Club Football Championships 2026

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Senior is probably between Tones, Summerhill and Ratoath with Kilbride as a dark horse.

Inter reckon NOM will get back senior with Castletown, Moynalvey and Pats pushing them

Junior should be Curraha with Slane pushing them all the way"
I agree bar Inter I think the Pats will take it.

Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 09/07/2026 18:50:26    2685001

Do any of ye know which app the We Are Meath commentaries for the club championships will be on? They said it on the podcast but I can hardly understand.

Glad the club leagues are over, all set for the Championship! Hopefully some Meath teams can go far in Leinster too.

RoyalStalwart24 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 14/07/2026 23:40:40    2685809

Senior: Hard to look past the usual teams, Ratoath, Summerhill, Dunshaughlin, Tones the likely contenders, probably will be a couple of early casualties with a few big guns playing each other, but can't see anyone really shocking the favs. Could see Kilbride sneaking out of the group. I'll go with Dunshaughlin to do it without Kinsella

Intermediate is much more interesting, a lot of contenders, I think Castletown, St Pat's, Meath Hill and NOM will be the final 4. Not convinced by Moynalvey, I think Meath Hill might beat them in the groups, and they'll have to do it the hard way if they are to win. If Castletown have Rian McConnell back I'd tip them but they have a tough group too so without him it'll be tough - but have a feeling St Pat's might be ready to finally win it.

Junior A: Curraha should win this especially with Jack O'Connor back, Slane have had a good league campaign and will push them all the way

Junior B: Moynalty, Kilmainham and Kilmainhamwood the front runners, Kilmainhamwood have a couple of good young players coming through and I think they might finally take the jump back into Junior A

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 181 - 16/07/2026 15:59:50    2685957

Where is Keegan cup final being played id say parnell park or cusach park ashbourne too small a venue

Centralmeath (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 22/07/2026 11:57:08    2686585

Replying To Centralmeath:  "Where is Keegan cup final being played id say parnell park or cusach park ashbourne too small a venue"
If I remember correctly, Jason Plunkett (Meath GAA chairman) confirmed on the We Are Meath podcast that the Keegan Cup final will be held in Ashbourne.

It's not ideal and is definitely tight, but the final surely has to be in Meath for the Meath club final.

RoyalStalwart24 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 22/07/2026 14:23:53    2686609

League finals and semi finals are just totally unnecessary. Just keep it as a league, or just have the finals on their own. It is only an unnecessary distraction before the club championship.

Ideally, we go to the National Football League format - bottom two relegated, top two promoted, and then add the league finals if they really want to (I'm still not sold on them). Abolish this semi finals nonsense

RoyalStalwart24 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 25/07/2026 18:48:12    2687093

Good win for Senchelstown over Simonstown with match probably tighter in finish than it should have been. Very impressed with young Scanlon at centre half back. He was a Meath U20 this year and a strong defensive player is exactly what Meath are looking for at centre half back. Definately one to watch for club championship.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 1040 - 26/07/2026 11:25:32    2687152

Replying To RoyalStalwart24:  "League finals and semi finals are just totally unnecessary. Just keep it as a league, or just have the finals on their own. It is only an unnecessary distraction before the club championship.

Ideally, we go to the National Football League format - bottom two relegated, top two promoted, and then add the league finals if they really want to (I'm still not sold on them). Abolish this semi finals nonsense"
Have to agree here, Just looking at Division 2, top two teams are staying in division 2, its a bit farcical in fairness, NOM and Duleek/B should be promoted as they finished first and second.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1147 - 26/07/2026 11:33:46    2687154

Replying To RoyalStalwart24:  "League finals and semi finals are just totally unnecessary. Just keep it as a league, or just have the finals on their own. It is only an unnecessary distraction before the club championship.

Ideally, we go to the National Football League format - bottom two relegated, top two promoted, and then add the league finals if they really want to (I'm still not sold on them). Abolish this semi finals nonsense"
Totally agree with this, absolutely pointless games and too close to championship. I'm assuming neither Ratoath nor Summerhill showed too much of their hands in the Div 1 final in this probable dress rehearsal for a semi or County final?

Anyonebutlouth (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 26/07/2026 13:25:32    2687169

These we the teams for Ratoath vs Summerhill:

Summerhill:
1. Seán Muddiman
2. Jack Bannon
3. Ben Moran
4. Iarla Hughes
5. Padhraig Geraghty
6. Kevin Lyons
7. Jamie O'Shea
8. Declan Byrne
9. Jack Regan
10. David Larkin
11. Adam McDonnell
12. Bobby O'Shea
13. Liam Shaw
14. Eoghan Frayne
15 Ben McQuaid

9/15 of Summerhill's county final team started. Surprisingly strong, surprised to see Frayne starting. Noticeably the two Ryans were missing. Would've expected a lot more shadow boxing here

Ratoath:
1. Devon Burns
2. Callum Brady
3. Conor McGill
4. Liam Kelly
5. Rob Hayes
6. Ben Wyer
7. Gavin McGowan
8. Oisín Kelly
9. Ben McGowan
10. Cian O'Brien
11. Dáithí McGowan
12. Paddy White
13. Bryan McMahon
14. Adam Rogers
15. Cian Ducie

Same story for Ratoath - 9/15 county players. Noticeable absences of the likes of Jack Flynn though.

Overall, they went fairly strong for a club league final.

RoyalStalwart24 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 27/07/2026 12:05:08    2687478

County final players, excuse me

RoyalStalwart24 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 27/07/2026 12:05:38    2687479

Summerhill and Ratoath are going really well and were by far the most impressive teams in the League and will both top their groups in the championship, Kells were the best of the rest, but have lost two games in recent weeks, by 8 points to Summerhill.
Dunboyne will probably get 2nd place in group A behind Summerhill and that will leave the big game of that group the 2nd round game between Rathkenny and Kilbride.
The 3rd round same parish battle between Kilbride and Dunboyne could be epic as there could be a lot at stake either end of the group for both at that stage.

Trim will probably get 2nd place in Ratoath's group (B) with Na Fianna going into relegation play-off, Skryne are lucky they will only have to beat Na Fianna to avoid the relegation play-off.
The Ratoath/Na Fianna game has the potential to have the biggest winning margin of any game in the 2026 Championship, the only relief for Na Fianna might be that Ratoath will have guaranteed top spot in the group before playing that game and might rest players.

The winners and 2nd places in the other two groups are more difficult to predict.

It's hard to see Ballinabrackey finishing anywhere other than bottom of their group (C). Seneschalstown are looking to do what Dunshaughlin did in 2024 by winning Division 2 of the league and then winning the Keegan Cup.
The Tones will find it tough going but should get one of the Quarter Final slots.
The winner of the first round game between Seneschalstown and St. Colmcilles will more than likely get the 2nd spot, I think Seneschalstown might just shade that one.

Simonstown appear the weakest of the four teams in a very strong group (D) and will probably be in relegation play-off with all three other teams having very talented young players to the fore.
Ashbourne are never far away and even though they have been in Dunshaughlin's group the last few years they always finished in the top 2. However, if my own Dunshaughlin can get lads back from injury and the US they should take one of the top two spots with the other spot going to Kells.
The first round game between Kells and Ashbourne will give a huge boost to the winner and should put them well on the road to getting a quarter final spot.

I know the loss of Ruairi Kinsella for Dunshaughlin is massive but in my biased opinion/club loyalty/naivety I still believe if things fell into place for Dunshaughlin along with a little bit of luck, they could win back the Keegan Cup in a year of shock results.
If I wasn't letting my heart rule over my head, Ratoath, Summerhill, Kells and Wolfe Tones in that order would be my predictions for the Keegan Cup.

madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 114 - 29/07/2026 13:15:35    2687990

Predictions for each group:
Group A:
1. Summerhill
2. St. Peter's Dunboyne
3. Kilbride
4. Rathkenny
Think Kilbride can ruffle a few feathers, maybe getting a draw against Dunboyne and beating Rathkenny. I don't necessarily think Rathkenny are a poor team (and they'll certainly stay up) but I think they'll be on the receiving end of some tight results. Dunboyne probably gets through and Summerhill obviously get through.

Group B:
1. Ratoath
2. Skryne
3. Trim
4. Na Fianna
I think Ratoath top the group but Trim and Skryne offer tough challenges. Everyone will beat Na Fianna who I would tip to get relegated at the current time. Trim will probably be unlucky not to get out of the group but I can't see the other two going lower than that.

Group C:
1. Wolfe Tones
2. Ballinabrackey
3. St. Colmcille's
4. Seneschalstown
Interesting group. Ballinabrackey certainly not perfect but I think they'll have enough experience at this stage to get past the other two teams. I think they'll ambush Cilles out of the Championship. I find it difficult to see Seneschalstown getting out of the group as I rate the others fairly high.

Group D:
1. Donaghmore Ashbourne
2. Dunshaughlin
3. Gaeil Colmcille
4. Simonstown
I think Ashbourne will blitz the group unexpectedly and claim the top spot. I think Dunshaughlin could get involved in a fairly competitive battle to proceed to the knockout stages with Gaeil Colmcille, but I think ultimately their quality gets it done. I don't see much hope for Simonstown if I'm honest, they received a difficult group.

RoyalStalwart24 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 30/07/2026 21:34:55    2688231

Group A

Dunboyne have been quiet for too long and under new management I'd expect a reaction, I can see them topping the group with Summerhill joing them in the quarter finals.

Group B

Skyrne have topped their group two years in a row and I expect them to complete the hat-trick. Ratoath to join them.

Group C

I predict a surprise here with St Colmciles finishing top with Wolf Tones runners up.

Group D

Dunshaughlin to top the grouo and an in form Gael Colmcille to cause a surprise by edging out Ashbourne.

Anyonebutlouth (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 31/07/2026 13:25:44    2688287

It'll be great to see the club championships throwing in this evening! There are two very interesting games set in store for us. Hopefully some new players can be unearthed and hopefully it's a storied club series.

RoyalStalwart24 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 06/08/2026 09:48:26    2688791

In the senior tonight they are billing Kilbride and Summerhill as the battle of champions but unfortunately for the Inter champs I can only see Summerhill winning by 6 minimum as they look primed for another run. Kilbride have some young talent and have been drawn in a group which gives them a chance but ultimately I think their game with rathkenny will go a long way in deciding if they stay up or not.

Dunboyne and Rathkenny will be slightly closer I think due to Rathkennys experience and the fact that Dunboyne arent as good as Summerhill but in that one I think Dunboyne shuold win by 3-5. Rathkenny were relegated from div 2 and obviously bring back 2 very important players but still think they will be looking at a play off with Kilbride for 3rd/4th.

Absolutely class to have club football back all the same!

TigerKing (Meath) - Posts: 47 - 06/08/2026 18:40:59    2688882

Was at the Rathkenny/Dunboyne game. Rathkenny were tigerish and hard-working throughout. Probably should have won the game. Keith Curtis missed his first 4/5 attempts on goal. Towards the end, James O'Hare had a couple of easy enough chances. One in particular he put wide from centrally around 21yds out. Keoghan was his typical self. Possibly would have given the MOTM to Ciaran O'Hare. He's a sturdy fella and is good at getting out of tight situations.

For Dunboyne Charlie Gallagher was good when shooting (his last 2pt to level the game was a monster effort) but was quiet enough on the ground and didnt by any means control things for Dunboyne in the central position. Dunboyne down serious numbers (No Lenihan, Jones or Kinlough. The Lowndes seem to have packed it in for them) Thought the waterford lad Gleeson moved well. They wont be winning the Keegan cup anyway.

Coylesrighthand (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 06/08/2026 23:23:35    2688906

Had the pleasure of heading to Dunsany last night to watch Rathkenny & Dunboyne. Well done to all in Dunsany for their hospitality. The match lacked quality but had loads of excitement. Dunboynes young guns Delaney & Gallagher were a joy to watch with their 2 point shooting as was Keith Curtis for Rathkenny. Keogan was also a joy to watch in full flow with his powerful running, the man is forever young.

Anyonebutlouth (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 07/08/2026 09:35:15    2688922

Replying To TigerKing:  "In the senior tonight they are billing Kilbride and Summerhill as the battle of champions but unfortunately for the Inter champs I can only see Summerhill winning by 6 minimum as they look primed for another run. Kilbride have some young talent and have been drawn in a group which gives them a chance but ultimately I think their game with rathkenny will go a long way in deciding if they stay up or not.

Dunboyne and Rathkenny will be slightly closer I think due to Rathkennys experience and the fact that Dunboyne arent as good as Summerhill but in that one I think Dunboyne shuold win by 3-5. Rathkenny were relegated from div 2 and obviously bring back 2 very important players but still think they will be looking at a play off with Kilbride for 3rd/4th.

Absolutely class to have club football back all the same!"
A much better point for Dunboyne than Rathkenny, Rathkenny will be left wondering how they didn't win that game. They'd so many chance to kill that game. Should have been way more up at half time, Keith Curtis was good in the second half but that doesn't really make up for the 5 or 6 wides he had in the 1st. Dunboyne's 2 point shooting in the second half rescued them a draw.

Duboynes injury list is huge, I'd be very surprised if they got out of this group. The positive for them is definitely the 3 teenagers in Charlie Gallagher, Sean Delaney and John Harkin. Can see these 3 all playing for Meath in the next few years.

GILES96 (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 07/08/2026 09:39:26    2688924

Replying To GILES96:  "A much better point for Dunboyne than Rathkenny, Rathkenny will be left wondering how they didn't win that game. They'd so many chance to kill that game. Should have been way more up at half time, Keith Curtis was good in the second half but that doesn't really make up for the 5 or 6 wides he had in the 1st. Dunboyne's 2 point shooting in the second half rescued them a draw.

Duboynes injury list is huge, I'd be very surprised if they got out of this group. The positive for them is definitely the 3 teenagers in Charlie Gallagher, Sean Delaney and John Harkin. Can see these 3 all playing for Meath in the next few years."
Where was Ronan Jones? Doesn't appear to be have been listed in the huge squad Dunboyne had

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 187 - 07/08/2026 10:36:07    2688936