Meath Under 20 2025

Replying To winatallcost:  "Was there a decision taken for the U20 guys to be left alone? Thought Murphy might have been brought in for a couple of league matches to gets a few mins here or there as himself and Armstrong were effectively the best players from last year also. Powerful full forward with a serious boot on him. Exactly what we are crying out for. Stafford and Harkin played very well also and everyone work hard while goalkeeper Kealy also very sound. Excellent win so let's hope they build on this."
Not sure was there a decision made but it's a bit surprising given last year Brian O'Halloran would have played the league with the Meath seniors while still being u20. We were so dependent on Frayne and Morris for scores in the league it would have been nice to have Jamie Murphy in there too. It's probably hard to argue with the approach though, that's a significant win. First time beating the dubs at u21/u20 level since 2011, that meath team had the likes of Keoghan menton and Newman playing, probably the best players of the last 15 years for meath. Would be great to get a few players as good as them from this group.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 407 - 27/03/2025 08:22:44    2598822

Replying To winatallcost:  "Was there a decision taken for the U20 guys to be left alone? Thought Murphy might have been brought in for a couple of league matches to gets a few mins here or there as himself and Armstrong were effectively the best players from last year also. Powerful full forward with a serious boot on him. Exactly what we are crying out for. Stafford and Harkin played very well also and everyone work hard while goalkeeper Kealy also very sound. Excellent win so let's hope they build on this."
I would imagine there is an agreement in place to leave them where they are until the 20s campaign is over and rightly so.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1064 - 27/03/2025 09:31:30    2598833

Am I the only one questioning the layout of the Leinster U20 championship? Meath's group has four teams but both the group winners and runners up go into the quarter finals. Group 2 has three teams but the winners go straight through to the semi finals after only two games.
Great win last night. Westmeath away in a week who also had a good win in Offaly yesterday. Need to get yesterday's win out of our minds as this game won't be easy if we take it for granted. Hard to know where other teams are until the end of the groups but Kildare and Louth look strong after round 1. But you'd think that one of Tyrone or Derry will be massive favourites for the All Ireland.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1378 - 27/03/2025 10:11:33    2598845

What a brilliant win. Flipping the script of the last few years with a Dub team hotly fancied from minor and we overturn them as the underdog. 8 consecutive losses against Dublin at this grade including the last 5 years in a row so great to get the monkey off the back.

There are some real ballers on this team. Murphy stands out and was unbelievable last night but Harkin and Stafford are brilliant half forwards too. Corkery is lively and dangerous as well and I think there's a lot more to come from McIvor and Commons. Armstrong with a different role than last year more defensive minded but was still brilliant. The 2 point rule seems to really suit this team Commons, Stafford, Murphy, McIvor and Harkin all seem to have it in the locker.

The draw is a bit of a joke as we have to play 4 games to get a semi whereas Louth's group only have to play 2 but beating Dublin takes some pressure off albeit Westmeath had a good win in round 1 so won't be a pushover away next week.

In Cathal O'Bric and Co. we trust. Some record already, first all ireland in 22 years, first Leinster under 20/21 in 23 years and now a first win over Dublin at this grade in 14 years.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1562 - 27/03/2025 10:17:26    2598848

Great win. Feels unfair that the winners of the three team group gets a bye to semi final but if Meath win their tough group there's still a quarter.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 27/03/2025 10:18:27    2598849

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Am I the only one questioning the layout of the Leinster U20 championship? Meath's group has four teams but both the group winners and runners up go into the quarter finals. Group 2 has three teams but the winners go straight through to the semi finals after only two games.
Great win last night. Westmeath away in a week who also had a good win in Offaly yesterday. Need to get yesterday's win out of our minds as this game won't be easy if we take it for granted. Hard to know where other teams are until the end of the groups but Kildare and Louth look strong after round 1. But you'd think that one of Tyrone or Derry will be massive favourites for the All Ireland."
Yeah it just seems to be a random draw and the previous years rankings don't attribute to progression, maybe not the worst thing as you'd probably have the same teams walking into the SF each year. It's the winners of Group 2 & 3 that go straight into the SF.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 59 - 27/03/2025 12:39:44    2598890

Replying To LowerHogan:  "Yeah it just seems to be a random draw and the previous years rankings don't attribute to progression, maybe not the worst thing as you'd probably have the same teams walking into the SF each year. It's the winners of Group 2 & 3 that go straight into the SF."
Regardless of ranking of previous years. The winners of Group B play 2 games to get to the semi final. The winners of Group A play 4 games to get to the semi final. If the winners of Group B (the 3 team group) only got to a quarter then the winners of each group would all need to play 3 games to get to a semi final which would be far fairer

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1562 - 27/03/2025 14:09:03    2598911

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "Great win. Feels unfair that the winners of the three team group gets a bye to semi final but if Meath win their tough group there's still a quarter."
I think we should be looking at this another way. Isn't it great to get 4 games for development of players and team and if we beat Westmeath we may be able to give some fringe players more football even strengthening the experience of the squad further. It is U20 and the more football at inter County these young players get the better. I think it will only improve the team individually and collectively.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 619 - 27/03/2025 16:45:20    2598945

Replying To winatallcost:  "I think we should be looking at this another way. Isn't it great to get 4 games for development of players and team and if we beat Westmeath we may be able to give some fringe players more football even strengthening the experience of the squad further. It is U20 and the more football at inter County these young players get the better. I think it will only improve the team individually and collectively."
Yeah that's a good perspective. Fair play.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 27/03/2025 20:29:28    2598973

Westmeath in Kinnegad on Wednesday night. After the bad news for the seniors at the weekend hopefully Cathal O'Bric and his team can continue to give Meath supporters a lift

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1562 - 31/03/2025 11:31:59    2599652

In O'Bric I trust to get some positivity back into meath football after the very deflating week that was for the meath senior football team.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 218 - 31/03/2025 20:31:47    2599817

Not as good a performance (after the first 15 mins) as the previous week but very comfortable and built up a huge lead early. Jamie Murphy no scores from play but we still kicked 0-19. There is huge scoring threat in this team with the 6 forwards and McIvor especially. Game next week is a dead rubber as we're through top and into a quarter final. Unfortunately Cian Commons seemed to have a hamstring injury right at the end. Hopefully if it was just cramp because if it wasn't he'd been doing well to make it back for the Leinster campaign

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1562 - 03/04/2025 11:42:58    2600308

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Not as good a performance (after the first 15 mins) as the previous week but very comfortable and built up a huge lead early. Jamie Murphy no scores from play but we still kicked 0-19. There is huge scoring threat in this team with the 6 forwards and McIvor especially. Game next week is a dead rubber as we're through top and into a quarter final. Unfortunately Cian Commons seemed to have a hamstring injury right at the end. Hopefully if it was just cramp because if it wasn't he'd been doing well to make it back for the Leinster campaign"
leitrim lad....lay off on these young lads we need to have faith in the new crop coming through... i thought the football we played was amazing at times young,electric and powerful a real breath of fresh air

kellsroyal2010 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 03/04/2025 14:45:08    2600368

Replying To kellsroyal2010:  "leitrim lad....lay off on these young lads we need to have faith in the new crop coming through... i thought the football we played was amazing at times young,electric and powerful a real breath of fresh air"
Give over will ye. He was merely stating a fact. After the first 15 minutes in which we were excellent it wasn't as good a performance as the previous week but it didn't need to be so not to worry. He wasn't in anyway slating the team. There is absolutely nothing wrong with him giving his opinion that the performance for the most part wasn't as good as last week. Don't be such a snowflake.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1064 - 03/04/2025 15:25:35    2600377

Replying To kellsroyal2010:  "leitrim lad....lay off on these young lads we need to have faith in the new crop coming through... i thought the football we played was amazing at times young,electric and powerful a real breath of fresh air"
Their own manager said similar in post games interviews. Didn't single out any player and didn't even say it was a bad performance just not as good as last week which was excellent. It didn't have to be as good as last weeks and you can't peak all the time. I still we could repeat last nights performance and still make the semi final. Then if we were to play Kildare or Louth we'd probably need to lift it again which we are capable of doing. Don't think anything I said was unfair

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1562 - 03/04/2025 15:57:27    2600381

Agreed, not as good a performance as last week. But it didn't need to be in order to get the win. Now we're guaranteed top spot so the management can make some changes to rest some players if needed. Great position to be in.
Looking like it'll be either Laois or Wexford in the quarter final (unless Wexford cause a massive shock against Kildare in their last group game). Not to count chickens, but it would be a huge disappointment if we didn't win the quarter final comfortably.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1378 - 03/04/2025 16:45:43    2600394

Bit of a farce after winning their group that they have to travel to wexford for the quaterfinal. Surely winning the group should have given them home advantge.

Islander21 (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 10/04/2025 08:07:41    2601327

Replying To Islander21:  "Bit of a farce after winning their group that they have to travel to wexford for the quaterfinal. Surely winning the group should have given them home advantge."
Meath have Home advantage in the 1/4 Final.

As do Wicklow v Dublin....

So no farce here at all.....! ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4121 - 10/04/2025 11:30:13    2601353

Replying To Fionn:  "Meath have Home advantage in the 1/4 Final.

As do Wicklow v Dublin....

So no farce here at all.....! ;o)"
Cathal O Bric said in his post match interview that they were away to Wexford.

Islander21 (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 10/04/2025 11:38:38    2601355

Replying To Islander21:  "Cathal O Bric said in his post match interview that they were away to Wexford."
Must have gotten wrong, doesn't make any sense that the runner up of a group would be rewarded with home advantage vs group winners.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 10/04/2025 15:20:54    2601398