05/05/2019 18:16:11

Mayo V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)
Best of luck in the final to mayo. I enjoyed the game today . Was disappointed with the referees game taught he was very harsh on us . The mayo support was absloutly unreal fair play to ye. Best supported team in ireland in my opinion , although I think it was the shouting from the stands that got Kelly sent off. I haven't seen the replays but I think we had a few harsh decisions like the red and a peno too. But overall you were slightly the better team . Well done and good luck

farneygael (National) - 25/03/2019 00:57:48

Will Offensive Mark Favour Some Counties - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Johnnyprophet:  "Will you stop with the goading of Kerry posters for god sake. I think we're all sick of it now."
Yes please

farneygael (National) - 10/01/2020 18:14:42

I just want to say how dam proud I am of vinny and his management team. They are doing absolutely fantastic. I was very spectical when he was appointed and more for him because I hold him to the absolutely highest regard when it comes to GAA and Monaghan.he owes Monaghan nothing. He and his team have done so so much right and anything from here is bonus territory even though we will all always want 1 more step further. He has blooded more players than anyone and even still is putting on players at the death in games that would make you ask why, but that's pitting serious tempo minuets into young inexperienced lads. The last 2 weeks we have seen a massive changing in monaghan. Almost all the old guard dropped and young lads given a go and they diddent let themselves down. I'm always proud to be a Monaghan but none more than this year with the legend Vinny at the wheel. Monaghan forever in debt of the players and people of the likes of him, Connor, Drew, Darren, Dessie and Karl and they learned from the likes of Dick, Eoin Tommy, Damien, jinksy, Dermot, and Jap I know I have left a lot out but when you look at the name there we are and have been spoilt with greatness in this amazing county. Vinny, Drew and Damien being my favourite without going back too far . Monaghan ABU

farneygael (National) - 06/06/2023 22:27:20

Kerry V Derry - 2 Like(s)
Derry were robbed by 2 bad decisions by the ref. Very unfortunate because the ref had a very good game apart from this. Hard luck Derry

farneygael (National) - 16/07/2023 17:45:25